Onkyo TX-NR609, TX-NR509, TX-SR309 Thread - Page 133 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 3982 Old 02-03-2015, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I heard back from him again after bringing that up and I entered my serial number.
My shipping materials are on the way, I chose to get it repaired.

thanks !

You're welcome. Us 609 owners gotta stick together! Mine's still seems fine. Bought it directly from Onkyo as a refurb about 1 1/2 years ago. Hoping it has the update already. If not, I should be covered 'til 2018.


Ed
old corps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 3982 Old 02-03-2015, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
You're welcome. Us 609 owners gotta stick together! Mine's still seems fine. Bought it directly from Onkyo as a refurb about 1 1/2 years ago. Hoping it has the update already. If not, I should be covered 'til 2018.


Ed
that's good. I will keep everyone updated on this process and we can see how long it takes.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3963 of 3982 Old 02-03-2015, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
that's good. I will keep everyone updated on this process and we can see how long it takes.

Do that. I'll look for it. Hope they take care of you.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #3964 of 3982 Old 02-06-2015, 09:48 AM
Member
 
nando820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For you guys that have sent out your receiver for repair, how long does it take to get it back ?
nando820 is offline  
post #3965 of 3982 Old 02-06-2015, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 2327
Quote:
Originally Posted by nando820 View Post
For you guys that have sent out your receiver for repair, how long does it take to get it back ?
Two weeks for mine, which seems to be about average from other posts I've read. Some a little shorter and a few that have dragged out waiting for parts.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye."
DocCasualty is offline  
post #3966 of 3982 Old 02-26-2015, 11:21 AM
Member
 
nando820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post
Two weeks for mine, which seems to be about average from other posts I've read. Some a little shorter and a few that have dragged out waiting for parts.
Got mine yesterday! It works beautifully again. . I just got the NR636 for the family room too since my old Yamaha died. Onkyo rules!
DocCasualty likes this.
nando820 is offline  
post #3967 of 3982 Old 03-30-2015, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got my 609 back from factory repair and now my remote won't work the unit! What am I missing? It will turn on zone 2 and that's it.
unavita is offline  
post #3968 of 3982 Old 03-30-2015, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nando820 View Post
For you guys that have sent out your receiver for repair, how long does it take to get it back ?
I got mine back in less than 2 weeks.
unavita is offline  
post #3969 of 3982 Old 03-30-2015, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unavita View Post
I just got my 609 back from factory repair and now my remote won't work the unit! What am I missing? It will turn on zone 2 and that's it.
NVM: press and hold source. Got it.
unavita is offline  
post #3970 of 3982 Old 03-30-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by unavita View Post
I just got my 609 back from factory repair and now my remote won't work the unit! What am I missing? It will turn on zone 2 and that's it.

I bet it's in TV mode instead of RECEIVER mode. Press the RECEIVER mode button--4th button down on the far left side of the remote then post back that it's fixed............I hope.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #3971 of 3982 Old 04-01-2015, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I heard back from him again after bringing that up and I entered my serial number.
My shipping materials are on the way, I chose to get it repaired.

thanks !
Final Update:

they shipped me the box and a label, I sent the unit back and
it got fixed for free, only took about 5 days total turn around time.

no HDMI issues yet after a month.
the random clicking problem is still there....
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3972 of 3982 Old 04-01-2015, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Having Dolby Digital issue on Netflix on my receiver...

I have a ONKYO 609 receiver paired with Samsung 55 smart tv using ARC
when using NETFLIX and watching Pulp Fiction I get Dolby Digital

In my other room

I have ONKYO 626 receiver paired with SHARP 80 inch non 3D smart tv using ARC
same movie I can only get Dolby Pro Logic 2, in netflix I have 5.1 enabled


any help would be appreciated.
Is it in my settings or is it a limitation to the netflix app on the Sharp?

thanks in advance.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3973 of 3982 Old 04-01-2015, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I have a ONKYO 609 receiver paired with Samsung 55 smart tv using ARC
when using NETFLIX and watching Pulp Fiction I get Dolby Digital

In my other room

I have ONKYO 626 receiver paired with SHARP 80 inch non 3D smart tv using ARC
same movie I can only get Dolby Pro Logic 2, in netflix I have 5.1 enabled


any help would be appreciated.
Is it in my settings or is it a limitation to the netflix app on the Sharp?

thanks in advance.
I believe the random clicking is the fan activating on the 609 (this was to your previous post, not this one)
raistline is offline  
post #3974 of 3982 Old 04-01-2015, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
I believe the random clicking is the fan activating on the 609 (this was to your previous post, not this one)
Interesting theory, thanks !!!

how about my netflix issue, that stuff makes me lose sleep !!!
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3975 of 3982 Old 04-01-2015, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
...the random clicking problem is still there....
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
I believe the random clicking is the fan activating on the 609 (this was to your previous post, not this one)
The random clicking is the unit handshaking and identifying audio formats. Setting them all to the same (e.g. Dolby PLIIx) or a few output modes will limit the clicks.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_________________________________________________
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #3976 of 3982 Old 04-02-2015, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
Interesting theory, thanks !!!

how about my netflix issue, that stuff makes me lose sleep !!!
Anyone use netflix on an 80 in Sharp?
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3977 of 3982 Old 04-02-2015, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
Anyone use netflix on an 80 in Sharp?
Check your TV manual. ARC can only feed what the TV is capable of feeding it.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_________________________________________________
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #3978 of 3982 Old 04-03-2015, 09:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,163
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3591 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I have a ONKYO 609 receiver paired with Samsung 55 smart tv using ARC
when using NETFLIX and watching Pulp Fiction I get Dolby Digital

In my other room

I have ONKYO 626 receiver paired with SHARP 80 inch non 3D smart tv using ARC
same movie I can only get Dolby Pro Logic 2, in netflix I have 5.1 enabled


any help would be appreciated.
Is it in my settings or is it a limitation to the netflix app on the Sharp?

thanks in advance.
Most likely a limitation of the TV itself as many TVs can only pass 2CH audio via the HDMI(ARC) connection. You may want to try an optical connection instead for DD 5.1.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3979 of 3982 Old 04-03-2015, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Most likely a limitation of the TV itself as many TVs can only pass 2CH audio via the HDMI(ARC) connection. You may want to try an optical connection instead for DD 5.1.
I will try the optical, I just realized the tv had ARC and just switched it out.

thanks
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #3980 of 3982 Old 04-16-2015, 04:06 PM
Member
 
jdcerank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just returned my TX-NR609 per post #3835 link to Onkyo following their online instructions. Sent in my request on 04/13 & got the box today by Fed-Ex. Free shipping back to Onkyo repair. The process so far has been very convenient. My Onkyo sound just stopped working within the past 10 days, thought for sure I needed to toss the AV receiver in the junk. I thought that I would check AVS Forum, knowing how helpful others users can be. Many thanks!!!

Last edited by jdcerank; 04-16-2015 at 04:12 PM.
jdcerank is offline  
post #3981 of 3982 Old Yesterday, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
eross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It there a way to connect Bluetooth headphones to the NR609 ?
Thanks
eross is offline  
post #3982 of 3982 Old Today, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I don't think the 609 has Bluetooth built-in. You'd probably need some form of audio adapter that plugs into the headphone jack or some other audio output.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Nr509 5 1 Channel Network A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Sr309 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr609 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off