Onkyo TX-NR609, TX-NR509, TX-SR309 Thread - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 4041 Old 12-28-2015, 12:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstar79 View Post
I've recently ordered a projector so will need the ability to switch my AVR HDMI output to either the Television or the projector (silly me at the time thought who needs to HDMI outputs on an AVR!) Anyone have a setup like this? Assuming I would need an HDMI switch but for output rather than input.

I should add that 1 output will require a 3ft HDMI cable whereas the other will be a 25ft HDMI cable.

Would this work?
http://www.amazon.ca/Fosmon%C2%AE-Bi...s=hdmi+1x2#Ask

That should work. What you need is a SPLITTER ... 1x2 or better.


I use this,
http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=5312
but it's over-kill because I just use the splitter or "x2 part". I can watch on both at the same time or turn off the one I don't want on.


Here is a ... J-Tech 1x2 HDMI Splitter
blackstar79 likes this.

Living Room Home-Theater:
Epson 8350 1080p Projector (96") / Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 AVR-Amplifier (7.2ch ~ HDMI ~ 630 watts)
AppleTV-4 / Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-Ray Disc Player / Cisco 8742hdc DVR (TWC)
Harmony 670 Remote / HTPC (Kodi/Win7-64) Media Server PC / Synology 12tb Raid-5 NAS
Polk Audio Monitor Series II Speakers (Large 6.1 Matched Separates) / PSW505 12-Inch Sub
Tesla1856 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 4041 Old 01-13-2016, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
mfrey0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
After a little over 3 years, lo and behold, my beloved 609 had no HDMI sound, no ethernet, and no optical sound. Thinking I was SOL, I reluctantly bit the bullet and purchased a Yamaha RX-V679. Then I went to Onkyo's website and saw the product support bulletin about them offering free repair and shipping for all receivers with this issue until 2018.

Dang! Went ahead and got that set up. Yamaha will be here today some time. Sensible thing to do is to return the Yamaha and get back the money I was saving up to fix the dent in my truck. Wife would agree...

However, I...just...can't...do...it! Latest and greatest man, FTW LOL...

Anyone want a 609 with a fresh HDMI board? PM me...
TheChadd likes this.

60" 1080p 3D Plasma Panel
3D 1080p Blu-Ray player
4K 7.2 Channel AVR

mfrey0118 is offline  
post #4023 of 4041 Old 03-18-2016, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
NEW 609 Issue...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
Mine worked.
I did have one startup failure when the HDMI Startup didn't go away.
Did a factory reset and so far it's ok.

Lot's more clicking after the repair, and it's running hot.

I got my repaired receiver back last Feb, today it's broken again.
I am getting blue screen on all HDMI inputs

Cables work if I plug directly to TV. They offered only a trade in which doesn't see worth it to me for a used/repaired model for 100 off and half the warranty.

Anyone else have this issue?
I can use the menu system and hear the output in the speaker levels setting...

thanks,
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #4024 of 4041 Old 04-13-2016, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Hypermobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
I got my repaired receiver back last Feb, today it's broken again.
I am getting blue screen on all HDMI inputs

Cables work if I plug directly to TV. They offered only a trade in which doesn't see worth it to me for a used/repaired model for 100 off and half the warranty.

Anyone else have this issue?
I can use the menu system and hear the output in the speaker levels setting...

thanks,
I have the same issue. For me the only thing that fixed it was to hook my pc to the pc labeled hdmi port. For some reason, if the computer is off, or I disconnect that hdmi connection it gives me blue screen on all other inputs. I know it's odd but it works every time for me. I at least have a functioning receiver until I can find a good deal to replace it.

PSN: Hypermobius
Xbox Live: Hypermobius
Hypermobius is offline  
post #4025 of 4041 Old 04-13-2016, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypermobius View Post
I have the same issue. For me the only thing that fixed it was to hook my pc to the pc labeled hdmi port. For some reason, if the computer is off, or I disconnect that hdmi connection it gives me blue screen on all other inputs. I know it's odd but it works every time for me. I at least have a functioning receiver until I can find a good deal to replace it.
So you plug it back in and it works?
What if you no longer want that connected?
Have you tried connecting something else besides pc to that connection?

while you have blue screen do you get any of the OSD (volume up down etc)?

Your solution seems very strange.. I think I can try it.
kevinwoodward is offline  
post #4026 of 4041 Old 04-13-2016, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Hypermobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwoodward View Post
So you plug it back in and it works?
What if you no longer want that connected?
Have you tried connecting something else besides pc to that connection?

while you have blue screen do you get any of the OSD (volume up down etc)?

Your solution seems very strange.. I think I can try it.
I tried to connect other things, like a spare roku I had lying around and the only thing that worked was the output hdmi from my pc video card.

I believe I can still access the OSD menu but don't recall if the volume indicator comes up when I adjust it on blue screen.

I really didn't want to have to turn on my desktop pc just to watch tv, movies, etc. but it's the only thing that keeps me from having to deal with blue screens.

PSN: Hypermobius
Xbox Live: Hypermobius
Hypermobius is offline  
post #4027 of 4041 Old 04-28-2016, 05:14 PM
Member
 
scipper77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What is the best option for using my 609 with my Xbox one? The Xbox can output either 5.1 or 7.1 uncompressed or Bitstream out. I would assume Bitstream out is best (let the receiver process the audio) but then my next question is what receiver setting is best for processing the audio?

Direct? THX game? Multi channel?

Any advice is appreciated.
scipper77 is offline  
post #4028 of 4041 Old 04-28-2016, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 4,259
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by scipper77 View Post
What is the best option for using my 609 with my Xbox one? The Xbox can output either 5.1 or 7.1 uncompressed or Bitstream out. I would assume Bitstream out is best (let the receiver process the audio) but then my next question is what receiver setting is best for processing the audio?

Direct? THX game? Multi channel?

Any advice is appreciated.

Try THX Game.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ____________________________
Augerhandle is offline  
post #4029 of 4041 Old 04-29-2016, 06:49 AM
Member
 
scipper77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Upon further investigation this would seem to be a little more complicated than I originally thought. In order to pass bitstream audio the xbox will process the audio as either Dolby digital or DTS which may be worse than if I go 5.1 uncompressed from the xbox and select multi-channel on my receiver. To further confuse myself I am not entirely sure if any of these modes defeat the receivers room correction?

For games this seems like apples and oranges but for movies I would like the processing to closest outcome to the master as possible.

I guess a dedicated bluray is the best solution but as a geek I need to understand how my audio is being processed so I can choose the method that bothers me the least.
scipper77 is offline  
post #4030 of 4041 Old 04-29-2016, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by scipper77 View Post
Upon further investigation this would seem to be a little more complicated than I originally thought. In order to pass bitstream audio the xbox will process the audio as either Dolby digital or DTS which may be worse than if I go 5.1 uncompressed from the xbox and select multi-channel on my receiver. To further confuse myself I am not entirely sure if any of these modes defeat the receivers room correction?

For games this seems like apples and oranges but for movies I would like the processing to closest outcome to the master as possible.

I guess a dedicated bluray is the best solution but as a geek I need to understand how my audio is being processed so I can choose the method that bothers me the least.
So that the audio is not fudged with you will need to set your Xbox to pass the audio as Uncompressed to your Receiver. Then select multi-channel on your receiver. Multi-Channel will still use the room correction algorithms. The audio that will come through will be the HD version of the audio, you just won't see the fancy DTS-HD/DD-HD symbols light up on the receiver.

The option that will not use the room-correction is the DIRECT option on the receiver, all other options use room correction.

Hope that helps ya out.
raistline is offline  
post #4031 of 4041 Old 04-29-2016, 08:52 AM
Member
 
scipper77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
So that the audio is not fudged with you will need to set your Xbox to pass the audio as Uncompressed to your Receiver. Then select multi-channel on your receiver. Multi-Channel will still use the room correction algorithms. The audio that will come through will be the HD version of the audio, you just won't see the fancy DTS-HD/DD-HD symbols light up on the receiver.

The option that will not use the room-correction is the DIRECT option on the receiver, all other options use room correction.

Hope that helps ya out.
That is exactly what I wanted to know. My only remaining question is how is the LFE channel handled in this scenario? Right now my sub goes up to 100 Hz. Does media with a dedicated LFE track stop at 80Hz? Is there a hole from 80-100 Hz?

I ask because when I use multi-channel there is little to no low end but when I set the receiver to all channel stereo the sound is much richer.

A seperate issue that could be creating this is that I have way more sub than speakers. I bought a JBL ES250P sub because there was a price that was too good to ignore ($170 new from Harmon) but I am patiently trying to figure out the best option to replace my HTIB front sound stage. I'm looking at the new ELAC UNI bookshelf speakers as a best bang for the buck front setup but cash is tight and Andrew Jones pioneer floorstanding speakers can be had for less.
scipper77 is offline  
post #4032 of 4041 Old 04-29-2016, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by scipper77 View Post
That is exactly what I wanted to know. My only remaining question is how is the LFE channel handled in this scenario? Right now my sub goes up to 100 Hz. Does media with a dedicated LFE track stop at 80Hz? Is there a hole from 80-100 Hz?

I ask because when I use multi-channel there is little to no low end but when I set the receiver to all channel stereo the sound is much richer.

A seperate issue that could be creating this is that I have way more sub than speakers. I bought a JBL ES250P sub because there was a price that was too good to ignore ($170 new from Harmon) but I am patiently trying to figure out the best option to replace my HTIB front sound stage. I'm looking at the new ELAC UNI bookshelf speakers as a best bang for the buck front setup but cash is tight and Andrew Jones pioneer floorstanding speakers can be had for less.
This one will take a bit of explaining.

First I will cover how All Channel stereo works and why you likely seem to get more bass. With All channel stereo your receiver takes the signal from left and right and duplicates them to your rears and join them together for you Center and sub channel so that they will play all content they receive. In the case of your suboowfer it is trying to play all the sound that is possibly can. In your case it is trying all ranges from 25-150hz. If you have the crossover turned on and set at 100hz your subwoofer will ignore everything over 100 and will play all frequencies it can from 25-100hz.

The additional item to throw into the mix is the Receivers Low Pass filter. All Channel stereo, if I remember correctly, ignores the receivers low-pass filter setting. So if you have the low pass filter set on the receiver and do not have the crossover enabled on the subwoofer it s trying to play all frequencies form 25-150hz. And after that, when you go into a non-all channel stereo playback mode the low pass filter is working and only sending 25-100hz. The Low pass filter always gets first bid, since it filters out frequencies before it touches your sub. Another possible reason you are missing out when not using All Channel stereo is that you have low pass filter at 80 (typical default) and your subwoofer crossover is on and enabled at 100hz. In this case with all channel stereo your subwoofer is playing all signals up to 100hz since the low pass filter is being ignores. And then when you use another playback model the high-pass filter is being used and your subwoofer is only getting frequencies from 25-80hz. Since a large amount of movies, music, and games focus on a lot of mid-bass and lower mid-bass 60-3000hz for impact this would explain why it sounds like you are missing a lot of audio. The reason a they focus on those frequencies is because they try to target the average consumer with a 5.1 htib box set where the sub cannot handle anything lower than 60hz.

Alright, I think that should just about cover it.
raistline is offline  
post #4033 of 4041 Old 04-29-2016, 10:03 AM
Member
 
scipper77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
This one will take a bit of explaining.

First I will cover how All Channel stereo works and why you likely seem to get more bass. With All channel stereo your receiver takes the signal from left and right and duplicates them to your rears and join them together for you Center and sub channel so that they will play all content they receive. In the case of your suboowfer it is trying to play all the sound that is possibly can. In your case it is trying all ranges from 25-150hz. If you have the crossover turned on and set at 100hz your subwoofer will ignore everything over 100 and will play all frequencies it can from 25-100hz.

The additional item to throw into the mix is the Receivers Low Pass filter. All Channel stereo, if I remember correctly, ignores the receivers low-pass filter setting. So if you have the low pass filter set on the receiver and do not have the crossover enabled on the subwoofer it s trying to play all frequencies form 25-150hz. And after that, when you go into a non-all channel stereo playback mode the low pass filter is working and only sending 25-100hz. The Low pass filter always gets first bid, since it filters out frequencies before it touches your sub. Another possible reason you are missing out when not using All Channel stereo is that you have low pass filter at 80 (typical default) and your subwoofer crossover is on and enabled at 100hz. In this case with all channel stereo your subwoofer is playing all signals up to 100hz since the low pass filter is being ignores. And then when you use another playback model the high-pass filter is being used and your subwoofer is only getting frequencies from 25-80hz. Since a large amount of movies, music, and games focus on a lot of mid-bass and lower mid-bass 60-3000hz for impact this would explain why it sounds like you are missing a lot of audio. The reason a they focus on those frequencies is because they try to target the average consumer with a 5.1 htib box set where the sub cannot handle anything lower than 60hz.

Alright, I think that should just about cover it.
You have covered everything perfectly. Thank you. My sub is set in LFE mode so there is no low pass filter at the sub. My speakers are set to 100 Hz by audyssey. My sub seems terrible but I have known that this is because it is being neutered by the room correction to try and match the other speakers. Everything makes sense now based on your explanation of how all channel stereo works.

I'm very much looking forward to getting a front stage that can perform in the mid bass range. I know the difference in sound will be game changing.

Again, thank you for helping me understand exactly what these settings are doing behind the scenes. I find home audio setup to be easy to understand but hard to figure out when dealing with a black box scenario.
scipper77 is offline  
post #4034 of 4041 Old 06-06-2016, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I have a TX-NR509 amp with a wrong firmware. Onkyo updated the fw via internet automatically. After the update I have no HDMI sound and the network/USB menus are greyed out. I had connected an UART interface to the P3102A port, but I couldn't see any communication on that port. The P751A port is working (9600bps), I can see the commands. Is there any fix available?

Thank You,
GreaTx is offline  
post #4035 of 4041 Old 06-28-2016, 03:25 PM
Member
 
JoeWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Plano, TX.
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Zone 2

Hi everyone,

Is there any way to keep zone 2 powered on and have a 7.2 setup on zone 1. If I power on zone 2, my surround back gray out. I just didn't want to have to go into setup every time I want to use zone 2. I know I can't actually use zone 1 7.2 and zone 2 at the same time but going into setup seems awkward.

Joe
JoeWanabe is offline  
post #4036 of 4041 Old 07-01-2016, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 156
super noob question on the 609 - how do I lock the listening mode to THX Surround - every time I turn on my receiver it flips into "ALL CH STEREO" and i have to manually flip it back to Surround?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #4037 of 4041 Old 07-07-2016, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 156
I figured out the stupid all channel stereo thing on my receiver.

So I hit the setup button. Listening mode preset. Pick your input. There are six choices. Only one of them cannot be set to PL IIx THX Cinema. I set the rest that way and away we go!!!
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #4038 of 4041 Old 07-08-2016, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,


I hope you can help! I've googled for answer but came up with nothing. Can anyone confirm if the NR609 can play music from an android device - specifically a Galaxy S4?


I'm not sure if it's because I have the latest android version on the phone but I'm pretty I was able to play music straight from it but that was a few years ago.


When I connect the S4, the USB would flash. I have connected an iPhone with the latest iOS software and it works and so does an USB stick with music in it.
dilemmax is offline  
post #4039 of 4041 Old 07-08-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 4,259
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilemmax View Post
Hi guys,


I hope you can help! I've googled for answer but came up with nothing. Can anyone confirm if the NR609 can play music from an android device - specifically a Galaxy S4?


I'm not sure if it's because I have the latest android version on the phone but I'm pretty I was able to play music straight from it but that was a few years ago.


When I connect the S4, the USB would flash. I have connected an iPhone with the latest iOS software and it works and so does an USB stick with music in it.

You can use an adaptor to go from the earphone out into a dual RCA, or... do what I did and use this to go Bluetooth. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016NUTG5K/


It comes with all the wiring and connectors, just power it from the outlet on the back of the receiver, it's wireless, and it works great!

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ____________________________
Augerhandle is offline  
post #4040 of 4041 Old 08-10-2016, 03:28 AM
Member
 
hifiphones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a slight problem with the NR-609, once I switch it on I get picture but no sound. After switching off-on around 3 times I get sound in the end..has anyone experienced something like this?
hifiphones is offline  
post #4041 of 4041 Old 08-10-2016, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiphones View Post
I have a slight problem with the NR-609, once I switch it on I get picture but no sound. After switching off-on around 3 times I get sound in the end..has anyone experienced something like this?
Sounds like the HDMI daughter board is dying. Contact Onkyo support they have extended warranty repairs on that specific part even if your receiver is already out of warranty they will likely fix it.
raistline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Nr509 5 1 Channel Network A V Receiver , Onkyo Tx Sr309 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off