Onkyo HT-RC360/370 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 735 Old 04-05-2011, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vailvon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody tried these receivers from Onkyo??

Planning to replace my old TX-SR605 to power my new Paradigm Studio 100..
vailvon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 735 Old 04-05-2011, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are they even out yet? I've seen no indications on availability. Last year's models came out in July, I believe...

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
post #3 of 735 Old 04-05-2011, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Oh, I see, a Press Release came out yesterday about them being released "soon", and they just showed up on the Onkyo website "shipping soon". So, no, no-one outside of Onkyo has one yet.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/04/onk...c370-ht-rc360/

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
post #4 of 735 Old 04-05-2011, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
mcsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rowlett, Tx.
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
mcsoul is offline  
post #5 of 735 Old 04-05-2011, 12:46 PM
Member
 
neworder71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I'm seeing the 370 looks like a detuned txnr709. So maybe we will see that model shortly. Usually the HT's are $50 less the the comparable TX at MSRP.

Last year the 270 lost the following compared to the 708:
Sirius
10w
12v trigger
RS-232
1 HDMI
neworder71 is offline  
post #6 of 735 Old 04-06-2011, 11:52 AM
Member
 
defkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmm I like the sounds of this 370!

it loses 10W/ channel you think?? hrmm...

what about this 12V trigger, how can it be used??
defkon is offline  
post #7 of 735 Old 04-18-2011, 06:46 AM
Member
 
chrise2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 360. The 370 was out of my budget and my stereo needs have changed. It replaced a 13 year old or so TX-DS777. Its less powerful than the 777, but the 777 was having Dolby Digital issues with some of my newer components. I also couldn't do video switching with it because it only did s-video. Lol. Anyway, I only set it up last night and I still have a bunch of tweaking to do, but so far its working great. The on screen menus have improved some in the past 13 years. HDMI switching makes the cabling a lot less complicated. Feature wise, it meets all my needs. I just haven't actually finished setting up the speaker settings and listened to it much.
chrise2 is offline  
post #8 of 735 Old 04-18-2011, 07:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by defkon View Post

hmmm I like the sounds of this 370!

it loses 10W/ channel you think?? hrmm...

what about this 12V trigger, how can it be used??

You wont notice the 10W difference.

12V trigger is for turning on an external amp. It sends a signal to the amp which automatically turns it on.

If you have no plans to add an amp it wont matter. Plus there are other workarounds to make that happen anyway such as a smart power strip.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #9 of 735 Old 04-19-2011, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like this years models are giving up the analog front inputs. HDMI, usb & analog ipod input? And the mic input.

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #10 of 735 Old 05-10-2011, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
dopeselecta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been having a heck of a time trying to find information regarding the OSD/GUI and the volume adjustment.

Does anyone know, especially those who already have the HT-RC360, if the volume adjustment is displayed on your main display (via HDMI out)? I have an older Denon that shows the volume adjustment on the main screen via it's GUI interface so that I don't have to guess how much I've adjusted the volume.

Any input would be appreciated. Would go a long way in determining whether to choose this receiver over a possible denon avr-1912.

Since I live in Hawaii, there are no big box dealers that have an Onkyo model that I can demo in-store.

Thanks.
dopeselecta is offline  
post #11 of 735 Old 05-13-2011, 03:53 PM
Member
 
StormUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the HT-RC360 today to replace a decade+ old TX-DS747. So far I'm pretty happy, but one thing I don't like is the volume is a 0-??? scale rather than being displayed in +/-db from reference.

I've run MultEQ, but I don't have an SPL laying around right now, so I'm not sure what volume # corresponds to the 0 db reference. Does anybody know?

And yes, the volume does display on screen if you plan on having the receiver somewhere difficult to read.
StormUP is offline  
post #12 of 735 Old 05-13-2011, 04:33 PM
Member
 
colemad5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If this receiver is like other Onkyo models there should be a setting somewhere in the setup that allows you to choose the absolute 0-? scale and the relative db scale. The default from factory is the absolute scale.

colemad5 is offline  
post #13 of 735 Old 05-13-2011, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Schloob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
those who have the 360, over the weekend if you could post more thoughts on this receiver I would appreciate it. this week at Fry's it looks like they have it for sale at $299 only.
Schloob1 is offline  
post #14 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
integroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the 360 today at Fry's for $299. It is identical to the 609 minus the THX certification and the front USB port. I purchased the TXNR509 last week that I am going to be returning. I havent unboxed the 360 yet but I am sure it is better than the 509 I have currently but probably not as good as the 1008 I have as well. I will post up more later in the weekend once I get it unboxed. I think it is a steal at $299. The 509 really impressed me for the price and I am sure the 360 will be equally as impressive. I dont think you will find anything better at $299.
integroid is offline  
post #15 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 10:55 AM
Member
 
Dre325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by integroid View Post

I just purchased the 360 today at Fry's for $299. It is identical to the 609 minus the THX certification and the front USB port. I purchased the TXNR509 last week that I am going to be returning. I havent unboxed the 360 yet but I am sure it is better than the 509 I have currently but probably not as good as the 1008 I have as well. I will post up more later in the weekend once I get it unboxed. I think it is a steal at $299. The 509 really impressed me for the price and I am sure the 360 will be equally as impressive. I dont think you will find anything better at $299.

Seems like an amazing price for the 360. Any amazing prices on the 370 out there? That's the one I have my eye on.
Dre325 is offline  
post #16 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 11:30 AM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure you sell the 605. You can probably still get $125-$150 out of it(depends if you still have the Aud mic/manual).
schan1269 is offline  
post #17 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 01:33 PM
Member
 
stappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who have the 360, what all outputs to zone 2?

I know it says analog only, how about direct play with the iPod? Or via the networking (pandora etc...)
stappa is offline  
post #18 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
integroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by integroid View Post

I just purchased the 360 today at Fry's for $299. It is identical to the 609 minus the THX certification and the front USB port. I purchased the TXNR509 last week that I am going to be returning. I havent unboxed the 360 yet but I am sure it is better than the 509 I have currently but probably not as good as the 1008 I have as well. I will post up more later in the weekend once I get it unboxed. I think it is a steal at $299. The 509 really impressed me for the price and I am sure the 360 will be equally as impressive. I dont think you will find anything better at $299.

Interesting, according to Onkyo it says the receiver does not have a front USB port and that was one of the main differences between the RC360 and the 609. After taking mine out of the box, there is a front USB. I guess the only difference is THX?
integroid is offline  
post #19 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
dopeselecta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know if the RC260 and the RC270 will overlay the volume on the main screen via HDMI? There are no big box stores that sell onkyo on Hawaii, so any input would be appreciated. Amazon.com is my only source for onkyo at this point.
dopeselecta is offline  
post #20 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 04:36 PM
Member
 
StormUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by integroid View Post

Interesting, according to Onkyo it says the receiver does not have a front USB port and that was one of the main differences between the RC360 and the 609. After taking mine out of the box, there is a front USB. I guess the only difference is THX?

The 609 also has a VGA input for PC's. Not important to me as I'd just use HDMI out from a PC anyhow. And yes, the Onkyo site dosen't show front USB as a feature on the 360, but it's printed on the box and I have hooked an iPhone up to it and used it. I'm going to try hooking up a hard drive later to play some FLAC files.

2EQ wasn't the most successful at autodetecting my speaker distances, but I was holding the mic because I couldn't find my tripod. I'll rerun it when I find my tripod so I'm not in the way. I also haven't got my second set of Pinpoint AM-40's yet to mount my rear surrounds so I'm using 5.1 for now even though I have the speakers for 7.1.

2Eq set my left/right to full range and my center and surrounds to 40hz which is what I probably would have set them to myself. I find it interesting that it set my left/right to -12db and all my others to -4db though. On my old TX-DS747 when I manually configured(by ear, not SPL) it I was only running a 5db difference and looking up the specs to find out they're actually 94db and 89db which is a 5db difference according to the stat sheet. So either the stat sheet is wrong or my ear is more awesome that 2eq or????
StormUP is offline  
post #21 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
integroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormUP View Post

The 609 also has a VGA input for PC's. Not important to me as I'd just use HDMI out from a PC anyhow. And yes, the Onkyo site dosen't show front USB as a feature on the 360, but it's printed on the box and I have hooked an iPhone up to it and used it. I'm going to try hooking up a hard drive later to play some FLAC files.

Yeah, I just noticed the rear PC input but I am with you. I have HDMI coming from my computer to my receiver and could care less about the VGA PC Input. On Onkyo's site it says the 360 has ipod support so I was kind of lost on where the USB was if it wasnt on the front. This is starting to look like a killer deal at $299.
integroid is offline  
post #22 of 735 Old 05-14-2011, 10:59 PM
Member
 
StormUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Listening to Nine Inch Nails - The Slip album right now in 24 bit/96 khz FLAC off a 2 TB USB hard drive right now. So if anyone was wondering if higher bitrate/sample rate FLAC was supported, it's working. It seems to chop off the last second or so of each track though, even though the timer onscreen is correct. Haven't updated my firmware yet and it looks like there were some fixes on the 12th to improve Network and USB playback, so I'll try that. My neighbors are having a karaoke party tonight so I can rock this loud til oh pretty darn late. I don't complain about them and they don't complain about me
StormUP is offline  
post #23 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormUP View Post

I got the HT-RC360 today to replace a decade+ old TX-DS747. So far I'm pretty happy, but one thing I don't like is the volume is a 0-??? scale rather than being displayed in +/-db from reference.

I've run MultEQ, but I don't have an SPL laying around right now, so I'm not sure what volume # corresponds to the 0 db reference. Does anybody know?

And yes, the volume does display on screen if you plan on having the receiver somewhere difficult to read.

I just bought an RC360, and I too don't like the 0-80 scale. I went to Misc., but all there is, is a volume limit, there is no way to make it show Absolute, which sucks.

As for what is equivalent, I believe 55 is equivalent to -20. So 75 is equivalent to 0. So 80, the max, really isn't that high, I'm surprised it doesn't go higher.
mike171979 is offline  
post #24 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 02:08 PM
Member
 
hgeblome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone who owns the HT-RC360 tell me how it handles a 2 channel stereo signal (e.g. radio tuner or CD)? Does it detect the 2 channel signal and output it only to two speakers (without manually choosing this setup) or does it output to all connected speakers?
I'm asking this because I recently bought the Harman Kardon AVR-1600 and it applies Logic 7 to everything unless you go through the tedious surround menu and explicitly select 2-channel stereo. I'm thinking about returning and getting the Onkyo.
Thanks!
hgeblome is offline  
post #25 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 03:04 PM
Member
 
StormUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgeblome View Post

Can someone who owns the HT-RC360 tell me how it handles a 2 channel stereo signal (e.g. radio tuner or CD)? Does it detect the 2 channel signal and output it only to two speakers (without manually choosing this setup) or does it output to all connected speakers?
I'm asking this because I recently bought the Harman Kardon AVR-1600 and it applies Logic 7 to everything unless you go through the tedious surround menu and explicitly select 2-channel stereo. I'm thinking about returning and getting the Onkyo.
Thanks!

In Setup you can select a listening mode preset for each input for six categories, PCM, Mono/Multiplex, 2ch, Dolby/DTS, Other Multichannel. So for whatever input your CD is hooked to you could set 2ch source to stereo and it will automatically choose stereo when it detects a 2ch source on that input. You can also set it to stereo - all channels, last valid, mono, etc.

I'm not sure what it does for radio, I haven't hooked up the antenna yet.

One problem I found is that the iPhone 4 support sucks via USB. It clicks/skips and sounds like a bad CD. It makes it unusable in my opinion and this is with the latest firmware released on 5/12/2011. Yesterday I though I just had a bad rip on my iPhone when I was testing as I have one or two C's in bad shape I've ripped from, but I've done more testing today and it's all tracks. They sound fine through headphones direct from the iPhone.

FLAC playback via USB works great though and doesn't seem to have the same problem so I'm not really sure what the deal is. I just filled out the support form on the Onkyo website so we'll see what they say.
StormUP is offline  
post #26 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
hgeblome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. That sounds pretty nice. Too bad my local Fry's is sold out.
hgeblome is offline  
post #27 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormUP View Post


In Setup you can select a listening mode preset for each input for six categories, PCM, Mono/Multiplex, 2ch, Dolby/DTS, Other Multichannel. So for whatever input your CD is hooked to you could set 2ch source to stereo and it will automatically choose stereo when it detects a 2ch source on that input. You can also set it to stereo - all channels, last valid, mono, etc.

I'm not sure what it does for radio, I haven't hooked up the antenna yet.

One problem I found is that the iPhone 4 support sucks via USB. It clicks/skips and sounds like a bad CD. It makes it unusable in my opinion and this is with the latest firmware released on 5/12/2011. Yesterday I though I just had a bad rip on my iPhone when I was testing as I have one or two C's in bad shape I've ripped from, but I've done more testing today and it's all tracks. They sound fine through headphones direct from the iPhone.

FLAC playback via USB works great though and doesn't seem to have the same problem so I'm not really sure what the deal is. I just filled out the support form on the Onkyo website so we'll see what they say.

It's interesting your having that problem I have a 4th gen iPod touch and its working perfectly.
mike171979 is offline  
post #28 of 735 Old 05-15-2011, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just finished watching Pirates part 1 using Uncompressed 5.1, and although it sounded OK, I just didn't get that pop I quite expected, and I'm not sure why.

I ran Audyssey, and for some reason it set all of my speakers at around -7 or -10. Is that right???

It sounds a little brigher when I pump up the Treble a little on the front panel, just up to +4 or +6 does liven things up a little, but is that the way it should be.

I also popped in Quantum of Solace and bitstreamed the DTS HD MA track to the receiver and it seemed to sound fine.
mike171979 is offline  
post #29 of 735 Old 05-16-2011, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
ben_mir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a RC360 from Fry's over the weekend to replace a 6 year old Sony receiver. I agree with mike17 that volume level is pretty disappointing. I had to crank it up to around 40 (50%) to get a decent sound level in a relatively small area! Unless I am doing something wrong. Any suggestion?
ben_mir is offline  
post #30 of 735 Old 05-17-2011, 12:56 PM
Member
 
repower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben_mir View Post

I just bought a RC360 from Fry's over the weekend to replace a 6 year old Sony receiver. I agree with mike17 that volume level is pretty disappointing. I had to crank it up to around 40 (50%) to get a decent sound level in a relatively small area! Unless I am doing something wrong. Any suggestion?

Not an expert but you can adjust Intellivolume per source, as well as increase the db levels of the speakers. I ran the full Audyssey setup and tweaked the settings afterwards. I mainly used it as a guide (esp in determining speaker distances) and tuned to my liking.

I'm at around 20 -25 on the volume and fills the room quite nicely.
repower is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off