The "official" Yamaha RX-V671 thread. 7.1-Channel Network AVR - Page 74 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2217 Old 12-10-2014, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
You are correct.
Have you tried a Google search? Look at the Yamaha website for accessories for the 671.
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
captzerf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2217 Old 12-10-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011009&p_id=80 60&seq=1&format=2#specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.

Last edited by Bond 007; 12-10-2014 at 02:03 PM.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2193 of 2217 Old 12-11-2014, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

{url omitted because I don't have the minimum number of posts}

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
captzerf is offline  
post #2194 of 2217 Old 12-11-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2195 of 2217 Old 12-11-2014, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
captzerf is offline  
post #2196 of 2217 Old 12-11-2014, 11:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
That's what he said. He's had it for years. Maybe the sensor was part of some sort of sale or something.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2197 of 2217 Old 12-15-2014, 05:53 PM
Member
 
captnem0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remote IR & remote in (on rx-v671)

I have been using Xantech IR system. All my equipment is in a hallway closet.


I was wondering if I could unplug 1 emitter 283m cord (cord with mini jack on 1 end and relay sensor on other end which is attached to yamaha front panel remoter sensor), replace it with a mini plug patch cord (male both ends), plug 1 end to the emitter jack on the 789-44 and the other to my yamaha rx-v671 receiver using the remote in/out jack on the back (using the in jack).

Would this let me control the receiver just like if I was using the 283m cord with the ir sensor?

Thanks
captnem0 is offline  
post #2198 of 2217 Old 12-16-2014, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
captzerf is offline  
post #2199 of 2217 Old 12-16-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2200 of 2217 Old 12-16-2014, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
captzerf is offline  
post #2201 of 2217 Old 12-16-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
lol The beauty of the app is supposed to be its simplicity and large screen.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2202 of 2217 Old 12-16-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
This is a thought if the free app won't do. It comes with a "Harmony Hub".

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-Control-Smartphone-Simple/dp/B00BQ5RYI4/ref=pd_sim_e_5?ie=UTF8&refRID=1JY4TG3EY05Z0T78R15Q
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2203 of 2217 Old 12-31-2014, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
After a little back and forth with Yamaha support I've found out the following:
  • the "Remote In" and "Remote Out" jacks on the back of the receiver are not powered, and
  • the receiver will accept IR signals into the "Remote In" jack from a self powered device

So I bought this to self powered IR receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and ran a 50ft 3.5mm stereo extension cable and a male to male 3.5mm stereo cable from the self powered IR receiver to the "Remote In" jack on the back of the receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It appears to be working quite well. Thanks for all the help!
captzerf is offline  
post #2204 of 2217 Old 01-01-2015, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
After a little back and forth with Yamaha support I've found out the following:
  • the "Remote In" and "Remote Out" jacks on the back of the receiver are not powered, and
  • the receiver will accept IR signals into the "Remote In" jack from a self powered device

So I bought this to self powered IR receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and ran a 50ft 3.5mm stereo extension cable and a male to male 3.5mm stereo cable from the self powered IR receiver to the "Remote In" jack on the back of the receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It appears to be working quite well. Thanks for all the help!
Good deal. Congrats!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2205 of 2217 Old 01-17-2015, 07:02 PM
Member
 
lamplighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conowingo,Md
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Atmos

Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
lamplighter is offline  
post #2206 of 2217 Old 01-17-2015, 08:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
Absolutely no chance.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2207 of 2217 Old 01-18-2015, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 717 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
Yes. Get a sticker like this and put it on front of your 671 next to the other logos

http://techwelike.com/wp-content/upl...mos-Logo-1.jpg

Pivetta Opera
Bose Jewel speakers.
fatbottom is offline  
post #2208 of 2217 Old 01-18-2015, 06:10 AM
Member
 
jeremygary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post
Yes. Get a sticker like this and put it on front of your 671 next to the other logos

http://techwelike.com/wp-content/upl...mos-Logo-1.jpg
Have yet to even hear it at a theater. But the tech sounds very intriguing.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk
jeremygary is online now  
post #2209 of 2217 Old 01-20-2015, 06:29 AM
Member
 
lamplighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conowingo,Md
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 5.1 hookup, speakers are not bi amp connected. Should I use the 5.1 bi amp connection in setup or the basic setup..somewhat confused on this.
Thanks..
lamplighter is offline  
post #2210 of 2217 Old 01-20-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
I have a 5.1 hookup, speakers are not bi amp connected. Should I use the 5.1 bi amp connection in setup or the basic setup..somewhat confused on this.
Thanks..
Basic
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2211 of 2217 Old 01-20-2015, 07:37 AM
Member
 
lamplighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conowingo,Md
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks.
lamplighter is offline  
post #2212 of 2217 Old Yesterday, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyWalker666 View Post
Bought the RX-V671 AVR for HTS but increasing listening to SACD's sending Multichannel DSD over HDMI and 2ch Stereo 96kHz downloads from a NAS (PC Input source) with Pure Direct enabled to improve quality. After upgrading firmware 1.47 to 1.60 have noticed a change in the sound signature. I found the flat sound signature for easy listening quite pleasing but now sounds like the tone control is still enabled or to my ears like a cat with it's balls caught in a vice.
Read some posts on this thread that suggest the firmware can be downgraded but unable to find a UK version of the 1.47 firmware on Yamaha's download page.
Any ideas where I could find this version or even if possible to rollback to version 1.47?
Even though it seems unlikely to me that a firmware could be causing this, I have the same issue. Maybe some setting has been reset, but I don't want to recalibrate my system because it was perfect the way it was before the update.

I mailed Yamaha's customer service but so far they ignored my message.

Does anyone still has a copy of firmware 1.47?
flashgeist is online now  
post #2213 of 2217 Old Yesterday, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
SkyWalker666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashgeist View Post
Even though it seems unlikely to me that a firmware could be causing this, I have the same issue. Maybe some setting has been reset, but I don't want to recalibrate my system because it was perfect the way it was before the update.

I mailed Yamaha's customer service but so far they ignored my message.

Does anyone still has a copy of firmware 1.47?

Rolling back to firmware V1.47 solved my issue with 2ch Stereo 96kHz downloads from a NAS (PC Input source) with Pure Direct enabled to improve quality (think SACD multichannel was a control group). Yamaha's customer service did get back but took a few days to respond.

Last edited by SkyWalker666; Yesterday at 12:21 PM. Reason: Unable to send zip in PM due to post count and upload limits.
SkyWalker666 is offline  
post #2214 of 2217 Old Yesterday, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
That would be fantastic if you could mail me the firmware!

I cannot post my email address because my post count is under 5!

My email is a hotmail address, and the user name is daudetalphonse...
flashgeist is online now  
post #2215 of 2217 Old Yesterday, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
SkyWalker666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashgeist View Post
That would be fantastic if you could mail me the firmware!

I cannot post my email address because my post count is under 5!

########
Sent

Last edited by SkyWalker666; Yesterday at 03:07 PM. Reason: Removed emaik details
SkyWalker666 is offline  
post #2216 of 2217 Old Yesterday, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyWalker666 View Post
Sent
Thank you!
flashgeist is online now  
post #2217 of 2217 Old Today, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can confirm that rolling back to firmware 1.47 fixed my sound issue (playing music through BubbleUPnP Android software via network connection).
flashgeist is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V671 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V671 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off