The "official" Yamaha RX-V671 thread. 7.1-Channel Network AVR - Page 74 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The "official" Yamaha RX-V671 thread. 7.1-Channel Network AVR

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

captzerf's Avatar captzerf
07:26 AM Liked: 0
post #2191 of 2211
12-10-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
You are correct.
Have you tried a Google search? Look at the Yamaha website for accessories for the 671.
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
01:55 PM Liked: 919
post #2192 of 2211
12-10-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011009&p_id=80 60&seq=1&format=2#specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
captzerf's Avatar captzerf
05:41 AM Liked: 0
post #2193 of 2211
12-11-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

{url omitted because I don't have the minimum number of posts}

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
07:53 AM Liked: 919
post #2194 of 2211
12-11-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
captzerf's Avatar captzerf
08:44 AM Liked: 0
post #2195 of 2211
12-11-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
11:45 AM Liked: 919
post #2196 of 2211
12-11-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
That's what he said. He's had it for years. Maybe the sensor was part of some sort of sale or something.
captnem0's Avatar captnem0
05:53 PM Liked: 10
post #2197 of 2211
12-15-2014 | Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2007
I have been using Xantech IR system. All my equipment is in a hallway closet.


I was wondering if I could unplug 1 emitter 283m cord (cord with mini jack on 1 end and relay sensor on other end which is attached to yamaha front panel remoter sensor), replace it with a mini plug patch cord (male both ends), plug 1 end to the emitter jack on the 789-44 and the other to my yamaha rx-v671 receiver using the remote in/out jack on the back (using the in jack).

Would this let me control the receiver just like if I was using the 283m cord with the ir sensor?

Thanks
captzerf's Avatar captzerf
11:45 AM Liked: 0
post #2198 of 2211
12-16-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
12:30 PM Liked: 919
post #2199 of 2211
12-16-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
captzerf's Avatar captzerf
12:51 PM Liked: 0
post #2200 of 2211
12-16-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
12:55 PM Liked: 919
post #2201 of 2211
12-16-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
lol The beauty of the app is supposed to be its simplicity and large screen.
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
01:00 PM Liked: 919
post #2202 of 2211
12-16-2014 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
This is a thought if the free app won't do. It comes with a "Harmony Hub".

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-Control-Smartphone-Simple/dp/B00BQ5RYI4/ref=pd_sim_e_5?ie=UTF8&refRID=1JY4TG3EY05Z0T78R15Q
captzerf's Avatar captzerf
11:47 AM Liked: 0
post #2203 of 2211
12-31-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2009
After a little back and forth with Yamaha support I've found out the following:
  • the "Remote In" and "Remote Out" jacks on the back of the receiver are not powered, and
  • the receiver will accept IR signals into the "Remote In" jack from a self powered device

So I bought this to self powered IR receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and ran a 50ft 3.5mm stereo extension cable and a male to male 3.5mm stereo cable from the self powered IR receiver to the "Remote In" jack on the back of the receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It appears to be working quite well. Thanks for all the help!
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
05:22 PM Liked: 919
post #2204 of 2211
01-01-2015 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
After a little back and forth with Yamaha support I've found out the following:
  • the "Remote In" and "Remote Out" jacks on the back of the receiver are not powered, and
  • the receiver will accept IR signals into the "Remote In" jack from a self powered device

So I bought this to self powered IR receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and ran a 50ft 3.5mm stereo extension cable and a male to male 3.5mm stereo cable from the self powered IR receiver to the "Remote In" jack on the back of the receiver
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It appears to be working quite well. Thanks for all the help!
Good deal. Congrats!
lamplighter's Avatar lamplighter
07:02 PM Liked: 11
post #2205 of 2211
01-17-2015 | Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2008
Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
08:39 PM Liked: 919
post #2206 of 2211
01-17-2015 | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
Absolutely no chance.
fatbottom's Avatar fatbottom
04:18 AM Liked: 209
post #2207 of 2211
01-18-2015 | Posts: 3,949
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
Any chance we could get a firmware update to the 671 for ATMOS
Yes. Get a sticker like this and put it on front of your 671 next to the other logos

http://techwelike.com/wp-content/upl...mos-Logo-1.jpg
jeremygary's Avatar jeremygary
06:10 AM Liked: 18
post #2208 of 2211
01-18-2015 | Posts: 88
Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post
Yes. Get a sticker like this and put it on front of your 671 next to the other logos

http://techwelike.com/wp-content/upl...mos-Logo-1.jpg
Have yet to even hear it at a theater. But the tech sounds very intriguing.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk
lamplighter's Avatar lamplighter
06:29 AM Liked: 11
post #2209 of 2211
Today | Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2008
I have a 5.1 hookup, speakers are not bi amp connected. Should I use the 5.1 bi amp connection in setup or the basic setup..somewhat confused on this.
Thanks..
Bond 007's Avatar Bond 007
06:36 AM Liked: 919
post #2210 of 2211
Today | Posts: 12,669
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamplighter View Post
I have a 5.1 hookup, speakers are not bi amp connected. Should I use the 5.1 bi amp connection in setup or the basic setup..somewhat confused on this.
Thanks..
Basic
lamplighter's Avatar lamplighter
07:37 AM Liked: 11
post #2211 of 2211
Today | Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2008
thanks.
Tags: Yamaha Rx V671 Receiver

Gear in this thread - V671 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3