The "official" Yamaha RX-V671 thread. 7.1-Channel Network AVR - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2202 Old 12-10-2014, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
You are correct.
Have you tried a Google search? Look at the Yamaha website for accessories for the 671.
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
captzerf is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2202 Old 12-10-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks 007. I have spent a good amount of time searching online for a straight forward answer. I assumed that since I haven't found one it is either not possible or that I don't understand what the actual question I should be asking is. The only IR accessory on Yamaha's website that I can find is an IR blaster (transmitter); no sign of an IR receiver. So I need to understand what the IR range is for the Yamaha receiver in order to find an IR receiver that is compatible.
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011009&p_id=80 60&seq=1&format=2#specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.

Last edited by Bond 007; 12-10-2014 at 02:03 PM.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2193 of 2202 Old 12-11-2014, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

{url omitted because I don't have the minimum number of posts}

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
captzerf is online now  
post #2194 of 2202 Old 12-11-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks. I was looking at that exact one last night, but can't seem to find if it would work with my receiver or not. I suppose it's cheap enough to purchase and try. I should also add for reference I tested with the IR receiver that works with my cable box, but it did not work with the receiver. So I guess I can use that information to rule out which other IR receivers might not work.
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2195 of 2202 Old 12-11-2014, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother said his came with his Logitech Harmony One remote.
Yi. It might be a process finding one that's compatible.
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
captzerf is online now  
post #2196 of 2202 Old 12-11-2014, 11:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Thanks for the follow up 007. I'll give that IR receiver from mono price a go. I'm pretty sure I have two Harmony One remotes, but I don't remember mine coming with any IR accessories. Are you sure it was part of another Logitech product?
That's what he said. He's had it for years. Maybe the sensor was part of some sort of sale or something.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2197 of 2202 Old Yesterday, 05:53 PM
Member
 
captnem0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remote IR & remote in (on rx-v671)

I have been using Xantech IR system. All my equipment is in a hallway closet.


I was wondering if I could unplug 1 emitter 283m cord (cord with mini jack on 1 end and relay sensor on other end which is attached to yamaha front panel remoter sensor), replace it with a mini plug patch cord (male both ends), plug 1 end to the emitter jack on the 789-44 and the other to my yamaha rx-v671 receiver using the remote in/out jack on the back (using the in jack).

Would this let me control the receiver just like if I was using the 283m cord with the ir sensor?

Thanks
captnem0 is offline  
post #2198 of 2202 Old Today, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
My brother has a remote IR receiver hooked up to his Yamaha AVR for his home theater. The AVR is in a room behind his theater screen and the IR receiver is in the theater.
I'll see if I can find out from him where he got the remote sensor and let you know.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...specifications

Don't know if this one will work for you but it will be something like this.
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
captzerf is online now  
post #2199 of 2202 Old Today, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
Unfortunately this cable didn't do the trick. I will try playing with it a little more tonight, but I plugged it in and got no response.
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2200 of 2202 Old Today, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
captzerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
What about using the app or a pc to control the 671?
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
captzerf is online now  
post #2201 of 2202 Old Today, 12:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
lol The beauty of the app is supposed to be its simplicity and large screen.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #2202 of 2202 Old Today, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by captzerf View Post
I know the app works, but I'm not sure that is something that will fly with Wifey.
This is a thought if the free app won't do. It comes with a "Harmony Hub".

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-Control-Smartphone-Simple/dp/B00BQ5RYI4/ref=pd_sim_e_5?ie=UTF8&refRID=1JY4TG3EY05Z0T78R15Q
Bond 007 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V671 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V671 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off