The "official" Yamaha RX-V671 thread. 7.1-Channel Network AVR - Page 76 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2262 Old 08-02-2015, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
austin_john's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - I have a Sonos Connect and am trying to connect RX-671 via RCA cables so that I can get TV audio in kitchen. My setup is 3 HMDI inputs (Apple TV2, Cable, DVD) and HDMI output to TV (video only) and 2 front speakers (R/L) wired to the speaker terminals. I have tried both "Audio Out" and the audio terminals on the AV Out, but neither provide audio to the Sonos. I just upgraded to the newest firmware and have reviewed the settings. Not sure what "HDMI/Standby Through" is for (it's ON)and there are options on the "Speaker/Manual Setup" that show Bi-Amp and Extra SP, but not sure if these will help. Any assistance is appreciated!!
austin_john is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2262 Old 08-02-2015, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Nebor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if this old gal will pass through 4k? I just picked up a Samsung 4k TV and plan on connecting my Apple TV, desktop PC and Xbox one to it. I have no other problems with the receiver do it'd be a shame to get rid of it.
Nebor is offline  
post #2253 of 2262 Old 08-04-2015, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
austin_john's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I didn't receive a reply to #2251 above, but for any others with a similar issue, the answer is that the unit will not convert the HDMI audio to analog audio and, therefore, the Audio Out will not have output. However, as a work-around, I can set the HDMI Audio Output to also send audio to the TV - and then use the RCA Audio Out from the TV to provide a signal to the Sonos component. Hope this helps other Yamaha 671 owners!!
austin_john is offline  
post #2254 of 2262 Old 08-04-2015, 12:49 PM
Member
 
2ndvizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by austin_john View Post
Hi - I have a Sonos Connect and am trying to connect RX-671 via RCA cables so that I can get TV audio in kitchen. My setup is 3 HMDI inputs (Apple TV2, Cable, DVD) and HDMI output to TV (video only) and 2 front speakers (R/L) wired to the speaker terminals. I have tried both "Audio Out" and the audio terminals on the AV Out, but neither provide audio to the Sonos. I just upgraded to the newest firmware and have reviewed the settings. Not sure what "HDMI/Standby Through" is for (it's ON)and there are options on the "Speaker/Manual Setup" that show Bi-Amp and Extra SP, but not sure if these will help. Any assistance is appreciated!!
It might be because it doesn't support hdmi to the audio out. I know it doesn't work when doing multizone for whole house audio but that's ok for me since I usually just use Pandora. If Pandora works for you then you are going to have to use a different audio source. When I had a cable box, I was able to run the av output from that to the receiver and that worked.
2ndvizio is offline  
post #2255 of 2262 Old 08-18-2015, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello my friends,

my receiver has indicated the availability of a new version of firmware has been updated to version 1.75 firmware. I will review the options and tell them that brings improvements. greetings
Ricardo Cuéllar is offline  
post #2256 of 2262 Old 08-19-2015, 03:21 AM
Member
 
jeremygary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardo Cuéllar View Post
Hello my friends,

my receiver has indicated the availability of a new version of firmware has been updated to version 1.75 firmware. I will review the options and tell them that brings improvements. greetings
Thanks for the info. I will check mine also.
jeremygary is online now  
post #2257 of 2262 Old 08-19-2015, 03:49 AM
Member
 
TentacleNo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardo Cuéllar View Post
Hello my friends,

my receiver has indicated the availability of a new version of firmware has been updated to version 1.75 firmware. I will review the options and tell them that brings improvements. greetings
Please, I'm curious
TentacleNo1 is offline  
post #2258 of 2262 Old 08-19-2015, 04:42 PM
Member
 
jeremygary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just got the 1.75 update prompt on my 671. D/L now. Had the receiver on all day, but it only showed up when I pressed the 'Onscreen' button on the remote.
jeremygary is online now  
post #2259 of 2262 Old 08-19-2015, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Westminster, Colorado (Denver metro)
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
What does the update add or fix?
Cla55clown is online now  
post #2260 of 2262 Old 08-19-2015, 04:51 PM
Member
 
jeremygary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not sure. It is not listed on the website yet. Assume maybe it fixes Access Error with Pandora.
jeremygary is online now  
post #2261 of 2262 Unread Yesterday, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Reviewing the settings (v1.75), I see some changes in the configuration screens for manual and automatic speaker. In my case I use the Napster - rhapsody service and with this new version have far more stability in the connection (with v1.60 in my case had cuts and sporadic blockades). Regards.
Ricardo Cuéllar is offline  
post #2262 of 2262 Unread Today, 03:12 AM
Member
 
jeremygary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardo Cuéllar View Post
Reviewing the settings (v1.75), I see some changes in the configuration screens for manual and automatic speaker. In my case I use the Napster - rhapsody service and with this new version have far more stability in the connection (with v1.60 in my case had cuts and sporadic blockades). Regards.
Same here ... noticing far better stability with streaming. Kudos to Yamaha for continuing to support their products. They have earned my brand loyalty.
jeremygary is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V671 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V671 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off