Pioneer VSX-1121 Owner's Thread - Page 111 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3320 Old 08-19-2014, 01:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Seattle
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Does anyone know the part# for Stand By board?
Can anyone share with the Service Manual for this receiver?

Thank you!

Last edited by vladc77; 08-19-2014 at 12:48 PM.
vladc77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3320 Old 08-31-2014, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
"HDMI Through" message, surround sound issues

I am having issues where the receiver will only output stereo audio when I first power it up. It's almost like it doesn't recognize that I have a full surround sound speaker setup. I have tried going into the settings and playing around, but I can't seem to pin down the problem. I think it might be related to a message that shows on the front panel saying "hdmi through" when it first comes on. I have never noticed that message until the last few weeks. Once I have my TV and DirecTV box all powered up, if I then cycle the power on the VSX-1121, it will come back up in surround sound mode.

Anyone had a similar issue or have any thoughts?

Thanks!
bcsommers is offline  
post #3303 of 3320 Old 09-13-2014, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
dallasattnyag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What terrible luck. So I had an Onkyo 606 powering my main setup, and it failed soon under warranty with a bad hdmi switch board. They replaced it with a 607, which I used for about a year. Then I put the 607 in my bedroom and bought this receiver for my main setup because (1) I assumed the Onkyo 607 hdmi board would probably fail prematurely too; (2) this unit had way more power; (3) I liked the airplay and other internet connection options; and (4) I assumed this would be a better long term receiver for my main setup.


Well, now less than 3 years later this unit had stopped working. It happened to stop working about an hour after I got new uverse service installed. I would think those might be related events, but literally all the guy did was swap out the cable boxes and I verified my entire system worked perfectly after it was installed. After about an hour or two after the cable guy left my entire system just stopped working. No video, even from the setup menu, and no audio, even from the tuner/radio.


I spent several hours checking connections and tweaking settings, and then finally did a hard reset of settings. I still couldn't get a shred of video or audio. Finally, I tried HMG and all I got was a flicker of video every 20 seconds or so. I would appreciate anyone's thoughts if these events might be related or any thoughts on whether the unit is worth further tinkering or not, or if it just needs to go in the trash. Thanks in advance.
dallasattnyag is offline  
post #3304 of 3320 Old 09-20-2014, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
sdchrgrboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: san diego
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Any one else upgrade to IOS8 and now can't use the iPad or the iPhone iControlAV2 app? It just sits there and spins and says connecting but nothing happens
sdchrgrboy is offline  
post #3305 of 3320 Old 09-21-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
DAVIDGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Armonk, NY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdchrgrboy View Post
Any one else upgrade to IOS8 and now can't use the iPad or the iPhone iControlAV2 app? It just sits there and spins and says connecting but nothing happens
iControlAV2 works fine for me on my iPhone 5 with iOS 8. Suggest you delete it and reinstall.
DAVIDGR is offline  
post #3306 of 3320 Old 10-08-2014, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday, my TV and Receiver (Pioneer VSX1121) were working perfectly. Today, they both still turn on but nothing is displayed on the TV.

Sound will periodically come on but nothing on the screen. To test the TV, I plugged my AppleTV and connected to my TV - it works fine so I assume it's not the TV. To test the HDMI cable connecting the Receiver to the TV, I replaced it with a new one - so i'm pretty sure it's not the HDMI cable.

So my logical conclusion next is that it is the Receiver. Any ideas?! Is there something I should test? Or does it sound like it's shot?

Doesn't look like anyone has posted to this thread in a while but I'm holding out hope some nice soul will help me out! PLEASE!
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #3307 of 3320 Old 10-19-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
gulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I would like to connect two single in-wall speaker to my Zone 2 output on VSX-1121-K in two different rooms. Is it possible to connect one speaker to the left speaker terminal on the receiver and the other one to the right speaker terminal and then set the receiver to send BOTH left and right audio into each terminal?

That way even though I only have one speaker in each room they would not be missing half the audio.

thanks
gulo is offline  
post #3308 of 3320 Old 11-24-2014, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
larrylwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Section, Al (near Scottsboro)
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want to use wireless earphones with this receiver. I need an audio left and right output. Unless I cant read I can not find any.
Is there a way? I do not want to use the earphone jack because I need to leave the speakers on also.
larrylwill is offline  
post #3309 of 3320 Old 11-25-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVIDGR View Post

iControlAV2 works fine for me on my iPhone 5 with iOS 8. Suggest you delete it and reinstall.
My iPhone5 with iOS 8 mostly works with iControlAV2, but will sit and spin if I try to adjust the Bass or Dialogue...
maybe I'll try a reinstall tonight
vath is offline  
post #3310 of 3320 Old 11-29-2014, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
boarderofsnow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with my newly purchased TV and am looking for someone that has solved this similar problem. I've searched and can't find anything that addresses this issue. I am also posting this in the Samsung hu8550 section.

TV: Samsung un60hu8550
Receiver: Pioneer vsx-1121-k

Everything works fine with my cable TV and Blueray player. Both of those are connected to the receiver and changed via the receiver. However, when I try to play content from a TV source like Netflix or Youtube I don't get any sound from my speakers. I can get sound from the TV speakers if I turn them up or turn them to TV source.

The setup is:
Receiver has cable box in HDMI 1, Blueray in HDMI 3 (BD player lable) and TV connected to HDMI out (ARC compatible).
The setup has been changed in the HDMI settings to "HDMI control". That is all I have found in the manual that could cause this.

TV has only HDMI 4(the only ARC port) plugged into the receiver.
The sound settings have been changed to both "Receiver" and "Optical out" (Tried even though I'm not using an optical cable at all) and neither had any effect except disabling the volume control on the TV.

Any help is appreciated.
boarderofsnow86 is offline  
post #3311 of 3320 Old 11-29-2014, 09:10 AM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^^^^
You'll need to use the Optical cable from the TV output into the Receiver's Optical Input (TV/Sat) and then switch the receiver to TV/Sat. My Sony outputs both from the TV speakers and to the Optical out simultaneously....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1417277246098.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	115.9 KB
ID:	391618  
vath is offline  
post #3312 of 3320 Old 11-29-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
looks like you'd only get 2-channel:
  • optical digital audio output (may only pass 2-channel audio from HDMI-connected sources)

link

XBR-55X850, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours
vath is offline  
post #3313 of 3320 Old 11-29-2014, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
boarderofsnow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vath View Post
^^^^^^
You'll need to use the Optical cable from the TV output into the Receiver's Optical Input (TV/Sat) and then switch the receiver to TV/Sat. My Sony outputs both from the TV speakers and to the Optical out simultaneously....
That's the only option I am seeing right now. It seems like a waste since ARC is supposed to solve this issue in the first place. Unfortunately my TV is wired through my walls/attic to get to the rest of the components and I obviously didn't run an optical cable previously. Plus if it only output 2 channel that kind of defeats the purpose as well.

Do you have any idea if the TV is the problem or the receiver?
boarderofsnow86 is offline  
post #3314 of 3320 Old 11-30-2014, 08:44 AM
Member
 
vath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^^^

Sorry, when I first read your post/question I was NOT familiar with the ARC functions of this receiver. I played around with my setup to test ARC and had little luck until I read the manual (pg45) and found that you need to unplug the receiver from the wall so it can go through an HDMI initialization for 2-10 seconds upon connecting power again. Try that out.

XBR-55X850, KDL-40XBR4 8000+ hours
vath is offline  
post #3315 of 3320 Old 11-30-2014, 01:30 PM
Member
 
tylerh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylwill View Post
I want to use wireless earphones with this receiver. I need an audio left and right output. Unless I cant read I can not find any.
Is there a way? I do not want to use the earphone jack because I need to leave the speakers on also.
I'd use one of the analog outputs on the back.See page 19 of the manual.Should not mute the sound that way.Of course you may need a mini to 2 rca plug adapter but that depends on what the manufacture supplied.
tylerh is offline  
post #3316 of 3320 Old 11-30-2014, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
larrylwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Section, Al (near Scottsboro)
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I looked at Pg19 but it appears to me that they will only work on those inputs. I have 4 hdmi inputs and want to be able to choose any one and get audio out. Right now Im taking the audio from 2 different sources (tivos) and running through a switch to a Bluetooth transmitter. If there is a better way please explain further
thank you

Last edited by larrylwill; 11-30-2014 at 04:13 PM.
larrylwill is offline  
post #3317 of 3320 Old 11-30-2014, 08:25 PM
Member
 
tylerh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylwill View Post
I looked at Pg19 but it appears to me that they will only work on those inputs. I have 4 hdmi inputs and want to be able to choose any one and get audio out. Right now Im taking the audio from 2 different sources (tivos) and running through a switch to a Bluetooth transmitter. If there is a better way please explain further
thank you
You may be correct in that only analog sources are output .I guess I'd hook it up and make sure it was working from something like FM.Then try an hdmi source.
tylerh is offline  
post #3318 of 3320 Old 12-02-2014, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
boarderofsnow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vath View Post
^^^^^

Sorry, when I first read your post/question I was NOT familiar with the ARC functions of this receiver. I played around with my setup to test ARC and had little luck until I read the manual (pg45) and found that you need to unplug the receiver from the wall so it can go through an HDMI initialization for 2-10 seconds upon connecting power again. Try that out.
Thanks for the help. I guess I missed that in the manual. The TV now controls the receiver, or at least the volume. I ended up getting it to kind of work at first and then did a factory reset. After setting up the TV and receiver HDMI controls and doing the unplug thing it all set up just fine. I have only gotten 2 channel audio but that was from youtube. I haven't tried 5.1 through the TV yet.

Thanks.
boarderofsnow86 is offline  
post #3319 of 3320 Old 12-13-2014, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
aparichitudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Garbled sound from VSX-1121 receiver

Hi does any one know what could be the reason the receiver doesn't produce the sound, but I can hear some sort of garbled audio. I tried to Factory reset, but didn't work. Sound from all the sources sound the same way. Appreciate if any one has some knowledge and share some pointers.

Thanks
aparichitudu is offline  
post #3320 of 3320 Old Today, 02:56 PM
Member
 
BassLake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Add another VSX-1126 to the deceased list. No output from HDMI or any other source. No AM/FM either. Turns on though and resets just fine. Even tried the pulling the plug trick. Selecting Video Parameter only allows v.con to be turned on or off, no other options are available. In five years numerous Harman Kardons and now a Pioneer. I think I'll roll the dice on a Marantz.
BassLake is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off