Pioneer VSX-1121 Owner's Thread - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 3295 Old 09-28-2011, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Mine is at UPS on hold at my request to avoid restock fee. Deciding if i want it for $479 or trade some tech products even for a yamaha RX-A1000, I also have been resolving an issue with my order with newegg and its taking a bit longer than expected.

I like the fact that I can do airplay / HMG on zone 2, on the patio / grill area from my ipad / iphone. Just convenient that would be. The review a few post above, was a little concerning with the person that sent theirs back to newegg.

nc88keyz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 3295 Old 09-28-2011, 08:47 PM
Member
 
cbb77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc88keyz View Post

ill work on it for you.

....the apkfile.

iControl2AV1.0

copy over to sd / internal memory, ftp, or adb push the file to your tablet.

Have fun!

Awesome, I owe you one. I just downloaded and installed it and it works!! I knew it would. They must have imposed some sort of check within the marketplace for specific phones, which is crazy to me. In any case, thank you very much. This was exactly what I wanted; it completes my setup. Thanks again !!!!
cbb77 is offline  
post #423 of 3295 Old 09-29-2011, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
DangerousThing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi:

I just received my 1121-k from Amazon and am having some major problems.

The system includes an Olivea TV with HDMI (a couple years old), and a new Oppo-93.

There is a strange intermittent problem that means I can't get the on-screen setup stuff to work most of the time. Sometimes I can get it to work. The rest of the time the TV claims there is no signal.

The Oppo does play, but there is sometimes a long delay before the movie gets onto the TV.

My HDMI cables are MedeaBridge HDMI Cable, 6 ft, High Speed w/ Ethernet. They were bought through Amazon with the receiver. Though currently I'm linked from the receiver to the TV with the cable that came with the Oppo.

I'm sure that I've done something wrong, so any help will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
-
Jay
DangerousThing is offline  
post #424 of 3295 Old 09-29-2011, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
EliaZinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Just received my 1121. I bought it to replace my 1120 that I love. Is their a way to utilize both units together? Maybe to get a 3rd and 4th zone?
EliaZinn is offline  
post #425 of 3295 Old 09-29-2011, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bud B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi DangerousThing,

What in your setup with the 1121 is different than you had with the 1120?
If the Oppo cable between the 1121 and the TV is not what you used before, remove it and use what you did before.
You definitely want all of your HDMI Cables as "High Speed!"

Also the 1121 in the video setup, has a setting for either LCD or Plasma HDTV's and compatible HDTV Resolution.....720P / 1080P etc....

Quote:


I can't get the on-screen setup stuff to work most of the time. Sometimes I can get it to work. The rest of the time the TV claims there is no signal.

Are you talking about the "Home Menu" with System Setup & MCACC?
If the TV shows "No Signal" have you tried shutting off the 1121 and then turning it back on so that there will be a HDMI Handshake between the two.
My Vizio will sometimes show No Signal with my 1020 and I either turn my receiver on and off or switch an input and then go back to the HDMI Input that my HDTV is on.
It is a Handshake issue.

With my Vizio to Pioneer VSX 1020, I have the Vizio HDTV turn on first and then the 1020 goes on, so that the Vizio senses the 1020 handshake.
Once that handshake is complete my HDTV and Pioneer is Locked in as far as TV and Home Menu, etc...

Let me know,

Bud B
Bud B is offline  
post #426 of 3295 Old 09-29-2011, 10:39 PM
Newbie
 
DangerousThing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud B View Post

Hi DangerousThing,

What in your setup with the 1121 is different than you had with the 1120?
If the Oppo cable between the 1121 and the TV is not what you used before, remove it and use what you did before.
You definitely want all of your HDMI Cables as "High Speed!"

Also the 1121 in the video setup, has a setting for either LCD or Plasma HDTV's and compatible HDTV Resolution.....720P / 1080P etc....

I think there's a mismatch somewhere: I never had an AVS before. My 1121 is replacing a 20 year old Denon so that I could use the video features. However, if I can't get to this to work, then I'll return the 1121 and go back to the Denon using the HDMI directly to the TV and the audio via RCA jacks.

The TV is LCD with 720p resolution. We bought it several years ago and my wife (Lee) won't let me get a new TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud B View Post

Are you talking about the "Home Menu" with System Setup & MCACC?
If the TV shows "No Signal" have you tried shutting off the 1121 and then turning it back on so that there will be a HDMI Handshake between the two.
My Vizio will sometimes show No Signal with my 1020 and I either turn my receiver on and off or switch an input and then go back to the HDMI Input that my HDTV is on.
It is a Handshake issue.

With my Vizio to Pioneer VSX 1020, I have the Vizio HDTV turn on first and then the 1020 goes on, so that the Vizio senses the 1020 handshake.
Once that handshake is complete my HDTV and Pioneer is Locked in as far as TV and Home Menu, etc...

Let me know,

Bud B

I will try this. I was just switching cables because I'm a computer geek much of the time and sometimes cables matter. In computer programming, we call this "voodoo debugging."

Thanks much!

Jay
DangerousThing is offline  
post #427 of 3295 Old 09-29-2011, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
DangerousThing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud B View Post

...
My Vizio will sometimes show No Signal with my 1020 and I either turn my receiver on and off or switch an input and then go back to the HDMI Input that my HDTV is on.
It is a Handshake issue.

With my Vizio to Pioneer VSX 1020, I have the Vizio HDTV turn on first and then the 1020 goes on, so that the Vizio senses the 1020 handshake.
Once that handshake is complete my HDTV and Pioneer is Locked in as far as TV and Home Menu, etc...

Let me know,

Bud B

I tried it that way, and no go. I pretty much tried all combinations and things acted the same.

One problem that seems to occur intermittently is that sometimes when a picture tries to show, it looks like an old-time TV with major ghosting and horizontal problems like the picture isn't synced.

I've tried to adjust the video parameters, but for BD it wouldn't let me get any further than the first decision (Video Conversion On or Off). Off seems to work better with the BD.

So, should I return this, or get new cables and try again?
-
Jay
DangerousThing is offline  
post #428 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 05:30 AM
Member
 
crazyjutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
there is a deal on www.acousticsounddesign.com for
Polk Audio LSi15 Home Theater System: 2x Polk LSi 15 Speaker Towers + 2x Polk LSi Fx Surround Speakers, + 1x Polk LSi Center Channel Speaker + Free Bic PL-200 Sub for $1639 after using coupon code TV18.

http://www.acousticsounddesign.com/c...pid=1626&sc=69


can my pioneer 1121-k drive these speakers easily ?
how good are these speakers ?
crazyjutt is offline  
post #429 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
Angelsfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, longtime reader, first-time poster.

Like many here I jumped on the current deals on the 1121. I am upgrading an older Onkyo HTIB receiver that did not HDMI connections using Definitve 600 speakers. My primary source is a PS3 for BD.

After going through the MCACC automatic process for speaker setup (all speakers set to small, crossover per speaker spec and distances approximated well), I am finding the sound to be quite 'thin', especially movie dialogue comingg from the center. Movement betwen the speakers is good but in general there doesn't seem to be the full richness of the sound that I have become accustomed. Any hints or tips the community might have for setups/tweaks would be supremely appreciated.

I am going to try and set the LF & RF to large this evening and see how that sounds, but I definately am running a bit blind. I'm really hoping I can improve the sound experience.

Thanks so much in advance!
Angelsfury is offline  
post #430 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
misckimpel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wireless adapter? Do you have to use Pioneer's AS-WL300 for the Pioneer VSK-1121 or can you use another companies (i.e. less expensive) wireless adapter.

Does anybody have any suggestions on a good cheap wireless adapter that they have had success with the Pioneer receiver? My network is currently only a "G" but I am not opposed to stepping up to an "N", I just hadn't needed to yet, "G" seems to work fine for everything else I have.

Thanks in advance for your help.
misckimpel is offline  
post #431 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can someone PM the real dimensions of this unit. I know the manual says 17.75...but is that including the volume knob and banana plugs or literally just the case???

Thanks!

Ryan
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #432 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
DangerousThing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerousThing View Post

I've tried to adjust the video parameters, but for BD it wouldn't let me get any further than the first decision (Video Conversion On or Off). Off seems to work better with the BD.

So, should I return this, or get new cables and try again?
-
Jay

Now I'm really confused. I've just tried to debug the problem by seeing if the problem is in the cables or the receiver or the TV.

I already know what happens with the BD -> 1121-k -> TV. Bad things, but sometimes I get the DVD on my TV, complete with audio.

I connected the Oppo-93 (BD) directly to the TV with the MediaBridge cable. Then I connected it with the high speed HDMI cable that came with the Oppo.

Exactly the same things happened with both types of cables.

First, I saw the Oppo splash screen.

Then as the disk was loaded, the TV lost input.

Then the TV wouldn't sync. By this I mean that the TV looked very fuzzy with abstract horizontal rectangles... If I pressed the setup on the Oppo then the screen changed slightly, but not much.

So I'm guessing that the problem is with the TV, not the cables or the receiver. Is this a good guess, or should I return the receiver and just never try any home theater more advanced than something I can buy at Wally World?

Please help me.
-
Jay
DangerousThing is offline  
post #433 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 05:35 PM
Member
 
gr997s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can find the deals. What am I doing wrong?.....thanks
gr997s is offline  
post #434 of 3295 Old 09-30-2011, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Micker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know why everytime I turn my receiver on, it switches to the tv/sat input after 5-10 seconds??
Micker is offline  
post #435 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 07:46 AM
Member
 
hoog23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerfreak0 View Post

Can someone PM the real dimensions of this unit. I know the manual says 17.75...but is that including the volume knob and banana plugs or literally just the case???

Thanks!

Ryan

$449 at Newegg. I'd like to know the dimensions too please. Time to upgrade my Onkyo 605.
hoog23 is offline  
post #436 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 08:19 AM
Member
 
cbb77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is what's listed. I measured as well and this is pretty accurate.

17.13" x 7.28" x 17.36" (W x H x D)
cbb77 is offline  
post #437 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 10:14 AM
Member
 
cubsh8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelsfury View Post

Hello everyone, longtime reader, first-time poster.

Like many here I jumped on the current deals on the 1121. I am upgrading an older Onkyo HTIB receiver that did not HDMI connections using Definitve 600 speakers. My primary source is a PS3 for BD.

After going through the MCACC automatic process for speaker setup (all speakers set to small, crossover per speaker spec and distances approximated well), I am finding the sound to be quite 'thin', especially movie dialogue comingg from the center. Movement betwen the speakers is good but in general there doesn't seem to be the full richness of the sound that I have become accustomed. Any hints or tips the community might have for setups/tweaks would be supremely appreciated.

I am going to try and set the LF & RF to large this evening and see how that sounds, but I definately am running a bit blind. I'm really hoping I can improve the sound experience.

Thanks so much in advance!

One thing I found useful was increasing the dialogue presence in the iControlAV2 app

Also I use the Apple airport express for connectivity and it works great, cheaper than pioneer wifi option.
cubsh8r is offline  
post #438 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoog23 View Post

$449 at Newegg. I'd like to know the dimensions too please. Time to upgrade my Onkyo 605.

Is that w a coupon?
winston9332 is online now  
post #439 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 12:23 PM
Member
 
hoog23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

is that w a coupon?

pio1xx1
hoog23 is offline  
post #440 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 12:23 PM
Member
 
hoog23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
hoog23 is offline  
post #441 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 01:11 PM
Member
 
crazyjutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can not play songs from windows 7 media player to 1121-k using dlna function. is there someone who is able to do that ?
crazyjutt is offline  
post #442 of 3295 Old 10-01-2011, 01:14 PM
Member
 
crazyjutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
price for this receiver keep going down. is it a bad sign ?
crazyjutt is offline  
post #443 of 3295 Old 10-02-2011, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
hackncrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post

Anyone know why everytime I turn my receiver on, it switches to the tv/sat input after 5-10 seconds??

I have the same question/problem. I'm sure its a simple fix..just need to know where to look.
hackncrash is offline  
post #444 of 3295 Old 10-02-2011, 07:19 AM
Member
 
sdbarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anybody is interested, the VSX-1121 is showing back up at BestBuy.com after a very long absence.

Obviously there are better deals to be had through Newegg and the like, but the return policies online are generally pretty crap. BB on the other hand has a much more flexible return policy... as in, no questions asked, 30 day full refund (at least that's what they quoted me a few months ago).
sdbarnes is offline  
post #445 of 3295 Old 10-02-2011, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post

Anyone know why everytime I turn my receiver on, it switches to the tv/sat input after 5-10 seconds??

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackncrash View Post

I have the same question/problem. I'm sure its a simple fix..just need to know where to look.

Hi Mixcker and hackncrash, turn off HDMI Control on receiver or turn off HDMI-CEC feature on your tv.

Some HDMI-CEC trade names are: Samsung - AnyNet+, Panasonic - Viera Link, Sony - Bravia Sync, Pioneer - Kuro Link, LG - SimpLink, etc....
JChin is offline  
post #446 of 3295 Old 10-02-2011, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi Mixcker and hackncrash, turn off HDMI Control on receiver or turn off HDMI-CEC feature on your tv.

Some HDMI-CEC trade names are: Samsung - AnyNet+, Panasonic - Viera Link, Sony - Bravia Sync, Pioneer - Kuro Link, LG - SimpLink, etc....

I turned off Auto Select and changed to HDMI.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #447 of 3295 Old 10-02-2011, 05:05 PM
Member
 
cubsh8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I decided to keep the 1121 as new primary and moving avr-2808 into 2nd tv room. I need some help on speakers as Ive never bought satellites. I'm setting up 3.1 setup in my secondary tv room. I have an offer for unopened set of Polk Blackstone tl1600's for $200. Are these solid enough or would I be better off picking up monitor bookshelfs and a Polk CS1 center? Can't stand the led tv speakers or old KLH bookshelfs and can't run wires for sb or Sr speakers.

Appreciate your insight, I'm happy with 1121 so far.
cubsh8r is offline  
post #448 of 3295 Old 10-03-2011, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
cpreal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoog23 View Post

pio1xx1

Promo code now not working, tried it today, 10/3.
cpreal is offline  
post #449 of 3295 Old 10-03-2011, 03:24 PM
Member
 
sdbarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A lot of the promo codes you find are only good Saturday and Sunday. They have run a deal pretty much every weekend for the last 3-4 weeks... possibly longer. Check Techbargains, Fatwallet, DealCatcher on Saturday around midday and you will likely find a new code.
sdbarnes is offline  
post #450 of 3295 Old 10-04-2011, 02:13 AM
Newbie
 
94socal7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to hear some opinions. The features on the 1121 have grabbed my attention, bells & whistles abound.
I currently have a Onkyo SR805, which was highly praised and even favored over the 806/807. It's Ultra2 certified. The amplifier section is deemed powerful. At 6ohms it's rated @ 180 watts/channel.

The 1121 is Select2. I've only seen the review for the 1021, but I'm aware that the amplifier sections differ. 6ohm rating is 120w/channel.

How different are the currents between the 805 & 1121? Is the Pio similar to H/K's current? I'm just trying to get a comparison to products I'm familiar with.

For me, video processing is secondary to audio capability. Would I reap upgrades in both respects?

Should I hold onto my (working) gem?

thanks for reading.
-jeff
94socal7 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off