The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 151 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post

I found that even though DirecTV indicated that the signal was being broadcast in HD, which one would assume would mean a Dolby Digital audio signal...that was not always the case. I would find that often the audio would be in stereo.

Many HD channels are not broadcast in DD 5.1, and commercials of course are generally not as well. Unless the show indicates DD 5.1, don't expect it.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by wado66 View Post

I just went thru the setup again on my 1912. Wanting to get some input on my settings. Do they look OK? It sounds pretty good, the bass does seem a little light though. Might be, I just need to adjust my ears. Anyway, here they are:
Surr. Parameter - Cenema EQ>OFF - D. Comp>OFF - LFE>0dB
Audyssey Settings - MultEQ>Audyssey - DynamicEQ>ON - Reference Offset>0dB - Dynamic Volume>OFF
Audio Delay>0ms
Amp Assign>Zone 2
Speaker Config.>All Small
Subwoofer Mode>LFE+Main
LPF for LFE 120Hz
Crossover Freq.>Crossover Advanced
Front>80Hz - Center>80Hz - Surround>80Hz
EQ Customize - Manual>Used - Audessey Flat>Used - Audessey Byp. L/R>Used

There's nothing out of ordinary with your settings. Were all speakers set to 80hz crossovers or did your raise them up to 80hz?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4503 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Many HD channels are not broadcast in DD 5.1, and commercials of course are generally not as well. Unless the show indicates DD 5.1, don't expect it.

I agree, the question is then..is there an issue with the 3312? As I indicated to the post regarding the toggling..I had experienced the same thing on my Pioneer.

Are you aware of an issue being reported regarding this issue and the problem being the receiver? If so what models?

My feeling is that it is perhaps how DirecTV broadcast the signal.
BESLC is offline  
post #4504 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:22 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
I'm more inclined to believe it's an issue with the DirecTV box.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4505 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:25 PM
Member
 
tanishq02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Have you read post #3 on page #1 of this thread?

Looks good info to me. I will go over it. Few more queries:

1. Is there thumb rule between ratio of CH LEVEL between front and rear speakers? My current settings are FL, FR, CR - 6db, SUB - 2db, SR,SL - 2db. Are these ratios appropriate for idle movies and music listening? Or it still depends on personal preference.
2. What are and how do we set Crossover Freq.>Crossover Advanced???
Front>?? - Center>?? - Surround>??

Receiver : AVR-2112ci
Spekers: KEF-T205 systems
tanishq02 is online now  
post #4506 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
^
1. Personal preference.
2. System Setup - Speaker Setup

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4507 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:31 PM
Member
 
wado66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

There's nothing out of ordinary with your settings. Were all speakers set to 80hz crossovers or did your raise them up to 80hz?

I had to make adjustments to them. Does the bass sounding light just be my ears not being used to the settings? Or should I play with the settings in my receiver?
I just wanted to say thanks to all in this forum, especially jdsmoothie and Batpig. I have learned so much from yall. My home theater is improving more and more as I tweak my settings coming from input from this forum.
I was so behind the times in my home theater. So when I upgraded everything, this forum helped me out so much. Thanks again.
wado66 is offline  
post #4508 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:35 PM
Member
 
tanishq02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^
1. Personal preference.
2. System Setup - Speaker Setup


2. System Setup - Speaker Setup
>> My question was what do these settings do? Also, how to set these meaning what are the factors I should consider to change these? Does it depends on the speakers used and its done by Audyssey?
tanishq02 is online now  
post #4509 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:37 PM
Member
 
tanishq02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by wado66 View Post

I had to make adjustments to them. Does the bass sounding light just be my ears not being used to the settings? Or should I play with the settings in my receiver?
I just wanted to say thanks to all in this forum, especially jdsmoothie and Batpig. I have learned so much from yall. My home theater is improving more and more as I tweak my settings coming from input from this forum.
I was so behind the times in my home theater. So when I upgraded everything, this forum helped me out so much. Thanks again.

I too agree with this lot...learning lot of things from your posts
tanishq02 is online now  
post #4510 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by wado66 View Post

I had to make adjustments to them. Does the bass sounding light just be my ears not being used to the settings? Or should I play with the settings in my receiver?
I just wanted to say thanks to all in this forum, especially jdsmoothie and Batpig. I have learned so much from yall. My home theater is improving more and more as I tweak my settings coming from input from this forum.
I was so behind the times in my home theater. So when I upgraded everything, this forum helped me out so much. Thanks again.

My guess is that you (as are many much older model owners) more used to heavy bass rather than what the mixer actually wanted. As long as you raised crossovers up to 80hz your're okay. If you lowered any to 80hz, you'll want to return them as they were set after AUTO SETUP. Listen to these settings for a week or two and then if you still don't like them (ie. prefer more bass) then simply raise the sub trim level a few db using the remote CH Level button.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4511 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanishq02 View Post

2. System Setup - Speaker Setup
>> My question was what do these settings do? Also, how to set these meaning what are the factors I should consider to change these? Does it depends on the speakers used and its done by Audyssey?

As noted above ... after AUTO SETUP, raise any crossovers set below 80hz up to 80hz, and leave any set above 80hz as is.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4512 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:49 PM
Member
 
wado66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

My guess is that you (as are many much older model owners) more used to heavy bass rather than what the mixer actually wanted. As long as you raised crossovers up to 80hz your're okay. If you lowered any to 80hz, you'll want to return them as they were set after AUTO SETUP. Listen to these settings for a week or two and then if you still don't like them (ie. prefer more bass) then simply raise the sub trim level a few db using the remote CH Level button.

My original settings were
Front>60Hz
Center>60Hz
Surround>200Hz
wado66 is offline  
post #4513 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 06:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
^^
So what should you do?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4514 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 07:01 PM
Member
 
wado66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
So what should you do?

Bring my surrounds back up....
wado66 is offline  
post #4515 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 07:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Yup ... the Audyssey filters were only calculated down to 200hz on the surrounds.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4516 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
tanishq - you may want to read through my setup guide and FAQ: http://batpigworld.com

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #4517 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post

I agree, the question is then..is there an issue with the 3312? As I indicated to the post regarding the toggling..I had experienced the same thing on my Pioneer.

well..... the answer should be self evident.

Let's see here.....

1) the problem is ONLY being reported with DirecTV boxes.
2) you had the SAME THING with a different brand receiver.

What do YOU think?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #4518 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 07:47 PM
Member
 
auenbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 1912 that I just bought. I am thinking I may have to return it and get the 2112 instead. My problem is that I want to use the Zone 2 output to an external amp and the 1912 does not have pre-amp outputs. Is it possible to use the Zone 2 speaker outputs (the extra Surround outputs) as pre-amps and run them to the RCA inputs on an external amp? If it can be done can someone tell me the settings and how to do the wiring?

Thanks in advance.
auenbear is offline  
post #4519 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 08:05 PM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

well..... the answer should be self evident.

Let's see here.....

1) the problem is ONLY being reported with DirecTV boxes.
2) you had the SAME THING with a different brand receiver.

What do YOU think?

I agree with you ..I was pointing out to the OP that the common thread was DirecTV. I felt the issue was DirecTV when I noticed it. I should have worded my answer and question better.

I asked a general question to see if there had been any audio issue with the receivers..I do know there was an issue being reported on the 4311ci, not sure what came of that?
BESLC is offline  
post #4520 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
you will see some occasional issues that get fixed by firmware updates, but a global problem with cable/sat boxes almost always is the fault of the box. They are notorious for this type of stuff.

the 4311ci is currently bug free, a few early issues have long since been ironed out with firmware updates.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #4521 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by auenbear View Post

I have a 1912 that I just bought. I am thinking I may have to return it and get the 2112 instead. My problem is that I want to use the Zone 2 output to an external amp and the 1912 does not have pre-amp outputs. Is it possible to use the Zone 2 speaker outputs (the extra Surround outputs) as pre-amps and run them to the RCA inputs on an external amp? If it can be done can someone tell me the settings and how to do the wiring?

Thanks in advance.

the amount of hassle you will go through to make that work makes it a no brainer to switch to the 2112ci, not to mention all the reasons the 2112 is a better value in the first place (see post #2). Get it right the first time, make the switch, and enjoy XT instead of regular MultEQ, an extra year of warranty, etc.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #4522 of 19258 Old 09-05-2011, 09:21 PM
Member
 
tanishq02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

tanishq - you may want to read through my setup guide and FAQ: http://batpigworld.com

sure...i will definitely go thru this. Thanks a lot
tanishq02 is online now  
post #4523 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stephenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post

I am not saying that there may not be an issue with the 3312 toggling audio, I have a 3312 as well as DirecTV, I noted the same issue on my previous receiver,which was a Pioneer.

I found that even though DirecTV indicated that the signal was being broadcast in HD, which one would assume would mean a Dolby Digital audio signal...that was not always the case. I would find that often the audio would be in stereo.

I gave my Pioneer to my brother, who asked me if I had experienced the audio not being in Dolby Digital when it should be. So it seems that at least in my case, I have noted this issue on two different receivers, my brother who also has DirecTV, commented on this after he hooked up my old receiver .

It would be nice if Denon discovers something they can address, but I tend to agree with them that the issue may be with DirecTV and how they broadcast their signal.

The one thing we all have in common is DirecTV, I think that we should also address this issue with them as they are the common link. Does any one know if this has been reported on other model Denons , with a DirecTV connection?

I would appreciate you guys keeping me and the others informed on what you hear on this issue..Thanks for posting on this.

I agree with you that this is a DirecTV audio stream issue, but my new 3312CI replaces a Denon 3808CI (I needed HDMI 1.4a for 3D) and I was not having this issue with the 3808CI. This makes me think that the 3312CI is not handling the audio stream flucuations in the same way as the 3808. Also, Denon is usually much more responsive with firmware updates than DirecTV.
stephenC is offline  
post #4524 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stephenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

you will see some occasional issues that get fixed by firmware updates, but a global problem with cable/sat boxes almost always is the fault of the box. They are notorious for this type of stuff.

the 4311ci is currently bug free, a few early issues have long since been ironed out with firmware updates.

Ding. Ding. Ding. Right answer. Yes, the audio stream issue resulting in audio dropouts is caused by the DirecTV box. But, as you point out Denon will be able to mask the issue with a firmware update. Denon is usually very responsive to technical issues. DirecTV is not so inclined. So, I'm trying the path of least resistence. I've been a Denon owner since my 5800 ten years ago. Then, the 3808 and now the 3312. I've been a very happy Denon customer and I don't doubt for an instant that their technical gurus will duplicate the audio issue in their lab and figure out a firmware update to make us all work ok.
stephenC is offline  
post #4525 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
ShapS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShapS View Post


In a final attempt to get AirPlay working, I make a last ditch effort and switched cat5 cables. AirPlay immediately showed up!!

I don't know why, but this is confirmed to have fixed my AirPlay issue when nothing else worked.

Scratch that. It worked at first last night and now it doesn't.

Going to contact denon
ShapS is online now  
post #4526 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenC View Post

I agree with you that this is a DirecTV audio stream issue, but my new 3312CI replaces a Denon 3808CI (I needed HDMI 1.4a for 3D) and I was not having this issue with the 3808CI. This makes me think that the 3312CI is not handling the audio stream flucuations in the same way as the 3808. Also, Denon is usually much more responsive with firmware updates than DirecTV.


I first noticed the issue when I switched from Dish Network to DirecTV. It seemed that Dish had a more stable broadcast signal ,at least on the audio side, or it is the receivers they use..not sure??

It would be nice if the issue could be resolved be it Denon or DirecTV.
BESLC is offline  
post #4527 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
tdcman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post

I agree with you ..I was pointing out to the OP that the common thread was DirecTV. I felt the issue was DirecTV when I noticed it. I should have worded my answer and question better.

I asked a general question to see if there had been any audio issue with the receivers..I do know there was an issue being reported on the 4311ci, not sure what came of that?

I don't think it's the DirecTV box. It only happens for me on the big 3 channels. I believe its in the way DirecTV sends audio. I wish I would have kept the email from Denon when I put in the request for support. I don't know if there is any relief in sight for this but maybe there will be something in a future software upgrade from Denon that will fix it.
tdcman1 is offline  
post #4528 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdcman1 View Post

I don't think it's the DirecTV box. It only happens for me on the big 3 channels. I believe its in the way DirecTV sends audio. I wish I would have kept the email from Denon when I put in the request for support. I don't know if there is any relief in sight for this but maybe there will be something in a future software upgrade from Denon that will fix it.

It makes sense that the Denon receiver will default to stereo if the quality of the audio signal is faulty from DirecTV. I do think the main problem is with the signal from DirecTV. There may be a way for Denon to tweak how it interprets and broadcasts the audio. If you have a case open with Denon keep us posted.
BESLC is offline  
post #4529 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stephenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post

I first noticed the issue when I switched from Dish Network to DirecTV. It seemed that Dish had a more stable broadcast signal ,at least on the audio side, or it is the receivers they use..not sure??

It would be nice if the issue could be resolved be it Denon or DirecTV.

What DMA are you? I'm in SFO and I notice the audio droput issue only on my local channels which I receive via LIL via sat. So, this could be an encoder problem at the point that DirecTV receives the local channel streams. If you are in a different DMA then this might be indicative of an issue with DirecTV LIL encoders across the USA. But, I didn't have this issue with my 3808. That's why I'm hoping Denon can fix my 3312 with a firmware update.
stephenC is offline  
post #4530 of 19258 Old 09-06-2011, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenC View Post

What DMA are you? I'm in SFO and I notice the audio droput issue only on my local channels which I receive via LIL via sat. So, this could be an encoder problem at the point that DirecTV receives the local channel streams. If you are in a different DMA then this might be indicative of an issue with DirecTV LIL encoders across the USA. But, I didn't have this issue with my 3808. That's why I'm hoping Denon can fix my 3312 with a firmware update.

I am in SLC Utah. I noticed the issue is random in the sense I have experienced it with various channels. Like I mentioned earlier..I had a Pioneer that responded the same way, which tends to support the issue being with DirecTV.

Have you changed your DirecTv receiver? Another thought is that Denon may have a different decoder in the newer receivers...got me
BESLC is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off