The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2011, 11:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by scadilla View Post

I just got an AVR-2112, I am having some problems hooking a PC up to it. My pc works fine when connected directly to the tv through the HDMI or DVI port (video card is an ATI Radeon HD 4200). When I connect the computer to the receiver I get a blank display. I have tried swapping cables, trying different outputs on the computer (HDMI and DVI), and changing resolutions to no avail. I would really like to get the pc to display through the receiver to take advantage of the video overlay. Any help would be appreciated.

It's likely due to a setting on the card. If you have a custom resolution set then remove it. Also make sure you have the latest firmware and drivers installed. If still no joy, try a different video card.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2011, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Scurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
what online retailer would you recommend to purchase these new Denon's? Certified dealers, I get, but any difference from there?

I have also heard some may offer discounts if you call in rather than simply place your order online. what kind of discount should I expect?
Scurly is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
^^
The usual resellers that offer discounts of from 10-30% will be Electronics Expo, 6Ave, and J&R ... sometimes others. The key point is to call them rather than just checking their website price.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Scurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
jd: with these new receivers...what does the GUI "overlay" actually mean? does the volume level appear on the TV screen rather than the unit display, when its changed.
Scurly is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
theanimala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scurly View Post

jd: with these new receivers...what does the GUI "overlay" actually mean? does the volume level appear on the TV screen rather than the unit display, when its changed.

I have the same question. I am coming from a 12 year old Sony ES receiver with no GUI. Trying to decide if the xx12 model GUI is that much better than a used xx11 model. For someone like myself who never used a GUI I'm not so sure I will even notice the difference.
theanimala is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:53 PM
Member
 
johnnyletrois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scurly View Post

jd: with these new receivers...what does the GUI "overlay" actually mean? does the volume level appear on the TV screen rather than the unit display, when its changed.

Graphical and unit display of the volume on the tv. Unit is also displayed on the receiver.
johnnyletrois is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scurly View Post

jd: with these new receivers...what does the GUI "overlay" actually mean? does the volume level appear on the TV screen rather than the unit display, when its changed.

It means that for ALL XX12 models the GUI/menu as well as the volume and status menu will display over 2D video in the background while for 3D video the display will be blacked out and only the GUI/menu will display ... no volume overlay or status info, except for the 2312CI and the 3312CI in which the GUI/menu, volume, and status will be displayed over the 3D video as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post

I have the same question. I am coming from a 12 year old Sony ES receiver with no GUI. Trying to decide if the xx12 model GUI is that much better than a used xx11 model. For someone like myself who never used a GUI I'm not so sure I will even notice the difference.

Perhaps not ... the 2311CI/891 and higher are the only XX11 models that will display the GUI/menu, volume, and status over 2D video only ... with 3D video the display will black out and only the menu will display .. no volume overlay or status.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
epinefren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
The usual resellers that offer discounts of from 10-30% will be Electronics Expo, 6Ave, and J&R ... sometimes others. The key point is to call them rather than just checking their website price.

Roger that. I got both JR and Abt to at least 15% and went with the Abt who offered the bigger discount. Not quite 20% but I'll take it! Happy to have the day off tomorrow but sad that they won't be shipping my 2112 out till Tues
epinefren is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,007
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post

Trying to decide if the xx12 model GUI is that much better than a used xx11 model.

the xx11 models up to 1911 did not have any GUI

the 891/2311 and 991/3311 have the same GUI as the xx12 models up to 2112. You can download a manual (links in first post) to see what it looks like. So if you are choosing between, say, an 891 model or a new 1912, the GUI will be essentially the same.

the 2312 and 3312 have an even more "advanced" GUI that can also overlay on 3D video.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 03:05 PM
Member
 
npc2396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the GUI be disabled on the lower models so you can change the volume without affecting the picture in 3d?
npc2396 is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 03:14 PM
Member
 
RSXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 2112 90watts sufficient to run energy rc-70s?
RSXer is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
theanimala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

the xx11 models up to 1911 did not have any GUI

the 891/2311 and 991/3311 have the same GUI as the xx12 models up to 2112. You can download a manual (links in first post) to see what it looks like. So if you are choosing between, say, an 891 model or a new 1912, the GUI will be essentially the same.

the 2312 and 3312 have an even more "advanced" GUI that can also overlay on 3D video.

Thanks for the info. 3D GUI doesn't seem like a deal breaker to me as I have a 3D TV setup and I have only watched one 3D movie in 6 months (bought it for 2D quality). I can get the 991 for the same price as the 2112. What would you do in that situation?
theanimala is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,007
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
I would take a 991 personally. Better built, more power...

given similar features, I'd almost always rather have the item with double the msrp

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
PreventerWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post

Thanks for the info. 3D GUI doesn't seem like a deal breaker to me as I have a 3D TV setup and I have only watched one 3D movie in 6 months (bought it for 2D quality). I can get the 991 for the same price as the 2112. What would you do in that situation?

I got the 991 recently for slightly more than the 2112 at MSRP. PM me for more details.
PreventerWind is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
+1

991 also offers DSX wide speakers which would result in better surround field than rear surrounds and are sometimes easier to place in a room.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by npc2396 View Post

Can the GUI be disabled on the lower models so you can change the volume without affecting the picture in 3d?

As noted, the volume does not display on the models below 2312CI with 3D video, although the GUI/menu can be disabled if desired.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSXer View Post

Is the 2112 90watts sufficient to run energy rc-70s?

In other than a really large room, easily. In fact I'd be surprised if you ever get above 1W/CH let alone the roughly 70W max the 2112CI is likely capable of providing.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Alright guys, I'm turning to you all again for some advice. As I said a page back I just picked up the 1912. Today my problem is that the internet radio isn't working right. I can get sound to play but for whatever reason there is absolutely no video being displayed. By this I mean that the internet radio screen isn't coming up, I can't select things such as Pandora or Napster, and I can't even access the Denon GUI menu screen.

It was working a few days ago when I first got the thing so I'm thinking whatever the problem is it has to be something that I did. Any advice on how to solve this problem would be greatly appreciated!

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- SVS Prime Satellites, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
^^
Are you pressing the AMP button first before pressing MENU? Also make sure the GUI (NET/USB) setting (p. 92) is not set to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I've changed the GUI setting for network/USB to always, so it isn't that. I've also made sure to hit AMP before menu. There is no video at all being sent from the receiver to the TV, which is what is driving me crazy. It worked the day I got it and now has disappeared.

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- SVS Prime Satellites, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 06:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Does this only effect the NET/USB input source or all sources? Is the Video Select setting set to something other than SOURCE? You may want to reset the microprocessor (p. 125) and start over again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 85
It only is affecting the NET/USB. Sound is coming through just fine, just the GUI that isn't working. I'll reset the microprocessor at this point and if that doesn't work I think I may be looking at a defective unit.

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- SVS Prime Satellites, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 06:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Have faith young grasshopper ... a reset more often than not cures what ails the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-29-2011, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 85
The reset worked. I'm a bit worried that this is going to be something that is a repeating problem, since I don't really want to be resetting this thing several times a week. Only time will tell on that however. Thanks for the help!

AVR: Denon 2112
Speakers: EMP Tek e55ti, Center- EMP Tek e56ci, Side Surrounds- EMP Tek e55wi, Rear Surrounds- SVS Prime Satellites, Sub- SVS PC12 Plus
Display: BenQ w1070 on a 92in fixed screen
Blu-Ray Player:Samsung BD-EM59C;
Playstation 4, Apple TV, Harmony Remote
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 05-30-2011, 08:18 AM
Member
 
RonZimmerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am reading the specs on the Denon AVR-3312CI and it has a check next to Digital to Analog Conversion Multi Zone Outputs. What does that indicate?
RonZimmerman is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
farkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonZimmerman View Post

I am reading the specs on the Denon AVR-3312CI and it has a check next to Digital to Analog Conversion Multi Zone Outputs. What does that indicate?

It indicates that any source BUT an HDMI can be routed to zone 2. i.e., Internet Radio, USB, etc.
farkem is online now  
Old 05-30-2011, 10:21 AM
 
john lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So first let me get this straight...all the denon's this year have the same sound quality, just different features and watts??? Now my question is, will an AVR-2312 or AVR-3312 sound better than the AVR 3808? I have a buddy that has a 3808 and is considering upgrading but first wants to make sure that if he did indeed upgrade to either the 2312 or 3312 that he would notice an improvement in sound quality. He doesn't care about video processing. Basically what I am trying to figure out for him is whether or not the dacs, dsp boards ect...are of better quality with the 12 line than with his 3808?
john lewis is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 10:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by farkem View Post

It indicates that any source BUT an HDMI can be routed to zone 2. i.e., Internet Radio, USB, etc.

More specifically PCM 2.0 and analog.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-30-2011, 10:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,455
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1968 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Quote:
Originally Posted by john lewis View Post

So first let me get this straight...all the denon's this year have the same sound quality, just different features and watts??? Now my question is, will an AVR-2312 or AVR-3312 sound better than the AVR 3808? I have a buddy that has a 3808 and is considering upgrading but first wants to make sure that if he did indeed upgrade to either the 2312 or 3312 that he would notice an improvement in sound quality. He doesn't care about video processing. Basically what I am trying to figure out for him is whether or not the dacs, dsp boards ect...are of better quality with the 12 line than with his 3808?

Although the XX12 models have the same processor, DACs, and ADCs, those models with Audyssey MultEQ XT will provide better sound quality then those with MultEQ. The 3808 uses the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT although is a higher model than any of the XX12 line, it's successor being the 4310CI and then the 4311CI which he would need to upgrade to in order to notice an improvement in sound quality.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,007
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by john lewis View Post

So first let me get this straight...all the denon's this year have the same sound quality, just different features and watts??? Now my question is, will an AVR-2312 or AVR-3312 sound better than the AVR 3808? I have a buddy that has a 3808 and is considering upgrading but first wants to make sure that if he did indeed upgrade to either the 2312 or 3312 that he would notice an improvement in sound quality. He doesn't care about video processing. Basically what I am trying to figure out for him is whether or not the dacs, dsp boards ect...are of better quality with the 12 line than with his 3808?

None of the new models is likely to sound better than the 3808. That is the wrong reason to upgrade. If he is looking for better SQ he should do the $100 upgrade for the 3808 which adds Dyn EQ. As JD says the 4311 is the only current model which would truly be an upgrade.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
 

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off