The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

DunnoAV's Avatar DunnoAV
09:09 AM Liked: 10
post #31 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 66
Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi DunnoAV, Denon support HDMI pass thru since 2008/2009 model.

New 1612 and above support HDMI pass thru (1312 does not).

Thank you, this is what I thought but I'm know AV expert. So the sales people at the store I went to ????
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
10:51 AM Liked: 20
post #32 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

You are likely correct ... 1912 is the best you'll get which is what a local non-Magnolia store just told me is the case with their store. Although keep in mind, as I pointed out in an earlier post, Best Buy does not set up Audyssey so you won't be able to check out MultEQ XT.

That's what I was afraid of. I wanted them to at least have the 2112. With Best Buy's return policy I was just going to buy one and check it out at the house. I will probably do that with the 1712 just to see what MultiEQ XT sounds like with my system. I rarely listen to anything at best buy, I just buy and return. I look at it as I'm helping people by providing more open box items. I have bought all my TVs at Best Buy but for audio stuff its more of a demo.
Scrumhalf's Avatar Scrumhalf
01:54 PM Liked: 10
post #33 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 99
Joined: Feb 2007
Just ordered the AVR-1912 after doing much reading and comparing. Looking forward to it arriving on Monday!
rakesh_sank's Avatar rakesh_sank
02:05 PM Liked: 10
post #34 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: May 2011
where and for how much?? seems like it has USB and also network.. does it has HD radio?? Thanks!
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:46 PM Liked: 1787
post #35 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 46,917
Joined: Sep 2007
The 1912 is the lowest model that offers networking and USB. The 3312CI is the only XX12 model that offers HD radio.
rakesh_sank's Avatar rakesh_sank
02:51 PM Liked: 10
post #36 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: May 2011
I guess 2312CI also provided HD radio.. which I am targetting for..

Just double checked.. I might be wrong I guess...

what are all the models provide HD radio??
hecklerj01's Avatar hecklerj01
10:01 PM Liked: 10
post #37 of 19362
05-12-2011 | Posts: 21
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakesh_sank View Post

I guess 2312CI also provided HD radio.. which I am targetting for..

Just double checked.. I might be wrong I guess...

what are all the models provide HD radio??

Per Denon's specs only the 3312 has HD Radio.
scottshoning's Avatar scottshoning
12:18 PM Liked: 10
post #38 of 19362
05-13-2011 | Posts: 5
Joined: May 2011
I just went into American TV to look at options for upgrading my Denon 1910 to a newer model with networking capabilities and walked out with a 1912 for $450 (+ tax).

I guess I know what I'm doing this weekend!
DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
02:32 PM Liked: 12
post #39 of 19362
05-13-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

sorry, the 3312 is the ONLY model in the current lineup that has pre-amp outputs.

if budget is a concern there, you might be able to find a closeout deal on the 3311...

Here is the Rr. Panel of the AVR-3312CI

Looks like it is ALL THERE, ++ What more could we want? And if we need MORE POWER we can ADD an External AMP w/all those PreOuts, and there are also Dual Subwoofer Outs.

HD Radio is there in the lower left corner!!

Notice:

The Dual HDMI v1.4 Outs with ARC.
Analog Audio In for PHONO -- Nice.
Two Triggers Out so it can control Two Amps, later if you feel it is required.
7.2 Pre-Outs + Zone 2 and Zone 3 Pre-Outs: Great Feature.


sthingp's Avatar sthingp
03:54 AM Liked: 10
post #40 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: May 2011
I am considering getting a cheap 1911 since I don't need Airplay. What are the other differences between 1911 and 1912?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:52 AM Liked: 1787
post #41 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 46,917
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
1912: Pro: - networking, nicer GUI/menu display over 2D HDMI video
Con: - no upscaling to 1080p

1911: Pro: - upscaling to 1080p
Con: - standard OSD/menu which cannot display over HDMI video
rob968's Avatar rob968
06:26 AM Liked: 10
post #42 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 35
Joined: Jan 2007
If you don't need networking, consider waiting a few weeks for the 1712, which will have MultEQ XT.
sthingp's Avatar sthingp
08:03 AM Liked: 10
post #43 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: May 2011
I need USB. The 1712 doesn't have USB as far as I can tell. Why is MultEQ XT better than MultEQ?
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar **OptimusPrime**
09:47 AM Liked: 28
post #44 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2010
I'm curious what this looks like. If anyone could post pics, that would be awesome.
farkem's Avatar farkem
01:47 PM Liked: 13
post #45 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 226
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthingp View Post

I need USB. The 1712 doesn't have USB as far as I can tell. Why is MultEQ XT better than MultEQ?

From the Audyssey site:

Flavors of MultEQ

Audyssey room correction technology comes in four solutions: MultEQ XT32, MultEQ XT, MultEQ and 2EQ. While they are all built on the same core science, each is designed to operate within the constraints of the available DSP processing power.

MultEQ XT32
: Our newest and most accurate room correction solution with more than ten thousand individual control points allowing finer details of the room's problems to be captured and corrected. The ultra high resolution filters are applied to all channels including the subwoofers, with the most obvious benefit being heard in the low frequency range where correction is needed the most.

MultEQ XT
: Our advanced resolution room correction solution with high resolution equalization filters for satellites and subwoofers. Most products with MultEQ XT are installer-ready and can be calibrated by an Audyssey Registered Installer to provide even higher performance for even the most demanding large or odd-shaped rooms.

MultEQ
: Our standard resolution room correction solution that uses mid-level resolution filters for satellites and subwoofers.

2EQ
: Our basic resolution room correction solution that uses basic resolution filters for the satellites, but does not apply a filter to the subwoofers.



MultEQ comparison chart

Features MultEQ XT32 MultEQ XT MultEQ 2EQ
Filter resolution (satellites) 512x 16x 2x x
Filter resolution (subwoofer) 512x 128x 128x N/A
Number of Measurement Positions 8* 8* 6 3
Adaptive Low Frequency Correction Yes Yes Yes N/A
Crossover, Polarity, Delays, Levels Yes Yes Yes Yes

* Up to 32 measurement positions with MultEQ Pro. Most AVRs with MultEQ XT32 and MultEQ XT are installer-ready and can be calibrated by an Audyssey Registered Installer to provide even higher performance for even the most demanding large or odd-shaped rooms. Find an installer near you.

DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
02:03 PM Liked: 12
post #46 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
^^ Very nice post, and that is why I am leaning toward the AVR-4311CI since it has MultEQ XT32, and many other +++'s. Although still on the fence, and looking very closely at the AVR-3312CI.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:04 PM Liked: 1787
post #47 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 46,917
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by **OptimusPrime** View Post

I'm curious what this looks like. If anyone could post pics, that would be awesome.

You can see what the GUI screens look like by simply downloading the user manual for the model you are interesting in purchasing (see post #1). Because Denon is no longer producing hard copy Owner manuals, rather providing them on CD, the manuals are now in color and refect the color GUIs being used ... the 1312 - 2112CI using the same type GUI that will display over 2D HDMI video (not 3D video) and the 2312CI and 3312CI using a more advanced GUI that can display over both 2D and 3D HDMI video.
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar **OptimusPrime**
06:05 PM Liked: 28
post #48 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2010
Thanks jds!
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
08:30 PM Liked: 20
post #49 of 19362
05-14-2011 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenPureSound View Post

^^ Very nice post, and that is why I am going w/ 4311CI since it has MultEQ XT32, and many other +++'s.

I had a feeling you were gonna say that. Good call. I think the 4310 is a fine receiver but the nic failures are really discouraging.
marax's Avatar marax
05:34 AM Liked: 10
post #50 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post


Hi DunnoAV, Denon support HDMI pass thru since 2008/2009 model.

New 1612 and above support HDMI pass thru (1312 does not).

Does that means you can select with the remote source for hdmi pass thru while in standby (as yamaha does) ?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
05:39 AM Liked: 1787
post #51 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 46,917
Joined: Sep 2007
If you are asking whether the remote will still be able to control a device while the AVR is in Standby, yes, as it's the remote controlling it, not the AVR.
marax's Avatar marax
05:58 AM Liked: 10
post #52 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you are asking whether the remote will still be able to control a device while the AVR is in Standby, yes, as it's the remote controlling it, not the AVR.

Yes because i wanna be sure i can actually control which input (source) would be pass thru because some av receivers work in a way to put the last input before standy to be put pass thru so you can't actually choose what do want to watch (which source) on standby
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:46 AM Liked: 1787
post #53 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 46,917
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Ah .. I misunderstood your question. Denon AVRs allow you to either select the LAST source used prior to going to Standby or a specific HDMI jack each time; however, this option cannot be changed while the AVR is in Standby.
marax's Avatar marax
12:43 PM Liked: 10
post #54 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Ah .. I misunderstood your question. Denon AVRs allow you to either select the LAST source used prior to going to Standby or a specific HDMI jack each time; however, this option cannot be changed while the AVR is in Standby.

That is bad. Yamaha alows you to click on the remote to source you wanna watch even with the receiver in standby
DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
01:03 PM Liked: 12
post #55 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
For those interested, here is the Front Panel for the:

Denon AVR-3312CI In-Command Series

What a BEAUTY in LOOKS!


DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
01:07 PM Liked: 12
post #56 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
Anyone know why Denon did not incorporate,

Audyssey MultEQ XT32
: Our newest and most accurate room correction solution with more than ten thousand individual control points allowing finer details of the room’s problems to be captured and corrected. The ultra high resolution filters are applied to all channels including the subwoofers, with the most obvious benefit being heard in the low frequency range where correction is needed the most.

Into the AVR-3312CI?
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
02:31 PM Liked: 20
post #57 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
^^^^^

We were hoping it would have XT32 and I was pretty disappointed when I saw it was not included in the 3312. I think it would be better to keep the 3312 at 1200 and add XT32 to it but I guess they want us to get the 4311.
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
02:36 PM Liked: 20
post #58 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
I saw the 1912 1612 and 1312 at Best Buy today but no 1712 yet. I asked when it would be in and the guy told me there was no 1712. I didn't bother correcting him I just said thanks.
DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
04:35 PM Liked: 12
post #59 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpearce023 View Post

I saw the 1912 1612 and 1312 at Best Buy today but no 1712 yet. I asked when it would be in and the guy told me there was no 1712. I didn't bother correcting him I just said thanks.

MJPearce --

Ah, my favorite store Best Buy, but don't beat up the poor guy trying to make a days wage (Just Kidding)

Well I know your just dying to get that nice 4311CI , since I can't wait till '13 for the next up to 4313, but I have to make a decision by months end here.

Other half thought the 4311 was very nice, but we don't need all of that, and to much money I am told. I have to listen to the boss.

So it pushes me down to a new or used 4310 (scared with NIC Issues), or new 3311 (which is very nice) or maybe just in time for the 3312 (maybe they will be in stock as I was told 2-3 weeks still by EE).
DenPureSound's Avatar DenPureSound
04:41 PM Liked: 12
post #60 of 19362
05-15-2011 | Posts: 693
Joined: Jan 2011
Anyone know what happened to these I/O Connectors on the 3312 vs. 3311?

Was comparing the Rr. Panels of these two models, and noticed this:

3312 -- No Sat TV Sirius Connector, but is on the 3311

3312 -- No Dig. Audio Optical Out Connector, but is on the 3311
Tags: Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3