The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 324 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9691 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canary_Jules View Post

Hi, I'm thinking of upgrading from my AVR-1909 to one of the newer models as I will need 3d capability with my new Sony VW95ES projector. So, obviously the AVR-1912 is the direct equivalent today. Obviously this has more features than my present receiver, but would I notice any improvement in the sound itself? I also have the option of upgrading to an AVR-2312 - which is also at a great price right now. This has a few more features than the AVR-1912 but will the AVR-2312 receiver actually ultimately sound any better? And am I any better off still with the Denon over say an equivalent Onkyo? Movie watching is my main priority.

FYI, I have a BK XLS200 sub, Teufel Ultra 2 certified dipole surrounds, Wharfedale Diamond 8.3 floorstanders, Wharfedale Diamond 8.1 centre and Wharfedale Diamond 7.1 rear surrounds. It's my plan to gradually upgrade from the Wharfedales to matching Teufels.

I appreciate your advice.

Thanks

I see you are from the Uk and the avr 1912 in Europe include Audyssey MultiXT which will improve SQ. Check pg. 1 of this forum for difference in features and also there is an avs Europe 1912 forum as well.

As far as any other brand I have checked other forums and I quite pleased that I went with Denon.
spager is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9692 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Newb617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newb617 View Post

I have my cable box connected to the AVR by both HDMI and red/green/blue component cables so that I can use video select to run the cable TV image to my TV (Samsung UN55D6050) via HDMI from the Denon while listening to Airplay music. This worked without a hitch until I moved last month and had to set everything up again.

Now when I attempt to watch the cable TV signal while running Airplay I get the following warning:

"Your display is not authorized to receive High Value HD content over the digital link. Please use the YPbPr outputs for your HD connection."

The picture appears on my display, but it's wavy. The obvious question is: what changed? The only difference in the chain is a new cable box. Comcast made me turn in a DCX model for a newer RNG200N HD-DVR box. This strikes me as the most likely source of issue, but I'm not sure. The physical relationships of the wires and components are also slightly different, as the coax cables and R/G/B wires now have to course by my power strip and Jamo S606 speaker towers.

Troubleshooting so far: I double checked all connections, and they're fine. Firmware updates for my TV and AVR made no difference. Cycling the cable box provided a temporary fix, but the warning and wavy image returned. I tried changing the cable box output to native rather than its default 1080p. This also made no difference. Isolating the component cables from my speakers and the rest of my wiring did not improve the image.

Any ideas on what is causing this new fault?

Any thoughts out there?
Newb617 is offline  
post #9693 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 05:14 PM
Member
 
NardoW12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got a Denon 2112 a few days ago
try to set it up today (I only have the front speakers now, others on the way) and can't get any sound from the receiver.
Tried different setting, PS3 with HDMI, iPhone through USB, no luck. No sound from the speakers even in the guided setup's speaker calibration step. (Are there any other basic mode that I can test the receiver with?)

The speakers work great with my old Pioneer, so I just want to know if there are any other ways I can test the receiver with before I return it or call the local repair shop
NardoW12 is offline  
post #9694 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newb617 View Post

Any thoughts out there?

Try assigning the component from cable box to a different source on the avr that you are not using like for ex. V. AUX and then in Net/USB .. Video Select ..select V. AUX and see if that makes a difference.
spager is offline  
post #9695 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by NardoW12 View Post

Got a Denon 2112 a few days ago
try to set it up today (I only have the front speakers now, others on the way) and can't get any sound from the receiver.
Tried different setting, PS3 with HDMI, iPhone through USB, no luck. No sound from the speakers even in the guided setup's speaker calibration step. (Are there any other basic mode that I can test the receiver with?)

The speakers work great with my old Pioneer, so I just want to know if there are any other ways I can test the receiver with before I return it or call the local repair shop

In the Auto Setup/Amp Assign select 2 CH and if you don't here any chirps when you run through auto setup make sure you have the speaker wires hooked up to the front R/L speaker terminals on the avr. If no luck try a Microprocessor reset check pg. 1 link 5 for how to reset.
spager is offline  
post #9696 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy76man View Post

I recently got a refurb denon 1912 (to replace my onkyo606 due to the hdmi daughter board failing) and am very happy with it except for one annoyance.... The volume control..... If I hold down the volume button it goes up or down way to fast and always overshoots the volume level I want by a good margin, but hitting the volume button repeatedly to go one notch at a time is way too slow. I am using a harmony one remote but the volume "speed" is the same when using the factory remote.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is there anyway to change it aside from denon possibly doing something about it in a firmware update?

thanks!

If you are exceeding the volume by a lot you can set the volume Limit to 0 to -20 so you do not to get blasted out of your chair or damage your speakers. I leave mine at 0.
spager is offline  
post #9697 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spager View Post

If you are exceeding the volume by a lot you can set the volume Limit to 0 to -20 so you do not to get blasted out of your chair or damage your speakers. I leave mine at 0.

I set the limit ( I have a 1 year old that loves remotes) but that brings up another question...what is the deal with the absolute and relative volume options? Why would I want my volume to start in the negatives and go from there? That just seems needlessly confusing?
candy76man is offline  
post #9698 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
jgreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, but I haven't found a clear answer to this question. I currently have a PC connected to my Dell U2410 via HDMI at a resolution of 1920x1200.

If I connected that PC to one of the Denon xx12 receivers, probably a 1912, and then connected the receiver to the U2410, would I still be able to display a 1920x1200 resolution?
jgreath is offline  
post #9699 of 19258 Old 03-05-2012, 10:58 PM
Member
 
roachslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if its possible to get this thing to NOT output a blank signal on the output HDMI, when the selected input is OFF? (model 1712 in my case)

My problem is, kids turn the Xbox off, forget to turn the AVR off, and it sits there with a blank signal... enough to keep the projector thinkng it needs to be ON, but appers to the kids that its off. VERY annoying. Why have a live signal out when the blasted input is off?
roachslayer is offline  
post #9700 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 01:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Canary_Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvuong View Post

If you can get the 2312, buy it as it has a better Audessey bersion than the 1912. You can also get the 2112 for $450 which has Audessey MultiXT like the 2312.

Thanks. Unfortunately the 2112 isn't available in the UK. So it's either the 1912 or 2312 for me. Just need to work out whether the extra features on the 2312 are worth the extra money, i.e. at the end of the day does the 2312 deliver a better sound or is it basically a 1912 with some extra bells?
Canary_Jules is offline  
post #9701 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Saylorsburg, PA
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkushner View Post

I happen to be the software testing manager for a software company and have significant troubleshooting experience in general so maybe I'm sensitive to defects and unreliable behavior. This is my first Denon purchase and overall I'm disappointed with Denon's quality control. Many companies lack in this area and I was hoping a brand like Denon would be better than what I've personally experienced.

I also work for a software company, and have had the same experience with my AVR-2112CI. We would never let a product ship in this condition to a customer. Has a manager or executive even used this thing to play a song from a media server?

Quote:
Originally Posted by candy76man View Post

I recently got a refurb denon 1912 (to replace my onkyo606 due to the hdmi daughter board failing) and am very happy with it except for one annoyance.... The volume control..... If I hold down the volume button it goes up or down way to fast and always overshoots the volume level I want by a good margin, but hitting the volume button repeatedly to go one notch at a time is way too slow. I am using a harmony one remote but the volume "speed" is the same when using the factory remote.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is there anyway to change it aside from denon possibly doing something about it in a firmware update?

YES, and still drives me nuts! If you hold down the button for a slightly shorter period, you get 0.5dB movement. If you hold it down a hair longer, you'll get an unpredictable 5 to 8dB movement. Sometimes I keep trying to repeatedly hold it down the magic amount to get it to do what. Other times I give up, and it's tap tap tap tap...

Truth be told, this might be the #1 thing (aside from the poor NET/USB interface) that drives me to replace it with something from another manufacturer. Folks will tell you that "you get used to it," but you shouldn't ever have to "get used" to anything. Plus, it's been several months and I'm still not used to it.

I don't know why Denon didn't implement a simple acceleration mechanism like other vendors have done, or at least allow us to customize the parameters in the setup menu.

I never had to think about how the volume control worked on my Yamaha or Pioneer. It just worked.
chrispy is offline  
post #9702 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy76man View Post

I set the limit ( I have a 1 year old that loves remotes) but that brings up another question...what is the deal with the absolute and relative volume options? Why would I want my volume to start in the negatives and go from there? That just seems needlessly confusing?

When using the "Relative" volume scale, the "reference" level setting (used in films) is set to 0db which is easier to remember. Some prefer the "Absolute" scale which is all positive numbers, but then reference volume is 81. As with the case of the various listening modes, use whichever you prefer.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9703 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgreath View Post

Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, but I haven't found a clear answer to this question. I currently have a PC connected to my Dell U2410 via HDMI at a resolution of 1920x1200.

If I connected that PC to one of the Denon xx12 receivers, probably a 1912, and then connected the receiver to the U2410, would I still be able to display a 1920x1200 resolution?

Not likely no ... generally only standard TV resolutions work correctly.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9704 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by roachslayer View Post

Anyone know if its possible to get this thing to NOT output a blank signal on the output HDMI, when the selected input is OFF? (model 1712 in my case)

My problem is, kids turn the Xbox off, forget to turn the AVR off, and it sits there with a blank signal... enough to keep the projector thinkng it needs to be ON, but appers to the kids that its off. VERY annoying. Why have a live signal out when the blasted input is off?

Sounds like you would benefit from a Harmony (or other universal) remote that works based on "activities" ... you turn the activity OFF and it turns all the devices in that activity OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9705 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canary_Jules View Post

Thanks. Unfortunately the 2112 isn't available in the UK. So it's either the 1912 or 2312 for me. Just need to work out whether the extra features on the 2312 are worth the extra money, i.e. at the end of the day does the 2312 deliver a better sound or is it basically a 1912 with some extra bells?

As spager noted, the EU 1912 has MultEQ XT which is likely why there is no 2112 ... and no, the 2312 won't have better sound, rather only extra bells (eg. video chip, GUI overlay on 3D video).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9706 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 10:29 AM
Member
 
milomanorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As spager noted, the EU 1912 has MultEQ XT which is likely why there is no 2112 ... and no, the 2312 won't have better sound, rather only extra bells (eg. video chip, GUI overlay on 3D video).

2312 has an extra optical and an extra cinch digital input compared to the 1912.
milomanorg is offline  
post #9707 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,731
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

good thing you are only thinking about it, because the 2312 doesn't have pre-outs...

you'd have to use a speaker level to line level converter in order to add an amp...

you going into protection and/or clipping? if not, don't bother...

I knew I should have got the 3312! I thought there might be other connections you could do. Thanks for the feedback. I guess this means I have a new Marantz or Denon in my near future!

My System

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My dedicated theater room build. 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #9708 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 10:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
^^
The benefit of the Marantz models, is that even the lower level models offer at a minimum the FL/FR preouts.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9709 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post

I knew I should have got the 3312! I thought there might be other connections you could do. Thanks for the feedback. I guess this means I have a new Marantz or Denon in my near future!

If you are still in your 30 day period take/send it back and pick up what you need/like.
spager is offline  
post #9710 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
or buy the 3312 as the main amp and use the 2312 as the second amp.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #9711 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post


How about setting the AVR to NOT change or add your any changes to your tv picture settings? Cause when I look at the video status,it says movie.

It seems my colors are off on my PS3 is why I need to know this...unless its something else?

Also what should the chroma level be set to?
ReSultZ is offline  
post #9712 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post

or buy the 3312 as the main amp and use the 2312 as the second amp.

Waste of money, considering the prices. Better to sell the 2312 (assuming it's too late to return) and put that money towards a dedicated amp, like the Emotiva 3 or 5 channel amps, to use with a 3312.
Kalani is offline  
post #9713 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:13 PM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I have the 3312 and currently running 8 years old pols audio 5.1 packaged system speakers. Looking to upgrade to tower speakers soon...any recommendations?
lakersfreak is offline  
post #9714 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
head to the speaker forum and post your budget, room size, etc. Not really on-topic in this thread and you will cast a wider net for help there.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #9715 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 08:58 PM
Member
 
roachslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Sounds like you would benefit from a Harmony (or other universal) remote that works based on "activities" ... you turn the activity OFF and it turns all the devices in that activity OFF.

well, yes, that would nice, but I loathe harmony, and all such remotes. Horribly expensive, and IR macros are too slow. Last harmony I had sucked at charging because logitec doesnt know how to manufacture things properly. In fact I still have it, but can't charge it.

Anyway, back on topic, I am much more interested in Denon and its capability or lack thereof. Why output a blank signal? I'd rather have no output when there is no input. And is there a solution in settings rather than buying a remote that costs as much as an iPad?
roachslayer is offline  
post #9716 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
lou99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldnt live without my logiteh
lou99 is offline  
post #9717 of 19258 Old 03-06-2012, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well since nobody seems to know the answer to the above questions I asked.... Looking threw the setup guide that batpig and jd wrote I came across...

"p. PS3/Blu Ray Player (BDP) Video Issues: On the PS3 or Blu Ray player, set the "Deep Color Output" setting to OFF."

What is the reason to turn off deep color?

MAYBE that will fix the above unanswered questions
ReSultZ is offline  
post #9718 of 19258 Old 03-07-2012, 12:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
^^
That is not a real poster ... rather a robot poster that simply repeats a previous post in the thread.

That said, although there's nothing wrong with purchasing refurbs, MacMall only offers 90 day warranties, while Accessories4Less offers a full 1 year warranty, which can likely be doubled to 2 years by your credit card provider (Amex will do this for sure).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9719 of 19258 Old 03-07-2012, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still unanswered questions

Okay so after trying my PS3 slim 160gb with another HDMI input(without the 3312ci) with the same exact settings and testing with Netflix menus,Uncharted 3 and Street Fighter X Tekken..I defiantly notice the colors seem a tad over-saturated with what seems to be mild color banding on oranges/reds and a slightly less sharp/defined picture when running threw the 3312CI.... I been trying to find a answer but it seems like nobody mentioned this HELP!!!!
ReSultZ is offline  
post #9720 of 19258 Old 03-07-2012, 01:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,611
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post

It seems my colors are off on my PS3 is why I need to know this...unless its something else?

Also what should the chroma level be set to?

There is a known issue with video degradation when the setting is set to ON (see post #4). First try setting the setting to OFF, and if still no joy set the setting to OFF (although doing so will disable the GUI for that input). The setting would be unique for your particular TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post

.
What is the reason to turn off deep color?

Because it affects the video display when connected to some TVs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post

Still unanswered questions

Okay so after trying my PS3 slim 160gb with another HDMI input(without the 3312ci) with the same exact settings and testing with Netflix menus,Uncharted 3 and Street Fighter X Tekken..I defiantly notice the colors seem a tad over-saturated with what seems to be mild color banding on oranges/reds and a slightly less sharp/defined picture when running threw the 3312CI.... I been trying to find a answer but it seems like nobody mentioned this HELP!!!!

See response to first post above.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off