The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 337 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 11:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lou99 View Post

Hey Guys, I have two quick questions:

1) PS3 games dont seem to be calibrated with reference level in mind - What AVR settings are you guys using for gaming? When I play NBA 2k12, I cant tolerate a volume over -25. It's very loud! This may cause Dyn EQ and such to go out of whack. Should I "lower" the Level of the PS3 input? use Reference Level Offset on the receiver? or Lower the "master volume" in the Game?

2) While watching a movie yesterday where background 'music' played pretty loud on all speakers on a specific scene. The master volume on the Receiver was on -10 and Dynamic Volume was set to Day. I dont know if this was caused by Dynamic Range or DynEQ boosting anything because I was watching the movie at -10. Is Reference Level Offset "Literal?" I watch Bluray's at -10db. Does that mean I should use a -10db REO setting?

1. Volume listening level is going to depend on several factors including distance from the speakers and the size of your room as well as the efficiency rating of your speakers. Why do you believe Dyn EQ can go "out of whack"? The lower the volume below 0db, the stronger the bass/surround boost. If you want to reduce the bass/surround boost at a given volume, simply raise the Reference Offset incrementally up to -15db until you're satisfied. Bottom line, if it's very loud overall, then simply lower the master volume.

2. Read my response above again.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zack Fair View Post

Denon 2112.!
I see 2 strange things ! I don't know if its the denon for return or its the software!
I plug the Ethernet connection and some times I see a message about updated to press enter but its like don't response and in The radio when I'm looking some station a message appear and say no connection to network.!
Maybe its the software and I need to update but I don't know how manually because I press enter but I don't see nothing xd
What can I do.?

You are probably getting a firmware update notification go to page 1 of this forum, post #6 for complete instructions.

For networking issues go to page 1, post 3 section 8.
spager is offline  
post #10083 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there an 'optimum settings' guide?
pacemaker is offline  
post #10084 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 11:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
Everyone comes with their own built in personalized "optimum settings" guide .... your ears.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10085 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
lou99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


1. Volume listening level is going to depend on several factors including distance from the speakers and the size of your room as well as the efficiency rating of your speakers. Why do you believe Dyn EQ can go "out of whack"? The lower the volume below 0db, the stronger the bass/surround boost. If you want to reduce the bass/surround boost at a given volume, simply raise the Reference Offset incrementally up to -15db until you're satisfied. Bottom line, if it's very loud overall, then simply lower the master volume.

Thanks, but doesnt that cause a problem? If im playing games at -25, wouldnt that cause unnecessary "boosts" in Dyn EQ? Even when -25 is just as loud as reference in a particular game?
lou99 is offline  
post #10086 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 12:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
No clue to what you're referring to?

Either use Dyn EQ or don't use it ... your choice.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10087 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
lou99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The issue isn't with DYN EQ, but the fact that games could be 25% louder than movies at reference level. All good disregard the question.
lou99 is offline  
post #10088 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
Damenace72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As recommended, are your front mains set (or reset) to SMALL with minimum of 80hz crossovers? If not, there is no LFE channel in your iPod audio so there's nothing to be sent to the sub.

Main fronts are set to small. No surrounds or center.those are off. Set to LFE. Crossover set to 80hz. LFE set to 80hz.

Selecting ch level still does not bring up the SW. Not sure what else to check. Is it my iPod classic? Sub worked fine with the iPod on the pioneer.
Damenace72 is offline  
post #10089 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
abybody manged to get a Samsung BD player working with the remote?
pacemaker is offline  
post #10090 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lou99 View Post

The issue isn't with DYN EQ, but the fact that games could be 25% louder than movies at reference level. All good disregard the question.

In the Input Setup there is a Source Level that will help but remember the receiver volume will be affected by what the source outputs.
spager is offline  
post #10091 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the airplay good on these units?
Superfluous is offline  
post #10092 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damenace72 View Post

Main fronts are set to small. No surrounds or center.those are off. Set to LFE. Crossover set to 80hz. LFE set to 80hz.

Selecting ch level still does not bring up the SW. Not sure what else to check. Is it my iPod classic? Sub worked fine with the iPod on the pioneer.

you aren't using "direct" by any chance?

edit: "direct" on the pioneer is not equivalent to "direct" on the denon... "direct" on the denon is roughly equivalent to "pure direct" on the pioneer...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #10093 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Everyone comes with their own built in personalized "optimum settings" guide .... your ears.

LOL! i like that...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #10094 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I get Audio Return Channel to work? I've got a single hdmi running from the Denon to the hdmi2 (ARC) port on my Samsung UN65D8000. Everything is running thru the Denon. However, when I play Netflix via Samsung Smart Hub on the TV, I still get the audio from the DirecTV channel I was watching.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Patrick G is offline  
post #10095 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
Damenace72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

you aren't using "direct" by any chance?

edit: "direct" on the pioneer is not equivalent to "direct" on the denon... "direct" on the denon is roughly equivalent to "pure direct" on the pioneer...

I think I am using direct. Under audio settings it gives me 2ch direct/ST. The setting is 'custom' or 'basic'. I have mine set to custom. Am I supposed to change it say from direct?
Damenace72 is offline  
post #10096 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
chadsdsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When you guys watch older blu ray with 5.1 lpcm audio, which listening mode do you use? I ask because it seems like when I use the normal multi channel setting (I have a 1712 btw), I get more dialogue coming from the surround apeaker than I am used to from movies, as if it is a stereo source being routed to the surrounds. Using plxII or whatever seems to fix that but I was just wondering what to use in order to have the intended sound as transmitted from the disk? I hope you understand what I am trying to say... sometimes my questions make perfect sense to me but everyone else is like...huh?
chadsdsmith is offline  
post #10097 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick G View Post

How do I get Audio Return Channel to work? I've got a single hdmi running from the Denon to the hdmi2 (ARC) port on my Samsung UN65D8000. Everything is running thru the Denon. However, when I play Netflix via Samsung Smart Hub on the TV, I still get the audio from the DirecTV channel I was watching.

Did you turn the Denon's HDMI-CTL on? By default it is off. Once that's turned on you should just need to press the TV button on your remote to hear the Netflix audio.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #10098 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
EricST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't wait, 2112 will be here this week.

May the Force be with you.
EricST is offline  
post #10099 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damenace72 View Post

Just got a 2112ci after returning a pioneer vsx 50 because I could not play my iPod on USB in zone 2. My powered subwoofer worked like a champ on the pioneer, but no sound at all from the sub now that it is hooked up to the Denon. I have checked to ensure the the sub is marked 'yes' in the setup. I am definitely hooked up to the pre out on the receiver. when I got into the ch select menu the sub is not showing up at all. With the sub on, scratching my thumb on the coax I get a sound. Is my receivers pre out toast, or am I missing a setting? Can anyone help? Thanks!

Hi
same problem i had listening to 2ch audio in direct mode possibly
in the bass setting there is an option to use LFE+Main, check if you have LFE only
i used to think this meant sending 'sub' sounds to the sub+Main speakers but i think it actually means sending dedicated 'sub' soundtrack data + normal bass from 2ch material to the sub, hence the lack of the 'sub' in the ch select as you are only listening to 2ch
give it a go!
pacemaker is offline  
post #10100 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 04:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

there is no "dedicated sub soundtrack data" in a 2 channel recording...

rather than using "direct" (and bypassing room correction, which almost all users benefit from), use "stereo"...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #10101 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

there is no "dedicated sub soundtrack data" in a 2 channel recording...

rather than using "direct" (and bypassing room correction, which almost all users benefit from), use "stereo"...

I know thats why using LFE only means you loose the bass from 2ch 'main'

in 'direct' mode there is still an option for Audyssey but i dont know what this does
i will give 'stereo' another go but thought 'direct' was more 'real' if that makes sense
pacemaker is offline  
post #10102 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

nope, that's not it either...

nope... it's not more "real" in any way...

what you hear is made up of 3 things...

- the mix of the source material...
- the speakers...
- what the room does to the sound after it comes out of the speakers...

many people underestimate/don't realize how much of an impact #3 makes... using room correction actually gives you a closer approximation of what the mixer intended (especially below 200hz in an average home environment, but also important above that) than not using it will...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #10103 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 05:23 PM
Member
 
kenshomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So a friend of mine asked if I wanted his AVR3808 - I just bought a 1712 a few months back - should I take him up on it. I find most of his hand-me-downs are better then my new stuff? I'm checking out the specs. IT seems to do everything my 1712 does and more.
kenshomi is offline  
post #10104 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
Damenace72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacemaker View Post

I know thats why using LFE only means you loose the bass from 2ch 'main'

in 'direct' mode there is still an option for Audyssey but i dont know what this does
i will give 'stereo' another go but thought 'direct' was more 'real' if that makes sense

Stereo and LFE + Main did the trick! Thanks everyone for their suggestions.
Damenace72 is offline  
post #10105 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
cjsiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
So I got my new 2112 hooked up tonight. Definitely different than my 1910. Anyone know what it means when it says "offset -5" as an example when I change channels? What exactly does that mean? My 1910 did not do that.

cjsiv is offline  
post #10106 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Yobder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have a Logitech 880 Remote? When I select menu, the up, down and select does not work, only forward and back. I have an AVR1912, thanks.

mack
Yobder is offline  
post #10107 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenshomi View Post

So a friend of mine asked if I wanted his AVR3808 - I just bought a 1712 a few months back - should I take him up on it. I find most of his hand-me-downs are better then my new stuff? I'm checking out the specs. IT seems to do everything my 1712 does and more.

the 3808 is a significantly higher end unit than the 1712. I would take it for sure as a free "hand me down".

the only thing the 1712 does that the 3808 doesn't is support 3D (HDMI 1.4).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #10108 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobder View Post

Anybody have a Logitech 880 Remote? When I select menu, the up, down and select does not work, only forward and back. I have an AVR1912, thanks.

mack

you have to go into the Harmony software and cusomize the buttons for the device, the defaults are sometimes screwy. The up/down buttons are probably assigned to TUNER UP/DOWN or something.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #10109 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjsiv View Post

So I got my new 2112 hooked up tonight. Definitely different than my 1910. Anyone know what it means when it says "offset -5" as an example when I change channels? What exactly does that mean? My 1910 did not do that.

That is the Dolby Digital Dialnorm offset. Your 1910 did it too, because EVERY receiver that decodes Dolby Digital does it

it's just a notification of the offset value embedded in the DD metadata. nothing to worry about it and you can't change it even if you wanted to (you don't). Read more here: http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...on-6-2000.html

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #10110 of 19232 Old 03-18-2012, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadsdsmith View Post

When you guys watch older blu ray with 5.1 lpcm audio, which listening mode do you use? I ask because it seems like when I use the normal multi channel setting (I have a 1712 btw), I get more dialogue coming from the surround apeaker than I am used to from movies, as if it is a stereo source being routed to the surrounds. Using plxII or whatever seems to fix that but I was just wondering what to use in order to have the intended sound as transmitted from the disk? I hope you understand what I am trying to say... sometimes my questions make perfect sense to me but everyone else is like...huh?

something is wrong, sounds like you are getting a 2ch signal which means your Blu-ray player is configured wrong.

check the input signal in the GUI under INFORMATION > AUDIO INPUT SIGNAL. My bet is it will say something like PCM 2/0/0 instead of a multichannel signal (which would say 3/2/.1 for example with 5.1).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off