The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by npc2396 View Post


That does it, I want the 4311 and XT32. Now I just have to wait for stock to show up.

How long is the microphone cord?

Sigh if only they pushed XT32 to the 3312, I would have been able to call it a day a long time ago. That feature is the big elephant in the room preventing me from pulling the trigger on an AVR (have a very funny shaped room)
mjodotcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 975
maybe if you got rid of the elephant your room wouldn't have to be so funny shaped?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1083 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 12:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,174
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
************************************************************ *********************************************
As a reminder, before posting a question in this thread, please review posts #1-#6 on page 1 as your question will likely already be answered there. Thanks.
************************************************************ *********************************************

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1084 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 12:48 PM
Member
 
sminyard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, after ditching a 10-yr.old low-end receiver, i just bought an AVR-1912. Primarily because my wife required that the speakers be (1) very small and (2) white, I went with the Boston Acoustics Soundware xs satellites (with a much better sub and center channel).

The specs say the Soundwares can go down to 150HZ, which I thought would be adequate, but when I ran Audyssey, it set the crossover at 200HZ! I'm no audiophile, but that sounds awfully high, requiring the sub to operate at frequencies beyond those where it is non-directional.

Did I buy crummy speakers? If so, can anyone recommend other satellites that are small, white, and better?
sminyard is offline  
post #1085 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

have no idea whether they are "crummy" or not (satellites aren't known for having great extension), but the 200hz xover sounds about right to me...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1086 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjpearce023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Ok I'm confused on 1 thing here:
- EVERY model in the line now has a GUI which can overlay over HDMI video signals
- The 2312 and 3312 models have an "advanced" GUI which can also overlay on 3D video signals

So do all the models show the menu with the video playing behind it? I was under the impression that all the models under the 2312/3312 would stop the video and display the menu with a black background.
mjpearce023 is offline  
post #1087 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpearce023 View Post

Yea I just got through reading it although I wish I wouldn't have. I guess I need to start stacking some extra funds. I got 2 JBL subs now instead of having two different brands/models. The bass is improved quite a bit but I know XT32 would take it to the next level. I want to try XT first and see how big of an improvement it is and then I might wait till the 4311 comes down some more.

It sounds like you’re pretty happy with the A100 so maybe your will keep it for 9 months.

to be honest, xt alone does a pretty good job... it's not like it sucked in here before... and depending on room/positioning, it's entirely possible that others won't see the same results that i did...

yes, i'm happy... i'm coming off a very good experience with a d&m product (that av7005 is in my personal "hall of fame"), and initial results indicate that this is going to be another very good one... i've been a card carrying pioneer ho' for a LONG time... but given pio's abandonment of any semblance of the higher end market, i'm fast becoming a d&m fanboy...

Quote:
Originally Posted by npc2396 View Post

That does it, I want the 4311 and XT32. Now I just have to wait for stock to show up.

How long is the microphone cord?

sure. blame MY comment for your itchy trigger finger hitting the "buy" button...

however to quote the great lily von schtupp, "it's twooo... it's twooo.. it's TWOOO!!"...

as batpig noted, the cord is 25 feet...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

Sigh if only they pushed XT32 to the 3312, I would have been able to call it a day a long time ago. That feature is the big elephant in the room preventing me from pulling the trigger on an AVR (have a very funny shaped room)

you and a LOT of others (including myself)... i don't think they could build the 3312 fast enough to satisfy demand had it included xt32... not to mention that a sibling pre-pro would sell like hotcakes too, look at the av7005, demand has outstripped supply for that since day one, without any major discounting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

maybe if you got rid of the elephant your room wouldn't have to be so funny shaped?

ok, that was good...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1088 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpearce023 View Post

So do all the models show the menu with the video playing behind it?

yes, OVERLAY

2112 and below can overlay on 2D video only
2312 / 3312 can overlay on 2D and 3D video signals

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1089 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Schappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a 1912 and am in the process of figuring out how to set it up.

Should I leave it on Audyssey for music as well as movies.

Whats the difference between Audyssey and Audyssey Flat.

Flat obviously sets the frequency response flat. What does Audyssey do?
Schappy is offline  
post #1090 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 975
start reading: http://ask.audyssey.com/forums/84181-audyssey-101

click on "MultEQ Target Curves" for your answer.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1091 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 04:59 PM
Member
 
McKinneyMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any more info on when/why the Denon pricing might jump up on June 12th?
McKinneyMagnum is offline  
post #1092 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 05:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,174
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan-Lee View Post

I have a new Panasonic 65VT30 (replaced a Sony XBR70 DLP), Oppo bdp-93, PSB stratus silver tower speakers and center channel, and a PS3 in the mix. My current receiver is an AVR-4306.

Help me decide on a new receiver to go with the above 3d tv, etc.
What receiver would you get?

Choose the model that meets your feature and input needs ..

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1093 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 05:25 PM
Member
 
blownalcohol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shelby, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered my 3312 today for $770 shipped. It will take 10 days, because they are out of stock.
blownalcohol is offline  
post #1094 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by blownalcohol View Post

I ordered my 3312 today for $770 shipped. It will take 10 days, because they are out of stock.

From where?
babgvant is offline  
post #1095 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 06:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,174
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by McKinneyMagnum View Post

Any more info on when/why the Denon pricing might jump up on June 12th?

Thought my post here was fairly clear.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1096 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjpearce023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 2,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

yes, OVERLAY

2112 and below can overlay on 2D video only
2312 / 3312 can overlay on 2D and 3D video signals

Ok ok. I should be allowed a slow day every once in a while. I was in Vegas this week and my brain might have lost some wrinkles.
mjpearce023 is offline  
post #1097 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 07:42 PM
Member
 
JAM7843's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norville View Post

Hi,

Just received the 3312ci to replace my "old" 3805. Setup, for the most part, went without too much of a hitch. However, the networking setup and functions have given me nothing but trouble. Even after a reset of the receiver, I have had two complete lock-ups / freezes which required an unplugging (none of the functions / buttons would work). The reset and lock-ups as the result of trying to access the network. Now having intermittent network recognition issues. I have had it work successfully play Pandora and internet radio.

Just wondering if anyone is having any issues similar. Thanks much

My 3312ci just locked-up on me right now. I was listening to the HD definition radio and i started to look for other radio stations and it just locked-up. I hit power on the remote and nothing happens. I hit the main power button on the Denon and still does'nt turn off. I'm just waiting on it for a little longer more.
JAM7843 is offline  
post #1098 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 08:25 PM
Member
 
Schappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys use audyssey for music?

Do you turn on the Dynamic EQ?

It seems you cant adjust treble and bass while using audyssey(I have denon 1912).


Does using the manual setting remove the multeq setup?

Ive read through some of the FAQs at audyssey and am still confused.
Schappy is offline  
post #1099 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 08:37 PM
Member
 
JAM7843's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Network connections can sometimes be iffy, especially when connecting wirelessly. You may need to reset your router, modem, and/or unplug the AVR to resolve the issue.

I haven't even set up my network and mines just locked-up. It may not be that it is network receiver or the router.
JAM7843 is offline  
post #1100 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
NarfND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 1912 and I just started using Airplay for music and was wondering if there is any way to listen to music and watch TV at the same time? I have my DirecTV receiver connected to the 1912 via HDMI.

Thanks! Sorry if this was covered earlier...
NarfND is offline  
post #1101 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by NarfND View Post

I have a 1912 and I just started using Airplay for music and was wondering if there is any way to listen to music and watch TV at the same time? I have my DirecTV receiver connected to the 1912 via HDMI.

Thanks! Sorry if this was covered earlier...

No. Sadly the denons' implementation of airplay is crippled. You get airplay in all zones only.

Pioneers can do what you're describing.
winston9332 is online now  
post #1102 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by subq View Post

man, I ordered my 2112ci from ABT on 6/6 for $499 (shipped) and I thought I got the killer deal...

then I come to catch up on the thread and I see people got it for $399 shipped from EE

Wait a year and they'll be clearanced for 350. always a better deal. Enjoy your receiver.
winston9332 is online now  
post #1103 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
NarfND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

No. Sadly the denons' implementation of airplay is crippled. You get airplay in all zones only.

Pioneers can do what you're describing.

That's unfortunate. Can it be done with a different audio input? Which pioneer can do do that with airplay?
NarfND is offline  
post #1104 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Arrived home from a long week of business travel and behold a brand new 2112 was awaiting me : o ) from EE. Won't be able to run it through its paces as it's pretty late but did do a audyssey run to get a taste.

The 2112 is going in a Den (11x10 10'0 - ceiling) setup replacing a Denon 1910. It's powering def tech pro cinema 1000's for fronts, def tech 800 surrounds, def tech clr 2002 center and a energy esw- m6 mini sub ( no laughing it's all the misses will allow in there). Sources are panasonic 210 3d blu ray, FIOS 7232 dvr, wii and xbox360 all running through the 2112 into a panny 50 inch GT25 plasma.

Initial build impressions solid - well done denon. The unit is very clean looking and that INCommand logo jumps out at you. I actually prefer the new look versus the xx10/11 models. The rear panel looks a bit naked but that's ok because other than the wii, I have no need for whatever's missing. It's a bi bigger than I expected as well. Feels/looks more like the CI series than the x91 of last year. Could just be my mind but I swear it is.

My first wow moment is the speed at which the unit runs audyssey. Not only is the speaker pings faster but the measuring/storing is lighting fast. It's honestly faster than any unit I have owned to date including my A100. Either denon beefed up the processing power by a factor of 1000 or the audyssey algorithms have gotten very efficient.

The wizard based setup is nice touch but limited in your amp assign and source setup possibilities. It gave 5.1, 7.1 (surround backs) and zone two but no height channel options ( I'll need to change the amp assign an rerun audyssey to integrate my heights) and or the option to rename sources. It would ideal for most who just want or will run a standard configuration and don't tweak. Not most of us avsers. I just can't stand to see cable/sat versus FIOS. A little nitpicking I know.

The speaker setup/audyssey run IMHO was dead on. It set the fronts to 90hz, center to 60hz and surrounds to 120hz all set to small as expected. Everything seems very cohesive and the m6 is nicely integrated. I'm not running challenging speakers but the 2112 has done admirably thus far. I watched a bit of the Bruins/Vancouver game at -20 and it didn't break a sweat. I then switched over to HBO and watched clash of the titans for a bit and Not a single drop of sweat when the scorpions came a running. XT is definitely to these ears a noticeable and balanced improvement over multieq especially with the lower frequencies. My little mini sub sounds very nice : o ) . If I didn't know what and where it was in the room I would have guessed it was much larger. I plan on watching a few blu rays and listening to some music tomorrow..

I quickly tried the net/USB functions and they are much more refined then previous years. IMHO they are now usable and the AirPlay functionality is way cool. It works as well as the ATV if not better. I was able to turn on the AVR and launch AirPlay all from my iPad too cool. More to come on these features as well..

On the video front it does just what it's supposed to and passes what you give it(1080i YCbCr 4:4:4 )with no compromises on fios and beautiful 1080p/24 on LOTR blu. I saw no visual degradation but I'll break out the DVE disk tomorrow to be sure. The GUI overlay works fine on FIOS 3d but I'll try real or disk based content tomorrow.

NET: if you Can and are thinking about the 2112 don't walk...run grab one now while the pricing is right. This unit is easily worth the new pricing and then some. Its goodies on top of goodies and no jump out at me defects thus far. Thanks again to the forum member who called out the EE special pricing and of course to JD and BP for the fantastic work with the thread..and in particular for calling out the 2112 as value king of the year. I'm giddy..

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is online now  
post #1105 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 10:23 PM
Member
 
i_love_my_music's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about the long rant but can't tell you guys how frustrated I am right now, my 2112 from Abt was supposed to be delivered today by UPS, I wasn't home but was hoping to pick it up from them myself tomorrow. When I reached home this evening I figured out the info notice did not provide an option for pickup. Called UPS and they tell me the shipper has not provided that option and they need to make 3 delivery attempts before they will hold it for pickup. Called Abt to see if they can ask UPS to hold for pickup...they tell me sorry our shipping dept. Is closed and can't do anything till Monday.
I'm here right now sitting in my living room looking at my brand new pair of Paradigm Monitor 11s, the poor guys have been waiting for the receiver for the last 3 days....it's going to be a painfully long weekend for me....
i_love_my_music is offline  
post #1106 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_love_my_music View Post

Sorry about the long rant but can't tell you guys how frustrated I am right now, my 2112 from Abt was supposed to be delivered today by UPS, I wasn't home but was hoping to pick it up from them myself tomorrow. When I reached home this evening I figured out the info notice did not provide an option for pickup. Called UPS and they tell me the shipper has not provided that option and they need to make 3 delivery attempts before they will hold it for pickup. Called Abt to see if they can ask UPS to hold for pickup...they tell me sorry our shipping dept. Is closed and can't do anything till Monday.
I'm here right now sitting in my living room looking at my brand new pair of Paradigm Monitor 11s, the poor guys have been waiting for the receiver for the last 3 days....it's going to be a painfully long weekend for me....

id offer to lend u mine but your in cali

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is online now  
post #1107 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 10:29 PM
jrh
Member
 
jrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 3312 setup on my network with an old D-Link DAP-1522 bridge. I also managed to save my config.dat file. I also listened to an internet radio station for a minute or so, but that brings up a question: for my internet service, I have to use Verizon's mobile broadband service, which limits me to 5 GB data/month. Can someone give me an idea of how much bandwidth listening to internet radio consumes?
jrh is offline  
post #1108 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 10:34 PM
Member
 
i_love_my_music's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

id offer to lend u mine but your in cali

Thanks mariob33...I know there are a lot of awesome folks in this forum like you...
Well well it's just 2 more days, trying to keep myself occupied with wipeout and infamous for the weekend courtesy Sony
i_love_my_music is offline  
post #1109 of 19158 Old 06-10-2011, 10:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpearce023 View Post


That would be considered a medium size room I think. I would go 3312 because you may need an amp at some point with your speakers.

Thanks for the feedback, don't know if I would expand to the amp or not?

JD/Batpig mind lending your advice to my situation and see if the 2112 would be enough to drive my NHT absolute tower speakers, 2C center and super one surrounds in a 7.1 setup listening at just under reference level. Thanks!
mjodotcom is offline  
post #1110 of 19158 Old 06-11-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,878
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 693
On the 3312 if you only use a 5.1 set up for speakers... does it have more reserve power or will sound better than a full array of speakers?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off