The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 371 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11101 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert's Fish View Post

I purchased a refurbished Denon AVR-1712 from MacMall on 4/2/12 and it is randomly making a crackling and popping noise through the speakers. It also makes a thup-thup-thup noise when I turn the volume up and down.

I checked, double checked, triple checked, then quadruple checked my connections. I'm using banana plugs from monoprice, don't know if that means anything.

They are asking me to return it for store credit as that model is already sold out. Not thrilled about having to spend more money I don't have. Wondering if anyone else purchased theirs from MacMall and if so did you have any problems?
Customer Service Rep was nice though. Looks like these are my options;
AVR890, AVR3312CI, AVR2311CI.

You would loose the superior Audyssey Multieq XT that you posses now with the 1712, with Multieq with the 890.
spager is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11102 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Having owned a variety of AVR brands over the last two decades leads me to wonder if we sometimes buy an AVR based upon the premise that the more an AVR costs and / or has a boat load of features then it must be the AVR I need.
Obviously, some brands period and some brands lower end models are just cheap in cost, construction and quality yet I have faith that Denon is one of the exceptions. I personally believe it is possible to align true need to the appropriate model. This is why I choose the 1912 over more feature laden models.

To me at least, knowing what your true needs are when you search for a new AVR is the best way to "a happily ever after" experience.

What is your opinion?

MY EQUIPMENT
Sony HDTV KDL-46HX750
Denon AVR 1912
DirecTV HD DVR HR24 & AM21N OTA Receiver
Panasonic HD DVD DMP-BD65 & Toshiba HD DVR A20
Infinity Alpha Series Speakers - 50's (2), 20's (2), 10's (2), 37c (1) & Velodyne Subwoofer
Panamax M4300-PM Power Center
Monoprice Cables & Harmony One Remote
49Merc is offline  
post #11103 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Sounds good!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #11104 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:26 PM
Member
 
BeechTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Midway USA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post

Having owned a variety of AVR brands over the last two decades leads me to wonder if we sometimes buy an AVR based upon the premise that the more an AVR costs and / or has a boat load of features then it must be the AVR I need.
Obviously, some brands period and some brands lower end models are just cheap in cost, construction and quality yet I have faith that Denon is one of the exceptions. I personally believe it is possible to align true need to the appropriate model. This is why I choose the 1912 over more feature laden models.

To me at least, knowing what your true needs are when you search for a new AVR is the best way to "a happily ever after" experience.

What is your opinion?

Hah, the old wants vs. needs debate...for me, wants usually wins!
BeechTom is offline  
post #11105 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:32 PM
Member
 
CDMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post


To me at least, knowing what your true needs are when you search for a new AVR is the best way to "a happily ever after" experience.

What is your opinion?

ummmm, can I eat the AVR, does it make me any $, can I wear it to work, does it keep the snow off my head?

None of them are needs

but me WANTS one real bad
CDMac is offline  
post #11106 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Did you remember to replace the jumper on the FL/FR speaker posts?

Yeah, I put those back on.

I just tried switching it back to biamp mode on a whim and the volume went back to what it was before, switch it back to zone2 or normal and the volume drops back down by nearly half. Can someone else try doing that and see if it does that with yours? I can't think of any reason for it to do that so I wonder if something is wrong with my unit?
candy76man is offline  
post #11107 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy76man View Post

Yeah, I put those back on.

I just tried switching it back to biamp mode on a whim and the volume went back to what it was before, switch it back to zone2 or normal and the volume drops back down by nearly half. Can someone else try doing that and see if it does that with yours? I can't think of any reason for it to do that so I wonder if something is wrong with my unit?

I'm going to try running the audysey setup again tomorrow and see if that makes a difference....it was set up biamped when I ran it the first time so maybe that affects how the audysey sets the levels?
candy76man is offline  
post #11108 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 04:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
Yes, good point. The AVR would have been passing two full range signals vice one to the FL/FR. What is the CH trim for the center speaker compared to the FL/FR speakers?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11109 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


^^
Try resetting the microprocessor (see post #5).

I'll give that a try first...thanks!
candy76man is offline  
post #11110 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 04:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
Actually, rather than doing a reset first (which would require another AUTO SETUP), just do another AUTO SETUP for a single mic position (ie. after mic position #1, press select NEXT--> Calculate) with AMP ASSIGN set to Zone 2, and if that resolves the issue, go ahead and complete all mic positions. If not, then go ahead and reset the microprocessor and do the AUTO SETUP again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11111 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Actually, rather than doing a reset first (which would require another AUTO SETUP), just do another AUTO SETUP for a single mic position (ie. after mic position #1, press select NEXT--> Calculate) with AMP ASSIGN set to Zone 2, and if that resolves the issue, go ahead and complete all mic positions. If not, then go ahead and reset the microprocessor and do the AUTO SETUP again.


ok, I'll give that a try in the morning....won't be able to have a quite house tonight
thanks
candy76man is offline  
post #11112 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
GhostProtocol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question, after i calibrate my sounds i got this settings: FL -0.5db FR +0.5db SL -3.5db SR -2.5db Center 0.0db (i raised it to 3.5db) . Is this normal? Or should i balance it and raise FL to +0.5db too same with SL to SR? Thanks!
GhostProtocol is offline  
post #11113 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 06:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
All settings are very normal. Keep in mind that part of the AUTO SETUP process is to level balance each speaker to a 75db test tone from your main listening position (ie. #1 mic position), therefore each speaker will be adjusted +/- a few db to get to that point depending on how efficient the speaker is and how far it is located from the #1 mic position.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11114 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
akamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 1912... I worked out my airplay issues by replacing the router. However, I still occasionally encounter hanging issues. This occurs when switching from sat/cbl to net/usb (pandora, internet radio, etc). The receiver will just hang - no response to any remote options. In fact, the receiver will not turn off. I have to manually unplug the unit. Any ideas? I am still within my 60 day return window - but am reluctant to do so unless the unit is truly defective.

Thanks!
akamic is offline  
post #11115 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
GhostProtocol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you jd! This help me a lot. *thumbs up*
GhostProtocol is offline  
post #11116 of 19157 Old 04-20-2012, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
CitznFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just picked up a 2312 and have a question about the subwoofer. It doesn't seem to turn on during regular tv or movies. I have a cable going from the receiver to the powered sub. If I unplug it and then plug it in it makes the sub work. But then after 10 minutes or so it just stops. I'm thinking the cable might be wrong. It looks like an RCA cable but that is also what a digital coax cable looks like. During audessy set up it does the same thing, won't turn on unless I unplug and plug it back in. I am using the lfe setting on the receiver and input on the sub. On the sub Gain is set to 50%, phase is 0, and freq is set all the way up. Channel volume is set to -11db. Am I missing something here?

just checked lpf for lfe and it is set to 120hz.

sub is a mwf15 from avs123.
CitznFish is offline  
post #11117 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 01:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Channel volume at -11 is too low. Turn down the volume on your sub to the 9 or 10 o'clock position and recalibrate again.

You'd like to get the sub channel closer to 0, not -11.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #11118 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 02:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by akamic View Post

I have a Denon 1912... I worked out my airplay issues by replacing the router. However, I still occasionally encounter hanging issues. This occurs when switching from sat/cbl to net/usb (pandora, internet radio, etc). The receiver will just hang - no response to any remote options. In fact, the receiver will not turn off. I have to manually unplug the unit. Any ideas? I am still within my 60 day return window - but am reluctant to do so unless the unit is truly defective.

Thanks!

Does it hang before or after the NET source plays? What about when a USB source plays? This may still be router related. Is there a wired or wireless connection to the router? Try rebooting the router.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11119 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 02:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by CitznFish View Post

just picked up a 2312 and have a question about the subwoofer. It doesn't seem to turn on during regular tv or movies. I have a cable going from the receiver to the powered sub. If I unplug it and then plug it in it makes the sub work. But then after 10 minutes or so it just stops. I'm thinking the cable might be wrong. It looks like an RCA cable but that is also what a digital coax cable looks like. During audessy set up it does the same thing, won't turn on unless I unplug and plug it back in. I am using the lfe setting on the receiver and input on the sub. On the sub Gain is set to 50%, phase is 0, and freq is set all the way up. Channel volume is set to -11db. Am I missing something here?

just checked lpf for lfe and it is set to 120hz.

sub is a mwf15 from avs123.

As afrogt suggests, first try reducing the sug gain to about 40% and rerun AUTO SETUP. Is the sub set to AUTO or ON? Also make sure that all speakers are reset to SMALL with a minimum of 80hz crossovers after AUTO SETUP. A sub cable is a digital coax cable and as long as the sub is working at all, not likely an issue with the cable, although you can test with a yellow composite video cable to confirm.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11120 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My parents are building a new house. They are hard of hearing and currently use wireless speakers, each one sitting on their individual tables. This setup is not ideal because they have to use batteries to power the speakers or drape a power cable behind their chairs. Additionally, the speakers occasionally "cut out" presumably from random interference.

They have NO desire for surround sound. Ideally, they want essentially what they currently have without having to awkwardly power the speakers.

I therefore had the builder run speaker wire such that a speaker will be 6' high on the wall directly behind each of their heads. Their recliners will be positioned up against this back wall.

I purchased for them Polk Atrium 4 speakers and intend to mount them so they are angled to their seating position.

I also purchased the 1312. Even though this is essentially an HDMI switcher with 5 amps, it is still overkill for their purposes, but the price was right. Their only components are a DISH HD ViP622 and a dual VCR/DVD player.

I intend to connect these 2 speakers to the L & R ports on the 1312. It'll feel weird doing so, since the speakers are essentially in the surround back position of a 7.1 configuration, but there are only 2 speakers in their setup.

Can I set up the 1312 such that sound is output mono to these speakers? Again, the only purpose is for each of them to have a speaker nearby for their hearing impairment needs.

I'm pretty sure their VCR/DVD player only has composite outputs. Will the 1312 pass this via HDMI to the TV so I only have a single HDMI cable run from the 1312 to the TV? If not, I'll probably convince them to phase out VHS and just buy them a cheap BluRay player even though they rarely even use DVDs.
120inna55 is offline  
post #11121 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 06:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
^^
The 1312 does not do analog-->HDMI conversion. Your best bet is to return the 1312 and the speakers and just get them a couple sets of TVEars.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11122 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
CitznFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

Channel volume at -11 is too low. Turn down the volume on your sub to the 9 or 10 o'clock position and recalibrate again.

You'd like to get the sub channel closer to 0, not -11.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As afrogt suggests, first try reducing the sug gain to about 40% and rerun AUTO SETUP. Is the sub set to AUTO or ON? Also make sure that all speakers are reset to SMALL with a minimum of 80hz crossovers after AUTO SETUP. A sub cable is a digital coax cable and as long as the sub is working at all, not likely an issue with the cable, although you can test with a yellow composite video cable to confirm.

ok, I'll try. the speakers are set to small and crossovers are at 40hz 40hz 60hz l,r,surround.

sub was set to on but I also switched it to auto after audessy ran. What I don't get is that even when running audessy the sub won't come on unless I unplug and replug back in the cable.
CitznFish is offline  
post #11123 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 09:14 AM
Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After running Audyssey I ended up with L/R 90hz, center 60hz, & surr 110hz. Is it more preference or should my center channel frequency be at least minimum 80hz. I'm running 5.1 Energy RC Mini they recommend 120hz w/ sub on.
airborn007 is offline  
post #11124 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the net/usb source on the 1912 have problems on all the 1912's? It seems like I have to unplug/plugin the avr everytime I want to use pandora or any of the options in net/usb source to get a on screen display if it's been more than a 24 hours or so since I last reset it. I can't get anything to play in net/usb using the denon android remote either when the osd isn't working so it's the whole source, not just that the osd isn't working. It's a refurb unit from macmall and everything else seems to be working as it should and I know others have this net/usb source issue as well but is it a constant problem on all the 1912's like mine because it's so frequent that it makes that source difficult to use.....try telling your wife she has to unplug the avr and plug it back in before she can listen to pandora on it everytime.

Should I contact denon about repairing or replacing it?
candy76man is offline  
post #11125 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 10:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by CitznFish View Post

ok, I'll try. the speakers are set to small and crossovers are at 40hz 40hz 60hz l,r,surround.

sub was set to on but I also switched it to auto after audessy ran. What I don't get is that even when running audessy the sub won't come on unless I unplug and replug back in the cable.

^^
Raise the 40hz crossovers to at least 60hz if not 80hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11126 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 10:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post

After running Audyssey I ended up with L/R 90hz, center 60hz, & surr 110hz. Is it more preference or should my center channel frequency be at least minimum 80hz. I'm running 5.1 Energy RC Mini they recommend 120hz w/ sub on.

A crossover of 60hz or 80hz is fine, so preference if you want to raise it to 80hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11127 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 10:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy76man View Post

Does the net/usb source on the 1912 have problems on all the 1912's? It seems like I have to unplug/plugin the avr everytime I want to use pandora or any of the options in net/usb source to get a on screen display if it's been more than a 24 hours or so since I last reset it. I can't get anything to play in net/usb using the denon android remote either when the osd isn't working so it's the whole source, not just that the osd isn't working. It's a refurb unit from macmall and everything else seems to be working as it should and I know others have this net/usb source issue as well but is it a constant problem on all the 1912's like mine because it's so frequent that it makes that source difficult to use.....try telling your wife she has to unplug the avr and plug it back in before she can listen to pandora on it everytime.

Should I contact denon about repairing or replacing it?

AFAIK, this is not a widespread issue. Have you tried the troubleshooting tips recommended in posts #3 and #4 (eg. set HDMI Control to OFF or power on the AVR before the TV)?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11128 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 11:08 AM
Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

A crossover of 60hz or 80hz is fine, so preference if you want to raise it to 80hz.

Thank you.....though I don't listen to my speakers at high volume I was afraid auto setup at 60hz if I do turn up volume high can damage my bookshelf speakers.
airborn007 is offline  
post #11129 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
candy76man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vairico,FL USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

AFAIK, this is not a widespread issue. Have you tried the troubleshooting tips recommended in posts #3 and #4 (eg. set HDMI Control to OFF or power on the AVR before the TV)?


yep, hdmi controll is off and my harmony1 remote turns on the avr before the tv switches on.
candy76man is offline  
post #11130 of 19157 Old 04-21-2012, 12:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,115
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post

Thank you.....though I don't listen to my speakers at high volume I was afraid auto setup at 60hz if I do turn up volume high can damage my bookshelf speakers.

For peace of mind then, raise it up to 90hz as well and call it a day.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off