The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 382 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11431 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 03:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post

BP, in your opinion do you think there will be much difference between the new 3313 and the 3312? Im wanting to upgrade from the 2112. I need preouts for an amp and was planning to jump on closeout sales for the 3312, but the 3313 sounds impressive. Much difference?

More information on the 3313CI should be released within the next few weeks.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11432 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

If you can't find them listed on Denon's website don't buy from them. CALL authorized dealers listed on Denon's website for the best deals. BTW there's a GRANDSLAM of a deal going on on the 2112 at EE if that is your price point.

What's EE? Electronics Expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

Good to learn about the Authorized Dealer list and restriction (on warranty etc).

At least Amazon is listed. But what if it is sold at Amazon site but by one of the affiliated merchants that use Amazon for sales and payments? Will the warranty be good then?
alokeprasad is offline  
post #11433 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

What's EE? Electronics Expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

Good to learn about the Authorized Dealer list and restriction (on warranty etc).

At least Amazon is listed. But what if it is sold at Amazon site but by one of the affiliated merchants that use Amazon for sales and payments? Will the warranty be good then?

Take a look at slickdeals.com. Maybe the deal's dead.
BTW, only amazon itself is listed. The affiliated merchants would need to be separately listed.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #11434 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

What's EE? Electronics Expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

you have to CALL them to get the best pricing. Denon is protective of msrp and authorized dealers cannot advertise their best prices online.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #11435 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

What's EE? Electronics Expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

Good to learn about the Authorized Dealer list and restriction (on warranty etc).

At least Amazon is listed. But what if it is sold at Amazon site but by one of the affiliated merchants that use Amazon for sales and payments? Will the warranty be good then?

as has been posted hundreds (thousands? millions?) of times, you have to pick up the phone and call...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #11436 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 04:50 PM
Member
 
JuEv0splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

What's EE? Electronics Expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

You have to call EE to get their best deal...will be much lower than the web pricing.

Edit: wow sorry for slamming with the simultaneous posts!
JuEv0splash is offline  
post #11437 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
CGlenn

I Googled your BDP model and found this.

You need to set HDMI audio output to AUTO (bitstream) and ensure that the “BD Audio MIX Setting” is set to to “Off” in the “Audio Settings”.

I also found some more info at this site.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...bitstream.html
spager is offline  
post #11438 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

what's ee? Electronics expo? The price of 2112 is not that low (it is more than 2312 at that site).

grandslam
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #11439 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dsg2003gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post

grandslam

that price makes me want to EXPLODE.
dsg2003gt is offline  
post #11440 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
cglenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beavercreek, OR
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spager View Post

I Googled your BDP model and found this.

You need to set HDMI audio output to AUTO (bitstream) and ensure that the “BD Audio MIX Setting” is set to to “Off” in the “Audio Settings”.

The BD Audio MIX setting was the culprit. Your advice for the Samsung player (bitstream) was right too.

Beyond the model number, what were your search terms to find out about the BD Audio MIX settings? I read over the 6 pages for the Sony BDP-S380 in this forum, but it was not addressed. Google searches just sent me to sellers and reviews. This for my future reference for other electronics.

Thanks again, Spager!

Edit: I just saw your link on setting the unit in #11454.
cglenn is offline  
post #11441 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cglenn View Post

The BD Audio MIX setting was the culprit. Your advice for the Samsung player (bitstream) was right too.

Beyond the model number, what were your search terms to find out about the BD Audio MIX settings? I read over the 6 pages for the Sony BDP-S380 in this forum, but it was not addressed. Google searches just sent me to sellers and reviews. This for my future reference for other electronics.

Thanks again, Spager!

Edit: I just saw your link on setting the unit in #11454.

YW

Since you had a hard time setting Bitstream I figured others probably had a hard time as well so I goolgled sony bdp-s380 bitstream.
spager is offline  
post #11442 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
netgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody can tell difference with sound quality using zone2 with denon 2112ci?
I planning to get Yamaha NS-AW150W 2-Way Outdoor Speakers to listen music on my patio.
The question is how good will be bass/treble on those speakers? Is it worth to upgrade to 2312ci model to have better sound quality?

Please give me some feedback
netgar is offline  
post #11443 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Jackstraw18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Evening all,
I have the 2112CI and have a question about the Media Server input/mode. I have it communicating with a laptop running Windows Media Player 12 as a media server. I can see and access all my files and folders. The only issue is how long it takes to navigate the folders. The delay is extremely long, making it almost unusable for this purpose. Conversely, the folder navagation using the DLNA server mode on a Sony BDP570 moves pretty quickly, so I don't think its about connection speed. Any thoughts or insights. Should there be significant delay using the Denon.
Thanks
Jackstraw18 is offline  
post #11444 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
Denon's DLNA interface is notoriously clunky, especially when dealing with a large volume of files. I would use the Sony BDP or some other dedicated media player if possible. Probably be less frustrated

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #11445 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by netgar View Post

Anybody can tell difference with sound quality using zone2 with denon 2112ci?
I planning to get Yamaha NS-AW150W 2-Way Outdoor Speakers to listen music on my patio.
The question is how good will be bass/treble on those speakers? Is it worth to upgrade to 2312ci model to have better sound quality?

Please give me some feedback

Unless you particularly like more base or treble not really a selling point.

Stepping up to the 3312 with tone control and optical out to zone 2 might get me more excited and as noted above, there should be some good sales as the new line will be out soon.
spager is offline  
post #11446 of 19258 Old 04-30-2012, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am going back and forth between 1712 and 2112ci. The only advantage (for me) of going to 2112ci is network based (possible) FW update. Beyond that I have no appeal of it's networking capability as I do not intend to use it for any streaming and or controlling.
This makes me admire 1712 more, especially with it's declining price point.

Decisions.. Decisions..
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #11447 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 12:24 AM
Member
 
rikemomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


The "deal" is that the 3312CI is the current successor to the 2808CI. Also note that the 2312CI doesn't have "more advanced processing" rather it simply adds a new feature Dyn EQ that boosts the sub and the surround speakers at lower volume.

Thanks--I think that feature could be very helpful, we'll see tomorrow!

Thanks for the reply,
Mike
rikemomo is offline  
post #11448 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 03:45 AM
Member
 
Jackstraw18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks batpig,
The slowness of Denon's DLNA capabilities is a bit of a bummer. Are they aware of it, and do you think it will be addressed in a future firmware update... or... it is what it is.
Jackstraw18 is offline  
post #11449 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 04:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Yes, of course they are ... which is why a number of the firmware updates have involved improving network capability, to include the most recent updates to the 2312CI/3312CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11450 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:03 AM
Member
 
montyburns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys,

i got my setup all set for now, however my panasonic blu ray is not working...

ive got it plugged into hdmi1 on my 2112, but i get no signal. i know the blu ray works because i plugged it straight into my tv and its fine.

my dvr works fine through hdmi, and my old 5 dvd changer works fine through component+coax...

any ideas?
montyburns1 is offline  
post #11451 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Try all of the other HDMI inputs.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11452 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:16 AM
Member
 
montyburns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oy, ok...

thanks
montyburns1 is offline  
post #11453 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Sounds silly I know, but HDMI is very temperamental and sometimes the difference in the signal path distance on the HDMI board makes a difference with some HDMI source devices. Also before you change the HDMI input jack, ensure that the "Deep Color Output" setting is set to OFF on the Panny BDP.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11454 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:29 AM
Member
 
montyburns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yah i read that in the faq...ill try that first, but that means i have to plug it directly into the tv so i can see the damn thing, haha.

not sure if this is related, but when i was trying to get the bray to connect, all i got was 'no signal detected' displayed on my tv. i had the denon onscreen gui on, but it would flash on and off...like every few seconds. it would stay on, then go away for a sec, then come back...until i turned the bray off. then it stayed on the screen...

weird?
montyburns1 is offline  
post #11455 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Uh yeh ... true that.

Also, try replacing the HDMI cable connecting the BDP to the AVR as that could be causing the problem (doesn't matter that it works when connected directly to the TV ... remember .. HDMI can be finicky.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11456 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tvuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Yes, of course they are ... which is why a number of the firmware updates have involved improving network capability, to include the most recent updates to the 2312CI/3312CI.

JD,
I have been trying to scroll down on the first page using avs app on iphone to see your change logs and it kept crashing Do you know what this upgrade include? Thanks.
tvuong is offline  
post #11457 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 05:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
The only information provided was that the latest firmware "update" provided improvements to the network capability.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11458 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
DirtyTj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to delete my account information from a 1912, is there an easy way? I'm sorry if I missed it some where. Any help wold be great.
DirtyTj is offline  
post #11459 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 06:29 AM
Member
 
montyburns1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey jd,

any idea why it would flash the gui like i posted? have you ever seen that before?
montyburns1 is offline  
post #11460 of 19258 Old 05-01-2012, 06:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,600
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyTj View Post

I need to delete my account information from a 1912, is there an easy way? I'm sorry if I missed it some where. Any help wold be great.

The AVR only provides the capability to "log in" to your Pandora account. Any changes to your account must be made via a PC.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off