The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

ChrisDixon's Avatar ChrisDixon
05:54 PM Liked: 10
post #1561 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 603
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpc-geek View Post

The 3312 will be a really big leap forward for me I just wish it had one or two more opticals, but they seem to be going out of fashion in a hurry these days.

You could always use something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002GV876

It converts optical to coax, and is only $20. I used one of these for a year or two without issue. The only downside is that it's powered so you'll need another spot on your power strip.
nuttybardude's Avatar nuttybardude
05:56 PM Liked: 10
post #1562 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 25
Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

************************************************************ *********************************************
As a reminder, before posting a question in this thread, please review posts #1-#6 on page 1 as your question will likely already be answered there. Thanks.
************************************************************ *********************************************

hehe well now i feel pretty dumb. So i guess i had the hdmi handshake problem with my xbox to denon. So now i have the hdmi from xbox directly to tv, and i have an optical running from tv to denon for audio. Question is how do i get my 1912 to play the audio from the optical cable?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:07 PM Liked: 1747
post #1563 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 46,464
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
The way you have it currently configured, you would select the "TV" source on the 1912 which is what the optical input defaults to; however, the reason the xBox wasn't working was more likely a setting on the xBox rather than an HDMI handshake so you could actually try to get that connection to work correctly.
JChin's Avatar JChin
06:11 PM Liked: 137
post #1564 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 8,572
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttybardude View Post

hehe well now i feel pretty dumb. So i guess i had the hdmi handshake problem with my xbox to denon. So now i have the hdmi from xbox directly to tv, and i have an optical running from tv to denon for audio. Question is how do i get my 1912 to play the audio from the optical cable?

Hi nuttybardude, I agree with jdsmoothie that its possible with a setting with the xbox (try a xbox reset).

Otherwise for audio from tv to receiver, use ARC (on panny) instead of optical cable.
supie's Avatar supie
06:16 PM Liked: 10
post #1565 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 67
Joined: Jan 2004
Hi,
I am considering the AVR-1912 or AVR-2112 and after a lot of research, and calling Denon, I cannot find the answers to the following:

Can I use my Universal Remote such as Harmony or URC MX-980 without any problems, after doing the programming?

How much heat does it generate? Can I install the Receiver in a ventilated cabinet with at least 8 clearance on top and 4 sides and back?

Did anyone compare the Onkyo TX-NR609 with Denon AVR-1912/AVR-2112, if so why did you prefer the Denon?
Thanks in advance
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:19 PM Liked: 1747
post #1566 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 46,464
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
1. Yes, Harmony remotes work just fine with Denon AVRs. You can download your model from the Logitech data base.

2. Denon AVR's don't generally generate much heat (luke warm) so the amount of ventilation space you're providing is more than sufficient.

3. Nothing below the 709 will compare to Denon AVRs as they only use Audyssey 2EQ which has at least 1/2 the number of EQ filters and does no sub EQ.
Kalani's Avatar Kalani
06:49 PM Liked: 16
post #1567 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 1,445
Joined: Oct 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by htpc-geek View Post

Except it won't worth with my Harmony One. All of my gear is in another room in a closet on the other side of the wall from my TV. Everything is controlled perfectly with my Harmony One and an IR repeater, and I love how it works today, and I'm not going to get up and go in the other room to switch an input.

I don't have the Denon unit yet, but I will be getting the 3312 very soon. It is one optical input short of what I need, but I think I've found a way to make it work anyway. Just trying making sure it'll all work before I pull the trigger. I'm running off an old Sony STRDA555ES from 10 years ago with 4 optical inputs.

The 3312 will be a really big leap forward for me I just wish it had one or two more opticals, but they seem to be going out of fashion in a hurry these days.

Coming from a Sony STRDA1000ES myself, I can pretty much promise you'll love the 3312.
Dextar's Avatar Dextar
07:00 PM Liked: 10
post #1568 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 85
Joined: May 2008
Do you think 599 is too much to pay for the 2112?
supie's Avatar supie
07:26 PM Liked: 10
post #1569 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 67
Joined: Jan 2004
Hi,

Thanks for the replies.

Another question, I have an iPhone 3GS and 400 or more songs and some music videos on iTunes. I am wondering if you can organize and play songs on iTunes so that the AVR-1912 or AVR-2112 so it can select a single playlist like; Favorites or Jazz or Rock, etc. If not, how does Airplay work on the Denon can you select groups or is it Play All or Select One Song and/or can you do random play?

My Equipment:
TV- 60 Pioneer PDP-6010FD w/Cable Card
PVR - Tivo S3 -- SD-1561 / HD-165 Hours
DVD - Sony DVP-NS75H
Blu-Ray DVD - Sony BDP-S550
A/V Recv - Sony STRDE945 (to be upgraded soon)
CD Player 300 CD's - Pioneer PDF1007
URC MX-980
Kalani's Avatar Kalani
08:05 PM Liked: 16
post #1570 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 1,445
Joined: Oct 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextar View Post

Do you think 599 is too much to pay for the 2112?

Yes. Try Electronics Expo, and see what you can talk them down to (have to call it in, no net sales). With MSRP up $100 from before, you probably won't get the $399 deals others did, but you should still be able to do better than $599.
batpig's Avatar batpig
08:06 PM Liked: 1589
post #1571 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 25,007
Joined: Feb 2007
^^^^^ supie -- if you are using Airplay the Denon doesn't control anything, it just plays what you send it. It's effectively just a "speaker" for the iTunes content. All the control (e.g. selecting a playlist) will be done on your iPhone, iPad, or computer.

if you plug the iPhone into the USB port of the receiver, then you can navigate the GUI on your TV screen using the Denon remote and select artists, playlists, etc.

just depends on your preferred method of control.
RyanA3's Avatar RyanA3
08:17 PM Liked: 18
post #1572 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 342
Joined: Mar 2006
Are you able to use hdmi on any of your components?
Snootch4183's Avatar Snootch4183
08:45 PM Liked: 10
post #1573 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2007
So i went out and bought a wireless gaming adapter for my 2112ci, and i can't seem to get a proper connection with it. I tried using a 2nd router as an access point and its giving me the same problems. With DHCP on, it gives me an ip address that isnt part of my dhcp pool and gives me a wrong subnet mask (255.255.000.000). I just can't seem to figure it out. The gaming adapter works fine with my 360 and PS3. (its a trendnet TEW-647GA)

[Edit]-I also tried setting a static ip and resetting the processor, with no luck. Some more info if its helpful: Im using a linksys e1200, with comcast internet.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
htpc-geek's Avatar htpc-geek
08:59 PM Liked: 11
post #1574 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 43
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post

Coming from a Sony STRDA1000ES myself, I can pretty much promise you'll love the 3312.

Great to hear! I've been wondering how much of a difference it really is. The ES Sony has been a trooper, but I know things have come a long way. I appreciate the reassurance.
Boofster's Avatar Boofster
09:10 PM Liked: 11
post #1575 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 191
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

it's not just the PS3, people have tested with other Blu-ray players. This would indicate that it's clipping BTB/WTW on any source.

Some of us are able to reproduce the full range (0-255) on TV's such as the VT30. I understand movies are pre-clipped but things like the PS3 games + gui and PC media centers are still in full range. I am not happy about this.
Foos-Man's Avatar Foos-Man
09:38 PM Liked: 11
post #1576 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 174
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextar View Post

Do you think 599 is too much to pay for the 2112?

Electronics Expo quoted me $599 for the 2312 last week.
theanimala's Avatar theanimala
09:53 PM Liked: 14
post #1577 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 315
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post


Coming from a Sony STRDA1000ES myself, I can pretty much promise you'll love the 3312.

I thought I was the only old guy here. Just upgraded from a strda30es to a 991 a few weeks ago. To he honest, it took a while to get used to the new more accurate sound after using audessey, but now I really do love it!
jake9's Avatar jake9
10:11 PM Liked: 14
post #1578 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 164
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foos-Man View Post

Electronics Expo quoted me $599 for the 2312 last week.

That's a sweet deal. I imagine you have to call to get this price??
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar **OptimusPrime**
10:38 PM Liked: 28
post #1579 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by **OptimusPrime** View Post

Anyone do a video quality comparison from last years' models? I read a review that says the picture quality was "blurry" on a satellite feed though the 1912. However, no info on whether or not it was through HDMI or component cable.

With Father's Day coming soon, and my birthday right around the corner, I will be in receipt of several BB gift cards and RZ certificates...I am contemplating either the 1912 or the 2112 for my 7.1 setup. Anyone experience any kind of video issues on the 1912? My buddy has a 791, and says the video quality is outstanding. I am wondering how both these models compare.

Based on what I am reading in this thread, it seems that BB is overpriced on both the models I'm looking at. Suggestions?
Dextar's Avatar Dextar
11:06 PM Liked: 10
post #1580 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 85
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by **OptimusPrime** View Post

With Father's Day coming soon, and my birthday right around the corner, I will be in receipt of several BB gift cards and RZ certificates...I am contemplating either the 1912 or the 2112 for my 7.1 setup. Anyone experience any kind of video issues on the 1912? My buddy has a 791, and says the video quality is outstanding. I am wondering how both these models compare.

Based on what I am reading in this thread, it seems that BB is overpriced on both the models I'm looking at. Suggestions?

That's my problem too, I'm limited to Best Buy. I got a 10% off coupon but the 2112ci is 649 at BB so it only brings it down to 584+tax
mariob33's Avatar mariob33
11:46 PM Liked: 24
post #1581 of 19348
06-17-2011 | Posts: 1,713
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextar View Post


That's my problem too, I'm limited to Best Buy. I got a 10% off coupon but the 2112ci is 649 at BB so it only brings it down to 584+tax

You can negotiate them down. Should be able to et it down to 550-575 easily. They need. The business.
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar **OptimusPrime**
12:35 AM Liked: 28
post #1582 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 239
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

You can negotiate them down. Should be able to et it down to 550-575 easily. They need. The business.

Is that true?? I've asked about price matching. They used to do it, but I was recently told they can now only price match with "real" brick and mortar stores (and within a certain distance)...not online. If this can be done, I'm ready to wheel and deal.
Boofster's Avatar Boofster
12:59 AM Liked: 11
post #1583 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 191
Joined: Apr 2006
You can probably call Chris @ Cleveland Plasma (board sponsor up top) and he'll give you a better deal than anyone else
aforkosh's Avatar aforkosh
01:38 AM Liked: 10
post #1584 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 74
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


1. The HDMI from SAT to AVR is the best option as it passes both video and audio to the AVR. If you get an HDMI handshake issue and it won't work correctly, then connect the HDMI from SAT to TV directly with optical from SAT to AVR (for HDMI 1.3 TV) or use ARC (HDMI 1.4 TV).

In the past, many TVs would only pass DD5.1 only from their own tuners and components over an optical connection to the receiver. Thus if you connected a cable box directly to a TV and an optical cable from the TV to the Denon, you would only get stereo sound even if cable box was sending DD5.1. Is this still a problem for TVs supporting ARC or will they now pass DD5.1 from any connected source to both ARC and the optical cable?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:22 AM Liked: 1747
post #1585 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 46,464
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Many will now pass DD 5.1 (and some even DTS 5.1) from any connected source.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:32 AM Liked: 1747
post #1586 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 46,464
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by **OptimusPrime** View Post

Based on what I am reading in this thread, it seems that BB is overpriced on both the models I'm looking at. Suggestions?

Overpriced? No, rather like most of the authorized resellers they sell at MSRP. Gift cards can be cashed in using this site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextar View Post

That's my problem too, I'm limited to Best Buy. I got a 10% off coupon but the 2112ci is 649 at BB so it only brings it down to 584+tax

Why does that limit you? Some authorized resellers offer from 20-30% discounts ... however, you must call them to get their best price.
Slickman's Avatar Slickman
04:53 AM Liked: 20
post #1587 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 1,212
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofster View Post

Some of us are able to reproduce the full range (0-255) on TV's such as the VT30. I understand movies are pre-clipped but things like the PS3 games + gui and PC media centers are still in full range. I am not happy about this.

Me either, and almost every problem I hear about Denons has to do with video. Yes, they do have great audio, but if the video isn't up to snuff then it's a waste.
fatboy9's Avatar fatboy9
05:47 AM Liked: 10
post #1588 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 20
Joined: May 2011
Was notified that a firmware update for the 3312 was available this morning. Took about 30 minutes for it to install.
Does anybody know what issues this update addresses?

Thanks
JChin's Avatar JChin
07:02 AM Liked: 137
post #1589 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 8,572
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy9 View Post

Was notified that a firmware update for the 3312 was available this morning. Took about 30 minutes for it to install.
Does anybody know what issues this update addresses?

Thanks

Hi fatboy9, go back one page and this is what jdsmoothie posted.

Quote:


Denon will be releasing the firmware changelog information soon.


jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
07:05 AM Liked: 1747
post #1590 of 19348
06-18-2011 | Posts: 46,464
Joined: Sep 2007
************************************************************ *********************************************
As a reminder, before posting a question in this thread, please review posts #1-#6 on page 1 as they are updated regularly and
your question may already be answered there. Thanks.
************************************************************ *********************************************

Tags: Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3