Forum Jump: 

post #16201 of 19258 Old 11-23-2012, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Heat issue with 3312

Short story: I recently add an external amp running off my 3312ci and am surprised how much heat the AVR produces considering it is not driving any speakers. Is there something else I need to do other then moving the speaker wires to the Emo XPA-5 ?? Is there some way to turn off the 3312's internal amplifiers?

Long story... I had been running a Denon 1910 for several years and had it inside an open back A/V cabinet. The AVR barely got warm, however I would always leave the glass front doors open when using it. Several months ago I upgraded to the 3312 and configured it exactly as the 1910, plug for plug, wire per wire, and essentially identical settings. Not surprisingly, the 3312 was a little bit warmer than the 1910 (125wpc vs 90wpc) however still was not uncomfortably warm.

Last weekend I added an external Emotiva XPA-5 to drive the five main channels, but now the 3312 seems to run extremely hot. It was no longer enough to keep the doors open and I had to add a cooling fan to the cabinet. I cannot find any menu settings in the Denon setup menu regarding use of an external amp, nor any special considerations mentioned in the manual.

BTW the Emo amp is outside the A/V cabinet and is not heating the interior. Funny, but the Emo barely gets warm and is driving all the speakers, while the Denon gets red hot and not driving any speakers. Would the 3312 be happier if I added some dummy resistors across the now empty speaker posts? If the Denon is going to drive its internal amps anyway, should I use the Denon in addition to the Emo to bi-amp my speakers, just to keep it cooler?

I had always believed that heat resulted from current running thru a resistive load. In this case there is infinite resistance and would therefore expect current flow to be minimal. Thanks for any insight into this.