The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 616 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 49Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2013, 08:45 PM
Member
 
schroedernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, looking for some help here! I've got a 3312 that I finally got installed in a new home theater setup. I am using a fat PS3 for my Blue-Ray and over the air HDTV for cable. My question is--it doesn't matter what I'm watching, TV or Blue-Ray, the display only shows DTS NEO:6. How do I get my Dolby Digital, etc for HDTV and BlueRay? Thanks,

Dave
schroedernd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2013, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Dave, press the Movie button on your remote & repeat until you get the surround mode desired.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Sancho, you have to dig deeper. If he's getting DTS Neo then he's almost certainly getting a STEREO input from the source. If he was getting 5.1 Dolby Digital or DTS that surround mode would never show up, so changing surround mode on the receiver isn't going to fix the root problem -- his SOURCES are sending the wrong audio signal.

You can confirm the input signal in the info screen of the web GUI or on the receiver GUI. I'm willing to bet you are only getting 2.0 PCM stereo input, so you need to reconfigure your sources for multichannel audio output.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 09-08-2013, 10:10 PM
Member
 
rojkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 3312 and I just bought a new Samsung Plasma (F8500). For some reason, I cannot get audio when using HDMI pass through. Before the 60F8500, I had a Panasonic VT60 which worked perfectly, and an older Toshiba LCD before the Panasonic which also had no issues with HDMI pass through. Now, I can't get audio no matter what I do. Any help or suggestions on where to start troubleshooting? I tried setting the source to set top box (HDMI 1) and HTPC (HDMI 2) and cannot get audio from either source. I already tried a different HDMI port on the TV too and no luck either. Thank you in advance.
rojkai is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by schroedernd View Post

Hi, looking for some help here! I've got a 3312 that I finally got installed in a new home theater setup. I am using a fat PS3 for my Blue-Ray and over the air HDTV for cable. My question is--it doesn't matter what I'm watching, TV or Blue-Ray, the display only shows DTS NEO:6. How do I get my Dolby Digital, etc for HDTV and BlueRay? Thanks,

Dave

This is happening because you formerly had the PS3 connected to the TV which can only receive a stereo signal. As batpig suggests, you need to reset the PS3 (either manually or simply press/hold the Power button for a few seconds longer until you hear the multiple beeps) while connected to the 3312CI so the multi channel boxes on the PS3 get checked off.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by rojkai View Post

I have a 3312 and I just bought a new Samsung Plasma (F8500). For some reason, I cannot get audio when using HDMI pass through. Before the 60F8500, I had a Panasonic VT60 which worked perfectly, and an older Toshiba LCD before the Panasonic which also had no issues with HDMI pass through. Now, I can't get audio no matter what I do. Any help or suggestions on where to start troubleshooting? I tried setting the source to set top box (HDMI 1) and HTPC (HDMI 2) and cannot get audio from either source. I already tried a different HDMI port on the TV too and no luck either. Thank you in advance.

Ensure HDMI Control is set to ON on the 3312CI. You may also have to set the source to stereo if it is not automatically doing so on it's own when using the HDMI Standby Pass through feature.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
andy782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 1912 which has suddenly stopped detecting my HTPC (over HDMI). This is driving me insane and any help would be appreciated.
The receiver has worked flawlessly for almost 2 years. Only issue in that time has been the occasional edid issue with windows not detecting it coming out of sleep.

After updating my PC drivers, I lost the HDMI connection when connecting through the Denon (TV has a blue screen and says "no signal"). Not just a video issue, the PC doesn't detect the Denon as an audio device either.
If I connect the PC direct to the TV it works fine.

At first I figured it was a driver issue on the PC (uninstalled & reinstalled drivers including different versions, reinstalled windows - all no help).
I've also checked my cables and tested with other cables. It's not the cables.
Then I figured it was an issue with the Denon. I reset the microprocessor. Still nothing.
I've also tried other HDMI inputs. Nothing.
I've also tried a different PC (Intel and amd). No difference. I don't have any other HDMI devices.

TV can see the Denon OK (settings menu etc).
If I run Moninfo on the PC it can pick up the Denon EDID...but still no video or audio.

At this point I'm out of ideas. Anyone got any suggestions?
andy782 is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 02:35 PM
Member
 
schroedernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This is happening because you formerly had the PS3 connected to the TV which can only receive a stereo signal. As batpig suggests, you need to reset the PS3 (either manually or simply press/hold the Power button for a few seconds longer until you hear the multiple beeps) while connected to the 3312CI so the multi channel boxes on the PS3 get checked off.

I had the PS3 hooked up to the receiver before, just had new speakers installed in a new house and hadn't had it hooked up for 6 months or so. It doesn't matter what mode of sound within movie that I use--for BlueRay or over the air HDTV, the receiver only shows 2 speakers on the left and 5 on the right and doesn't sound like Im getting true digital sound---if that makes sense.

Dave
schroedernd is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 02:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Regardless. Reset the PS3.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 02:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy782 View Post

I have a Denon 1912 which has suddenly stopped detecting my HTPC (over HDMI). This is driving me insane and any help would be appreciated.
The receiver has worked flawlessly for almost 2 years. Only issue in that time has been the occasional edid issue with windows not detecting it coming out of sleep.

After updating my PC drivers, I lost the HDMI connection when connecting through the Denon (TV has a blue screen and says "no signal"). Not just a video issue, the PC doesn't detect the Denon as an audio device either.
If I connect the PC direct to the TV it works fine.

At first I figured it was a driver issue on the PC (uninstalled & reinstalled drivers including different versions, reinstalled windows - all no help).
I've also checked my cables and tested with other cables. It's not the cables.
Then I figured it was an issue with the Denon. I reset the microprocessor. Still nothing.
I've also tried other HDMI inputs. Nothing.
I've also tried a different PC (Intel and amd). No difference. I don't have any other HDMI devices.

TV can see the Denon OK (settings menu etc).
If I run Moninfo on the PC it can pick up the Denon EDID...but still no video or audio.

At this point I'm out of ideas. Anyone got any suggestions?

The issue likely lies with the HTPC. If you have an HDMI switch/splitter, try placing it between the HTPC and the AVR.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_L12

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
kemph1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I have a 2312ci. My son just got a galaxy s4, now every time he walks in the house the receiver turns on.
I can shut the receiver off and it will usually stay off for a while but will randomly turn back on at some point during the night when he is home.
I first noticed a problem with the net/USB stopping when he came in the house. When this would occur I would not be able to use anything over the network or the iPod connected to the USB as long as his phone was connected to wifi. I reset the avr to reset the network ip address. But that did not help.
At some point it stopped causing problems with the net/USB, but now turns the receiver on randomly.
Has anyone else had this issue, I've seen problems with units shutting off but not turning on.
kemph1965 is online now  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
^^
He must take some action on his phone for it to turn on. Try setting the Network Standby/IP Control setting to OFF whic h will prevent it from powering ON when in Standby.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Quote:
Originally Posted by schroedernd View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This is happening because you formerly had the PS3 connected to the TV which can only receive a stereo signal. As batpig suggests, you need to reset the PS3 (either manually or simply press/hold the Power button for a few seconds longer until you hear the multiple beeps) while connected to the 3312CI so the multi channel boxes on the PS3 get checked off.

I had the PS3 hooked up to the receiver before, just had new speakers installed in a new house and hadn't had it hooked up for 6 months or so. It doesn't matter what mode of sound within movie that I use--for BlueRay or over the air HDTV, the receiver only shows 2 speakers on the left and 5 on the right and doesn't sound like Im getting true digital sound---if that makes sense.

Dave

Did you not read my post above???? The problem is your SOURCES aren't configure properly, which is JD's point as well.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:38 PM
Member
 
schroedernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Did you not read my post above???? The problem is your SOURCES aren't configure properly, which is JD's point as well.

Batpig, I did read your post and have been reading your website for years, AND have followed your fat PS3 settings to a T!!! I cannot get my over the air HDTV to show digital, and that's with a Panasonic ST60 television. Ill mess with the PS3 settings again, but they worked fine last time I had everything setup 6 months ago.

Dave
schroedernd is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:24 PM
Member
 
schroedernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I did some messing around and got Over the Air HDTV to show up in Dolby Digital. I also got the Fat PS3 to show multi ch in, but I have some weird clipping sounds for higher frequencies. Testing the sound out on The Departed, I have to turn the receiver ridiculously high to get decent sound and the opening seen where they are at the academy shooting guns, the sound was clipping when they were shooting the guns. Any ideas???
schroedernd is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,890
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
The PS3 has it's own volume setting. Make sure it's not turned down.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tacoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calif.
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Denon 3312
Can the headphone jack on the Denon 3312 drive 300-ohm headphones?
Like the Sennheiser HD600/HD650?
Can the Denon 3312 drive 600-Ohm headphones?
How is the sound quality over all, for headphones plugged into the Denon 3312?

Yamaha RX-V671 receiver
Infinity Beta 5.1

Vizio D58U-D3 (Costco) TV
Tacoboy is offline  
Old 09-10-2013, 03:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
^^
Likely yes to both, although owners of similar models generally find using an external pre-amp to be more beneficial.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-11-2013, 03:22 AM
Newbie
 
andy782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The issue likely lies with the HTPC. If you have an HDMI switch/splitter, try placing it between the HTPC and the AVR.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_L12

Thanks for the advice. Reinstalled windows and (very carefully) reinstalled drivers and it detected ok.
Perfect now (barring the insanely un-userfriendly remote app which I've given up on).
Thanks for maintaining a great thread. And thanks to bat pig for your website (yes, I donated)
andy782 is offline  
Old 09-11-2013, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Center & Surround channels went out, again. Trying soft reset.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-11-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Looks like that may have fixed it AND

Load Completed
AV AMP is restarted automatically.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
PoS Center & Surround went out, AGAIN

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Put hand on top rear of 3312 to check HDMI out cables; heard click-click of amps coming on & back the Center & Surrounds came, for now.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post


Do you hear a relay click when they go out or come back on? I had a similar problem where I would hear a relay click and my center speaker would go out. A few seconds later the relay will click and the center would come back on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post

NO click, just noticed the announcers on the football game went away; which is not all bad; but, it's fixed, for now.

Disconnect CENTER for virtually commentator free football...
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post

Put hand on top rear of 3312 to check HDMI out cables; heard click-click of amps coming on & back the Center & Surrounds came, for now.

 

So your problem is similar to mine. I was able to "fix" it and haven't had the clicking come back for more than a month now. I'm not sure what fixed it but while the receiver was on and the center channel had gone out, I lifted the receiver a bit (less than 1/4") and I accidentally dropped it :eek: right after that I heard a relay click and my center was back on. I then disconnected the cables and cleaned it out real good with air turning the receiver on its side and what not. I'm not sure if the dusting fixed it or the small drop... I'm thinking the small drop caused one of the relays to "unstick" or reset it self somehow.


_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
LoL; my money would be on the small drop.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 05:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcdentro View Post

Hi there,

I have a denon and when i turn it on it always sounds hissing on the speakers, then as time passes by it dissapears except on my left surround speaker. Do you know how to fix it or if this is a common problem?


Thanks.
Best,
Tyler

Did you purchase the 1612 new or used? Did this just start happening or has it been happening since you purchased the 1612? Have you tried resetting the microprocessor (p. 94 OM)?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
vcdentro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Did you purchase the 1612 new or used? Did this just start happening or has it been happening since you purchased the 1612? Have you tried resetting the microprocessor (p. 94 OM)?

It was used, and it happened after i bought it. I havent resetted, i'll try first.
Thanks
vcdentro is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Twice yesterday, ALL Channels of my 3312 went out. Pressing down on the top cover, above the HDMI Out slots resulted in Click-Click noise of the Amps switching on & ALL the Channels went back to working.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 06:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9740 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcdentro View Post

It was used, and it happened after i bought it. I havent resetted, i'll try first.
Thanks

Anytime you purchase an other than brand new item (eg. used/demo/open box) it's generally a good idea to reset the microprocessor right out of the box to ensure all settings are returned to their factory default settings.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
vcdentro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Anytime you purchase an other than brand new item (eg. used/demo/open box) it's generally a good idea to reset the microprocessor right out of the box to ensure all settings are returned to their factory default settings.

I have done the reset and everything is the same, speakers have hiss when i turn it on and slowly dissapears after minutes, only the left surround keeps hissing all the time.
I read in another forum that i had to clean the hdmi board so i disassembled and did it but nothing changed.
I hope someone has the right solution.´Thanks
vcdentro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off