The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 637 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2014, 06:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,371
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 2181
Quote:
Originally Posted by softballkid4 View Post
Question. Now that I have my HTPC running correctly through the AVR, my wife has asked if I can do Karaoke. So I figured I'd just pull up YouTube on the HTPC and play Karaoke versions of the songs from there. I bought a microphone and tried plugging it into the HTPC soundcard. No dice. I get the audio from the mic through all the speakers but it's about a 1/2 second delay from the music being played on YouTube. Is there any way to plug a microphone directly into the AVR (Denon 2312CI)? Or is there another type of setup that I can use? We have an old Karaoke machine that is basically just a standalone amp but you have to constantly play with the volume to make sure it's balanced with the music being played through the speakers attached to the AVR. Was hoping there was either software I could use on the HTPC (windows 7) that would cut out the delay or a different way of connecting the microphone to the AVR.
No way to connect the mic to the AVR, rather the source device (either HTPC or Karaoke machine) will have to do the mixing.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2014, 07:10 AM
Member
 
softballkid4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by softballkid4 View Post
Question. Now that I have my HTPC running correctly through the AVR, my wife has asked if I can do Karaoke. So I figured I'd just pull up YouTube on the HTPC and play Karaoke versions of the songs from there. I bought a microphone and tried plugging it into the HTPC soundcard. No dice. I get the audio from the mic through all the speakers but it's about a 1/2 second delay from the music being played on YouTube. Is there any way to plug a microphone directly into the AVR (Denon 2312CI)? Or is there another type of setup that I can use? We have an old Karaoke machine that is basically just a standalone amp but you have to constantly play with the volume to make sure it's balanced with the music being played through the speakers attached to the AVR. Was hoping there was either software I could use on the HTPC (windows 7) that would cut out the delay or a different way of connecting the microphone to the AVR.
Think this will this work for what I'm trying to do?

http://www.amazon.com/HX-2001-Audio-Mixer-Control-Repeat/dp/B00GJX3P36/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403618947&sr=8-1&keywords=hdmi+mixer
softballkid4 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Doesn't Netflix have 4k content? That display probably has a Netflix app built in though...
Nickff is online now  
Old 06-25-2014, 08:44 PM
Member
 
edisonbaggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OPPO BDP-83 has arrived!!! Have already auditioned SACD, DVD-A, DVD from PAL region - works flawlessly with all.
SOOOOOoooooo happy...
Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the suggestions.
edisonbaggins is offline  
Old 06-26-2014, 03:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,371
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 2181
Quote:
Originally Posted by softballkid4 View Post

From the description it would seem so, yes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 06-28-2014, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I've got the Denon 2112. I'm doing a bit of an upgrade this weekend in my side surrounds and they will be going off line for about a week. Is there an easy way to go to a traditional 5.1 setup with rear speakers but no side speakers for a week? I can't seem to find a way to turn off the sides but leave the rears in place.
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 06-28-2014, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Can't have Surround Back without Surround.

Simple fix is connect your Surround Back speakers to the Surround terminals.
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 06-28-2014, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Yeah that is the conclusion I reached. I'll survive with stereo for a week.
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 06-28-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Some movies sound better that way, if your front 2 are much better than the rest.
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 06-28-2014, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Some movies sound better that way, if your front 2 are much better than the rest.
That's the problem I'm fixing with this upgrade.
SanchoPanza likes this.
AllenA07 is online now  
Old 06-28-2014, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,650
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1637 Post(s)
Liked: 1896
You don't even have to drop all the way to stereo. Just set surrounds / backs to "none" in the speaker config and it will downmix to the 3.1 setup that's still active.
SanchoPanza likes this.
batpig is online now  
Old 06-30-2014, 12:11 AM
Member
 
avink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Video out in 2312CI

I was out on a vacation and had unplugged the main power. Once I came back my DTH was gone. The LNB on the dish had to be replaced. Then I discovered that my Optoma HD66 projector has also gone bad - I was told that the surge through HDMI port had burnt a chip, which was replaced.

However I now can not get any device(PJ or LCD) to detect video signal from AVR - Denon 2312CI. Which I suspect was due to surge that hit my other components as well. I have tried everything - restarting in recommended order for HDMI handshake, tired various/shorter HDMI cables but I just cannot get it to detect HDMI signal from AVR . Audio and every other function works fine. Video even though VGA also doesn't give any video out.

I cannot do a microprocessor reset because buttons on my AVR don't work anymore and I have been using remote only for some time now(does anyone know if it can be done with remote).

I spoke to couple of technicians on the phone and they are telling me that it seems like HDMI board issue which they say is pretty expensive. They are advising its better to buy a external HDMI switch and use it for multiple inputs rather than getting the board changed. Is there anything that I can try at my end?

Any thoughts ?
avink is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 03:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,371
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 2181
Replacing the board would likely cost about $400; however, should be covered under your Home Owner's or renter's insurance. Put the money into a more current model.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 81
What should be the ideal Center Image setting?
The manual says: "Assign center channel signal to front left and right channels for wider sound." 0.0-1.0 (0.3 default)
Should I bother to change it to 0?

This is related to the discussions in the JTR thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
Speaking of that DD, I was thinking of you when reading about phantom centers. I noticed in Dlbeck's theater that you used JRiver/Audiolense to spread a percentage of the surround/rear signal to different speakers. Would you consider that for the fronts at all; .25 of center to left and .25 of center to right? Not a phantom center but having 100% on the center and then having the left and right get a small percentage of the center signal as well. Was wondering if that would be a more encompassing sound or an annoyance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Not DD... but that would be an annoyance as a person's voice would become all encompassing. Think Voice of god type sound.
You do "not" want to have a dedicated center channel and also route that information into the mains. Even at a .25 % ratio.
If you have no center channel it works (AKA Phantom Center), but not with a center channel.
I have never tried it personally, but that's the effect you get when "front wides" take in voice from the front left or front right speaker.
Skylinestar is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,114
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 130
In bit-stream mode of DTS MA and Dolby TRUE HD, I can't even change this option, It's grayed out.

So I will take a stab at guessing that it is only for pro logic modes of stereo sources.

I think Denon has it off for native sources of 5.1 or greater.

and I do not agree with DD that it (Denon) automatically sends some center channel of a 5.1 source to the left and right fronts, as you can test this by unplugging the center channel and you will hear ZERO speech from actors unless it is just reverb from the environment. I have done this and all vocal information is lost from that channel, if it was mixed in with the fronts you would still hear them talk, but at a significantly lower volume.

Again I think this is only the case with pro-logic modes or modes where you convert 2 channel into more channels

Update: *DD is someone to listen to for sure, so I just chalk this up to limited exposure to Denon products.*
Although he still knew enough to know Denon does this in general, just didn't know when and under what concurrences.

If you asked me about the products he works with all the time, I would know nothing... lol.

Last edited by SOWK; 07-03-2014 at 05:43 AM.
SOWK is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 05:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,371
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 2181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
What should be the ideal Center Image setting?
The manual says: "Assign center channel signal to front left and right channels for wider sound." 0.0-1.0 (0.3 default)
Should I bother to change it to 0?

This is related to the discussions in the JTR thread:
The only reason to change any default setting is if you don't like the default setting.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	198
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	146498  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-03-2014 at 05:29 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,114
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Perfect, so I was right! (I guess I shouldn't be surprised... If I need expert advise... I ask myself...) HA!!!!

Joking.

I'm not that self absorbed.

So Skylinestar... Don't worry about it.
SOWK is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 07-03-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,114
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
HAHA...

Good advice!
SOWK is offline  
Old 07-03-2014, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
Yep, unless it's in mono
doctorwizz is online now  
Old 07-04-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,871
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Question HDMI Stress?

Does anyone know if this statement has any validity for the Denon 3312 AVR?

"So my advice is that unless you know your HDMI ports are designed for a 75 MA draw do not use or stop using Redmere cables."

I'm running one 15' Redmere HDMI cable from my AVR to our display. It never occurred to me that I might be putting a strain on the 3312's HDMI output.
htwaits is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Yep, unless it's in mono
Yes, I get No Surround & same signal through all speakers for the Atlanta Braves on the 2 RSNs (FoxSNSouthHD & SportSouthHD).

Usually, if I want to watch the Braves, I catch up on Music listening at the same time.

But, ESPN, WGN, National Fox & FoxSports1 all have surround; as does SEC on CBS, ABC & NBC for Football.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 07-04-2014, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Yes, I get No Surround & same signal through all speakers for the Atlanta Braves on the 2 RSNs (FoxSNSouthHD & SportSouthHD).

Usually, if I want to watch the Braves, I catch up on Music listening at the same time.

But, ESPN, WGN, National Fox & FoxSports1 all have surround; as does SEC on CBS, ABC & NBC for Football.
I have a MLB.com sub and it is still mono. I have been requesting stereo sound for years...
doctorwizz is online now  
Old 07-04-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
WoW; you'd think PAYing customers would command more.

I get better sound from the 2.0 Major League Network, 2.0 CBSSports Network & 2.0 National Peoples Television than those RSNs.

There's enough there on the above 2.0 stations for the Denon to create surround, center, et Cetera.
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 07:31 AM
c3k
Member
 
c3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR3312CI Center Speaker Drop-Out Issue


Folks,


I've been running into an issue lately with my AVR-3312CI. I bought it new about a year and a half ago, and have been loving it...up until about 2 months ago.


I have it set up so Zone 1 runs 5.1 in the theater area and Zone 2 drives a pair of speakers out on my porch.


About 2 months ago, the center speaker has been dropping out intermittently. It is accompanied by the clicking of a relay. The 3312ci display does NOT change: it keeps the 5 speaker input and the 5 speaker output display. This only happens with 5 speaker input, NEVER with stereo input which is converted to 5.1. Nor does it always happen. When it does, the relay(s) click about a bunch. Sometimes just turning it off and on seems to work. Sometimes not. Changing inputs sometimes gets the center channel back. Again, the center channel drops out with 5.1 input.


I -think- this is a receiver issue, not a speaker issue. (FWIW, the speaker has not been moved or replaced for a year and half, a little shifting to check the connection is all. )


I've reset the microprocessor, but the problem, intermittently, is still there.


Additionally, it seems to be running a bit warmer than before.


I've emailed Denon support and gotten no reply other than a list of links to articles like "How to connect your speakers." Really?


So...is it time to RMA?


Has anyone else run into a similar issue?


Thanks,
Ken
c3k is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 335
I have the same clicking issue (center channel going out) with my 2312ci. Most of the time it works. I'm afraid to send it in for repair because it doesn't happen often so they will think it works fine when it doesn't.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Center channel going out, with Surround L&R happens to me rather frequently, but intermittently.

I have posted about it previously in this thread. Have 3312
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 09:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,371
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 2181
Does this occur regardless of whether passing DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Does this occur regardless of whether passing DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1?
Yes.

Also, I should add, since I sent the Surround L&R to an external Amp, they no longer go out.

But, now the Center goes out more frequently & 1 or 2 times, the Front L&R have gone out.

Pressing on Top of 3312, near the HDMI outputs in Back, results in Click & Channel(s) returning.

Sometimes have to do this multiple times, to get them to come back on.

Last edited by SanchoPanza; 07-08-2014 at 09:53 AM.
SanchoPanza is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Is there a "dialogue lift" function in the 3312? (something similar to yamaha tech to bring the center channel sound higher, thus closer to the center of a big projection screen)
Skylinestar is offline  
 

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off