The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 637 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19081 of 19657 Old 06-28-2014, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Some movies sound better that way, if your front 2 are much better than the rest.
That's the problem I'm fixing with this upgrade.
SanchoPanza likes this.
AllenA07 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19082 of 19657 Old 06-28-2014, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,921
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 2010
You don't even have to drop all the way to stereo. Just set surrounds / backs to "none" in the speaker config and it will downmix to the 3.1 setup that's still active.
SanchoPanza likes this.
batpig is online now  
post #19083 of 19657 Old 06-30-2014, 12:11 AM
Member
 
avink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Video out in 2312CI

I was out on a vacation and had unplugged the main power. Once I came back my DTH was gone. The LNB on the dish had to be replaced. Then I discovered that my Optoma HD66 projector has also gone bad - I was told that the surge through HDMI port had burnt a chip, which was replaced.

However I now can not get any device(PJ or LCD) to detect video signal from AVR - Denon 2312CI. Which I suspect was due to surge that hit my other components as well. I have tried everything - restarting in recommended order for HDMI handshake, tired various/shorter HDMI cables but I just cannot get it to detect HDMI signal from AVR . Audio and every other function works fine. Video even though VGA also doesn't give any video out.

I cannot do a microprocessor reset because buttons on my AVR don't work anymore and I have been using remote only for some time now(does anyone know if it can be done with remote).

I spoke to couple of technicians on the phone and they are telling me that it seems like HDMI board issue which they say is pretty expensive. They are advising its better to buy a external HDMI switch and use it for multiple inputs rather than getting the board changed. Is there anything that I can try at my end?

Any thoughts ?
avink is offline  
post #19084 of 19657 Old 06-30-2014, 03:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Replacing the board would likely cost about $400; however, should be covered under your Home Owner's or renter's insurance. Put the money into a more current model.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19085 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 92
What should be the ideal Center Image setting?
The manual says: "Assign center channel signal to front left and right channels for wider sound." 0.0-1.0 (0.3 default)
Should I bother to change it to 0?

This is related to the discussions in the JTR thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
Speaking of that DD, I was thinking of you when reading about phantom centers. I noticed in Dlbeck's theater that you used JRiver/Audiolense to spread a percentage of the surround/rear signal to different speakers. Would you consider that for the fronts at all; .25 of center to left and .25 of center to right? Not a phantom center but having 100% on the center and then having the left and right get a small percentage of the center signal as well. Was wondering if that would be a more encompassing sound or an annoyance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Not DD... but that would be an annoyance as a person's voice would become all encompassing. Think Voice of god type sound.
You do "not" want to have a dedicated center channel and also route that information into the mains. Even at a .25 % ratio.
If you have no center channel it works (AKA Phantom Center), but not with a center channel.
I have never tried it personally, but that's the effect you get when "front wides" take in voice from the front left or front right speaker.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #19086 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,116
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 135
In bit-stream mode of DTS MA and Dolby TRUE HD, I can't even change this option, It's grayed out.

So I will take a stab at guessing that it is only for pro logic modes of stereo sources.

I think Denon has it off for native sources of 5.1 or greater.

and I do not agree with DD that it (Denon) automatically sends some center channel of a 5.1 source to the left and right fronts, as you can test this by unplugging the center channel and you will hear ZERO speech from actors unless it is just reverb from the environment. I have done this and all vocal information is lost from that channel, if it was mixed in with the fronts you would still hear them talk, but at a significantly lower volume.

Again I think this is only the case with pro-logic modes or modes where you convert 2 channel into more channels

Update: *DD is someone to listen to for sure, so I just chalk this up to limited exposure to Denon products.*
Although he still knew enough to know Denon does this in general, just didn't know when and under what concurrences.

If you asked me about the products he works with all the time, I would know nothing... lol.

Last edited by SOWK; 07-03-2014 at 05:43 AM.
SOWK is offline  
post #19087 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 05:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
What should be the ideal Center Image setting?
The manual says: "Assign center channel signal to front left and right channels for wider sound." 0.0-1.0 (0.3 default)
Should I bother to change it to 0?

This is related to the discussions in the JTR thread:
The only reason to change any default setting is if you don't like the default setting.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	202
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	146498  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-03-2014 at 05:29 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19088 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,116
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Perfect, so I was right! (I guess I shouldn't be surprised... If I need expert advise... I ask myself...) HA!!!!

Joking.

I'm not that self absorbed.

So Skylinestar... Don't worry about it.
SOWK is offline  
post #19089 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19090 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,116
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
HAHA...

Good advice!
SOWK is offline  
post #19091 of 19657 Old 07-03-2014, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Disconnecting the Center is great in DD 5.1, for watching Sports, IF you want to watch WITHOUT the Announcers.
Yep, unless it's in mono
doctorwizz is online now  
post #19092 of 19657 Old 07-04-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Question HDMI Stress?

Does anyone know if this statement has any validity for the Denon 3312 AVR?

"So my advice is that unless you know your HDMI ports are designed for a 75 MA draw do not use or stop using Redmere cables."

I'm running one 15' Redmere HDMI cable from my AVR to our display. It never occurred to me that I might be putting a strain on the 3312's HDMI output.
htwaits is offline  
post #19093 of 19657 Old 07-04-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Yep, unless it's in mono
Yes, I get No Surround & same signal through all speakers for the Atlanta Braves on the 2 RSNs (FoxSNSouthHD & SportSouthHD).

Usually, if I want to watch the Braves, I catch up on Music listening at the same time.

But, ESPN, WGN, National Fox & FoxSports1 all have surround; as does SEC on CBS, ABC & NBC for Football.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19094 of 19657 Old 07-04-2014, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Yes, I get No Surround & same signal through all speakers for the Atlanta Braves on the 2 RSNs (FoxSNSouthHD & SportSouthHD).

Usually, if I want to watch the Braves, I catch up on Music listening at the same time.

But, ESPN, WGN, National Fox & FoxSports1 all have surround; as does SEC on CBS, ABC & NBC for Football.
I have a MLB.com sub and it is still mono. I have been requesting stereo sound for years...
doctorwizz is online now  
post #19095 of 19657 Old 07-04-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
WoW; you'd think PAYing customers would command more.

I get better sound from the 2.0 Major League Network, 2.0 CBSSports Network & 2.0 National Peoples Television than those RSNs.

There's enough there on the above 2.0 stations for the Denon to create surround, center, et Cetera.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19096 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 07:31 AM
c3k
Member
 
c3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR3312CI Center Speaker Drop-Out Issue


Folks,


I've been running into an issue lately with my AVR-3312CI. I bought it new about a year and a half ago, and have been loving it...up until about 2 months ago.


I have it set up so Zone 1 runs 5.1 in the theater area and Zone 2 drives a pair of speakers out on my porch.


About 2 months ago, the center speaker has been dropping out intermittently. It is accompanied by the clicking of a relay. The 3312ci display does NOT change: it keeps the 5 speaker input and the 5 speaker output display. This only happens with 5 speaker input, NEVER with stereo input which is converted to 5.1. Nor does it always happen. When it does, the relay(s) click about a bunch. Sometimes just turning it off and on seems to work. Sometimes not. Changing inputs sometimes gets the center channel back. Again, the center channel drops out with 5.1 input.


I -think- this is a receiver issue, not a speaker issue. (FWIW, the speaker has not been moved or replaced for a year and half, a little shifting to check the connection is all. )


I've reset the microprocessor, but the problem, intermittently, is still there.


Additionally, it seems to be running a bit warmer than before.


I've emailed Denon support and gotten no reply other than a list of links to articles like "How to connect your speakers." Really?


So...is it time to RMA?


Has anyone else run into a similar issue?


Thanks,
Ken
c3k is offline  
post #19097 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 341
I have the same clicking issue (center channel going out) with my 2312ci. Most of the time it works. I'm afraid to send it in for repair because it doesn't happen often so they will think it works fine when it doesn't.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is online now  
post #19098 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Center channel going out, with Surround L&R happens to me rather frequently, but intermittently.

I have posted about it previously in this thread. Have 3312
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19099 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 09:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Does this occur regardless of whether passing DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19100 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Does this occur regardless of whether passing DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1?
Yes.

Also, I should add, since I sent the Surround L&R to an external Amp, they no longer go out.

But, now the Center goes out more frequently & 1 or 2 times, the Front L&R have gone out.

Pressing on Top of 3312, near the HDMI outputs in Back, results in Click & Channel(s) returning.

Sometimes have to do this multiple times, to get them to come back on.

Last edited by SanchoPanza; 07-08-2014 at 09:53 AM.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19101 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Is there a "dialogue lift" function in the 3312? (something similar to yamaha tech to bring the center channel sound higher, thus closer to the center of a big projection screen)
Skylinestar is offline  
post #19102 of 19657 Old 07-08-2014, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
MEGATURON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Guam usa
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Helppppp denonx2000

Ok guys i got my denon x2000 2 weeks ago it was working perfectly and now for some reason it doesnt send out video on all the inputs allthough it sends out sound but no video at all this is on the game hdmi port help me please i got till august one till i return this
MEGATURON is offline  
post #19103 of 19657 Old 07-09-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Have you tried:

1. Swapping HDMI cables?

2. Posting this in the correct thread for the Denon X Series?
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19104 of 19657 Old 07-13-2014, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
cjressel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wondering if I could get some advice on my Denon AVR-3312CI. I have been having issues with Airplay for several months now.

I purchased the receiver in late August 2011, so I should still be inside the warranty period. Airplay worked fine for a long time. I played music over Wi-Fi from my desktop several rooms over using the 2.4 GHz band. It worked ok with occasional periods where skipping would be worse. I later moved to a new home where my desktop is located only 1 room from my router, but using Ethernet long-term is still not an option. Experienced about the same performance with Airplay. After some time (can't remember exactly when), I noticed that the skipping was getting worse. I set up my desktop's NIC to work at the 5 GHz band (had been neglecting a driver issue) and Airplay immediately worked great. I remember having zero issues playing Lost in the Dream by The War on Drugs in April this year. My connection is stable at 300 Mbps or higher.

The last couple of months, Airplay has been virtually unusable. Any song that's remotely "loud" or uptempo causes the audio to drop out and come back in intermittently. It seems a little worse with higher bitrate songs, 320 kbps instead of a lower VBR, but generally occurs with all songs. Even with some old 128 kbps I have in my library.

Pandora works fine with 128 kbps songs. The same song that fails miserably over Airplay will have zero issues on Pandora. Streaming from the PC as a media server using the Denon's menu to navigate works 100% correctly all the time. However, Airplay is vastly superior when it works since I use iTunes to manage my music. I have to open Windows Media Player and allow its library to update in order to stream new music as a media server, and it's hit or miss in its accuracy at identifying new songs. Typically something up with the tags, just causes more headache. Plus, the interface is slow as hell and I lose the convenience of having iTunes update playcounts or gapless playback.

The receiver's firmware is up to date. Some troubleshooting I have tried, multiple times:
1. Using a different PC.
2. Use wired Ethernet.
3. DD-WRT firmware on router (Linksys E4200).
4. Flashing back to stock router firmware.
5. Soft reset of receiver (unplug 10 minutes).
6. Microprocessor reset of receiver.

Anyone else experience something like what seems to be slow degradation of Airplay performance? I can identify two different times it got noticeably worse: 2.4 GHz virtually unusable, then 5 GHz unusable. Tough for me to say if they were gradual or sudden dropoffs.

Should I try a warranty claim?

Last edited by cjressel; 07-13-2014 at 03:05 PM.
cjressel is offline  
post #19105 of 19657 Old 07-13-2014, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
emegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Denon AVR-2112CI Audio Issues

Hi, I'm sorry for my poor english.

I got a Denon AVR-2112CI set to 5.1, which is presenting problems with volume levels, specifically does not increase the volume or is fixed to a specific level and this can lower it completely and still remains in the previous volume; also if eg, pause the movie and I raise the volume to maximum few "clicks" are heard in some of the speakers. I tried reseting the microprocessor and disconnecting the avr for 10 minutes. Here are some videos to explain better:


Volume issues:


Clicks sounds:

no audio at all:

Please, any help.
I really appreciate any help you can provide.
emegge is offline  
post #19106 of 19657 Old 07-13-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Listened & watched all 3 on my Plasma & 3312.

I think the clicks are your amps cutting off.

Have had luck pressing down on the top/back of the AVR near the HDMI output.

Hear a click & the amps & sound return.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19107 of 19657 Old 07-13-2014, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
emegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, but my english is no good. could explain it again.

The clicks comes from speakers.

I just did another test and does not emit any sound. I tried it with a PS3, Apple TV, and BD Player. After a reset the micro, sound from the movie being played (movie from BD Player) is fixed but not raise or lower, stays at a specific level.

It may be that the mainboard has been damaged? if that's the case, where could buy one?

Last edited by emegge; 07-13-2014 at 08:06 PM.
emegge is offline  
post #19108 of 19657 Old 07-14-2014, 04:48 AM
Member
 
ianfretwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjressel View Post
Wondering if I could get some advice on my Denon AVR-3312CI. I have been having issues with Airplay for several months now.

I purchased the receiver in late August 2011, so I should still be inside the warranty period. Airplay worked fine for a long time. I played music over Wi-Fi from my desktop several rooms over using the 2.4 GHz band. It worked ok with occasional periods where skipping would be worse. I later moved to a new home where my desktop is located only 1 room from my router, but using Ethernet long-term is still not an option. Experienced about the same performance with Airplay. After some time (can't remember exactly when), I noticed that the skipping was getting worse. I set up my desktop's NIC to work at the 5 GHz band (had been neglecting a driver issue) and Airplay immediately worked great. I remember having zero issues playing Lost in the Dream by The War on Drugs in April this year. My connection is stable at 300 Mbps or higher.

The last couple of months, Airplay has been virtually unusable. Any song that's remotely "loud" or uptempo causes the audio to drop out and come back in intermittently. It seems a little worse with higher bitrate songs, 320 kbps instead of a lower VBR, but generally occurs with all songs. Even with some old 128 kbps I have in my library.

Pandora works fine with 128 kbps songs. The same song that fails miserably over Airplay will have zero issues on Pandora. Streaming from the PC as a media server using the Denon's menu to navigate works 100% correctly all the time. However, Airplay is vastly superior when it works since I use iTunes to manage my music. I have to open Windows Media Player and allow its library to update in order to stream new music as a media server, and it's hit or miss in its accuracy at identifying new songs. Typically something up with the tags, just causes more headache. Plus, the interface is slow as hell and I lose the convenience of having iTunes update playcounts or gapless playback.

The receiver's firmware is up to date. Some troubleshooting I have tried, multiple times:
1. Using a different PC.
2. Use wired Ethernet.
3. DD-WRT firmware on router (Linksys E4200).
4. Flashing back to stock router firmware.
5. Soft reset of receiver (unplug 10 minutes).
6. Microprocessor reset of receiver.

Anyone else experience something like what seems to be slow degradation of Airplay performance? I can identify two different times it got noticeably worse: 2.4 GHz virtually unusable, then 5 GHz unusable. Tough for me to say if they were gradual or sudden dropoffs.

Should I try a warranty claim?

A warranty claim against your network setup perhaps....there's absolutely nothing in your post to suggest that the 3312 is at fault - and absolutely everything to suggest that the network (or the PC) is.

If you've managed to get the Denon attached via ethernet (since it doesn't have wireless in the first place...) then why is connecting the PC the same way not an option?
ianfretwell is offline  
post #19109 of 19657 Old 07-15-2014, 03:43 AM
Member
 
avink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy

The HDMI monitor-out on my 2312CI stopped working. The service center informed me that the HDMI board has gone bad. Which they informed that it can only be replaced and not repaired. It is not covered under warranty as I am using it outside US(I had carried it over to my home country). They don't have the board and if I want they will order it, which will cost me around $400 USD. Does anyone know if the HDMI board will cost me cheaper in US. I can ask my friends to carry it over. Also - I was wondering if there is a place/site which sells old spares/components etc.

The audio is working fine. So, if nothing works out, I am planning to feed video directly into my PJ using a HDMI switch for various components and route audio via optical into AVR.
avink is offline  
post #19110 of 19657 Old 07-15-2014, 04:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
You may want to check with the various Denon authorized parts distributors listed in the link below.

http://ca.denon.com/US/Support/Pages...tributors.aspx
avink likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread



    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off