The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 638 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19111 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 12:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,

I've been trolling through this thread and google for the last few days and can't find an answer anywhere.

Can my AVR 1912 play video from my HDMI to my TV, and at the same time play audio from composite audio through all of my speakers? I don't need the HDMI sound (wouldn't mind if a speaker or two stayed, but not important at all).

I thought this would logically be done with zones, but I can't get zone 2 to work because I'm a noob (or something more mysterious...)

Thanks guys!
Hamish G West is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19112 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 03:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
Yes it can. As long as the composite audio cable is plugged into the jack with the same name as the HDMI source name, you can change the INPUT MODE setting (p. 99 Owner's manual) to "Analog".

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19113 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 03:44 AM
Newbie
 
erikfromMichigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR-1912 - Stuck in 2-Channel and PCM Signal?

I have a 5.1 surround setup. Last night, for some strange reason, my AVR-1912 decided to get stuck in 2 channel and only process PCM audio. I've confirmed it's set to Direct and even tried it on Pure Direct but only PCM signal comes through and it's only on 2-channel. I'm using HDMI 1.4 everywhere and it worked fine just a few days ago and I hadn't changed anything so I don't think it's a cabling issue.

I've tried various sources and confirmed each was kicking out 5.1 audio but for some reason the receiver isn't cooperating. On the front of the receiver itself it will show the PCM icon, then below that the "DIG" but for whatever reason I just cant get it out of 2 channel and PCM audio.

I've also made sure the input sources were set to HDMI, Auto and have even tried to force it to "DTS" but when I do that, there's no sound at all and on the information for the signal it states "unknown". And, I've made sure all the speakers were enabled, etc. For the heck of it, I put it in multi channel stereo mode and when I do that, I do get sound out of the rear speakers but it isn't 5.1, just 2 channel still.

Has anyone encountered this? Or does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
erikfromMichigan is offline  
post #19114 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 04:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
First off you generally never want to use either DIRECT or PURE DIRECT for normal listening. What happens if you press/hold the MOVIE or MUSIC buttons? Try a soft reset (unplug unit for 10 minutes). If still no joy, do a microprocessor reset (p. 125 Owner's manual).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19115 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
erikfromMichigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^

Arg, I feel like such an idiot. Usually the simplest answer is probably the right one? Turns out our 2-year old went a little button crazy with our U-Verse remote - and somehow reset the main box to defaults one of which happens to be STEREO for the audio instead of surround. So, switching that surroud and surprise - works great!

And on my media box, it was actually set to 2 channel but somehow out of rear speakers as well. I set that up for 5.1 through its menu system and all is well there.

Of course I didn't figure out any of this until after I did the soft and hard resets - and it was still stuck in that mode.

By the way, why wouldn't I usually want to use Direct mode? Just curious. Thanks again for your help!
erikfromMichigan is offline  
post #19116 of 19735 Old 07-17-2014, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 26,120
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 2113
Because Direct modes disable ALL digital processing -- no bass management, no Audyssey room EQ, no Dynamic EQ/Vol, etc.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #19117 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Zoltrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have attempted to update the firmware on my Denon AVR-3312 today. At the moment the display on the front of the unit states, "Sub updating 11min". It has been sitting on this same message for about an hour now. The 11min notification has not dropped or increased. Is it likely the firmware update has failed or locked up? What are my options? Should I leave it, or reset the unit?

Cheers,
Zolt
Zoltrix is offline  
post #19118 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Some have had good results from letting it go overnight; ymmv.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19119 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 10:34 PM
Member
 
Zoltrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You mean stop it and run it overnight? Or just leave it and see if it has progressed tomorrow? lol

In the past they have been fairly quick. Why would it now take so long to update?
Zoltrix is offline  
post #19120 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Leave it overnight; don't know why, just know it has worked, for some.

Mine worked, rather quickly, for that update.

Are you wired?
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19121 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 11:09 PM
Member
 
Zoltrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update has finished! So weird it took so long.

And yep the unit is on a wired connection.
Zoltrix is offline  
post #19122 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 11:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 505
^^^ Good, very good.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19123 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Zoltrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tips though SanchoPanza, it was a good idea to remain patient.

Another quick question. After an update, would you normally need to rerun the audio calibration, etc. Or are all settings normally intact?
Zoltrix is offline  
post #19124 of 19735 Old 07-18-2014, 11:52 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
Nope. Audyssey calibration should remain in tact. Also note that posts #3-6 in this thread provide some very helpful tips to include post #6 which discusses letting the update go for several hours if necessary as well as listing what is in the firmware updates.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19125 of 19735 Old 07-19-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 505
^^^^ There we have it! Thanks, jd.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #19126 of 19735 Old 07-19-2014, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 46
is there any beneficial upgrade im getting from 2112ci ==> x2000? or basically the same in terms of sound? or is it worth it? thanks
caloyzki is offline  
post #19127 of 19735 Old 07-20-2014, 06:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
Sound quality should be the same, rather a front HDMI is added and Zone 2 pre-outs are "variable" such that volume can be controlled by the AVR remote or smartphone remote app (instead of on the Zone 2 amp as is required on the 2112CI). The new 2014 X2100W adds more features/inputs as well but no change in audio quality. You would need to upgrade to either the 2013 X4000 or 2014 X4100W for improved audio quality.

X2100W vs. 2112CI:
Built-in wireless and Bluetooth, 2 extra HDMI inputs (1 - front), 1 extra HDMI output (main zone), 1 extra optical input (but lost coax digital input), 1 extra Component video IN, 1 Component video OUT, HDMI 2.0 4k/60fps pass through on all HDMI inputs, ISF Certification (Day/Night), ECO mode (energy saving), 2nd sub pre-out, All Zone Stereo (passes main zone HDMI audio to Zone 2), Spotify Connect, TV Audio On/Off (defeats AVR switching to TV Audio source when using HDMI (ARC)), sectional mic stand, DSD and FLAC over USB and network

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-20-2014 at 06:33 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19128 of 19735 Old 07-20-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Sound quality should be the same, rather a front HDMI is added and Zone 2 pre-outs are "variable" such that volume can be controlled by the AVR remote or smartphone remote app (instead of on the Zone 2 amp as is required on the 2112CI). The new 2014 X2100W adds more features/inputs as well but no change in audio quality. You would need to upgrade to either the 2013 X4000 or 2014 X4100W for improved audio quality.

X2100W vs. 2112CI:
Built-in wireless and Bluetooth, 2 extra HDMI inputs (1 - front), 1 extra HDMI output (main zone), 1 extra optical input (but lost coax digital input), 1 extra Component video IN, 1 Component video OUT, HDMI 2.0 4k/60fps pass through on all HDMI inputs, ISF Certification (Day/Night), ECO mode (energy saving), 2nd sub pre-out, All Zone Stereo (passes main zone HDMI audio to Zone 2), Spotify Connect, TV Audio On/Off (defeats AVR switching to TV Audio source when using HDMI (ARC)), sectional mic stand, DSD and FLAC over USB and network
Wow. Thanks for the clarification. So I guess those features are not important for me. Maybe I will just wait until my tv dies so that I can upgrade to 2.0 hdmi.
caloyzki is offline  
post #19129 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 11:33 AM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
3312CI channels randomly cut-off

I hear click sound intermittently and then either center channel or all other channels (except for from two) cut off. All channels come back in a few minutes.

I tried resetting microprocessor, checked/reconnected all the cables. No luck. It works with no problem even for a few days. But sometimes it happens one or twice a day. When it loses channels, they usually come back within 10 minutes. I don’t need to do anything. All the channels just come back with the same click sound. Front panel still shows all channels when it loses the channels.

Question is, is it worth bringing it to service center? It’s still within warranty period. But it happens very randomly and short period of time. They might not find anything. I’m very reluctant to bring it to service center after I experienced overheat problem last year (see below)

I had overheat problem last year but my local service center found nothing wrong. They tested it with two speakers connected at mild volume in a completely open space. I use 7 speakers and my receiver is in TV stand. Bummer. So I called Denon. All they told me was that 12” clearance is needed or to use a fan if the clearance is smaller. Bummer again. I had 5” clearance which I thought it should be fine but I had no choice. I’ve been using a fan since.

Any advice would be appreciated.

- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Denon 3313, Panny BD35 Bluray, HTPC (XBMC), Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x Micro Marty Subwoofer
- Samsung 63" Plasma, Xbox 360, WiiU, Wii, PS2, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0 + LFM-EX
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163

Last edited by m9610172; 07-21-2014 at 11:37 AM.
m9610172 is offline  
post #19130 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 12:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
As you note, if the issue is not easily repeatable, there is little chance of the repair center being able to do something. Regardless, still worth contacting the service center you would send it to to get their take, as they might be able to just leave it constantly running overnight with a recording of the audio when it goes out ... or they may already be aware of the issue and simply do whatever has been done in the past to resolve it.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19131 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 12:55 PM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
As you note, if the issue is not easily repeatable, there is little chance of the repair center being able to do something. Regardless, still worth contacting the service center you would send it to to get their take, as they might be able to just leave it constantly running overnight with a recording of the audio when it goes out ... or they may already be aware of the issue and simply do whatever has been done in the past to resolve it.
Thank you Jdsmoothie for your comments.
Seeing your signature, I may just try resetting microprocess a few more times. I just tried it once. I don't know what's the story behind resetting 4-5 times but I'll try it.

- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Denon 3313, Panny BD35 Bluray, HTPC (XBMC), Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x Micro Marty Subwoofer
- Samsung 63" Plasma, Xbox 360, WiiU, Wii, PS2, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0 + LFM-EX
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163

Last edited by m9610172; 07-21-2014 at 01:03 PM.
m9610172 is offline  
post #19132 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 01:00 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
^^
All I know is that it has been reported to work with some issues where once did not.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19133 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Hello,

I have Denon AVR2312 CI since last 1 year. I am experiencing problems when i am in middle of the movie. The sound drops off. However this problem is resolved for short time when i plug out hdmi cable from hdmi out of AVR and plug it back in, but the problem again starts and i hear click sound before the sound goes off. I shall be grateful if anybody could help me here and suggest what the problem is. Also i would like to add here that sound completely goes off from center channel speaker and i can only hear faint sound of movie from left and right speakers.

Thanks
Gurpreet Singh

Last edited by Gurpreet Singh; 07-21-2014 at 07:40 PM.
Gurpreet Singh is offline  
post #19134 of 19735 Old 07-21-2014, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurpreet Singh View Post
Hello,

I have Denon AVR2312 CI since last 1 year. I am experiencing problems when i am in middle of the movie. The sound drops off. However this problem is resolved for short time when i plug out hdmi cable from hdmi out of AVR and plug it back in, but the problem again starts and i hear click sound before the sound goes off. I shall be grateful if anybody could help me here and suggest what the problem is. Also i would like to add here that sound completely goes off from center channel speaker and i can only hear faint sound of movie from left and right speakers.

Thanks
Gurpreet Singh
Same thing happens on my 2312ci along with a few other members here. I don't know if anyone has gotten it fixed from Denon.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #19135 of 19735 Old 07-22-2014, 05:05 PM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
Same thing happens on my 2312ci along with a few other members here. I don't know if anyone has gotten it fixed from Denon.
I'm one of those who are experiencing the problem. It happened almost every day until I reset microprocessor. Now it happens Intermittently, like once every a few days. I thought it would be hardware related but it interesting that resetting tamed it down. Not completed fixed though. I'll try to reset it a few more times when I get a chance. It might fix the problem permanently if I'm lucky. I'm reluctant to take it to service center as it's hard to duplicate the problem. I have some warranty period left so I'll see how it goes for now.


By the way, do you have any overheat problem. I'm using a fan as Denon suggested but I don't really think I should. I have 5" clearance above. I never had to use a fan with several other brand receivers.

- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Denon 3313, Panny BD35 Bluray, HTPC (XBMC), Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x Micro Marty Subwoofer
- Samsung 63" Plasma, Xbox 360, WiiU, Wii, PS2, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0 + LFM-EX
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163
m9610172 is offline  
post #19136 of 19735 Old 07-22-2014, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Never had my receiver overheat but it did get hot. Now I use a 80mm fan blowing across the top.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #19137 of 19735 Old 07-23-2014, 02:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
Quote:
Originally Posted by m9610172 View Post
By the way, do you have any overheat problem. I'm using a fan as Denon suggested but I don't really think I should. I have 5" clearance above. I never had to use a fan with several other brand receivers.
With open access to the front and back, 5" clearance above the unit should be more than sufficient without having to use a fan.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
Never had my receiver overheat but it did get hot. Now I use a 80mm fan blowing across the top.
Ideally, you want the fan "exhausting" the air away from the unit, otherwise the fan can be blowing dust into it.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #19138 of 19735 Old 07-23-2014, 03:58 AM
c3k
Member
 
c3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m9610172 View Post
I hear click sound intermittently and then either center channel or all other channels (except for from two) cut off. All channels come back in a few minutes.

I tried resetting microprocessor, checked/reconnected all the cables. No luck. It works with no problem even for a few days. But sometimes it happens one or twice a day. When it loses channels, they usually come back within 10 minutes. I don’t need to do anything. All the channels just come back with the same click sound. Front panel still shows all channels when it loses the channels.

Question is, is it worth bringing it to service center? It’s still within warranty period. But it happens very randomly and short period of time. They might not find anything. I’m very reluctant to bring it to service center after I experienced overheat problem last year (see below)




Any advice would be appreciated.
My 3312ci has the EXACT issue.

Interesting.


I am loath to bring it to my nearest Denon repair center. It is a 2+ hour drive away. One way. Then, once I bring it there, I've got to replicate an intermittent problem. I foresee a lot of shoulder shrugging. Meanwhile, I get a lot of relay cutouts and sound dropouts.


The speakers are the same ones I used prior to purchasing the Denon 3312ci, when I had my Sony DTR ES 3 (I may have mangled the nomenclature) running. The Sony ran for about 10 years ( Bought it new the year it was released) without any issues whatsoever. I "upgraded" to the Denon due to HDMI input/output, not due to any shortcoming in the Sony.


Could the speakers have an intermittent internal fault causing the relays to cutout to protect from a short? Maybe. The speakers have just sat there; they don't get moved.


At this point, I am glad I've got a 3 year warranty on the 3312ci. I am not glad I have an issue.


I've done the soft reset countless times. I've done a hard reset about a dozen times. (The firmware was updated in May, the day after the latest release.)


I am frustrated, knowing that intermittent problems require tech support to focus on the unit until the fault recurs, and that type of time is simply not available. Unless Denon acknowledges that this issue is known and they have a repair, then I do not think I will get any kind of resolution.


Whereas I've been very happy with the 3312ci, that is tempered by the experience that the unit is unreliable. I never know if I'll have all the speakers working, or not.


My last effort with this amp will be to remove the banana plugs from my speaker wires and use the screw-down connectors.


It is disappointing that Denon has not produced a unit to last as long as the Sony it replaced.


Ken

Last edited by c3k; 07-23-2014 at 04:27 AM. Reason: More information
c3k is offline  
post #19139 of 19735 Old 07-23-2014, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Last year I put 2 140mm fans on top front of my 3312 blowing up. They have molex plugs so you can plug them in backwards to get 5v instead of 12v. They don't need to run at full speed. You can't hear them even when you are close.
Temps dropped from over 110F to the low 90s. Measured using an infrared thermometer on the top center near the front. Which is the hottest part.
They will be on my Denon x4100 when ever that is released.

Samsung 65" HU8550(TS01) w3500, Denon 3312, Cerwin Vega VE's x 7, DefTech Sub x3
TiVo Raomio OTA 3TB Lifetime, 3x TiVo Mini's, TiVo Stream, HD Homerun Ext, WDTV Live, Roku 3, FireTV
Winegard HD7697 Roof Antenna, RCA Preamp, ACTIONTEC Coax Network Adapter (ECB3500T01)
PC: AMD FX8350, 16GB, LG 16x BD-RW, 1000w PSU, EVGA GTX-980, GTX-750Ti, (2) 27" 2ndary Monitors
doctorwizz is offline  
post #19140 of 19735 Old 07-23-2014, 07:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,655
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked: 2499
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3k View Post
It is disappointing that Denon has not produced a unit to last as long as the Sony it replaced.


Ken
All mfr's are going to have a small % of defective units. If this were a widespread issue, there would be a lot more complaints ... which there are not. You could call the repair facility you would use and ask if they can get a refurbished unit to replace the existing unit.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off