The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 642 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19231 of 19258 Old 09-19-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Correct. Whatever is selected for Zone 2 will also be output to the analog output.
Does that mean I can hook up a buttkicker amp to the DVR output? The SW connection is EQed by Audyssey. I guess the DVR output is the only way to go? And I hope LFE is properly downmixed in it.
Skylinestar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19232 of 19258 Old 09-19-2014, 09:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
^^
Doing so would not get the results you want as the output would be a 2.0 signal and not from HDMI sources. Instead, after running Audyssey with a single sub, connect the Buttkicker cable to the 2nd sub pre-out. If you have dual subs, simply connect a RCA "Y" splitter cable to one of the sub pre-outs to add a 3rd connection for the Buttkicker cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19233 of 19258 Old 09-23-2014, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had a avs-2112ci for about a yr or so and rf3ii rc3ii klipsch energy 12 sub and pioneer rears. I went though the auto setup agian today did all 8 sets ended up with the sub 1/4 way up on gain. But my fronts were rf-10.5 lf -11 c-11 rs both -7.5 sub-10. I am in a apt front room 15x12 why is it setting everything -db so much. I followed this pages set up
Chris86 is offline  
post #19234 of 19258 Old 09-23-2014, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris86 View Post
I have had a avs-2112ci for about a yr or so and rf3ii rc3ii klipsch energy 12 sub and pioneer rears. I went though the auto setup agian today did all 8 sets ended up with the sub 1/4 way up on gain. But my fronts were rf-10.5 lf -11 c-11 rs both -7.5 sub-10. I am in a apt front room 15x12 why is it setting everything -db so much. I followed this pages set up
Because klipsch speakers are super efficient and need very little power to drive. Plus you are in a small room so even less power is needed.
batpig is online now  
post #19235 of 19258 Old 09-23-2014, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 42
How to play the music from my android phone going to my denon 2122ci avr? Is it just plug and play using the usb connection? I did tried it and changed it to usb/ipod settings but sound still on my phone. Not on my avr. Thanks.
caloyzki is offline  
post #19236 of 19258 Old 09-23-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So that is pretty normal for klipsch speakers in a small room go that low.
Chris86 is offline  
post #19237 of 19258 Old 09-24-2014, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Its normal for high sensitivity speakers and if you're in a small room. As long as it doesn't set the trims to -12, you're good.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #19238 of 19258 Old 09-24-2014, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Chris86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok and the on the sub it set it to -10 which to me was to low was not hardly getting any bass went to adjust the channel level and it showed +10 so I could only go up 2 dbs
Chris86 is offline  
post #19239 of 19258 Old 09-24-2014, 06:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
How to play the music from my android phone going to my denon 2122ci avr? Is it just plug and play using the usb connection? I did tried it and changed it to usb/ipod settings but sound still on my phone. Not on my avr. Thanks.
AFAIK, the USB connection will only work reliably with iDevices; however, there are numerous Android apps you can use to stream the audio to the AVR to include BubbleUPnP and DoubleTwixt and Skifta.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19240 of 19258 Old 09-24-2014, 06:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris86 View Post
Ok and the on the sub it set it to -10 which to me was to low was not hardly getting any bass went to adjust the channel level and it showed +10 so I could only go up 2 dbs
If after running Audyssey, the sub was set to -10db, you should be able to go into Manual Setup and raise the sub level +5db (to -5db or so) to suit your preference.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19241 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 07:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
@vitamineg

1. More info would be helpful. Are these in-wall speakers for Zone 2 only (ie. no main zone speakers)? If yes, then you would connect the Zone 2 pre-outs to this control panel. If no, and those are the only speakers you plan on using in the apartment, then you would connect the FL/FR pre-outs to the control panel. Does the control panel connect to an amp somewhere? If not, the speakers are powered and may have separate volume controls on the speakers themselves (if accessible). Otherwise, you have no choice but to simply raise the master volume of the 3312CI to suit your preference.

2. A sound bar is designed to be connected directly to the TV, so do so.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-25-2014 at 07:37 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19242 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 07:26 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2-Q's for a Guru.

1. I just moved from home to apartment. The apartment has an input control panel (see image) that powers build in wall speakers.

I used RCA from wall to "Pre Out". When I do this, it's just doesn't get loud.

Any ideas on how I should properly set this up? Ultimately, I would like the Denon's main volume to control volume coming thru the speakers.

2. Because of the small space, I'm gonna have to use a soundbar. The above question is related I s'pose....must I use the "Pre Out" to connect the soundbar? or, what is the best way to get it connected?

Thank you so much.

vitamineg is offline  
post #19243 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
@vitamineg

1. More info would be helpful. Are these in-wall speakers for Zone 2 only (ie. no main zone speakers)? If yes, then you would connect the Zone 2 pre-outs to this control panel. If no, and those are the only speakers you plan on using in the apartment, then you would connect the FL/FR pre-outs to the control panel. Does the control panel connect to an amp somewhere? If not, the speakers are powered and may have separate volume controls on the speakers themselves (if accessible). Otherwise, you have no choice but to simply raise the master volume of the 3312CI to suit your preference.

2. A sound bar is designed to be connected directly to the TV, so do so.
Thanks JD

1. The intent is to have the soundbar as zone 1 and the wall speakers for zone 2 (doesn't sound possible or correct based on your answer to #2 ). When I hooked up to the zone 2 pre-outs, volume is very very low and raising/lowering master volume of the 3312CI made no difference

The wall speakers do indeed have volume control located in the wall too. Does that mean there IS an am somewhere?
vitamineg is offline  
post #19244 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 07:51 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^

I see passive soundbars are an option... damn I wish I had more space!
vitamineg is offline  
post #19245 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 08:05 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^

JD, apologize. The Denon's master volume is indeed controlling the wall speakers volume after hooking up to zone-2 pre-out.

I think I figured it out with the idea of a passive soundbar.
vitamineg is offline  
post #19246 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 08:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitamineg View Post
Thanks JD

1. The intent is to have the soundbar as zone 1 and the wall speakers for zone 2 (doesn't sound possible or correct based on your answer to #2 ). When I hooked up to the zone 2 pre-outs, volume is very very low and raising/lowering master volume of the 3312CI made no difference

The wall speakers do indeed have volume control located in the wall too. Does that mean there IS an am somewhere?
It means there is either an amp or the in-wall speakers are powered. Either way, I would suggest raising the wall volume control to a level such that it provides the volume you desire from these speakers (in conjunction with the AVR's Zone 2 volume control as well).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19247 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 11:04 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
@vitamineg


2. A sound bar is designed to be connected directly to the TV, so do so.
If i do that @jdsmoothie , I think I'll lose the ability to have another audio source connected to Denon, heard on the soundbar. Do you follow?

Question, if I use the zone one pre-out's FR and FL outputs to the sounbars input, am I losing any 5.1 based on the least common denominator of 2 or 3.1? Or, wondering if the soundbar will somehow digitally up-convert to 5.1 (if obviously the soundbar is 5.1 able.)

Would using ARC help in any manner here? Damn JD, wish u were in Dallas! ha.

Last edited by vitamineg; 09-25-2014 at 11:05 AM. Reason: ARC
vitamineg is offline  
post #19248 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
A couple of things:

1) First, with the Zone 2 speakers, as JD pointed out the fact that they have RCA inputs and a volume control means there is a power amp in there somewhere (and the inclusion of an optical digital input means there's probably even a DAC too). So obviously you would use the Zone 2 pre-outs to the RCA inputs, then you have to contend with two volume controls that will interact. Depending on your specific needs, you should either set the receiver to a fixed Zone 2 volume output and use the in-wall volume control, or vice versa, setting the the in-wall volume control to a fixed setting and using the Denon to control volume.

2) Second, on soundbars. The important thing to understand (which you seem to have gathered to an extent) is that there are TWO types of soundbars. Active soundbars are meant to REPLACE your receiver. They have a direct digital audio input, usually optical digital to feed from the TV's audio out directly, and amplification built in. So the TV is the source switcher, it outputs a single audio feed to the soundbar, and off you go. The receiver is dead weight in this config. If you want to use your receiver, you should get a PASSIVE soundbar which is really just three (or five) speakers squeezed into one cabinet. They hook up normally with speaker wire since the receiver is providing the input switching, processing and amplification. As far as the receiver is concerned you have "normal" speakers, it doesn't know they are all stuffed into one tubular box.

Trying to shoehorn an active soundbar into a setup with a receiver is a bad idea. Get a passive soundbar. What's your budget?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #19249 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 11:37 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crappo. Budget is under 1k. Not too many brick n mortar shops carry the passive soundbars.

If u have a suggestion batpig, let me know. And thanks.
vitamineg is offline  
post #19250 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
Is that $1k total for soundbar and subwoofer? And I assume that's it right, no other components (e.g. separate surround speakers, the receiver itself) included in that budget?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #19251 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd say 1k plus a sub if necessary. No other components needed.
vitamineg is offline  
post #19252 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
So if you're willing to spend $1k just on the soundbar, the Atlantic Technology FS-4000 is probably the beefiest and baddest, with 5.25" woofers so it has substantial bass output on its own. It's "only" a 3ch LCR soundbar so it doesn't try to fake the surround speakers.

The Definitive Technology SSA-50 is also highly reviewed, and is a 5ch soundbar with some DSP to try and make the side-firing surrounds more enveloping.

Def Tech also has a smaller SSA-42 if the SSA-50 and AT are too beeft, and an ultra slim "XTR" series soundbar if you need really low profile.

The PSB Imagine W3 soundbar is supposed to be amazing but it's about $1,200 retail, so you may be able to find it for $1k.

Based on your comments above, I will assume you want a compact but "musical" subwoofer that will blend well with a soundbar without hogging much space. The SVS SB-1000 for $500 is a great option.

If you mean $1k total for sub + soundbar, I would get the SB-1000 and pair it with this I found on Dallas craigslist: http://dallas.craigslist.org/mdf/ele/4621472320.html

That would be compact and stylish and product great sound given the constraints.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #19253 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 12:34 PM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazing... thanx for all that.

Just walked out of bestbuy. They have the Soundbar SB46 for 1700 which INCLUDES a sub. (In stock.)

Decisions.
vitamineg is offline  
post #19254 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 12:59 PM
Member
 
migs_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I add Bluetooth to my Denon 2112 via a USB Dongle?

The Denon 2112 has Airplay but not bluetooth. There is a USB/iPod port on the front. Can I use a Bluetooth USB dongle in that front USB port to add bluetooth connectivity to the 2112? Tried it, and it doesn't seem to show any options on the menu for accessing (in contrast to when I plug in an iPod and the playlists are quickly visible on the GUI). If this doesn't work, what is a good, cheap way to add bluetooth to this unit? I want to be able to stream music from my Android phone to my 2112.
migs_inc is offline  
post #19255 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 01:02 PM
Member
 
migs_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
migs_inc is offline  
post #19256 of 19258 Old 09-25-2014, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,456
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 1312
The USB port doesn't accept dongles like that BT one. You would need an external BT receiver with a standard audio output (e.g. RCA analog) that would plug into the receiver like any other external device.

That said, there are apps available for your Android phone that will piggyback on the existing DLNA and/or Airplay options in the receiver to stream wirlessly. I have iDevices so don't have specific recommendations but lots of people are doing it.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #19257 of 19258 Old 09-27-2014, 12:00 AM
Member
 
vitamineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Bat and JD for keeping this thread so alive. It has a plethora of good info.

Question:

Is it possible in any way to have zone 3 (or zone 2) wirelessly connect to an external speaker using Bluetooth or home network?

using the 3312CI
vitamineg is offline  
post #19258 of 19258 Old 09-28-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
sdavis81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hope this is not upthread but my question gets so many hits it is possilble, I have searched for a while and reviewed FAQ's at top.

I have a Denon 1912, it has been set up for a while. Then a few days ago I could not get the cable signal via HDMI to the TV. I thought it might be a handshake issue, or a cable issue. My cords are a total mess so I took the opportunity to get a bunch of shorter ones, affix the power strips to the wall of cabinet, etc.

My "Cable/Sat" HDMI I cannot get to work. I went through all the unplugging of power and HDMI cables (See FAQ's for handshake issues). I can get the cable box to play through the "Aux" HDMI port. THis is fine but I will have to reprogram my universal remote now for all it's functions.

So this port doesn't work with other devices. Those devices do work on other ports. So I guess the port is bad. Would resetting the microprocessor possible address this? I would rather not lose all those setting either, but if this makes my "Cable/Sat" HDMI work again I guess I will, rather than reprogram the remote.

Thanks
sdavis81 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off