The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 654 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19591 of 19620 Old 04-29-2015, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
^^^
What's Panurgy, then?
SanchoPanza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19592 of 19620 Old 04-30-2015, 02:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Depends on which one can get the job done the quickest, although United Radio is the "factory repair center."
And how can one find out which will be the quickest?

Any feedback on which one is the best in terms of quality of service? I's take that one over speed ....
alokeprasad is offline  
post #19593 of 19620 Old 04-30-2015, 02:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post
And how can one find out which will be the quickest?

Any feedback on which one is the best in terms of quality of service? I's take that one over speed ....
Pick up the phone and call each one to find out what their current backload is and expected turnaround. Can't say which is better, but likely best results at United Radio.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-30-2015 at 02:54 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19594 of 19620 Old 04-30-2015, 02:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
^^^
What's Panurgy, then?
PanurgyOEM is the Denon factory repair center but for some reason the CSR is directing him to the Marantz factory repair center United Radio.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19595 of 19620 Old 04-30-2015, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are these all generally equally capable to diagnose and repair?
alokeprasad is offline  
post #19596 of 19620 Old 04-30-2015, 04:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Sorry, no personal experience with any of them, however, if you've got to ship the unit, might as well ship to a factory repair center where turn around is generally in days rather than weeks/months at a smaller repair center.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19597 of 19620 Old 05-02-2015, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey, all! I have a 2112ci that started prompting me for a firmware update for a few weeks, now, I think.

My general practice is to ignore them unless something is broken that it may fix, but the prompt is starting to annoy my wife. Has anyone installed the most recent firmware update, and had any issues, or noted any changes as a result?
Kalani is offline  
post #19598 of 19620 Old 05-02-2015, 05:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
You can disable the Notification Update (p. 94 Owner's manual).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19599 of 19620 Old 05-02-2015, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You can disable the Notification Update (p. 94 Owner's manual).
Thanks, and yes, I know I can disable it, but first I'm wondering if there's anything I actually want in the update.
Kalani is offline  
post #19600 of 19620 Old 05-03-2015, 03:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post
Thanks, and yes, I know I can disable it, but first I'm wondering if there's anything I actually want in the update.
I track the firmware change logs in post ##6 of this thread.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19601 of 19620 Old 05-03-2015, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I track the firmware change logs in post ##6 of this thread.
Gack. Thanks! For some reason I had it in my head that they weren't tracked anymore!
Kalani is offline  
post #19602 of 19620 Old 05-03-2015, 02:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
I would be very surprised if these models will get anymore updates.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19603 of 19620 Old 05-03-2015, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Anyone who uses Rhapsody having problems?

Can't get it to work through AVR, except through iPhone 5/AirPlay. Sez NO Connection, but Internet Radio & Pandora work, too.

Also won't work through my Blu Ray or SmarTV Apps...
SanchoPanza is offline  
post #19604 of 19620 Old 05-07-2015, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2112 "are you there?"

I recently received a factory refurb 2112 CI from Denon because parts were not available to repair my 2112. Yesterday after being on, playing Pandora for approximately 7 hours the unit locked up - no audio, could not do anything and the display on the unit said "Are you there?"

I turned it off, waited about 10 minutes then turned it on and it worked.

Is there a time out on the unit that caused this? And if there is can it be disabled?

Thanks, Steve
Boca Steve is offline  
post #19605 of 19620 Old 05-07-2015, 04:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Yes, there is a time out set by Pandora if you don't interact with it (eg. "I like this", "I don't like this") and no, there is no way to disable it.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19606 of 19620 Old 05-07-2015, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Lightbulb

JD,

Thank you for the quick reply. That makes sense -

Steve
Boca Steve is offline  
post #19607 of 19620 Old 05-07-2015, 05:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
As I use Pandora about 8 hours/day, I decided to upgrade to a paid Pandora One account to help support Pandora. I still get the "Are you there" pauses about once or twice a day.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19608 of 19620 Old 05-08-2015, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Jedi54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2112ci suddenly not recognizing my factory remote.
When I push a button, I see the M zone light up on the remote but the receiver does nothing.

Tried changing batteries, doing the remote reset procedure found in the owners manual, and Denon support had me pull out the batteries, push all the buttons and reinsert batteries. None of these have resolved the issue.

Should I soft reset?
Support recommended doing a full reset but I didn't want to do that yet unless I had to.


suggestions?
oh, and anyone know what these remotes typically go for in case I need to replace?
Jedi54 is offline  
post #19609 of 19620 Old 05-08-2015, 02:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
A soft reset is always the first step to try as it results in no setting changes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19610 of 19620 Old 05-15-2015, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Denon 2112ci. Do you guys know whats the problen?I hooked it up to my TV, it worked for 3 hours and I lost picture. I turned everything off and on and it did not work. This morning It worked for 1 hour and quit working. When I bypass the receiver, i have no problem.
tapsilog is online now  
post #19611 of 19620 Old 05-15-2015, 07:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Did anything change in your configuration recently? Try disconnecting and reconnecting all cable connections. Also try a soft reset by unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19612 of 19620 Old 05-15-2015, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Did anything change in your configuration recently? Try disconnecting and reconnecting all cable connections. Also try a soft reset by unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.
My friend gave me this avr. He told me he just microrestprocesor before giving it to me. Then when i tried. Thats whats happening.
tapsilog is online now  
post #19613 of 19620 Old 05-15-2015, 08:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
Does this issue occur with every source or just the cable/sat box? If just the cable/sat box, it's likely not compatible with the AVR (which is common as cable/sat boxes are generally not HDCP certified). To mitigate HDMI handshake issues, try powering on the TV first, wait 5 seconds, AVR, wait 5 seconds, and then the source device. If still no joy, connect the cable/sat box HDMI directly to the TV with an optical cable from the box to the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19614 of 19620 Old 05-18-2015, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ncfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just posted something in the TV thread, but it may be more useful to post here.

My mom just picked up a new Sony TV, and I am trying to assess what the best way is to set things up for the SmartTV features. I hadn't even thought about the fact that if she wanted to use the TV's integrated functions, that the audio had to get back to the receiver.

So, will the 2112ci support return audio via the HDMI already connected to the TV? If so, where is the setting for this? If this is not supported, is there a preferred way to do this? Any other considerations? Thank you in advance.
ncfoster is offline  
post #19615 of 19620 Old 05-18-2015, 11:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncfoster View Post
I just posted something in the TV thread, but it may be more useful to post here.

My mom just picked up a new Sony TV, and I am trying to assess what the best way is to set things up for the SmartTV features. I hadn't even thought about the fact that if she wanted to use the TV's integrated functions, that the audio had to get back to the receiver.

So, will the 2112ci support return audio via the HDMI already connected to the TV? If so, where is the setting for this? If this is not supported, is there a preferred way to do this? Any other considerations? Thank you in advance.
Most AVRs released since 2010 (to include the 2011 Denon 2112CI) feature HDMI(ARC), however, this is not to say it will necessarily work with every TV.

TV - Set HDMI-CEC (BraviaSync) to ON and TV audio to "external speakers"

AVR - Set HDMI Control to ON

Once set, power off both devices, power on the TV, pause a few seconds, then the AVR. If the AVR switches to the "TV" source after a few seconds, then the feature is working, otherwise, the work around is to connect an optical cable from the TV ---> AVR and manually select the "TV" source using the AVR remote when you want to listen to the TV's smart app audio.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19616 of 19620 Old 05-19-2015, 12:07 AM
Senior Member
 
ncfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Most AVRs released since 2010 (to include the 2011 Denon 2112CI) feature HDMI(ARC), however, this is not to say it will necessarily work with every TV.

TV - Set HDMI-CEC (BraviaSync) to ON and TV audio to "external speakers"

AVR - Set HDMI Control to ON

Once set, power off both devices, power on the TV, pause a few seconds, then the AVR. If the AVR switches to the "TV" source after a few seconds, then the feature is working, otherwise, the work around is to connect an optical cable from the TV ---> AVR and manually select the "TV" source using the AVR remote when you want to listen to the TV's smart app audio.
Thank you. I wondered if it could be related to that feature, but I did not specifically know. I will try this and report back.
ncfoster is offline  
post #19617 of 19620 Unread Today, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
backyardvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
best way to get 4 speakers on zone 2

setup

3312, 5 speakers in main zone
optical cable running from appletv to unit
have 4 yamaha AW350 (6ohm) speakers on patio. Currently 2 are powered on zone 2

What is the best way to get 4 speakers on zone 2?

Can I run 2 speakers on the amp assign *and* run a 2 ch power amp on the preouts?
Can I run the 6ohm speakers in parallel?
Do I need to get a 4 ch amp (or a 2ch that can run 3ohm) and run all 4 speakers on the pre outs?

Im bummed because when I originally bought the denon I couldnt get zone 2 to work. I then gave away my power amp that I could have put on the pre outs. Im hoping I can just run the speakers in parallel, but not sure the denon can handle it.
backyardvideo is online now  
post #19618 of 19620 Unread Today, 04:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
^^
If you're going to use an external amp, best to just connect an impedance matching speaker selector to the amp and connect the 4 speakers to the speaker selector.

http://www.amazon.com/SS4-Speaker-Se.../dp/B002I9XKTE

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #19619 of 19620 Unread Today, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
backyardvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
If you're going to use an external amp, best to just connect an impedance matching speaker selector to the amp and connect the 4 speakers to the speaker selector.

http://www.amazon.com/SS4-Speaker-Se.../dp/B002I9XKTE
ok that looks like I dont need the external amp at all. I can just run the amp assign speaker outs to the speaker selector and run 4 speakers right?
backyardvideo is online now  
post #19620 of 19620 Unread Today, 06:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,906
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3974 Post(s)
Liked: 2248
Quote:
Originally Posted by backyardvideo View Post
ok that looks like I dont need the external amp at all. I can just run the amp assign speaker outs to the speaker selector and run 4 speakers right?
Yes, that would work as well, although not recommended for more than 4 speakers.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off