The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 660 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2015, 02:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Post 3 of this thread has a lot of very helpful information to include item 4.e on HDMI(ARC).
Thank you. Very helpful, as always

Good to know that my 2312ci still has legs.
Despite the scary (and odd) dropouts of sound from center channel. Fixed by pressing down on the top rear center of the receiver!!
alokeprasad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2015, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 171
tried the xbox upstairs and the buzzing sound isn't as bad. I just hooked it back up downstairs and dealt with it. At least I can play xbox on the big TV with the good speakers.

Main room (3D bluray, PS4, WiiU) LG 70LB7100: Denon x4000, Klipsch RC-62II, RF-62II x2, RS-41II x2, SVS PC-12NSD + Klipsch RW12d
Downstairs (PS3, Xbox 360) Panny L55ET5: Demon 1712, Polk CS10, R300 x2, t15 x2, PSW10
Teremei is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Jedi54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just need confirmation on something.
thinking of resetting my 2112ci, been acting up lately. According to manual, resetting the microprocessor involves:


1 Turn off the power using ON/STANDBY.
2 Press ON/STANDBY while simultaneously pressing PRESET CHANNEL 2 and
PRESET CHANNEL 3.
3 Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons




I assume that'll get everything back to default settings. (similar to when we turned it on the first time)








Jedi54 is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 12:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi54 View Post
Just need confirmation on something.
thinking of resetting my 2112ci, been acting up lately. According to manual, resetting the microprocessor involves:


1 Turn off the power using ON/STANDBY.
2 Press ON/STANDBY while simultaneously pressing PRESET CHANNEL 2 and
PRESET CHANNEL 3.
3 Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons




I assume that'll get everything back to default settings. (similar to when we turned it on the first time)



Most all back to default, yes, although AFAIK, any preset Tuner stations will remain. Reset info also provided in post #5 of this thread. Note that prior to resetting to factory default, you should first try simply unplugging the power cord for about 10 minutes which may resolve your issue with no loss of settings.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-21-2015, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Jedi54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jds, as always: Thank You.
I'm not even sure I've ever listened to radio on my receiver so there definitely aren't any preset stations stored.


Looking at your signature line: you recommend doing the reset procedure more than once (consecutively I assume) just to be sure it fully resets the microprocessor?
I assume it's similar to when formatting a harddrive, you always do it more than once jus to be certain.
Jedi54 is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 12:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi54 View Post
jds, as always: Thank You.
I'm not even sure I've ever listened to radio on my receiver so there definitely aren't any preset stations stored.


Looking at your signature line: you recommend doing the reset procedure more than once (consecutively I assume) just to be sure it fully resets the microprocessor?
I assume it's similar to when formatting a harddrive, you always do it more than once jus to be certain.
Generally once will do it, but some have found doing it multiple times resolves an issue when once did not.
Jedi54 likes this.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-22-2015, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1080i or 1080p?

I got a new TV (Vizio E65-C3) for use w 2312ci.

The TV can do 1080p and the receiver can output 1080p.
However, regardless of what I display (Dish Hopper, PS3 BD disk..), showing "Info" on the TV screen (from the Vizio remote) always shows 1080i.

Is this normal? Is there a setting on the receiver or the TV that would "upscale" the output to 1080p?

Aloke
PS: The ARC seems to be working fine between the two.
alokeprasad is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Never mind.

The TV always displays 1080p and the information shown is that of the incoming signal. I'll leave the settings on the 2312ci alone, as it probably doesn't matter wheter the upscaling is being done by the receiver or the TV.
alokeprasad is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 06:01 AM
Member
 
mlk2106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the Samsung HU9000 and I was wondering if I can use my 3312 to handle the audio processing/switching while allowing the Samsung/OneConnect handle the video processing for the up-conversion and any 4K content viewing that is currently available. I realize up-converting is not really 4K but if I have the tech why not try and use it. Is there a setting on the 3312 that will allow for something like that? i/p scaler off? I'm not really sure if it is possible but I thought I'd ask. If I can keep the switching to the receiver I wont have to do too much re-programming of my URC remote. Thanks.
mlk2106 is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi guys, just throwing this out there to see if anyone has some advice, I have the 2112ci and recently started experiencing "clicking" from my AV123 sub when watching Direct TV, and only when watching Direct TV, it does not happen if I watch another source, like my Roku. Both are connected via HDMI.

it happens even on very low volumes every time there is 'bass' when watching Direct TV.

I have looked through the settings on both the A/V receiver and the satellite box and couldn't find anything that would cause it. I did recently let the 2112ci update to the latest firmware (last week I believe) but hadn't really watched enough Direct TV since then to know if that is when it started.

Anyone else have this happen to them? Any advice?
Merlin803 is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlk2106 View Post
Just got the Samsung HU9000 and I was wondering if I can use my 3312 to handle the audio processing/switching while allowing the Samsung/OneConnect handle the video processing for the up-conversion and any 4K content viewing that is currently available. I realize up-converting is not really 4K but if I have the tech why not try and use it. Is there a setting on the 3312 that will allow for something like that? i/p scaler off? I'm not really sure if it is possible but I thought I'd ask. If I can keep the switching to the receiver I wont have to do too much re-programming of my URC remote. Thanks.
Although a 4K TV will upscale any non-4k video up to 4k, the 3312 will not pass a 4k/HDCP 2.2 signal from 4k/HDCP 2.2 Blu Ray players to be released later this fall. If only passing a 1080p signal and you don't want the 3312 to do the upscaling, then yes, set the i/p Scaler setting to OFF.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin803 View Post
Hi guys, just throwing this out there to see if anyone has some advice, I have the 2112ci and recently started experiencing "clicking" from my AV123 sub when watching Direct TV, and only when watching Direct TV, it does not happen if I watch another source, like my Roku. Both are connected via HDMI.

it happens even on very low volumes every time there is 'bass' when watching Direct TV.

I have looked through the settings on both the A/V receiver and the satellite box and couldn't find anything that would cause it. I did recently let the 2112ci update to the latest firmware (last week I believe) but hadn't really watched enough Direct TV since then to know if that is when it started.

Anyone else have this happen to them? Any advice?
Could be a defective sub or defective DTV box. Only watching DTV listening to what type of audio? PCM 2.0, DD 2.0, or DD 5.1? Try setting Dolby Digital to OFF on the DTV box and see if the issue still presents.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Could be a defective sub or defective DTV box. Only watching DTV listening to what type of audio? PCM 2.0, DD 2.0, or DD 5.1? Try setting Dolby Digital to OFF on the DTV box and see if the issue still presents.
Both The DTV box and Roku is DD 5.1. When I turned off the DD on the DTV there was no issue (I believe it was just a stereo signal).

I really thought it was a defective sub until I tried playing movies from the Roku box and the issue didn't occur.
Merlin803 is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 08:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin803 View Post
Both The DTV box and Roku is DD 5.1. When I turned off the DD on the DTV there was no issue (I believe it was just a stereo signal).

I really thought it was a defective sub until I tried playing movies from the Roku box and the issue didn't occur.
If it occurs with every channel that is broadcasting a DD 5.1 signal, then more likely an issue with the DTV box otherwise, if only on certain channels, the could be the way they are broadcasting the DD 5.1 signal. Either way, not likely an AVR related issue.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-25-2015, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If it occurs with every channel that is broadcasting a DD 5.1 signal, then more likely an issue with the DTV box otherwise, if only on certain channels, the could be the way they are broadcasting the DD 5.1 signal. Either way, not likely an AVR related issue.
Yes, i'll have to do some more testing when I get home tonight. The sound that the sub is producing when this happens is exactly like if you bottom out your sub with bass that is too low for your sub to play. Except it happens with every bass note when watching DTV.
Merlin803 is offline  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:23 PM
Member
 
-Jim-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If it occurs with every channel that is broadcasting a DD 5.1 signal, then more likely an issue with the DTV box otherwise, if only on certain channels, the could be the way they are broadcasting the DD 5.1 signal. Either way, not likely an AVR related issue.

It could be because the loss of a Sub signal in the program material turns off the Amplifier in the SUB. (If the sub is set to Auto on.) Try turning the Sub to On and see if it still occurs.

Regards,


Jim
-Jim- is offline  
Old Yesterday, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Jim- View Post
It could be because the loss of a Sub signal in the program material turns off the Amplifier in the SUB. (If the sub is set to Auto on.) Try turning the Sub to On and see if it still occurs.
It is just set to always on.

I did change the settings in the DTV receiver to PCM instead of DD late last night and so far it seems to have resolved the issue.
Merlin803 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM
Member
 
poochpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My AVR-1912 doesn't display album art when playing FLAC files from a usb stick. Page 42 of the Owner's Manual states: "This unit can show the artwork that was embedded by using MP3 ID3-Tag," for all compatible file formats (which includes FLAC), played from a usb memory device. The FLAC files play with no problem and the metadata displays on an attached tv, but without the cover art, despite using MP3 ID3-Tag to embed the cover art in the files, per the manual. Anyone know of a fix? Thanks.
Mike
poochpa is online now  
Old Yesterday, 01:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,426
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5149 Post(s)
Liked: 2628
Quote:
Originally Posted by poochpa View Post
My AVR-1912 doesn't display album art when playing FLAC files from a usb stick. Page 42 of the Owner's Manual states: "This unit can show the artwork that was embedded by using MP3 ID3-Tag," for all compatible file formats (which includes FLAC), played from a usb memory device. The FLAC files play with no problem and the metadata displays on an attached tv, but without the cover art, despite using MP3 ID3-Tag to embed the cover art in the files, per the manual. Anyone know of a fix? Thanks.
Mike
The album art cannot be any larger than 500x500 pixels.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Graphic equalizer on a 2312ci: Is it possible?

Graphic equalizer on a 2312ci: Is it possible?
Or maybe just simple contols for Bass, Midrange; Treble?

How do I quickly make such adjustments?
And undo these adjustments as well (and go back to Audyssey settings)?

Some audio sources/TV channels just need such tweaking to sound good.
alokeprasad is offline  
Old Yesterday, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK.. Found this on Pg 98,99 of the manual. The adjustments are buried 4 deep in the menu system.

Any quicker/easier way to get to the graphic equalizer and to enable/disable the manual adjustments?

Thanks.
Aloke
alokeprasad is offline  
Old Today, 08:58 AM
Member
 
poochpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by poochpa View Post
My AVR-1912 doesn't display album art when playing FLAC files from a usb stick. Page 42 of the Owner's Manual states: "This unit can show the artwork that was embedded by using MP3 ID3-Tag," for all compatible file formats (which includes FLAC), played from a usb memory device. The FLAC files play with no problem and the metadata displays on an attached tv, but without the cover art, despite using MP3 ID3-Tag to embed the cover art in the files, per the manual. Anyone know of a fix? Thanks.
Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The album art cannot be any larger than 500x500 pixels.
I checked and all album art is 500x500 pixels or less.
poochpa is online now  
 

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off