The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 671 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 51Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20101 of 20128 Old 11-24-2016, 07:18 PM
Member
 
djqwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 2112ci and ever since iOS 10, I cannot get airplay to work. It will connect, start to play and then one or two seconds later there connection drops. I'm connected via wire to an apple airport extreme. Any ideas? I called support who didn't know why and was supposed to get back to me, but hasn't yet.
djqwik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20102 of 20128 Old 11-27-2016, 08:53 AM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I just purchased the new Epson 6040 projector; which accepts a 4K signal. With that said, am I safe to assume that for any 4K signal i'll have to bypass the receiver? I'm trying not to imagine a spider web of hdmi cables going into a switch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20103 of 20128 Old 11-27-2016, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaadams View Post
Netflix is on the Chromecast. But honestly if on the cheap a Roku is a good bet since you'll get way more 4k sources.

Denon AVR-S720W for like $400

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
Thanks. Yesterday I went to my local home theater guru who installed my current system to discuss options. His first concern was that the HDMI cable they installed won't be able to handle the 4K bandwidth since it is a reasonably long run of about 30' (in spite of the fact that manufacturer says the bandwidth supports 4K, they have had some installations that do not work). He said that the Samsung Ultra HD blu-ray player just came down to $200 and I could buy this and test it. I did and it does seem to work, see screenshot showing 3840 x 2160 with 4:2:2 color depth. This was from a Deadpool 4K disk. I then plugged it into my Denon AVR-2112CI and of course it dropped down to 1080p. We talked about what AVR to get. He recommended a Marantz NR-1607 for $700. I guess Marantz and Denon are really the same company. As far as a comparison to the Denon AVR-S720W, he did not know and recommended I chat on this forum for advice and make a decision. I like the sound of my Denon AVR-211CI but have no idea how the sound quality compares to either the Denon or Marantz with Atmos and 4K capabilities. Anybody have any recommendations about the actual sound quality of these? My theater is a very small room with B&W M-1 Mini Theater setup and the older Denon drove them just fine.

P.S. I also just ordered a Roku 4K so the upgrade process is underway.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3589.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	214.7 KB
ID:	1792865   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3590.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	185.0 KB
ID:	1792873  

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20104 of 20128 Old 11-27-2016, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
So I just purchased the new Epson 6040 projector; which accepts a 4K signal. With that said, am I safe to assume that for any 4K signal i'll have to bypass the receiver? I'm trying not to imagine a spider web of hdmi cables going into a switch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes, you have to bypass a XX12 AVR.
doctorwizz is online now  
post #20105 of 20128 Old 11-27-2016, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halichopter View Post
Thanks. Yesterday I went to my local home theater guru who installed my current system to discuss options. His first concern was that the HDMI cable they installed won't be able to handle the 4K bandwidth since it is a reasonably long run of about 30' (in spite of the fact that manufacturer says the bandwidth supports 4K, they have had some installations that do not work). He said that the Samsung Ultra HD blu-ray player just came down to $200 and I could buy this and test it. I did and it does seem to work, see screenshot showing 3840 x 2160 with 4:2:2 color depth. This was from a Deadpool 4K disk. I then plugged it into my Denon AVR-2112CI and of course it dropped down to 1080p. We talked about what AVR to get. He recommended a Marantz NR-1607 for $700. I guess Marantz and Denon are really the same company. As far as a comparison to the Denon AVR-S720W, he did not know and recommended I chat on this forum for advice and make a decision. I like the sound of my Denon AVR-211CI but have no idea how the sound quality compares to either the Denon or Marantz with Atmos and 4K capabilities. Anybody have any recommendations about the actual sound quality of these? My theater is a very small room with B&W M-1 Mini Theater setup and the older Denon drove them just fine.

P.S. I also just ordered a Roku 4K so the upgrade process is underway.
I'd recommend getting a Denon x4200 on clearance for about 799. Frys has it for 799. That or get the x4300 for 1049. Don't know your budget. But I loved the sound of my 3312 with 7.2. Then I swapped it for x4200 and couldn't believe how much better it sounded.

For anyone that wants good working 4K cables, 20ft seems to be the max length. It can be very hard to find a cable over 20ft that works. Then it is pretty much a YMMV cable. But I have a working soloution for up to 40ft.

For 4K/60, 444, Atmos/DTS:X, either of these work up to 20ft.
https://www.amazon.com/KabelDirekt-C.../dp/B00DI8A4HU
or
http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427

So if you need longer, put one of these in between:
http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15650

I have that extender. I have a 20ft KD pro HDMI from PC to extender, 15ft KD pro from extender to AVR. And a 3ft KD pro from AVR to TV's box. It works 100%. It is a new item that was just released.
That extender have been reported working in between 2 20ft KD pros with a PC at 4K/60 444.
doctorwizz is online now  
post #20106 of 20128 Old 11-27-2016, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
I'd recommend getting a Denon x4200 on clearance for about 799. Frys has it for 799. That or get the x4300 for 1049. Don't know your budget. But I loved the sound of my 3312 with 7.2. Then I swapped it for x4200 and couldn't believe how much better it sounded.

For anyone that wants good working 4K cables, 20ft seems to be the max length. It can be very hard to find a cable over 20ft that works.
Dr: My projector is an Epson 5040UB which has a bandwidth limitation of 10Gbps and cannot support 4K/60, 444 but only 4K/25, 422 with 12 bit color depth. Perhaps that is why my 30ft cable is able to carry this. As far as the Denon x4200, that is a really good price, I don't know what my dealer would sell if for but probably closer to the Denon manufacture list price of $1499 which is almost twice as high. My budget is flexible but like anyone, I don't want to pay for what I don't need. I find it very hard to tell the real differences in sound between the models because the specs just don't seem to address that, instead they give the power output per channel. The low cost x1300 has 80W per channel and the x4200 has 125W per channel. My home theater room is only 11' x 11' and has small B&W M-1 Mini Theater speakers. It just doesn't seem like my set up needs much power. My current Denon has 90W at 0.08%, pretty close to the x1300. Anyway, I'd definitely spring for the x4200 based on your recommendation at $799 but not at $1,499. I'd like to go through my local HT dealer both to support local dealers but more practically, my Universal RC Home Theater M-780 is not easy to reprogram for new components. I have the professional programming software and I've been successful with some reprogramming but with my new Samsung UHD player, when I put in the new IR codes, my remote control gets 'stuck' in a 'Please Wait' mode as soon as I press the Blu-Ray button. In other words, I need their help. So I will try and negotiate some fair price (hopefully) with reprogramming thrown in.

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20107 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 09:12 AM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Yes, you have to bypass a XX12 AVR.


Any reason I can't run my XBox/PS4 through the Denon and just the Roku Ultra directly to PJ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20108 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
Any reason I can't run my XBox/PS4 through the Denon and just the Roku Ultra directly to PJ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Should be fine. Those are 1080P devices right? Not the PS4 pro or XB1S?
doctorwizz is online now  
post #20109 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 09:16 AM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
Should be fine. Those are 1080P devices right? Not the PS4 pro or XB1S?


Yeah just 1080p. Was hoping so. New AVR don't have a bunch of optical inputs anymore so I was trying to avoid a toslink switch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20110 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
Yeah just 1080p. Was hoping so. New AVR don't have a bunch of optical inputs anymore so I was trying to avoid a toslink switch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I think you have to turn off deep color in the PS4. I have seen JDSmoothie mention it a lot.
doctorwizz is online now  
post #20111 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,646
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11132 Post(s)
Liked: 5142
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorwizz View Post
I think you have to turn off deep color in the PS4. I have seen JDSmoothie mention it a lot.
Yup. Not currently used and often plays havoc with the AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20112 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaadams View Post
Netflix is on the Chromecast. But honestly if on the cheap a Roku is a good bet since you'll get way more 4k sources.

Denon AVR-S720W for like $400

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
Would you recommend the Roku 4K or the Ultra for my Epson 5040UB which can do 10Gbps input which limits the frames per second with BT.2020. I have heard the Roku 4K cannot do HDR.

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20113 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 05:49 PM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halichopter View Post
Would you recommend the Roku 4K or the Ultra for my Epson 5040UB which can do 10Gbps input which limits the frames per second with BT.2020. I have heard the Roku 4K cannot do HDR.


If you visit the Official Epson 6040 thread the very first section goes over all the features and known issues. I only bought the Roku Ultra because I knew for a fact that the 6040 can support it. Honestly I'm not getting my panties in a wad over the whole HDR limitation because I'm pushing the content to a 120" screen so for me, it's all about the resolution.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20114 of 20128 Old 11-28-2016, 06:15 PM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
If you visit the Official Epson 6040 thread the very first section goes over all the features and known issues. I only bought the Roku Ultra because I knew for a fact that the 6040 can support it. Honestly I'm not getting my panties in a wad over the whole HDR limitation because I'm pushing the content to a 120" screen so for me, it's all about the resolution.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
You are right. I read the first section before I considered a Roku so did not notice this. Thanks for the pointer. As far as resolution vs HDR, most reviews I've read and my local home theater guy says HDR provides the bigger bang for the buck. I have a 100" screen and it is only 10' away so resolution is VERY important to me as well. But why not get both?

Looks like I need to send my Roku 4 back and buy an Ultra.

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20115 of 20128 Old 11-29-2016, 04:34 PM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halichopter View Post
You are right. I read the first section before I considered a Roku so did not notice this. Thanks for the pointer. As far as resolution vs HDR, most reviews I've read and my local home theater guy says HDR provides the bigger bang for the buck. I have a 100" screen and it is only 10' away so resolution is VERY important to me as well. But why not get both?



Looks like I need to send my Roku 4 back and buy an Ultra.


I get my 6040 tomorrow but I already spun up the Roku Ultra. Very peppy. And the menu offers up special 4K/UHD apps. I hear the Smithsonian app is pretty sweet.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20116 of 20128 Old 11-30-2016, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
kenm5063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Radio Paradise File Format Error

RP was working fine yesterday. Today I'm getting a "file format error" message from my receiver. All other internet stations are working fine as before. I emailed RP to ask if they changed their formatting but haven't received a reply yet. What I have done so far is reboot the wireless router (Linksys E2500), and reboot the receiver (AVR 1912). I have the latest firmware for the router and receiver. I haven't changed any of the settings on the router or receiver. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
kenm5063 is offline  
post #20117 of 20128 Old 11-30-2016, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
I get my 6040 tomorrow but I already spun up the Roku Ultra. Very peppy. And the menu offers up special 4K/UHD apps. I hear the Smithsonian app is pretty sweet.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
You will be very happy with your 6040, I predict. :-)
I ordered a Roku Ultra yesterday. I also decided to go a little higher end and ordered a Marantz SR7010.

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20118 of 20128 Old 11-30-2016, 11:24 PM
Newbie
 
kenm5063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenm5063 View Post
RP was working fine yesterday. Today I'm getting a "file format error" message from my receiver. All other internet stations are working fine as before. I emailed RP to ask if they changed their formatting but haven't received a reply yet. What I have done so far is reboot the wireless router (Linksys E2500), and reboot the receiver (AVR 1912). I have the latest firmware for the router and receiver. I haven't changed any of the settings on the router or receiver. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Problem solved.
kenm5063 is offline  
post #20119 of 20128 Old 11-30-2016, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 21
How do you have the Roku plugged in since the 1912 isn't 4K?

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
post #20120 of 20128 Old Yesterday, 07:56 AM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halichopter View Post
You will be very happy with your 6040, I predict. :-)

I ordered a Roku Ultra yesterday. I also decided to go a little higher end and ordered a Marantz SR7010.


So I got my PJ yesterday and plugged it all up (bypassing the Denon obviously) and ran my Roku directly to it. I had to reroute audio via optical back to the denon (which only has TWO optical ports). Can you reassign which input the optical port is assigned to or is it permenant. I don't want to have to reconfigure my inputs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20121 of 20128 Old Yesterday, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Halichopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Excelsior MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
So I got my PJ yesterday and plugged it all up (bypassing the Denon obviously) and ran my Roku directly to it. I had to reroute audio via optical back to the denon (which only has TWO optical ports). Can you reassign which input the optical port is assigned to or is it permenant. I don't want to have to reconfigure my inputs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I've never used the Denon optical ports and don't know if this can be done. I had to upgrade to the 4K Marantz because I only have one HDMI cable going to my Epson 5040 and need to use the HDMI switching capability of the AVR. I assume your arrangement allows you to run two HDMI cables to the projector?

Projector: Epson 5040UB
AVR: Marantz SR7010
Blu-Ray: Samsung UBD-K8500
Streaming: Roku Ultra
DVR: Tivo Roamio
Speakers: 5.1.2 System with five B&W M-1s, Subwoofer: B&W ASW 608
Halichopter is offline  
post #20122 of 20128 Old Yesterday, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,646
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11132 Post(s)
Liked: 5142
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggusDiccus View Post
So I got my PJ yesterday and plugged it all up (bypassing the Denon obviously) and ran my Roku directly to it. I had to reroute audio via optical back to the denon (which only has TWO optical ports). Can you reassign which input the optical port is assigned to or is it permenant. I don't want to have to reconfigure my inputs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20123 of 20128 Old Yesterday, 09:04 AM
Member
 
BiggusDiccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halichopter View Post
I've never used the Denon optical ports and don't know if this can be done. I had to upgrade to the 4K Marantz because I only have one HDMI cable going to my Epson 5040 and need to use the HDMI switching capability of the AVR. I assume your arrangement allows you to run two HDMI cables to the projector?


I did think about running an additional cable but bought a Blackhawk HDCP 2.2 HDMI switch from Monoprice. I haven't received it yet but it should be able to switch between HD and 4K. I'll run all my HD sources through the Denon and my Roku/Future device direct with optical to denon.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BiggusDiccus is offline  
post #20124 of 20128 Old Today, 12:16 AM
Newbie
 
asdasd123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have my computer (video card GTX 770), receiver (AVR-1912) and TV (LG OLED65E6V). I have several HDMI and DVI-to-HDMI cables. I have connected the PC and the receiver via HDMI and PC and TV via DVI-to-HDMI. I want 4K video and 7.1-channel audio. For some reason I have not been able to get any sound from the computer through the receiver, only directly to TV, but only stereo.

It would be ideal to either duplicate the "displays"(receiver and TV) or use only the TV. Using only the TV seems to disable the option to send audio to the receiver. Duplicating the displays for some reason keeps the receiver silent.

Is it so that because 1912 does not understand 4K video signal, it does not accept the audio either?


Before I bought this TV the same setup worked fine with my old 1080p TV.
asdasd123 is offline  
post #20125 of 20128 Old Today, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdasd123 View Post
I have my computer (video card GTX 770), receiver (AVR-1912) and TV (LG OLED65E6V). I have several HDMI and DVI-to-HDMI cables. I have connected the PC and the receiver via HDMI and PC and TV via DVI-to-HDMI. I want 4K video and 7.1-channel audio. For some reason I have not been able to get any sound from the computer through the receiver, only directly to TV, but only stereo.

It would be ideal to either duplicate the "displays"(receiver and TV) or use only the TV. Using only the TV seems to disable the option to send audio to the receiver. Duplicating the displays for some reason keeps the receiver silent.

Is it so that because 1912 does not understand 4K video signal, it does not accept the audio either?


Before I bought this TV the same setup worked fine with my old 1080p TV.
To be clear, you use the HDMI from PC to AVR for audio, and PC to TV with a DVI to HDMI cable for video? If so that is fine I think. You may only get 30hz, not 60hz at 3840x2160 with a DVI to HDMI cable.
What I think you need to do is enable the Denon monitor in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution. Kinda like this. You shoud see a grayed out secondary monitor. Click on it and select "Extend Desktop to this Display" Keep that invisible monitor on the right side of the LG. Be careful as things can go to the phantom monitor and get lost. If icons or files end up on it, you can use a magnifier program to drag them back to the LG with http://magnifier.sourceforge.net/



So after that Denon monitor is enabled, you need to change the default sound device to the Denon. Go to control panel, sound. Right click on the Denon device and select "Set as default device". You should be good then. I used to do it similarly before I got a 4K AVR.

doctorwizz is online now  
post #20126 of 20128 Old Today, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Daveon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 3312 and just purchased the Xbox One S for its UHD optical drive. The Xbox is connected to my 4K TV (HDMI) and the 3312 (S/PDIF). I am only getting 2 channel audio. Are there any options available to get 5.1
Daveon is online now  
post #20127 of 20128 Old Today, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 16
hey guys i got some new speakers.

i have a denon 1712 for a few years which i love and will never replace until i get a 4k tv, which aint happening any time soon.

i will need to re run audyssey for my new speakers after break in but i dont want to lose all the settings. not sure how to go about this.

i lost the manual.

when i ran audyssey a few years ago i completely forgot the positions of the mic (i think there are 6?) and the process.

any tips would be great
Luisfc1972 is online now  
post #20128 of 20128 Old Today, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveon View Post
I have a 3312 and just purchased the Xbox One S for its UHD optical drive. The Xbox is connected to my 4K TV (HDMI) and the 3312 (S/PDIF). I am only getting 2 channel audio. Are there any options available to get 5.1
I've heard if you switch inputs to another then back to the HDMI then it starts going 5.1.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
tcat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off