The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 675 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 287Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20221 of 20242 Old 07-24-2017, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Neb Ula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 1612 is 6 years old, so I wouldn't think there would be a problem with 1080p video, although it is possible. You may have to pass the HDMI source to the monitor with audio only to the 1612.
I'm currently trying to display Denon AVR's setup menu. The Nec monitor does have a display port output that doesn't have audio. I don't have a display port to hdmi converter so wasn't able to try it.

I found a Nec datasheet for the V323-2, apparently the Nec monitor has HDMI version 1.3, but no details which hdcp ver.

1 x DVI-D (with HDCP); 1 x HDMI 1.3 (with HDCP); 1 x DisplayPort (with HDCP)
Neb Ula is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20222 of 20242 Old 07-28-2017, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Neb Ula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 1612 is 6 years old, so I wouldn't think there would be a problem with 1080p video, although it is possible. You may have to pass the HDMI source to the monitor with audio only to the 1612.
I had some spare time to fiddle with the Nec Monitors setup. Apparently there is a setting that controls how the monitor switches between inputs. After setting "input detect" to "None" the monitor was able to switch and stay on the HDMI input and display the Denon's setup menu.

Great monitor, only you need to spend some time in it's setup menus that has 9 pages of setup screens from it's remote and more extensive setup from an external program that connects through a LAN connection.
Neb Ula is offline  
post #20223 of 20242 Old 08-04-2017, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey folks,

I have a denon 1612, and I was wondering how the crossover works... Basically, I've set speakers to small, crossover at 80hz, and am not using LFE+Main setting, yet I felt the speakers were still playing the full spectrum when I did a subwoofer bass-tone sweep. I unplugged my subwoofer, and I confirmed my speakers were playing (even at 20-30hz), I plugged the subwoofer back in and still verified output through the main speakers by putting my ear close to them.

No matter what sorts of settings I try, the speakers are always being routed frequencies below whatever crossover is set. When I put the crossover at 120 or 250hz, I noticed the volume of the sounds (you know, 30hz etc.) was lower, but the speakers were clearly still active (still being routed those frequencies).

I assumed the crossover setting is supposed to mean that the main speakers aren't fed the signals below crossover; for me it seems to merely lower volume.
gygess is offline  
 
post #20224 of 20242 Old 08-05-2017, 01:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,319
Mentioned: 379 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15074 Post(s)
Liked: 7274
Quote:
Originally Posted by gygess View Post
Hey folks,

I have a denon 1612, and I was wondering how the crossover works... Basically, I've set speakers to small, crossover at 80hz, and am not using LFE+Main setting, yet I felt the speakers were still playing the full spectrum when I did a subwoofer bass-tone sweep. I unplugged my subwoofer, and I confirmed my speakers were playing (even at 20-30hz), I plugged the subwoofer back in and still verified output through the main speakers by putting my ear close to them.

No matter what sorts of settings I try, the speakers are always being routed frequencies below whatever crossover is set. When I put the crossover at 120 or 250hz, I noticed the volume of the sounds (you know, 30hz etc.) was lower, but the speakers were clearly still active (still being routed those frequencies).

I assumed the crossover setting is supposed to mean that the main speakers aren't fed the signals below crossover; for me it seems to merely lower volume.

Although the crossover isn't a brick wall ... if set to 80Hz, then below 80Hz should be routed to the sub. Note also that LFE+MAIN only applies when the FL/FR speakers are set to LARGE and then simply passes the same lower frequencies going to the FL/FR speakers to the sub as well (aka "double bass" as both the FL/FR speakers and the sub are playing the same frequencies).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20225 of 20242 Old 08-05-2017, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Although the crossover isn't a brick wall ... if set to 80Hz, then below 80Hz should be routed to the sub. Note also that LFE+MAIN only applies when the FL/FR speakers are set to LARGE and then simply passes the same lower frequencies going to the FL/FR speakers to the sub as well (aka "double bass" as both the FL/FR speakers and the sub are playing the same frequencies).
Maybe I should clarify: my subwoofer IS being fed the signals. It's more just that the mains are still getting the signals that I'm worried about.
gygess is offline  
post #20226 of 20242 Old 08-28-2017, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Denon 2112CI...no audio issues, odd quirks after Audyssey...is it time for a burial?

Hey everyone. I've had a Denon 2112CI since April, 2014 and have really liked the unit. From time to time I would need to do a factory reset because I couldn't get audio to play from sometimes through the internet (Internet Radio, Pandora, etc), and other times no audio when playing a Blu Ray. After the reset, it would work just fine. Just in the past few days I can't seem to resolve the issue now. I did a reset where I push the 2 and 3 buttons on the front and have the front lights go off and on, but this doesn't always help. (I think there is a difference between pushing 1 and 2, vs 2 and 3, but i"m not sure).

Anyways, I got it working last night but then just now ran Audssey again. After I ran it, however, I couldn't bring up the display for "Trim Level" on the remote. The audio was working, but not the "trim level". The remote would light up, but it wouldn't show on the display. I then reset it again, but then all audio would not play again for either internet or the blu ray player, despite just getting it to work a few minutes ago.

My warranty is up, and not sure if there's anything else I can try here to fix the issue. Does this ever happen to these Denons? Seems very odd. I see the display showing that content is playing with the seconds going by, but no audio.

Also, when I have a blu ray usually on the display it will say "DTS" or "HD Dolby", but it is stuck on "Stereo", so almost doesn't recognize the source or something. No clue.

Anyone have any thoughts? I would greatly appreciate some help here!!
butie120 is online now  
post #20227 of 20242 Old 08-28-2017, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,319
Mentioned: 379 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15074 Post(s)
Liked: 7274
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
Hey everyone. I've had a Denon 2112CI since April, 2014 and have really liked the unit. From time to time I would need to do a factory reset because I couldn't get audio to play from sometimes through the internet (Internet Radio, Pandora, etc), and other times no audio when playing a Blu Ray. After the reset, it would work just fine. Just in the past few days I can't seem to resolve the issue now. I did a reset where I push the 2 and 3 buttons on the front and have the front lights go off and on, but this doesn't always help. (I think there is a difference between pushing 1 and 2, vs 2 and 3, but i"m not sure).

Anyways, I got it working last night but then just now ran Audssey again. After I ran it, however, I couldn't bring up the display for "Trim Level" on the remote. The audio was working, but not the "trim level". The remote would light up, but it wouldn't show on the display. I then reset it again, but then all audio would not play again for either internet or the blu ray player, despite just getting it to work a few minutes ago.

My warranty is up, and not sure if there's anything else I can try here to fix the issue. Does this ever happen to these Denons? Seems very odd. I see the display showing that content is playing with the seconds going by, but no audio.

Also, when I have a blu ray usually on the display it will say "DTS" or "HD Dolby", but it is stuck on "Stereo", so almost doesn't recognize the source or something. No clue.

Anyone have any thoughts? I would greatly appreciate some help here!!
If doing a few microprocessor resets in a row doesn't resolve the issue ... then time to upgrade to something more current. The 2016 models are on clearance now at reduced pricing.
muzz likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20228 of 20242 Old 08-28-2017, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If doing a few microprocessor resets in a row doesn't resolve the issue ... then time to upgrade to something more current. The 2016 models are on clearance now at reduced pricing.
Dang. Is this a common issue? Is this where the Yamahas are more reliable? The receiver is only three yrs old. Here I thought I would have this for another 5 years or so as I don't need the new tech stuff right now.
butie120 is online now  
post #20229 of 20242 Old 08-28-2017, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,319
Mentioned: 379 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15074 Post(s)
Liked: 7274
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
Dang. Is this a common issue? Is this where the Yamahas are more reliable? The receiver is only three yrs old. Here I thought I would have this for another 5 years or so as I don't need the new tech stuff right now.
Every brand including Yamaha will have a small number of defective units each year.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20230 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 05:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Any continued satisfied 2112 owners out there? My 2112 just recently went buggy with not putting out sound and not recognizing a blu ray source. I have the option to buy a used 2112 for $100 with 1 yr warranty and wondering if my issue was quite common, so not sure if I should steer away. Thanks!!
butie120 is online now  
post #20231 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Market,MD
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
Any continued satisfied 2112 owners out there? My 2112 just recently went buggy with not putting out sound and not recognizing a blu ray source. I have the option to buy a used 2112 for $100 with 1 yr warranty and wondering if my issue was quite common, so not sure if I should steer away. Thanks!!
I have a 3312 that had HDMI issues (multiple tries of turn on/off to get my TV to show a picture). I ended up getting a brand new 4300 at a great price. Hint hint.

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #20232 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post
I have a 3312 that had HDMI issues (multiple tries of turn on/off to get my TV to show a picture). I ended up getting a brand new 4300 at a great price. Hint hint.
What do you mean by "hint hint?" Stay away from the 2012 model lineup?
butie120 is online now  
post #20233 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Rondog32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Market,MD
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
What do you mean by "hint hint?" Stay away from the 2012 model lineup?
I was suggesting that you look at upgrading to a newer unit. The 4300 is very popular and does a lot of stuff (Atmos, Heos, etc).

Rondog
Rondog32837 is offline  
post #20234 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post
I have a 3312 that had HDMI issues (multiple tries of turn on/off to get my TV to show a picture). I ended up getting a brand new 4300 at a great price. Hint hint.
Not to argue with this ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
Any continued satisfied 2112 owners out there? My 2112 just recently went buggy with not putting out sound and not recognizing a blu ray source. I have the option to buy a used 2112 for $100 with 1 yr warranty and wondering if my issue was quite common, so not sure if I should steer away. Thanks!!
but to answer your question, my 2112 has been in use for 7-14 hours per day, almost every day, for the past 4-5 years. No issues at all. YMMV of course.
Tom Ames is online now  
post #20235 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog32837 View Post
I was suggesting that you look at upgrading to a newer unit. The 4300 is very popular and does a lot of stuff (Atmos, Heos, etc).

I'm not spending that kind of cash on a receiver at this stage of my life. I'm fine getting something older. I'm looking at spending $150 tops for something used. Might get the 2112CI again for $100 shipped, so I'd be cool with that.
butie120 is online now  
post #20236 of 20242 Old 08-31-2017, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
butie120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Ames View Post
Not to argue with this ...



but to answer your question, my 2112 has been in use for 7-14 hours per day, almost every day, for the past 4-5 years. No issues at all. YMMV of course.


Glad to hear your unit is going strong. That's encouraging to read. Might just get the same one again. I was tempted to get the E-300 from someone for around $125, but not sure if the lower Audyssey version is worth dropping down to. Decisions!!!
butie120 is online now  
post #20237 of 20242 Old 09-04-2017, 06:30 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Jersey Shore
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by butie120 View Post
Any continued satisfied 2112 owners out there? My 2112 just recently went buggy with not putting out sound and not recognizing a blu ray source. I have the option to buy a used 2112 for $100 with 1 yr warranty and wondering if my issue was quite common, so not sure if I should steer away. Thanks!!
I guess I'm lucky. I've had my 3312 for 5 1/2 years with no issues. I use it mostly everyday for sound surround and occasionally for music. I think I had to reset it maybe twice in all of that time. So I guess it's the luck of the draw.
Eddie E is offline  
post #20238 of 20242 Old 09-05-2017, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,576
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Is it unreasonable to ask for an expensive piece of equipment to be reliable for many years? My AVR 2312ci is still going strong and I expect it to do so for a few more years. Replacing equipment due to desire prior to 10 years is one thing, replacing it due to failure is another altogether.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #20239 of 20242 Old 09-11-2017, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Eddie E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Jersey Shore
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Is it unreasonable to ask for an expensive piece of equipment to be reliable for many years? My AVR 2312ci is still going strong and I expect it to do so for a few more years. Replacing equipment due to desire prior to 10 years is one thing, replacing it due to failure is another altogether.
I agree. I had my Yamaha RX-V1400 for about 8 years. It was working perfectly when I sold it. I only sold it because I wanted to upgrade to HDMI and smart features. The only receiver I had that gave me issues was a Pioneer Elite. I paid a couple of hundred dollars to have it repaired. I had a Sansui 2 channel receiver I purchased in Japan while in the military in the mid 70's. That thing must have lasted 20 years.
Eddie E is offline  
post #20240 of 20242 Old 09-11-2017, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlos Martinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Denon AVR-1712 lasted two years. Which was one year more than the more expensive and sophisticated Onkyo HT-RC180, which lasted 13 months.

The Denon simply doesn't turn on, is completely dead. I had a look at the two internal fuses, but they are fine. What the problem is I don't know.

The Onkyo apparent problem is on the HDMI board, and it turns on, but with no amp output. I thought it might be a DC offset of some kind that locked the sound, but then I should have HDMI audio on the headphones at least.

As I live in Brazil, with no official repair service, the few technicians around charge you a fortune and most of the times can't do anything. The Onkyo was in warranty time when it stopped working, but being so heavy it would be insane to send it to the US, where I bought it.
Carlos Martinez is offline  
post #20241 of 20242 Old 09-17-2017, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Having problems in the last couple of months with my 2112. Speakers pop in front... then no sound. Switched out to different fronts and now having the same issue with almost all the speakers. Already performed factory reset and I am afraid to turn back on and ruin anymore speaker's...
Friendlys is offline  
post #20242 of 20242 Old 09-17-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,319
Mentioned: 379 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15074 Post(s)
Liked: 7274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
Having problems in the last couple of months with my 2112. Speakers pop in front... then no sound. Switched out to different fronts and now having the same issue with almost all the speakers. Already performed factory reset and I am afraid to turn back on and ruin anymore speaker's...
So the issue only presents when using the FL/FR speaker posts? Sounds like possible amp failure if the speaker wires are confirmed securely connected and not crossing over any electrical wires. As a work around, set AMP ASSIGN to "Front B" (p. 59 Owner's manual) and move the FL/FR speaker wires to the Surround Back L/R speaker posts. Ensure AVR is powered OFF before moving speaker wires.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off