The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX12 Model Owner's Thread - Page 676 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 289Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20251 of 20265 Old 10-01-2017, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ericuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all. How do I select game 2? Even from remote nothing happens ...?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ericuf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20252 of 20265 Old 10-01-2017, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericuf View Post
Hi all. How do I select game 2? Even from remote nothing happens ...?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What is "Game 2"? Is that one of your video games?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20253 of 20265 Old 10-01-2017, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ericuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What is "Game 2"? Is that one of your video games?


It’s apparently an input on the receiver. But I don’t know how to access.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ericuf is offline  
 
post #20254 of 20265 Old 10-02-2017, 12:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericuf View Post
It’s apparently an input on the receiver. But I don’t know how to access.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Use the INPUT ASSIGN setting in your Owner's manual (p. 97).
ericuf likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 10-02-2017 at 02:34 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20255 of 20265 Old 10-02-2017, 02:21 AM
Member
 
bat0nas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As noted in the INPUT ASSIGN setting in your Owner's manual .. there is only (1) GAME source.
There are 2 game sources (both hdmi) in 1912 model. I have two game consoles connected.

As noted above: input assign should solve the problem.

Sent from my SM-N910C using Tapatalk
ericuf likes this.
bat0nas is offline  
post #20256 of 20265 Old 10-02-2017, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ericuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bat0nas View Post
There are 2 game sources (both hdmi) in 1912 model. I have two game consoles connected.

As noted above: input assign should solve the problem.

Sent from my SM-N910C using Tapatalk


Yep that was it, for some reason it was turned off. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ericuf is offline  
post #20257 of 20265 Old 10-05-2017, 08:57 AM
Member
 
raist3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys, I have a Denon 2312CI.
I recently received a Samsung KS8000, so this is my first foray into 4K UHD HDR.
I also have a Roku Ultra and an Oppo 103 BRP.
My 2312CI HDMI ports are 1.4a.
My Roku is connected to my TV.
My Oppo is connected to my 2312 (I use the Oppo to access my Plex server in order to pass full HD Audio - Video is always 1080p)
I guess my question is should I be considering upgrading to the X3300? My 2312 is still running great since it was purchased in 2013.

If I wish to have everything connecting to my AVR, I believe the answer may be yes.
If I choose to leave my set up as is, I believe the answer may be no.

I have gotten some mixed advice and looking for a solid plan.

Thanks
raist3001 is offline  
post #20258 of 20265 Old 10-05-2017, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by raist3001 View Post
Hey guys, I have a Denon 2312CI.
I recently received a Samsung KS8000, so this is my first foray into 4K UHD HDR.
I also have a Roku Ultra and an Oppo 103 BRP.
My 2312CI HDMI ports are 1.4a.
My Roku is connected to my TV.
My Oppo is connected to my 2312 (I use the Oppo to access my Plex server in order to pass full HD Audio - Video is always 1080p)
I guess my question is should I be considering upgrading to the X3300? My 2312 is still running great since it was purchased in 2013.

If I wish to have everything connecting to my AVR, I believe the answer may be yes.
If I choose to leave my set up as is, I believe the answer may be no.

I have gotten some mixed advice and looking for a solid plan.

Thanks
I think you answered your own question:

"If I wish to have everything connecting to my AVR, I believe the answer may be yes.
If I choose to leave my set up as is, I believe the answer may be no."

If you want all devices connecting through the AVR, as you said, yes, you need a new AVR that supports all current pass-through options for 4K, HDR and DV.

If you want to leave the setup as is... then leave it as is.

Last edited by Kalani; 10-05-2017 at 02:46 PM.
Kalani is offline  
post #20259 of 20265 Old 10-05-2017, 02:44 PM
Member
 
raist3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post
I think you answered your own question:

"If I wish to have everything connecting to my AVR, I believe the answer may be yes.
If I choose to leave my set up as is, I believe the answer may be no."

If you want all devices connecting through the AVR, as you said, yes, you need a new AVR that supports all current pass-through options for 4K, HDR and DV.

If you want to leave the setup as is... then leave it as is.
Thanks Kalani 😀
raist3001 is offline  
post #20260 of 20265 Old 10-05-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by raist3001 View Post
Thanks Kalani 😀
You bet.

Note that, unfortunately, the current 2017 lineup of Denon AVRs (if you want to stick with Denon) do not support graphic overlays at 4K+DV at 60fps, only 30fps. If that matters to you. (I like seeing the volume bar on the TV, since I can't see the AVR screen where it sits) I'm hoping the 2018 lineup does, and my current AVRs (3312 and 2112) don't crap out before they're released... Passthrough should be fine, though.

Last edited by Kalani; 10-05-2017 at 03:12 PM.
Kalani is offline  
post #20261 of 20265 Old 10-06-2017, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
tpezanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Issues with Samsung TV ARC controls

Hi,

So I’ve got an issue I’ve been facing for a while, and frankly, I’ve been too lazy to address it, but I’m pulling my stereo cabinet away from the wall tomorrow to re-wire, so now’s the best chance to fix this.

I own a Denon AVR-2112ci, and a Samsung UN60JU7100 TV. They are connected via HDMI from the “HDMI In 4 (ARC)” input on the TV’s “One Connect Mini” box to the “Monitor Out” output on the Receiver.

The Receiver is from 2012, TV is from 2015. Receiver supports HDMI 1.4a, not sure if firmware updates have changed that since.

My issue is that when using the system combined, I’m able to control volume via the TV remote. This is helpful when launching Netflix from the SmartHub or using one of the attached HDMI devices that connect to the “One Connect Mini” box, as it lets me use a single remote to control things.

The problem is, the devices that get the most usage run through the receiver: FiOS and Xbox. When turning on the TV to watch cable TV, it continually flips the input on the receiver back to TV, despite me being on the one marked “Xbox” or “Cable”.

I’m open to ditching ARC if others have found this situation untenable, but I frankly just want to be able to watch TV without the input flipping back and forth on me. I do like the fact that everything is talking somewhat, but it’s gotten very, very old to have the TV be going, and 45 seconds later it cuts to black because I’m not running anything off the TV’s input.

Thoughts/Suggestions? Thanks in advance.


-Tim
tpezanko is offline  
post #20262 of 20265 Old 10-06-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpezanko View Post
Hi,

So I’ve got an issue I’ve been facing for a while, and frankly, I’ve been too lazy to address it, but I’m pulling my stereo cabinet away from the wall tomorrow to re-wire, so now’s the best chance to fix this.

I own a Denon AVR-2112ci, and a Samsung UN60JU7100 TV. They are connected via HDMI from the “HDMI In 4 (ARC)” input on the TV’s “One Connect Mini” box to the “Monitor Out” output on the Receiver.

The Receiver is from 2012, TV is from 2015. Receiver supports HDMI 1.4a, not sure if firmware updates have changed that since.

My issue is that when using the system combined, I’m able to control volume via the TV remote. This is helpful when launching Netflix from the SmartHub or using one of the attached HDMI devices that connect to the “One Connect Mini” box, as it lets me use a single remote to control things.

The problem is, the devices that get the most usage run through the receiver: FiOS and Xbox. When turning on the TV to watch cable TV, it continually flips the input on the receiver back to TV, despite me being on the one marked “Xbox” or “Cable”.

I’m open to ditching ARC if others have found this situation untenable, but I frankly just want to be able to watch TV without the input flipping back and forth on me. I do like the fact that everything is talking somewhat, but it’s gotten very, very old to have the TV be going, and 45 seconds later it cuts to black because I’m not running anything off the TV’s input.

Thoughts/Suggestions? Thanks in advance.


-Tim
On more current models this issue has been resolved with a dedicated "ARC" setting, however, on your 5 year old model, you must either contend with switching the source back or disable ARC and instead use an optical cable.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20263 of 20265 Old 10-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have a 2112 and my TiVo goes through the Xbox1 to receiver via SAT input. My TiVo remote can turn on TV and that turns on the 2112. I turned off all Xbox auto off features.

But no ARC stuff as I use a Chromecast or the Xbox for streaming. Soon will pickup a Roku also. I gave up on the Vizio's streaming when I saw the picture difference between man in iron castle via tv vs Xbox. Night and day picture quality difference.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
post #20264 of 20265 Old Yesterday, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just to share about my finding on my faulty Denon 3312 hopefully other members having similar issue can fix it, symptoms is can not be powered on and no LED indicator at all. After days searching for service manual, finally managed to get a copy of service manual to fix my faulty unit from hifiengine, found out C3082 shorted with measured 18 ohms. Causing MCU reset pin been pulled down and disabling the whole unit.
Initially suspect Standby PSU 5.2v faulty, turn out 5.2v spot on and stable, then come across MCU RX630 reset pin measure LOW, that's how it lead to my problem solved.
Now unit work wonderfully.
darrenting.g is offline  
post #20265 of 20265 Old Yesterday, 08:25 AM
Member
 
poochpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For years, I've been using an Ipod Classic 160GB connected to my 1912 to play my iTunes music library stored on the Ipod (lossless format). The Ipod is connected to the 1912's front usb and it has worked great, allowing full remote control of the library, shows album art on the tv, and does gapless playback. I've now maxed out the storage on the Ipod. What alternatives are out there with larger storage? My 1912 is networked via ethernet to a router and pc in another room, but I don't want to have to turn on the pc just to play music on the 1912. I love the simplicity of the Ipod connected directly to the 1912 and that it plays back gapless. Thanks for any suggestions.
Mike
poochpa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon , Denon Avr 1312 Receiver , Denon Avr 1612 Receiver , Denon Avr 1712 Receiver , Denon Avr 1912 Receiver , Denon Avr 2112ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver , Denon Avr3312ci Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off