Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 2021 Old 01-20-2012, 03:46 AM
Member
 
justinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The android app works well. Try it. Be sure to turn on network standby

Justin

Panasonic 50" Plasma TC-P50-GT30
Panasonic 58" Plasma TC-P58V10
Panasonic Blu Ray Player DMP-BDT 210 and 110
Marantz SR6006 (2)
Aperion Verus Grand Speakers

justinto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 2021 Old 01-20-2012, 04:37 AM
Member
 
ckensto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone no what the firmware update that just came up is fixing or changing? I haven't seen a chanelog. Hopefully it fixes the curve on the touchy volume control.
ckensto is offline  
post #513 of 2021 Old 01-21-2012, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a changelog.
Palabra is offline  
post #514 of 2021 Old 01-21-2012, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Palabra is offline  
post #515 of 2021 Old 01-21-2012, 11:23 AM
Member
 
happybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone just post the change log to the latest firmware update? I clicked on the link, but it required me to enter the serial number. Too much hassle to go move stuff around and copy down the serial number...
happybob is offline  
post #516 of 2021 Old 01-21-2012, 04:26 PM
Member
 
cmiller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by happybob View Post

Can someone just post the change log to the latest firmware update? I clicked on the link, but it required me to enter the serial number. Too much hassle to go move stuff around and copy down the serial number...

Ditto
cmiller44 is offline  
post #517 of 2021 Old 01-21-2012, 10:45 PM
Member
 
WilliamDj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone could say it is better choice if Denon 3312CI or marantz sr6006
WilliamDj is offline  
post #518 of 2021 Old 01-22-2012, 01:53 AM
Newbie
 
Palabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by happybob View Post

Can someone just post the change log to the latest firmware update? I clicked on the link, but it required me to enter the serial number. Too much hassle to go move stuff around and copy down the serial number...

Changelog of SR5006
18.01.2012
Main: 001150034

The firmware update is impossible via DPMS. And the error message of "Connection Fail 25" is displayed.
Incorrect network behavior reported by Control4 programmer.
When iPod is replaced, the product has the possibility of not outputting the video of NET/USB. The screen becomes a display of the black.
The video signal of 0-255 doesn't do Pass-through by connecting HDMI.
HDMI-interoperability with HUMAX Set Top Box
Coding in XML document with wrong Symbols.
Improvement of download time in DPMS.
Countermeasure of the Podcast play defect in Internet radio.
Countermeasure of language code perception defect in Internet Radio. (Icy metadata with UTF8).
Changed the default Internet radio station of PRESET CHANNEL3 from "1.fm Classical Musik" to "98.1 Klassik Radio FM".

21.06.2011
Main 01100031

The problem of MFi (Made For iPod/iPhone) test has been improved. Requesting related to MFi was not filled.
An unnecessary display might occur temporarily in the FL tube at the time of the "Power OFF" and "AC/OFF".
Palabra is offline  
post #519 of 2021 Old 01-22-2012, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 6006 in the Logitech Harmony database now?
mingus is offline  
post #520 of 2021 Old 01-24-2012, 03:15 PM
Member
 
woodygg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post

Is the 6006 in the Logitech Harmony database now?

I just successfully added the 6006 to my Harmony One.
woodygg is offline  
post #521 of 2021 Old 01-24-2012, 03:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Palabra View Post

18.01.2012
Main: 001150034

The firmware update is impossible via DPMS. And the error message of "Connection Fail 25" is displayed.
Incorrect network behavior reported by Control4 programmer.
When iPod is replaced, the product has the possibility of not outputting the video of NET/USB. The screen becomes a display of the black.
The video signal of 0-255 doesn't do Pass-through by connecting HDMI.
HDMI-interoperability with HUMAX Set Top Box
Coding in XML document with wrong Symbols.
Improvement of download time in DPMS.
Countermeasure of the Podcast play defect in Internet radio.
Countermeasure of language code perception defect in Internet Radio. (Icy metadata with UTF8).
Changed the default Internet radio station of PRESET CHANNEL3 from "1.fm Classical Musik" to "98.1 Klassik Radio FM".

Interesting. The Denon 1912/2112CI just got the same update as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #522 of 2021 Old 01-24-2012, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When they say b stock what do they mean?

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #523 of 2021 Old 01-24-2012, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When they say b stock what do they mean?

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #524 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 04:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
It usually refers to factory refurbished items.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #525 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is buying an sr 5006 from accessories 4 less a good idea

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #526 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 05:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
It is if the price is less than a brand new unit elsewhere. AC4L has been around over 10 years and is often refered to in the AVS threads each year. They provide excellent customer service and if there is any issue with the refurb, AC4L will promptly exchange it (as they do no repair work, rather simply sell what they purchase from the mfr).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #527 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 07:59 AM
Member
 
woodygg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

Is buying an sr 5006 from accessories 4 less a good idea

I got my 6006 from them recently. Love love love it!
woodygg is offline  
post #528 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks guys I plan to pick it up Friday!

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #529 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 12:02 PM
Member
 
gixerking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodygg View Post

I got my 6006 from them recently. Love love love it!

same here
gixerking is offline  
post #530 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is there an wireless USB hub for the marantz so I don't have to hardwire

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #531 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
RDHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

Is there an wireless USB hub for the marantz so I don't have to hardwire

I don't know if a USB Wireless adapter will work. However, you can use a Wireless Bridge like the DLink DAP-1522 and connect it to the Ethernet port.

Bob Holmes
Curmudgeon
RDHolmes is offline  
post #532 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 05:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

Is there an wireless USB hub for the marantz so I don't have to hardwire

No ... your best bet is the wireless bridge suggested above or powerline adapters (using house wiring).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #533 of 2021 Old 01-25-2012, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ol thanks I have AT&T dsl with their wireless gateway which bridge would work best

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #534 of 2021 Old 01-26-2012, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Also will the air play feature play the movies brought off iTunes or will I still need my apple TV hooked up

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #535 of 2021 Old 01-26-2012, 10:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
For video you'll have to keep the Apple TV hooked up. The on board Airplay feature only passes audio.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #536 of 2021 Old 01-27-2012, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
rj1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very happy so far, but a few questions.

1) my dish network gave me a pop up message about HDCP problem when trying to watch HBO, it wont even change the channel to it now, when I googled it, this is what came up.

High Bandwidth Digital Copy Protection is a form of digital copy protection which was developed to protect content as it travels across digital connections. DISH Network and other cable and satellite providers have been required to activate HDCP on every receiver. To verify if the customer has HDCP-capable equipment, press the Menu button on their remote then select "System Setup," "Installation," "System Info," and "Next." Verify that "HDCP" displays "Yes." If "No" then either their TV or digital video connection is not HDCP-capable. If your connection is not digital, the receiver will not be able to verify that their TV is HDCP capable.

Before I had the Marantz, my HDMI cable was connected directly to TV from the dish network box. Now I have all HDMI cables going into the Marantz and a single cable out to tv.

I also now see green screen flashes when going to DVR or to tv guide while before I did not see them.

2) is the remote supposed to be lit? I can't see the buttons at night and was too busy to reprogram my harmony one.

3) I don't have an Ethernet line in living room, is there a way to play Internet music without the Ethernet? I thought when it said network player it meant wifi, not Ethernet. Any solution?

Thanks everyone!
rj1975 is offline  
post #537 of 2021 Old 01-27-2012, 08:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
1. Many cable/sat boxes are not designed to be connected via an HDMI repeater (ie. AVR), rather only directly to the TV, so connect the HDMI directly to the TV and optical from the box to the AVR for surround audio.
2. The green flashes may be an indication that the cable is bad.
3. The AVR requires a connection to a wireless router either by direct cable or via a wireless router setup as a bridge or via powerline adapters (using house wiring).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #538 of 2021 Old 01-27-2012, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
rj1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I still have a spare HDMI cable in the wall, so will use that for dish network only. And about the cable, since I needed more HDMI cables due to connecting to Marantz first, I found an old one that was kind of sticky and had a bit of green oxidation on the braiding inside the clear cable coating. So maybe the cable is bad, but since I'll connect to TV directly with the spare hDMi which is good, I should have no problem then.

Ill look for Ethernet bridges then.
rj1975 is offline  
post #539 of 2021 Old 01-29-2012, 08:27 AM
Member
 
CGIM5804's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with DVD player

OK, have an interesting situation. I have a PS3 and FIOS DVR box connected to my receiver and set on pass thru. I also have a DVD player that is not connected at all to the receiver, it goes straight to the TV via component. My problem is after watching something on the DVD player, I can't see the input for the FIOS box. I have the box on but the TV won't show the box as an active input. I have to turn on the receiver switch inputs back and forth to SAT and then shut it off to get the box as an active input on my TV again and pass-thru the video. What gives?
CGIM5804 is offline  
post #540 of 2021 Old 01-29-2012, 02:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,253
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1390 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Just to confirm ..... if you just finished watching a DVD, the TV's input source is set to COMP. You're saying that when you manually switch the TV input to HDMI input, the AVR's Standby Source isn't passing through to the TV? Is Standby Source set to LAST or a specific HDMI jack?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr5006 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off