Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 1989 Old 02-22-2012, 02:25 PM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoovie59 View Post

Haha yea first thing I tried

Well I figured you had, but sometimes I miss the obvious, errr maybe most of the time. I can't find anything that states the display setting is tied to a particular input and I figured the setting would apply across the board. Sorry I couldn't help, and please let us know what the solution is.
LVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 1989 Old 02-22-2012, 02:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoovie59 View Post

So I was letting my apartment-mates use my sr6006 and somehow one of them managed to get rid of the on screen volume display just for the BD input. I have been through the settings and manual and cannot for the life of me figure out how it got turned off. It works on every other setting and when the OSD is on just not on BD. I know this has to be an easy fix I just can't figure it out.

setup menu...
bd source...
video...
set "video convert" to "on"...

that oughta do it...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #693 of 1989 Old 02-22-2012, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Hoovie59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I just tested it and apparently I misdiagnosed the problem. It does work on bd when nothing is playing, but we have an xbox 360 hooked up to that input and when the xbox is on then it doesn't display it. So now I'm even more clueless as to why its not working.

There is no replacement for displacement
Hoovie59 is offline  
post #694 of 1989 Old 02-23-2012, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When I'm running 5.1 what is the wpc on my sr5006

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #695 of 1989 Old 02-23-2012, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Also will AirPlay work off zone 2

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #696 of 1989 Old 02-24-2012, 02:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

When I'm running 5.1 what is the wpc on my sr5006

On the 7005 it's about 90W so more likely about 75W on the 5006.

Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

Also will AirPlay work off zone 2

Yes, although it must also be selected for the main zone as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #697 of 1989 Old 02-25-2012, 01:14 PM
Member
 
casino187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having trouble with compatibility issues with my graphics card(Radeon HD 2400 XT) in my HTPC. I think I"m going to buy a new one. Can anyone confirm a graphics card that is compatible with the SR6006, both audio and video via hdmi.

Please let me know what model graphics card you have?
casino187 is offline  
post #698 of 1989 Old 02-25-2012, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My 5006 will not turn on and the stand by light is blinking red what is wrong

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #699 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 03:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by casino187 View Post

I'm having trouble with compatibility issues with my graphics card(Radeon HD 2400 XT) in my HTPC. I think I"m going to buy a new one. Can anyone confirm a graphics card that is compatible with the SR6006, both audio and video via hdmi.

Please let me know what model graphics card you have?

Another option besides swapping out graphics cards is to add either an HDMI splitter or switch between the HTPC and the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #700 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 03:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by e84cooper View Post

My 5006 will not turn on and the stand by light is blinking red what is wrong

As noted in the troubleshooting section in your Owner's manual (p. 136), a flashing 2 sec light indicates a ventilation issue, while a flashing 1/2 sec light indicates either a speaker wire issue (touching another post and the most common culprit), running 4Ω speakers too loud, or amp failure.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #701 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I tried all that I live in a condo I haven't had it louder that -45. I'm hoping since I'm within 30 days a4l will exchange it

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #702 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 05:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^^
Make sure to really visually check behind the AVR very closely ... pull it out of the stand if you have to ... to ensure not even a single wire from one post is touching another post. If still no joy, then disconnect all speaker wire connections and see if the AVR shuts down. If yes, return it. If no, then rewire one speaker at a time to check for a short in a speaker.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #703 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I did all of that again. Mark @ a4l emailed me and said to contact marantz in the morning and they will exchange it for no charge! So I guess the first begins @ 9

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #704 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 10:54 AM
Member
 
casino187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Another option besides swapping out graphics cards is to add either an HDMI splitter or switch between the HTPC and the AVR.

Does this fix the problem? why?
casino187 is offline  
post #705 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 01:46 PM
Member
 
nat120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the power consumption for the SR6006 650 watts?
nat120 is offline  
post #706 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 04:25 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by casino187 View Post

Does this fix the problem? why?

In some instances, yes, as the issue is the EDID being read incorrectly by the video card in the HTPC which the switch/splitter is able to resolve.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #707 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 04:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by nat120 View Post

Is the power consumption for the SR6006 650 watts?

Actual power consumption is more likely to be closer to 85W on average.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #708 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:17 PM
Member
 
chas1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


Actual power consumption is more likely to be closer to 85W on average.

85W per channel seems pretty good compared to some other brands so called 100W receivers.
chas1723 is online now  
post #709 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

that's not what he said...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #710 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:27 PM
Member
 
chas1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
85W total?
chas1723 is online now  
post #711 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

nope again...

he said "consumption"... which should be a reminder to people that they don't use nearly as much power as they think they do...

it may very well put out 85wpc, i have no idea, but that sounds like a reasonable number.... also keep in mind, all channel driven tests have no analogy in "real world usage... there aren't any soundtracks that contain only pure sine waves going to all the channels at the same time....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #712 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:37 PM
Member
 
chas1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess you can tell that I am a newb at all this.
chas1723 is online now  
post #713 of 1989 Old 02-26-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

all of us were once... if you read jd's posts regularly though, before you know it, you'll be an expert...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #714 of 1989 Old 02-27-2012, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I talked to marantz first thing this morning and emailed all the paper work they asked for so I hope I'm get my receiver back soon

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #715 of 1989 Old 02-28-2012, 09:54 AM
Member
 
levatator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've chased down the issue I described on page 23, thought I'd share what I've learned in case others run into the same thing... The video noise turned out to be some type of interaction between the internal wifi feature of the ps3 and the 6006 (I have till now been connected wirelessly from the ps3 to the Internet). Connecting the ps3 via Ethernet to my router eliminates the video noise all together as does bypassing the receiver altogether, ps3-hdmi-projector (which of course means no GUI or hdmi switching so not a desirable fix). So now my ps3 is online via Ethernet to my router, problem solved... But I'm still curious as to why this might happen. Is this something anyone has seen before? If the ps3 had component outputs (which it does not) would I still see the noise when using wifi and routed through the receiver via component? Or is this only an hdmi thing? Might an oppo w/ it's external wireless unit avoid this issue?
levatator is offline  
post #716 of 1989 Old 02-28-2012, 12:13 PM
Member
 
bryster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me how to set the receiver to HDMI passthrough? I've looked in the manual but can't find how to do it?

LG 50PZ950T | Panasonic DMP-BD55 | Marantz SR-6006 | Mission M35i Floorstanders | B&W HTM2 Centre | Mission 77DS Rears | B&W DS6 THX Rears | Paradigm PS-1000 Sub | PS3 Slim 320GB |
bryster is offline  
post #717 of 1989 Old 02-28-2012, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
RDHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryster View Post

Can anyone tell me how to set the receiver to HDMI passthrough? I've looked in the manual but can't find how to do it?

Make sure you have Network Standby on.
RDHolmes is offline  
post #718 of 1989 Old 02-28-2012, 01:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryster View Post

Can anyone tell me how to set the receiver to HDMI passthrough? I've looked in the manual but can't find how to do it?

Set to ON and to the HDMI jack your source is plugged in to (5006 - p. 97, 6006 - p. 110).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #719 of 1989 Old 02-29-2012, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
kornephil0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JD, how do I get to pp 97 for the sr5006? Also one more ? When I'm trying to calibrate my speakers the little winder just says "Look at your tv screen and nothing else, I need help with this. And I love this thing!

Thanks much
Phil
kornephil0 is offline  
post #720 of 1989 Old 03-01-2012, 01:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,066
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^^
You should have gotten a CD with the 5006 which holds a .pdf version of the Owner's manual. Open the file on the CD and go to p. 97. Otherwise, you can download the .pdf file from the Marantz website. Do you have the AVR connected via HDMI to a TV/display?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off