Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 2003 Old 03-07-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
taz101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
1. Video Conversion and Video Upscaling are two different processes. This simply means that an HDMI signal is passed through to HDMI (ie. no down downconversion to analog).
2. HDMI only as is also the case with the Denon XX12 AVRs without a video chip (eg. Denon 1912).
3. Web Control (p. 76).

Thank you.

I realize that video conversion and upscaling are two different things. When Marantz calls it "video UP conversion", it can be misleading, especially when there is no difference in the "product comparison" of the SR5006 and SR6006. There is actually a difference between the two, since the SR6006 actually has a video chip, but the product comparison does not do a good of showing this difference.
taz101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 2003 Old 03-07-2012, 07:01 AM
Member
 
taz101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
3. Web Control (p. 76).

That's what I get for looking for this feature in the Table of Contents on page 1!

After looking at web control, this negates the need for a secondary display. Awesome! I will simply keep my tablet docking station on top of my receiver.
taz101 is offline  
post #753 of 2003 Old 03-07-2012, 07:27 PM
Member
 
cdub5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've searched this topic, and done some research, but still feel as though I'm looking for my answer. Sorry if this has been beaten to death, but is there any substantial pluses, advantages to the sr7005 in comparison to the sr6006? Some sites have the specs all wrong for the 6006. I know this cuz I have one. I'm still in. a thirty day return window on it, and wondering if it's worth the added $4-500 more. Is it true the 7005 doesn't have multiple zones? Currently using with klipsch reference 82ii and 62ii, and some tiny Yamaha surrounds, if that makes any difference in the advice. I went for marantz to "warm" up my speakers a little.
cdub5 is offline  
post #754 of 2003 Old 03-07-2012, 07:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yes, the sr7005 has zones...

no, it (or any other avr, ftm) will not "warm up" your speakers...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #755 of 2003 Old 03-11-2012, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Lindrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hey. im about to buy the sr6006. can anyone tell me if its passive cooled or has an active fan?
Lindrian is offline  
post #756 of 2003 Old 03-11-2012, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
RDHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindrian View Post

hey. im about to buy the sr6006. can anyone tell me if its passive cooled or has an active fan?

I have an SR6006 and I believe that there is no fan.

Bob Holmes
Curmudgeon
RDHolmes is offline  
post #757 of 2003 Old 03-11-2012, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
There isn't one in my sr 5006.

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #758 of 2003 Old 03-11-2012, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Lindrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you guys. All I needed to hear! Its supposed to be almost identical to AVR-3312 and it has no fan.
Lindrian is offline  
post #759 of 2003 Old 03-12-2012, 08:59 AM
Member
 
taz101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently upgraded from a Denon AVR-1909, and here are my initial thoughts on my upgrade from the 1909.

Pros:
1) MultEQ XT is a really nice improvement from MultEQ.
2) Additional power is nice for driving my Infinity Cascades.
3) It's feature set is similar to the Denon AVR-2112, but the beefier power output (and heavier weight) does give it a one up on it's cousin. It also adds an additional subwoofer preout, and additional analog audio/video inputs. It is way better than the AVR-2112 in all aspects, BUT it cannot compete with the AVR-2312 for features.

Cons:
1) Denon/Marantz seeme to have really cut some corners with quality since my last Denon purchase. Everyone of my "cons" is related to how the Marantz name is supposed to be of higher quality, but really does very little to give the owner this impression.
1a) My AVR-1909 came with two remotes (primary, and secondary zone remotes), but the Marantz only came with the primary remote. Also, the Marantz remote seems "cheap" and lacking in quality.
1b) Removal of the switched AC outlets is inexcusable for a "Marantz" brand.
1c) Although the "portal" display on the Marantz seems more elegant and audiophile like, it is one more way to cut cost under the guise of being elegant.
1d) For Marantz, a paper manual should be a requirement. Again, the Marantz line is supposed to be of higher quality than the Denon. Is it really worth saving a couple bucks to exclude the manual, and cheapen the Marantz experience? No.


Not a pro or a con, but I would like to point out that my old Denon AVR-1909 weighed 25.4lbs, and was rated for 90W/channel. The SR5006 weighs 25.6lbs and is rated for 100W/channel. Is the fact that the SR5006 can pump out more watts with a simlar weight a testement to a more efficient power design, or are they cutting corners again? I will give Denon/Marantz the benefit of a doubt on this one. I will go ahead and say they have a more efficient design!

In short, I don't feel a buyer should pay a premium for the Marantz name, unless you want something "between" it's Denon cousins. The SR5006 is a much better receiver than it's cousin the AVR-2112ci (more power, additional sub preout, more analog AV inputs, detachable power cord, beefier power output, heavier, etc.), but it cannot stand up to the feature set of the AVR-2312ci (video scaler, front HDMI, improved GUI, etc.). If video scaling and GUI is of no importance, but power and sound is, the SR5006 is the best choice between 2112ci, and 2113ci. It is for this reason I choose the SR5006 over the other two. The MSRP is rightfully priced somewhere between the two Denon offerings.
taz101 is offline  
post #760 of 2003 Old 03-12-2012, 09:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
^^
The 5006 vs. 2112CI are fairly comparable as the power difference is too small to make a difference and the additional sub preout can easily be replicated with a $3 "Y" splitter from Radio Shack. The 5006 does offer a few more legacy inputs as well as FL/FR preouts which would be the biggest feature difference if needed.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #761 of 2003 Old 03-12-2012, 06:14 PM
Member
 
gixerking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by levatator View Post

I've chased down the issue I described on page 23, thought I'd share what I've learned in case others run into the same thing... The video noise turned out to be some type of interaction between the internal wifi feature of the ps3 and the 6006 (I have till now been connected wirelessly from the ps3 to the Internet). Connecting the ps3 via Ethernet to my router eliminates the video noise all together as does bypassing the receiver altogether, ps3-hdmi-projector (which of course means no GUI or hdmi switching so not a desirable fix). So now my ps3 is online via Ethernet to my router, problem solved... But I'm still curious as to why this might happen. Is this something anyone has seen before? If the ps3 had component outputs (which it does not) would I still see the noise when using wifi and routed through the receiver via component? Or is this only an hdmi thing? Might an oppo w/ it's external wireless unit avoid this issue?



have you tried leaving the ps3 hooked to the receiver via HDMI after going hard wire to internet? mine is HDMI to receiver and hard wired to internet with zero issues. in fact, going hard wired is a good thing as the ps3 limits DL speed to like 2.5Mbs if using wireless with a secured network. i found that out prior to getting the 6006 and did the fun task of running ethernet cable through insulated walls and the attic to the ps3 in the living room and the ps3 in the basement but alas i now have full speed back on a secure network.
gixerking is offline  
post #762 of 2003 Old 03-13-2012, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Scoly1119's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just set up a sr6006 and am having a problem with the second hdmi out. It goes to a bedroom tv and when the main room tv is on there is video but no volume at the bedroom tv. When I put the receiver in standby volume is fine in the bedroom.
Feel sure this is a setting somewhere but I am not able to find it.
Thanks
Steve
Scoly1119 is offline  
post #763 of 2003 Old 03-13-2012, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
ma_rantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone solve the problem as hoovie59 and some others described it. The Firmware-Update did not finish correctly - after a restart, the sr6006 gets into a "update retry"-loop. Nothing I tried so far helped me out. Restart, reset, configuration through a browser etc. Anyone a solution for this? Funny thing - when I connect to the 6006 through my browser, the receiver tells me "update firmware latest". It seems, that the update worked - however, the "update-retry"-loop stays and I can do nothing with my receiver.

thanks,
k
ma_rantz is offline  
post #764 of 2003 Old 03-13-2012, 12:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
^^
Have you tried unplugging the power from the AVR for about 10 minutes and then plugging back in and powering on again?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #765 of 2003 Old 03-13-2012, 12:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoly1119 View Post

Just set up a sr6006 and am having a problem with the second hdmi out. It goes to a bedroom tv and when the main room tv is on there is video but no volume at the bedroom tv. When I put the receiver in standby volume is fine in the bedroom.
Feel sure this is a setting somewhere but I am not able to find it.
Thanks
Steve

The setting (p. 109) can be set to either "AMP" (default) or "TV" but not both at the same time and applies to both monitor out jacks. You'll either need to go into the menu and change this setting when you want audio to your bedroom TV or add an HDMI switch between the source you want to pass to the bedroom and the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #766 of 2003 Old 03-14-2012, 02:58 AM
Newbie
 
ma_rantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. I tried unplugging it (about 5 days cause I went away). But today I solved it after 2 weeks of trying... there seems to be a "hard-hard-reset". I turned the receiver on, pushed and held m-dax+display, turned it off, and after that again on (with m-dax+display pushed). after that, the display blinked a few times and everything worked fine. the update-retry-loop did not show up again! i don´t know, but it was trial and error. even on the marantz-hotline they did not know the "hard-hard-reset" option. they told me a combination which just reloaded the settings of the amp from the memory ;( .
ma_rantz is offline  
post #767 of 2003 Old 03-14-2012, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
rxheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz101 View Post

Thank you.

I realize that video conversion and upscaling are two different things. When Marantz calls it "video UP conversion", it can be misleading, especially when there is no difference in the "product comparison" of the SR5006 and SR6006. There is actually a difference between the two, since the SR6006 actually has a video chip, but the product comparison does not do a good of showing this difference.

I, too, was misled by the web site. I decided to stick with the SR5006 anyway even after I found out it didn't upscale, simply because I decided it wasn't a deal-breaker for me (would just have been nice if their disclosure was much more straight foward and less misleading).
rxheaven is offline  
post #768 of 2003 Old 03-14-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Hoovie59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ma_rantz, glad you were able to figure yours out, the customer support team was unable to help me and just said it pointed to a faulty network card. I ended up returning mine for another sr6006 and the new one worked right away but glad your method worked, I reset mine but not like that when I was trying to fix it.

There is no replacement for displacement
Hoovie59 is offline  
post #769 of 2003 Old 03-14-2012, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
depoca25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchased a Marantz SR500 this summer and lately it has been acting by distorting on every decoding mode except stereo. All sources are HDMI and all have the same problems. Tyically distorted sound appears after 5 minutes then sound atteuation occurs as well. Any suggestions?
depoca25 is offline  
post #770 of 2003 Old 03-14-2012, 06:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
^^
Is the distortion from all speakers or just a few? First try unplugging the AVR for a few minutes. If still no joy, then try resetting the microprocessor (p. 140).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #771 of 2003 Old 03-16-2012, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bigjoexxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just picked up the 5006 from best buy yesterday for only $649!! But my plan overall was to get the 6006 but I just couldn't pass up the sale price on the 5006. Now my my question I wanna ask everyone is it really worth the extra 500 dollars for the 6006? I'm just curious to know if 6006 sound better than the 5006??
bigjoexxl is offline  
post #772 of 2003 Old 03-16-2012, 12:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
^^
Not likely no, as they both feature Audyssey MultEQ XT, rather the 6006 offers a few more features (eg. 1080p upscaling, dual HDMI monitor outputs, full set of preouts, Zone 3, 12v DC trigger). Although you can get the 6006 for $100 more as a refurb ....

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...ir-Play/1.html

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #773 of 2003 Old 03-16-2012, 09:25 PM
Member
 
cdub5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very strange occurrences with my 6006. When ever the light switch in the kitchen is turned on, a rectangular, transparent, white box flashes on my TV screen. When that same switch is turned off, the screen goes black, and then says there is no hdmi input connected. The no hdmi connected issue also happens sporadically, even without the light switch being touched. I still get volume with the black screen, just no picture. To quickly remedy this, I have to change the source on the receiver, then change it back. This issue never happened before with my Yamaha receiver. The receiver is plugged into a power strip in my TV room, about 30 ish feet away from switch in kitchen. Weird.
cdub5 is offline  
post #774 of 2003 Old 03-17-2012, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Lindrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I got my SR6006. Fantastic machine. However, there is a constant high pitched hissing sound coming from the receiver. The noise is there until I remove the power cord. It's louder when its in stand by than when its running. I can hear it everywhere in my room, if I listen for it, which I seem to constantly do ever since I started noticing it.

What is this? Has anybody else heard it? If you put your ear against the receiver, do you hear any sound? My Onkyo TX-SR605 was dead silent...
Lindrian is offline  
post #775 of 2003 Old 03-18-2012, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
FredrikI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, awesome board, long time lurker, first time poster.

I have a problem with my Marantz sr6006.

Everytime when I start the receiver to see a movie, play video games, watch Apple TV etc, and select the source I want the receiver first change everything to the selected source, sets the resolution etc, but after 10 seconds or so it switches it back to TV (ARC on). Then I have to select source again and after that it stays on the selected source as it should.

What am I doing wrong?

I've been digging around in the menu for some kind of option where it says that the TV (ARC) source is the main source or something like that, but I can't find it. And the TV box is turned off so I just don't get why the avr is doing this, if it's trying to be helpfull by auto switching it should select the only source that is turned on.
FredrikI is offline  
post #776 of 2003 Old 03-18-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredrikI View Post

Hi everyone, awesome board, long time lurker, first time poster.

I have a problem with my Marantz sr6006.

Everytime when I start the receiver to see a movie, play video games, watch Apple TV etc, and select the source I want the receiver first change everything to the selected source, sets the resolution etc, but after 10 seconds or so it switches it back to TV (ARC on). Then I have to select source again and after that it stays on the selected source as it should.

What am I doing wrong?

I've been digging around in the menu for some kind of option where it says that the TV (ARC) source is the main source or something like that, but I can't find it. And the TV box is turned off so I just don't get why the avr is doing this, if it's trying to be helpfull by auto switching it should select the only source that is turned on.

To start with I'd try tuning off HDMI Control / CEC off on your TV And the Marantz.

I think that will also disable ARC, but should fix the issue of sources changing back to TV.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #777 of 2003 Old 03-18-2012, 11:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredrikI View Post

I've been digging around in the menu for some kind of option where it says that the TV (ARC) source is the main source or something like that, but I can't find it. And the TV box is turned off so I just don't get why the avr is doing this, if it's trying to be helpfull by auto switching it should select the only source that is turned on.

With ARC enabled on your TV, anytime the TV is on, the TV also becomes a source. You have several options: (1) Continue changing the source back to your desired source after the AVR goes to TV, (2) Only set HDMI-CEC (TV) or HDMI Control (AVR) to ON when you want to use that feature, or (3) connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR instead of using ARC over HDMI with no change in audio quality.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #778 of 2003 Old 03-18-2012, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
FredrikI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

With ARC enabled on your TV, anytime the TV is on, the TV also becomes a source. You have several options: (1) Continue changing the source back to your desired source after the AVR goes to TV, (2) Only set HDMI-CEC (TV) or HDMI Control (AVR) to ON when you want to use that feature, or (3) connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR instead of using ARC over HDMI with no change in audio quality.

Thanks! Didn't think of that.
Sounds like the first option is the best though. Optical creates lag/delay on my TV, it's too slow I guess, and the TV can't output surround over optical. But I'll experiment a bit now that I know where the problem is.
FredrikI is offline  
post #779 of 2003 Old 03-19-2012, 06:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
^^
If the TV is outputting DD 5.1 at all, it's more than likely capable of doing it over the optical cable than over over HDMI (ARC) as most TV's limit ARC audio to PCM 2.0.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #780 of 2003 Old 03-19-2012, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
hidefpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I am helping a friend set up the 6006, I want the Pioneer BDP 53 to send the signal to the 6006 and have the 6006 send the signal to a Panasonic VT25.
Now, I want that signal to be in its purest form, no scaling/conversion or tampering of the HDMI signal on the 6006. If I understood the manual correctly on pg 95 I should set:

Video Convert = OFF
i/p Scaler = OFF

Can someone who is 100% sure of this reply. Are these the correct settings to pass HDMI video "untouched", or is there still a setting that I am overlooking.Paul
hidefpaul is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr5006 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off