Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1988 Old 06-11-2012, 06:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Network Standby needs to be ON as noted in the Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1988 Old 06-11-2012, 08:52 PM
Member
 
bym051d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Network Standby needs to be ON as noted in the Owner's manual.

Yes, network standby is on. I'll try the steps in the Denon thread.
bym051d is offline  
post #1083 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Ratamacue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently purchased the 5006 a couple days ago and so far its been great. Easy setup and everything just works. There's a lot to digest and I'm trying to work thru all the settings. Its my first time with Audyssey (like is so far). I also love the on screen GUI as opposed to just the typical receiver's display.

Anyway, I have searched google and this thread etc.. but cannot find info on how to access a shared music folder? Sorry if its been covered and if there is a thread/link I'll gladly read it.

Brief setup info:
- I have a win7 x64 wkst

- Comcast DVR

- Brand new Netgear dual band wireless router

- Panny plasma

- Panny BD player

- Everything is HDMI

- 5.1 spkr config

- Airplay works => note, make sure to TURN DOWN the iTunes volume before sending to the AVR. I almost blew up the house..Ooy. Still don't know if I damaged any speakers Arghh.

- I attached a ext HD to the router via usb (there is a usb port on the router) and the Marantz found it no problem That seemed pretty slick and may use the usb/router method but want to get this shared folder option to work though.

- I shared my music folder on the wkst => tried the "Share with Homegroup" method as well as the standard RMB, Folder, Properties, Sharing etc..

I'm not sure how the AVR is supposed to "see it" per se (unless I missed it the manual does cover this)

Thoughts?

Thanks again.
Ratamacue is offline  
post #1084 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 10:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Try the tip suggested here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread#user_L6

and item (h) just below it.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1085 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. Quick question. I have the SR6006 and it has the Dsd neural surround . My question is, my oppo bdp93 can send out Dsd or PCM , which should I use ? The people at oppo told me that the SR6006 can not take a true DSD signal so since either way I will be stuck with lossy audio which should I let downgrade the signal?
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1086 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 11:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Although the newer 6007 can decode DSD, the 6006 cannot, so you'll need to set the Oppo to PCM.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1087 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

why do you think it will be "lossy"? a dsd to pcm conversion isn't lossy...

what is "dsd neural surround"? are you sure you don't mean "dts neural surround"?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1088 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 11:49 AM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^
why do you think it will be "lossy"? a dsd to pcm conversion isn't lossy...
what is "dsd neural surround"? are you sure you don't mean "dts neural surround"?

If you look at the product page on Marantz for the SR 6006 it says for SACD it is DSD capable however labeled Neural.
From my understanding of SACD streaming DSD direct would be equal to 192/24 however when it is down converted my SR6006 is only playing a rate of 88/24.
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1089 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 11:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
If you are referring to the spec page below ....

96

What that is saying is "-" (or no) to the DSD (SA-CD) feature and "yes" to the NEURAL part, however, AFAIK it'a actually an error as only the higher series 7005 features DD Neural, not the 6006.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1090 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:01 PM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you are referring to the spec page below ....
96
What that is saying is "-" (or no) to the DSD (SA-CD) feature and "yes" to the NEURAL part, however, AFAIK it'a actually an error as only the higher series 7005 features DD Neural, not the 6006.

Ok thanks for clearing that up for me. I had the oppo set to DSD and it would still play so I thought that is what the neural part was because it would then give me new surround options such as dts neo 6 88khz etc.
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1091 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
While the audio is playing, go to INFORMATION ---> AUDIO INPUT SIGNAL and check what the input signal type is as it's most likely a PCM signal.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1092 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yup... the player is determining that the avr cannot accept a dsd signal, so even though he is attempting to force the player to send dsd, it is decimating before sending....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1093 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:21 PM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So once I set the Oppo to PCM and still using only the HDMI cable will I see my rates go up to 192? The people at Oppo told me that I won't but since the response that I got here I am thinking that the rates should be the same and there should be no loss in the conversion?
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1094 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

no, oppo players decimate dsd to 24/88.2.... some players will decimate at a higher sampling rate...

as 16/44.1 (redbook cd) is transparent, anything above that is "equally transparent".... you can't get "more transparent"...

do not confuse decimation from dsd to pcm with lossy encoding (i.e. dd, dts, mp3, etc.)... it is not the same thing....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1095 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 12:39 PM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok thanks so all in all I am getting the same quality that a receiver that can accept DSD would put out? That is my main concern . As long as it is the same quality then I am good and I don't have to exchange the receiver for a better one. Thanks again for your help.
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1096 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

my avr will accept and process dsd... i decimate to pcm in the oppo... although i don't have the "best" system in the world, it's fair to say it's more than adequate...

you'll be fine... smile.gif

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #1097 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Ratamacue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Try the tip suggested here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread#user_L6
and item (h) just below it.

Thanks for the info / link. Lots of good info there.

I followed the instructions in "H" from that link and I assume the main part for me was the Netgear piece (I am hardwired to the router which BTW is a Netgear N600). So I disabled the Upnp but then the 5006 couldn't access it as before (it still could get internet radio). E,g, When I go to NET/USB on the AVR and then "Media Server" it said "Ready DLNA:WNDR3700 - Not Authorized". (Ready DLNA:WNDR3700 is the router's USB media servers name, which is enabled)

Before with Upnp enabled, I would go to the AVR's NET/USB > "Media Server" and select "Ready DLNA...." and it would list available resources in the form of "folders":
-Browse
-Music
-Pictures

When I go into any of these folders, they would be empty (obviously)

Just to note on my wkst, I typically log in as a normal user w/o admin rights. I only use the admin acct to perfrom admin stuff etc..

I then re-enabled Upnp, and the 5006 worked as before. So obviously the only thing the 5006 sees on the network is the routers USB "media server" functionality. Its weird that Airplay saw the 5006 right away. Thoughts?
Ratamacue is offline  
post #1098 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 02:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
So you're saying the suggestion didn't work. Perhaps another owner can chime in with a suggestion?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1099 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Ratamacue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
So you're saying the suggestion didn't work. Perhaps another owner can chime in with a suggestion?

Yes, its not working. Sorry if I was unclear. From the AVR's NET/USB menu, when I go to "Media Server" it only lists the routers "USB/Media Server" resource. I assume if it saw my worksations shared music folder it would list it there as well?

I did however, log in as admin, and double check the share etc.. I re-applied the permissions (RMB>Properties>Adv Sharing>Permissions) and added "everyone" with read access. I also went into the Homegroup advanced sharing on enabled "media streaming". It error'd out initially since I had those services disabled. I may have a service disabled that might be the cause as I tend to lock wkst's down tight.

Although I'm not real familiar with WIn7 "Homegroup Sharing" model its unclear to me if that is the key here or just straight forward Windows file sharing e.g. \\computer\folder and setting NTFS permissions. Meaning is there a differene between "Home Sharing" and the normal sharing.

Still investigating..Thanks again
Ratamacue is offline  
post #1100 of 1988 Old 06-13-2012, 07:18 PM
Member
 
nat120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question on the DSD(SA-CD) my Marantz UD7006 can out put 24/192 but my SR6006 can only play 24/88. If I was going the option of analog inputs and outs for 5.1 am I getting a better sound/signal then running through HDMI? I am wondering if using the analog inputs it would be at the quality of D/A Conversion 192kHz/24-bit .

Also I have my receiver and blu ray player set up with 5.1 analog cables. The guy at Marantz said to utilize this option I need to change the Imput mode from HDIM or auto to Analog on the options. When I do this i get no sound but when I change the mode to 7.1 i get sound and it is very improved. Is this they way to utilize the analog connections instead of HDMI? You would think so as the analog inputs on the back of the reciever are labled 7.1? Did the Marantz tech give me bad advice. I cannot get anything to play through the analog mode. If the unit is working fine what is the analog mode for ?
nat120 is offline  
post #1101 of 1988 Old 06-14-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Audyssey room correction cannot be applied to the multichannel analog inputs: they bypass all digital processing.
Audyssey usually makes much more of an improvement to what you hear than using analog connections can.

Edited to add:
Normally the analog inputs are used with older disc players which do not have HDMI outputs. Studios using SACD and DVD-A originally allowed players to use only analog signals in order to prevent pirates from recording bit-perfect bootleg copies. HDMI/HDCP encrypts the data to prevent copying. Analog audio enthusiasts continue to use analog connections in the belief that any digital processing can only damage the sound. Digital audio enthusiasts believe that properly implemented digital processing can improve the sound. Unproductive arguments ensue. (I'm in the latter camp.)

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1102 of 1988 Old 06-14-2012, 06:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nat120 View Post

Also I have my receiver and blu ray player set up with 5.1 analog cables. The guy at Marantz said to utilize this option I need to change the Imput mode from HDIM or auto to Analog on the options. When I do this i get no sound but when I change the mode to 7.1 i get sound and it is very improved. Is this they way to utilize the analog connections instead of HDMI? You would think so as the analog inputs on the back of the reciever are labled 7.1? Did the Marantz tech give me bad advice. I cannot get anything to play through the analog mode. If the unit is working fine what is the analog mode for ?

You're not getting any sound because the "Analog" setting refers to the 2CH analog inputs. In order to use the 7.1 analog inputs you need to select the "7.1 CH IN" setting; however, as seldon notes, you are much better served using HDMI so you can enable Audyssey MultEQ XT.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1103 of 1988 Old 06-15-2012, 07:05 AM
Member
 
-SNUKE-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just installed the SR6006 and like many on here and everywhere else, I have this bloody Firmware update issue.
That is, it tells me there is an available update, but it then sits on Authenticating for hours on end with no change.
I have done both Hard & Microprocessor resets (before finding out about the Web Control back up feature), restarted everything (AVR, Billion 7800N router).
It is wired direct via a CAT6 cable, Airplay, Internet radio and Media Server functions all work correctly.

I have tried Network Standby On & Off.
After one reset I went straight to Firmware download (rather than Check), and it failed to connect.
Every time I have Checked, it says there is a new one available and it will take approximately 32mins.

I have set up a static IP, and made sure that ports 80, 443, 3813, 5020 & 8080 are open to it as per an earlier post.

I still just stuck at Authenticating.
Is there a definitive way to get this fixed, or should I just ignore the update and turn that prompting feature off?
-SNUKE- is offline  
post #1104 of 1988 Old 06-15-2012, 07:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Welcome to AVS Forum. smile.gif

Be sure to try the following:

Network Standby - OFF, cycle AVR OFF/ON, then try the SAVE

if no joy,

Network Standby - OFF, cycle AVR OFF/ON, set Network Standby back to ON, then try the SAVE

If still no joy, try a few repeated resets, otherwise give Marantz a call.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1105 of 1988 Old 06-15-2012, 11:00 AM
Member
 
sumbadhatharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello again everyone , ran into a snag with the whole DSD PCM setting on my Oppo. When I set it to PCM the Marantz is showing a signal rate of 44. I only get the higher rate of 88 when I send a DSD signal. Also if I go ahead and buy the analog cables to run to the receiver would that be better for SACD , and if so anyone have the Oppo and can comment on if it can be set to only use the analog for SACD and not blu-ray ?
sumbadhatharry is offline  
post #1106 of 1988 Old 06-15-2012, 03:54 PM
Member
 
-SNUKE-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If still no joy, try a few repeated resets, otherwise give Marantz a call.

Thanks, I had tried various iterations several times with no love.

Guess I will call Marantz on Monday, or send them an email now.
-SNUKE- is offline  
post #1107 of 1988 Old 06-16-2012, 01:18 PM
Member
 
nat120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have done a lot of research since my last few posts and a lot of listening tests. For movies I like the HDMI setup but for 2 channel music I like the analog imputs on the SR6006. I have it set up for 5.1 analog but use it mainly for 2 channel music. It definately sounds better in analog for music. I had 3 musican friends over and we all agreed that the analog in all aspects of low, mid, and highs.

My question is after reading the last 20 posts there has been a lot of questions about DSD. I have done some research on this topic. If you have a music player that can output DSD and a receiver that can receiver DSD audio you are getting the original signal from the disc. The only question I have is if you have a player that can output DSD and you run analog to your SR6006 are you getting the best signal analog wise? Or is it similar to HDMI where the receiver has to be able to accept it? I called Marantz and they informed me that analog is analog and as long as your dvd/cd player can output the signal it does not matter. What is your take
nat120 is offline  
post #1108 of 1988 Old 06-16-2012, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
DrOct's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^^
I assume by DSP you mean DSD right? I'm not sure I feel qualified to get into whether you're better off sending DSD or PCM to a receiver that can handle either one, I'm sure someone else is better able to explain the difference between the two digital schema's and all the different factors that might go into that.

As for whether Analog or HDMI will sound better in a more general sense, that's going to depend on both the receiver and player you're talking about. Basically, from what I understand it all depends on which device has the better digital to analog converter (DAC). If your player does a better job of converting from Digital (what's on the disc) to analog (what's ultimately going to be going to the speakers one way or the other) you may be happier with using the analog outputs from the player. If the receiver has the better DAC, then you're better off sending a digital signal from the player to the receiver (in this case over HDMI) and letting the receiver do the conversion from digital to analog (again, that's what's ultimately going to be sent to the speakers).

In your case it sounds like you like the way things sound letting your player do that digital conversion so you're probably better off doing that. Others with different players/receivers might have a different experience with that (or even people with the same combo might come to a different conclusion about the way they like things to sound).

I hope it goes without saying that whatever sounds best to YOU is always the most important standard!
DrOct is offline  
post #1109 of 1988 Old 06-16-2012, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
CLashway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with SR5006 and iPod. It worked for months, but for about a month the 5006 will not power up when I use the iPod. Network standby is set ON.

Normally, there would be a pronounced relay click when starting it up from the iPod. Now I don't get that sound.

If I use the 5006 remote to power on, then I hear the relay click and the music.

This problem definitely happened after I messed around with the 5006 settings getting a new input source working. However, I have no idea what I specifically did that caused this problem.

Note: The Airplay option on the iPod shows this receiver, which I think confirms the network standby is working.

I'm not 100% sure it is the 5006. Maybe something with the iPod. Except, another iPod stopped working as well.

Also, I've just updated the 5006 firmware, and the problem is the same.

Any help is appreciated.
CLashway is offline  
post #1110 of 1988 Old 06-16-2012, 06:00 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,775
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
First try simply unplugging the AVR for about 10 minutes. If still no joy, try resetting the microprocessor.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off