Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 68 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2011 of 2030 Old 09-25-2014, 06:15 AM
Member
 
wookierookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie,
Can you elaborate a bit? What connection would I use to hard wire it? I assume since the ethernet port for both components will be occupied for network connections, I have to use USB? Thanks for the help!
wookierookie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2012 of 2030 Old 09-25-2014, 06:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
Correct. The AVR ethernet connection is to a router only, so either USB (or HDMI if available) must be used.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2013 of 2030 Old 09-25-2014, 08:44 AM
Member
 
wookierookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would prefer HDMI. Having trouble finding a NAS with HDMI out. Guess I should be looking more for a media player/NAS combo? Any recommendations?
wookierookie is offline  
post #2014 of 2030 Old 09-25-2014, 09:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
None, from me. No. However, there is likely a dedicated thread elsewhere on this forum (ie. outside of the Receivers, Amps, and Processors) where you can get some suggestions.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2015 of 2030 Old 09-26-2014, 09:18 PM
Member
 
wookierookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, so audio is playing great through the USB port, but the video won't play. I'm trying to play h.264 (.mp4 file), and the audio is very jumpy, and no video. What am I doing wrong?
wookierookie is offline  
post #2016 of 2030 Old 09-29-2014, 05:28 AM
Member
 
voodoo2crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sorry,this may have been covered before but I did a search and can’t find anything specific to my problem. I have a 6006 and hard wired it to my linksy router that is attached to a hughesnet modem. All other devices in the home are running wireless connections from the Linksys router. I can get the 6006 to connect and play fine but I lose my wireless connection to the router. If I reset and get the wifi connection running again I lose the 6006 connection.
voodoo2crue is offline  
post #2017 of 2030 Old 10-05-2014, 05:24 AM
Member
 
justinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turning On - Perplexed

I have a strange problem that is intermittent. I have two 6006s; one in the living room and one in the bedroom. On three occasions, the one in the living room turned itself on early in the morning (5 this morning - 6 on the other two). It turns on to the last station I was listening to on the internet radio even though when I turned it off, it was on HDMI 3 (Sat). Has anyone had this problem? What should I look for? The one in the bedroom does not do this.

Justin

Panasonic 50" Plasma TC-P50-GT30
Panasonic 58" Plasma TC-P58V10
Panasonic Blu Ray Player DMP-BDT 210 and 110
Marantz SR6006 (2)
Aperion Verus Grand Speakers

justinto is offline  
post #2018 of 2030 Old 10-05-2014, 05:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
Quote:
Originally Posted by wookierookie View Post
OK, so audio is playing great through the USB port, but the video won't play. I'm trying to play h.264 (.mp4 file), and the audio is very jumpy, and no video. What am I doing wrong?
Nothing. USB is audio only.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2019 of 2030 Old 10-05-2014, 05:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinto View Post
I have a strange problem that is intermittent. I have two 6006s; one in the living room and one in the bedroom. On three occasions, the one in the living room turned itself on early in the morning (5 this morning - 6 on the other two). It turns on to the last station I was listening to on the internet radio even though when I turned it off, it was on HDMI 3 (Sat). Has anyone had this problem? What should I look for? The one in the bedroom does not do this.
Each unit will respond to the same remote as well as phone remote apps.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2020 of 2030 Old 10-12-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
justinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has nothing to do with a remote. The last two mornings, at 5 am, the unit turned itself on. This is spooky - I think Halloween is getting close. I checked my cellphone that has the app, but the app was connected to the other unit, so that was not it. I checked the setup on the unit and could not find any reason why. I unplugged it this morning, hopefully to cure it. I do not want to reset it yet, though I have a backup.

Justin

Panasonic 50" Plasma TC-P50-GT30
Panasonic 58" Plasma TC-P58V10
Panasonic Blu Ray Player DMP-BDT 210 and 110
Marantz SR6006 (2)
Aperion Verus Grand Speakers

justinto is offline  
post #2021 of 2030 Old 10-18-2014, 02:28 PM
Member
 
voodoo2crue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoo2crue View Post
Sorry,this may have been covered before but I did a search and can’t find anything specific to my problem. I have a 6006 and hard wired it to my linksy router that is attached to a hughesnet modem. All other devices in the home are running wireless connections from the Linksys router. I can get the 6006 to connect and play fine but I lose my wireless connection to the router. If I reset and get the wifi connection running again I lose the 6006 connection.

I got rid of the old Linksys wrtg54 and problem solved.
voodoo2crue is offline  
post #2022 of 2030 Old 10-23-2014, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
kemetblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Lately I have noticed that the sound from my 6006 isn't as loud as it used to be. I used to run the audio at a volume level between -50 and -40 and that would be plenty loud for tv show watching (Audyssey on, Dynamic Volume on Light). Now i need to crank it up to between -30 and -20 to get the same level. Same thing when watching blu-rays, i used to run it between -20 and -10 (Audyssey on, Dynamic Volume off), but now i have to crank it up to 0 (and 0 used to be much too loud for me). Has anyone had this issue?

I will most likely try a microprocessor reset this weekend, but would like to avoid it if possible because i hate having to re-run the Audyssey set up again.

HD-DVD: 55 / Blu-ray: 83
newest: Brotherhood of the Wolf / Battlestar Galactica (series), TDKR Part 2, Ip Man 2

 

AVR: Marantz SR6006

F/C/R: Polk RTi A9's / CSi A6 / Speakercraft AIMWIDE 3

Sub: SVS PB12-NSD

Samsung PN58C8000 Samsung BD-P2550, Toshiba HD-A30, SA 8240HDC, Xbox360 Elite, PS3, WDTV Live

kemetblk is offline  
post #2023 of 2030 Old 10-23-2014, 08:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
Confirm that Dynamic Volume is still turned on for that source (as it is source dependent).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2024 of 2030 Old 10-23-2014, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
kemetblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's set the same as it always has been. Its on on my cable input and off on my blu-ray input.

HD-DVD: 55 / Blu-ray: 83
newest: Brotherhood of the Wolf / Battlestar Galactica (series), TDKR Part 2, Ip Man 2

 

AVR: Marantz SR6006

F/C/R: Polk RTi A9's / CSi A6 / Speakercraft AIMWIDE 3

Sub: SVS PB12-NSD

Samsung PN58C8000 Samsung BD-P2550, Toshiba HD-A30, SA 8240HDC, Xbox360 Elite, PS3, WDTV Live

kemetblk is offline  
post #2025 of 2030 Old 10-24-2014, 02:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
Do a soft reset by simply unplugging the power cable for at least 10 minutes. If no joy, then a microprocessor reset.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2026 of 2030 Old 10-24-2014, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BD to SR6006 - multiple connections

All,
I have Pioneer BD Player connected to SR6006 via HDMI cable and the ‘HDMI Control’ function is activated as it's really helpful.
Recently, my wife bought a Karaoke set. It’s equipped with RCA connectors only and you plug it to any BD/DVD player on one side and the amplifier on the other side. The instrumental music comes from DVD via RCA in connector, the vocal from the microphone is added on top of it and all together is sent via RCA out to the amplifier.
My wife requested to connect the Karaoke to SR6006 for better experience so I plugged Karaoke RCA connectors to BD player outputs and to SR6006 inputs. Finally I renamed one of SR6006 inputs to ‘Karaoke’ and assigned appropriate RCA connectors to it.
So at the end of the day there is HDMI connection from BD player to SR6006 (named ‘BD’) and parallel RCA connection from BD player via Kraoke set to to SR6006 (named ‘Karaoke’). My objective was to use ‘BD’ input (HDMI) when listening to music or watching video from DVD/BD and use ‘Kraoke’ input when my wife wants to sing karaoke. Unfortunately, when I SR6006 is switched to ‘Karaoke’ input and any function of BD player (e.g. play, pause, ffwd) is used then SR6006 switch the input to ‘BD’ (HDMI) automatically. I understand it's caused by HDMI Control signals but I'd prefer to not disable HDMI Control. Is there any way to tell SR6006 to use RCA only when ‘Karaoke’ input is selected?

Thanks
Maciej
maciejz is offline  
post #2027 of 2030 Old 10-24-2014, 04:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
Yes, connect the Karaoke RCA cables to the same source name used for the Blu Ray player (eg. BD) and change INPUT MODE to "Analog."

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2028 of 2030 Old 10-27-2014, 05:50 PM
Member
 
LeDelmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey, I need some feedback from everyone. I own a Marantz SR5008 and have been have issues with them. I say them because I have gone through three. The first was a SR5007 which lasted six months than the LCD went out. Got and exchange for the SR5008 "Only thing left" Which I had to pay the difference in cost. Got it home The amp was bad. Did another exchange for my current one and now this one's lcd screen is going out. Its actually happening the exact same way as the first.

So I am wondering if anyone else is having these issues because I dont think I want another Sr after all this. Was thinking about going with the NR or PM.

Or maybe Yamaha?
LeDelmo is offline  
post #2029 of 2030 Old 10-28-2014, 06:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1477 Post(s)
Liked: 1615
^^
As your issue now involves the SR5008, you would be better served posting in that Owner's thread; however, as your issue has crossed over model years, I would also suggest looking at a possible electrical issue (surge?) in your home.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2030 of 2030 Old 10-28-2014, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
BacHolz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeDelmo View Post
Hey, I need some feedback from everyone. I own a Marantz SR5008 and have been have issues with them. I say them because I have gone through three. The first was a SR5007 which lasted six months than the LCD went out. Got and exchange for the SR5008 "Only thing left" Which I had to pay the difference in cost. Got it home The amp was bad. Did another exchange for my current one and now this one's lcd screen is going out. Its actually happening the exact same way as the first.

So I am wondering if anyone else is having these issues because I dont think I want another Sr after all this. Was thinking about going with the NR or PM.

Or maybe Yamaha?
I cant speak directly to your experience, but as someone with three working Marantz products a 1060, 4240 and most recently my SR6005 (an earlier version of your current receiver). The earlier models have needed a few new lamps, caps and transistors over ~ 80 years of use but are all working splendidly. My current 6005 has also been a reliable part of my present HT. As has been suggested, replace the unit as needed, but I would look at external causes to explain the early demise of three receivers in a few short years.
BacHolz is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr5006 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off