Marantz SR5006 / Marantz SR6006 Receiver Thread - Page 71 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2108 Unread 07-20-2016, 02:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,743
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9422 Post(s)
Liked: 4362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEAyuso View Post
I've had an SR6006 for 4 years. It has started shutting itself off after a minute or two. Overheating? Bad part? Any ideas? The nearest repair center is 80+ miles away.
Check the speaker wiring as that is the most common cause (ie. a loose wire from one post touching another post). Otherwise, disconnect all sources and speakers and if the unit still shuts down, then more likely amp failure. Get an estimate for repair as it will likely run at least $200-$300.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2108 Unread Yesterday, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
CEAyuso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southern MD, USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Check the speaker wiring as that is the most common cause (ie. a loose wire from one post touching another post). Otherwise, disconnect all sources and speakers and if the unit still shuts down, then more likely amp failure. Get an estimate for repair as it will likely run at least $200-$300.
Thanks, JD. I did as you said and it looks like amp failure. The standby light is flashing red too. I think I'll save the money on the repair and use it to buy a new receiver.
CEAyuso is offline  
post #2103 of 2108 Unread Yesterday, 06:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,743
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9422 Post(s)
Liked: 4362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEAyuso View Post
Thanks, JD. I did as you said and it looks like amp failure. The standby light is flashing red too. I think I'll save the money on the repair and use it to buy a new receiver.
Give us (AVS) a call for suggestions on a new AVR as well as pricing and availability.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2104 of 2108 Unread Yesterday, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
CEAyuso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southern MD, USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Give us (AVS) a call for suggestions on a new AVR as well as pricing and availability.
Will do, thanks JD.
CEAyuso is offline  
post #2105 of 2108 Unread Today, 01:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

Many years ago I reviewed all the helpful advice here when I bought my SR5006. The amp has been brilliant for a few years now, but a new puppy may have disturbed the peace. Said puppy had chewed my front speaker cables and also the LAN cable. To the best of my knowledge the amp has not been used in this state. I re-cabled today and went through my usual checks. To my dismay when I select my BD player, my TV tells me that there's no source. I have no on screen amp options. If I power down and then power the BD, I can see the wallpaper for the BD briefly before it disappears, again telling me that the source is not connected. If I check the status on the TV it tells me that there is no HDMI4 input. The only HDMI input that works is the Apple TV. However, even that, if I select or change inputs can sometimes disappear. Powering the amp on and off resolves this.

I have performed an AMP reset using the Power, Zone Select and Display buttons, but this hasn't resolved the issue. All I've done is lost my setup...

I live too far from any local shop that could repair it and 3000km from the importer, so the idea of sending it off for repair doesn't make me happy. Does the community have any ideas that might help?

Clifford
Clifford Jones is online now  
post #2106 of 2108 Unread Today, 02:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,743
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9422 Post(s)
Liked: 4362
Best option is to upgrade to something more current.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2107 of 2108 Unread Today, 02:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'd love to, but money stops that.

I've tried another BD in the same and other HDMI slots and the symptoms are the same. Boot image appears for the BD player and then the HDMI input shuts down. If I plug the Apple TV into the same slot it works fine. Is there something unique about a BD HDMI output that would be causing it to shut down?
Clifford Jones is online now  
post #2108 of 2108 Unread Today, 03:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Resolved. Turned out to be a suspect HDMI input on the TV. For some reason the Apple TV would play perfectly through it, but selecting any input would cause the HDMI output/input to shut down.

Thanks.

CJ
Clifford Jones is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver , Marantz Sr6006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off