Replacing a 20 year old receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edc1591's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me start out by saying that I'm pretty good with wiring everything, but when it comes to Ohms and Wattage in terms of stereo equipment, I'm completely lost.

So, right now In my room I have a Technics SA-GX300 (from 1990 ) thats outputting audio to four speakers. Two of the speakers say 30 Watts and 6 Ohms on them, the other two say 4 Ohms and have no wattage rating on them.

Right now I input a turntable and a stereo cable switch box (the red and white cables). I have a bunch of various things plugged into the switch box just because I don't have enough inputs on the receiver.

The problem is that the receiver seems to be dying. Most of the time it will only output audio to the left or right. I think it has something to do with it being under powered because if I turn of two of the speakers (with the A/B switches), the others will work and vice-versa.

According to some this, my current Technics receiver gives 60 Watts per channel. I don't really know what that implies.

I would like to get a new receiver/amp just because this one is so old and its big and has lots of features that I don't need (radio, equalizer, etc.). I found this on Amazon, but I don't really know if that will be sufficient for my setup. In terms of inputs and outputs on the receiver, it's fine. I just don't know if 50 Watts per channel will be enough. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance for any help.
edc1591 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 09:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 390
That Audiosource doesnt have a turntable input which means you'd have to buy a phono amp.

You might want to get something like the Onkyo 8255 which has a phone input as well as other audio inputs. You don't have to use the tuner if you don't want.

http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-8255B.../dp/B001AMSPQI

Here is a clearance item in excellent condition for even less.
http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/it.../onkyo-tx-8255

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edc1591's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply! I wasn't really looking to spend that much. But aside from the turntable, would the amp that I posted work for my setup? Also, would I be able to buy a separate amp for the turntable at a later date if I ever needed to?

Plus, it's a pretty new turntable with a USB cable, so I could just play it through my computer.
edc1591 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Yeah, I guess you could. I was also trying to get you away from using that switchbox.

Sherwood makes a couple of receivers under $100.

The 4105 has 5 inputs but no phono input.
http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-RX-41.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

The 4109 has a phono input, better speaker terminals and a remote with bass/treble controls. Goes for $99.99 shipped.
http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-RX410.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

If you're using USB and your computer I guess the phone preamp doesn't matter. But they do sell those seperately if you ever need one.
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...s=phono+preamp

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edc1591's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think I could avoid the switch box. The receiver needs to be on one side of the room and all my inputs are on the other side, so it makes it easier to have just one long wire going across the room.
edc1591 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off