Please help! Question re: HK 3490. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-22-2011, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
askav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

I have a PS3 connected via toslink to the HK 3490. I de-selected the 5.1 channel audio output in the PS3 settings; it is only outputting 2-channel.

I am having some difficulty understanding how to select the toslink as a source. The HK 3490 manual and FAQ is absolutely no help at all.

It isn't clear to me what source I should be selecting, first of all. CD? Video 1? Those are all labeled on the back of the receiver as their own inputs, and they're all analog. Shouldn't the toslink connection be selectable as its own input?

The HK 3490 website says to press and hold the front panel source selector while tapping the T-Mon button to scroll through inputs. Well, I did this on every source available to select optical. The screen will flash optical once or twice, then go back to analog. I don't even know which source I should be selecting for this.

Please help?
askav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-30-2011, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 2,496
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 324
You are switching to optical correctly but it is displaying analog because your source (PS3) is not sending a signal. The optical should work once you actually start playing content from the PS3.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."
postrokfan is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-30-2011, 06:59 PM
Member
 
ducky6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by postrokfan View Post
You are switching to optical correctly but it is displaying analog because your source (PS3) is not sending a signal. The optical should work once you actually start playing content from the PS3.

Potstrokfan is correct it always reverts back to analog when no signal is present from optical.
ducky6 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off