confused, do i need a 3d receiver? few questions. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-27-2011, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i have a 3d tv, and i use it with my pc and ps3 slim.

i've read that the ps3 cant do 3d and lossless audio at the same time. so that means that i should atleast be able to watch 3d blu rays with DTS or dolby 5.1 right? or do i NEED to have a 3d receiver?

im looking for an inexpensive receiver at $200 or less.
i would like to have the hd audio for regular blu rays if possible, since i watch more 2d blu rays than 3d blu rays.

also, how important is the build in calibration? for example auddessy. mcacc, and ypao?

i've seen a few lower end pioneer/yamaha/onkyo receivers that have 3-4 hdmi inputs, and decode hd audio, but do not have the built in calibration.

i've been looking at the onkyo 230, or pioneer 520, because they both fit my budget.

i would like to use this receiver with some energy classics that i picked up for $100.

also this isnt for a living room or anything, just a small bedroom.
blazed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I would like to see an explanation of this limitation. If true, maybe the restriction does not apply if using bitstream output (you would need a receiver that decoded lossless audio, in that case.)

In other words, maybe the PS3 lacks the processing power to output 3D and to decode lossless audio and spit out PCM at the same time.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:38 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
1. Correct. The PS3 cannot do 3D video with lossless audio, however, you would need an HDMI 1.4 AVR if you want to pass both 2D and 3D video through the AVR rather than having to swap the cable between the TV and the AVR as you would with an HDMI 1.3 AVR, although as you indicate you watch more 2D movies, perhaps making the cable swap wouldn't be a problem which would allow you to get an older HDMI 1.3 AVR and save some money.

2. Built in calibration will likely improve the audio experience in any room, although if not as important to you in the bedroom, than a feature you could likely skimp on in order to meet your budget if necessary.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 100
JD, is that restriction only true when the PS3 is doing the decoding.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Nope.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 100
So you are limited to lossy even with bitstream output? Seems odd, as I would have thought that it was a processing power restriction, as there's no real difference in processing outputting lossy or lossless bitstream. I guess there's more bits to output with lossless bitstream (higher bandwidth.)

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 03:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
With 3D video the PS3 can only output lossy DD/DTS.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 04:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Weird...

Would have been interesting to be in that meeting

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

1. Correct. The PS3 cannot do 3D video with lossless audio, however, you would need an HDMI 1.4 AVR if you want to pass both 2D and 3D video through the AVR rather than having to swap the cable between the TV and the AVR as you would with an HDMI 1.3 AVR, although as you indicate you watch more 2D movies, perhaps making the cable swap wouldn't be a problem which would allow you to get an older HDMI 1.3 AVR and save some money.

2. Built in calibration will likely improve the audio experience in any room, although if not as important to you in the bedroom, than a feature you could likely skimp on in order to meet your budget if necessary.

i hope this does not sound confusing, but im going to give it a try.

as you said, in order just to watch 2d and 3d video, the AVR would be required to support 3d video? i thought the 3d video was based on the tv and my ps3. i didnt know the receiver had to support 3d. i thought the receiver's only job was audio.

so no matter what, if i want to use my ps3 as my 3d player with surround sound, a 3d capable receiver is required, right?

if i use my ps3, the hdmi goes from the ps3 into receiver, receiver into tv, correct?
blazed is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 09:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Correct. If you want to be able to watch 3D movies with your PS3 and connect it with a single HDMI cable to the AVR, the AVR will have to be HDMI 1.4.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 09:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazed View Post

as you said, in order just to watch 2d and 3d video, the AVR would be required to support 3d video? i thought the 3d video was based on the tv and my ps3. i didnt know the receiver had to support 3d. i thought the receiver's only job was audio.

It has to pass through the full 1080p 3D video, so it needs the HDMI 1.4 profile. It can't send the 3D signal through unless it has that compatibility. It seems weird, but that's the way the standard for 3D compatibility works.

You can bypass the receiver altogether, but that opens up other cans of worms. It's easiest just to get a HDMI 1.4 receiver. Dunno if there are any under $200, except maybe the used market.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is online now  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 10:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Here is a 4 HDMI 3D capable receiver right around your $200 price point.
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V367...6602561&sr=8-2

Honestly, I'd spend the extra $30-40 to get a receiver with some type of room calibration software.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Here is a 4 HDMI 3D capable receiver right around your $200 price point.
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V367...6602561&sr=8-2

Honestly, I'd spend the extra $30-40 to get a receiver with some type of room calibration software.
afrogt, thats what i think im going to do. im no audiophile, but i think the room calibration would help me out a lot. thanks guys.
blazed is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-28-2011, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post
It has to pass through the full 1080p 3D video, so it needs the HDMI 1.4 profile. It can't send the 3D signal through unless it has that compatibility. It seems weird, but that's the way the standard for 3D compatibility works.

You can bypass the receiver altogether, but that opens up other cans of worms. It's easiest just to get a HDMI 1.4 receiver. Dunno if there are any under $200, except maybe the used market.
i dont mind buying used or refurbished. i will definitely keep my eyes open for a good price. thanks
blazed is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off