The Official Yamaha RX-V867 Owners Thread - Page 41 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 02:31 PM
Member
 
pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi gregoryperkinks,
Thanks for the reply. My players are Toshiba XA1 and A30 and Sony BDP 5000ES. I have been into setup menus for all three. Tried bit stream, HDMI Auto. Before dvd plays I setup for the DD or DTS that is on the disc. Still only pcm. Yamaha says in audio menu it should show DD or DTS. It does not. Perhaps my RX-V867 is defective now?
pman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 02:34 PM
Member
 
pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry gregory, I misspelled your name.
pman is offline  
post #1203 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by pman View Post
Hi gregoryperkinks,
Thanks for the reply. My players are Toshiba XA1 and A30 and Sony BDP 5000ES. I have been into setup menus for all three. Tried bit stream, HDMI Auto. Before dvd plays I setup for the DD or DTS that is on the disc. Still only pcm. Yamaha says in audio menu it should show DD or DTS. It does not. Perhaps my RX-V867 is defective now?
When did it last work? A Blu-ray in the Sony via HDMI, player set to auto, should show DTS MA or whatever you have selected for the specific BD you are testing. Auto means get the AVR to tell the 5000ES what it can accept. Bit stream should not be selected as it may convert audio to PCM.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1204 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 02:50 PM
Member
 
pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In audio setup on the Sony I set it up for DD and DTS, but the RX-V867 only shows PCM. I have used this system infrequently so cannot remember when it output DD or DTS. I am only using one HDMI cable.
pman is offline  
post #1205 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by pman View Post
In audio setup on the Sony I set it up for DD and DTS, but the RX-V867 only shows PCM. I have used this system infrequently so cannot remember when it output DD or DTS. I am only using one HDMI cable.
That would be one HDMI from Blu-ray to AVR, correct?
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1206 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Also check:
Digital Audio Output = Auto
DSD Output Mode = On
BD Audio MIX Settings = Off
DTS:Neo:6 = Off
Audio DRC = Auto
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1207 of 1213 Old 01-26-2015, 04:04 PM
Member
 
pman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi JoeKustra. Yes one HDMI from Blu
Ok. Got the Sony to do HD Master Audio. Thanks so much guys. Now to the two Toshiba players.
pman is offline  
post #1208 of 1213 Old 01-27-2015, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Just curious, why do you have more than one player?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1209 of 1213 Old Today, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
NYC10024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI Out is Blinking on and off

Today my RX-V867 decided to start sending a blinking video signal to my Samsung 8000 series LED TV. I have five HDMI IN. Apple TV, XB1, STB, Wii, PS3. All of the devices in display the same problem. The video signal appears for 2 - 3 seconds then the signal cuts out for 3 seconds, infinitely. I've tried to power cycle the Receiver that doesn't seem to work. I've attempted to get to the menu screens but with the blinking on the TV it's extremely hard to time pressing the button and getting to right menus.

It appears something is up with the signal through the HDMI out.

Has anybody has this problem?

Last edited by NYC10024; Today at 01:19 PM.
NYC10024 is offline  
post #1210 of 1213 Old Today, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
seattlegeek2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't but I've seen HDMI outputs die on receivers of all brands. Did you try to use the second HDMI output?
seattlegeek2 is offline  
post #1211 of 1213 Old Today, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC10024 View Post
Today my RX-V867 decided to start sending a blinking video signal to my Samsung 8000 series LED TV. I have five HDMI IN. Apple TV, XB1, STB, Wii, PS3. All of the devices in display the same problem. The video signal appears for 2 - 3 seconds then the signal cuts out for 3 seconds, infinitely. I've tried to power cycle the Receiver that doesn't seem to work. I've attempted to get to the menu screens but with the blinking on the TV it's extremely hard to time pressing the button and getting to right menus.

It appears something is up with the signal through the HDMI out.

Has anybody has this problem?
Never see that. Have you tried a factory reset. Pages 118-120. No TV needed.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1212 of 1213 Old Today, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Hootowls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC10024 View Post
Today my RX-V867 decided to start sending a blinking video signal to my Samsung 8000 series LED TV. I have five HDMI IN. Apple TV, XB1, STB, Wii, PS3. All of the devices in display the same problem. The video signal appears for 2 - 3 seconds then the signal cuts out for 3 seconds, infinitely. I've tried to power cycle the Receiver that doesn't seem to work. I've attempted to get to the menu screens but with the blinking on the TV it's extremely hard to time pressing the button and getting to right menus.

It appears something is up with the signal through the HDMI out.

Has anybody has this problem?
It very well might be the AVR but don't forget to eliminate the HDMI cable to the TV and the display itself. Does the problem go away if you connect the same cable directly to one of the devices?
Hootowls is offline  
post #1213 of 1213 Old Today, 06:46 PM
Member
 
dlambermont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC10024 View Post
Today my RX-V867 decided to start sending a blinking video signal to my Samsung 8000 series LED TV. I have five HDMI IN. Apple TV, XB1, STB, Wii, PS3. All of the devices in display the same problem. The video signal appears for 2 - 3 seconds then the signal cuts out for 3 seconds, infinitely. I've tried to power cycle the Receiver that doesn't seem to work. I've attempted to get to the menu screens but with the blinking on the TV it's extremely hard to time pressing the button and getting to right menus.

It appears something is up with the signal through the HDMI out.

Has anybody has this problem?
Check your HDMI out setting. I've seen this when I had it set to HDMI 1 and 2, and only one of my output devices was on. I don't remember the video cutting out for that long though, it just flashes off briefly every couple of seconds. I have a projector connected to HDMI out 1, and a TV connected to HDMI out 2. If the projector is on, the TV is off, and both HDMI outputs were active, I'd see it. Changing to HDMI Out 1 only would fix it.
dlambermont is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V867 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V867 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off