The Official Yamaha RX-V867 Owners Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1286 Old 11-23-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by faulkton View Post
Does this sound like an expensive email or an easy swap of a bad hdmi connector?
Did you ever verify that arc is not working with another tv that supports arc? It would be a shame to send the receiver in for service only to find out it was the tv... Hopefully you have a small tv that you could use to test it.

On a positive note, accessories for less has a few hdcp 2.2 Yamahas.
gregoryperkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1286 Old 11-23-2015, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
faulkton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Did you ever verify that arc is not working with another tv that supports arc? It would be a shame to send the receiver in for service only to find out it was the tv... Hopefully you have a small tv that you could use to test it.

On a positive note, accessories for less has a few hdcp 2.2 Yamahas.

Well I tried the HDMI 1 output on different TV is on the same sources and it didn't work. Plus I replace the entire one Kinect mini box on the Samsung TV. But that is an excellent suggestion, & I will try arc on another TV. I just wonder what the repair cost would end up being. As of right now I really like the 867, and it completely needs meets my needs. When artworks I get 5.1 out of my Roku for, my only HDCP 2.2 device, and see no real reason to upgrade. Thanks for the suggestion.

I wonder if I could buy a broken 867, and take the HDMI port out of it and swap it into my unit. Maybe it's I really sweat simple swap
faulkton is offline  
post #1263 of 1286 Old 11-23-2015, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Did you ever verify that arc is not working with another tv that supports arc? It would be a shame to send the receiver in for service only to find out it was the tv... Hopefully you have a small tv that you could use to test it.

On a positive note, accessories for less has a few hdcp 2.2 Yamahas.
While my 867 is working ok, I do think about 4k and hdcp 2.2 for future use. Only posts are for broken parts on this thread anymore. The $450 for the RX-V679 is very good. The $400 for the 579 would be enough for me, but I tend to go high. Thanks for the information.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1264 of 1286 Old 11-24-2015, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
faulkton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Well I hope it wasn't a big mistake, because I have never owned a Denon, but a bit on the AVR-X2200W. It seem to have the feature set I was after, with ADHD see p 2.2 HDMI inputs, 2 outputs, 444 deep color and overall just seem like a better value than the Yamaha.

Think there's anything else out there better in the $600 price range?
faulkton is offline  
post #1265 of 1286 Old 11-24-2015, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by faulkton View Post
Think there's anything else out there better in the $600 price range?
Unlike Blu-ray boxes, the AVR market seems healthy and growing. There are so many threads on this forum it would take forever to make a decision. It's like cars: people don't tend to change brands without a good reason.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1266 of 1286 Old 11-24-2015, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 76
The receiver shut off today for no reason, low volume, only on for a couple of minutes. It came back on without a problem.

I hope it's nor a brewing problem...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1267 of 1286 Old 11-24-2015, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
faulkton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Unlike Blu-ray boxes, the AVR market seems healthy and growing. There are so many threads on this forum it would take forever to make a decision. It's like cars: people don't tend to change brands without a good reason.
I started off looking at the Yamahas, but most of them in my price leg only had like 3 HDCP 2.2 inputs. The rest were all 1.4. This Denon has 8 HDMI inputs including a front input and all of them are HDCP 2.2 compliant. It also has 4k pass through and for K 60 p, as well as deep color and chroma 444.

For less than 600 box, 6:10 with overnight shipping, it just seemed to be a superior unit. I didn't spend a ton of time looking, cuz I wanted to get something ordered and overnighted but from what I could see this is the best choice for me. Now I think I might have to order some Atmos speakers too :-)
faulkton is offline  
post #1268 of 1286 Old 11-25-2015, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by faulkton View Post
I started off looking at the Yamahas, but most of them in my price leg only had like 3 HDCP 2.2 inputs. The rest were all 1.4. This Denon has 8 HDMI inputs including a front input and all of them are HDCP 2.2 compliant. It also has 4k pass through and for K 60 p, as well as deep color and chroma 444.

For less than 600 box, 6:10 with overnight shipping, it just seemed to be a superior unit. I didn't spend a ton of time looking, cuz I wanted to get something ordered and overnighted but from what I could see this is the best choice for me. Now I think I might have to order some Atmos speakers too :-)
That's what I like most about this forum: someone can usually provide something to check out. I will be looking at the Denon but not until next year. I kind of blew my Christmas budget already. Thanks for the information.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1269 of 1286 Old 12-01-2015, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
mc4saints's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
While my 867 is working ok, I do think about 4k and hdcp 2.2 for future use. Only posts are for broken parts on this thread anymore. The $450 for the RX-V679 is very good. The $400 for the 579 would be enough for me, but I tend to go high. Thanks for the information.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
The receiver shut off today for no reason, low volume, only on for a couple of minutes. It came back on without a problem.

I hope it's nor a brewing problem...
I know this is kind of off topic but what should one of these be selling for in mint condition? Going to try local craigslist 1st to avoid shipping. I want to be fair on price but not give it away. Remote never used and everything is included.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125048.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	1091978   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125107.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	250.1 KB
ID:	1091986   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125151.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	217.4 KB
ID:	1091994   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125255.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	162.8 KB
ID:	1092002   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125611.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	212.8 KB
ID:	1092010  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20151201_125711.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	229.3 KB
ID:	1092018  
mc4saints is offline  
post #1270 of 1286 Old 12-01-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Check eBay. There's one there "new" for $450 or so. I'm looking to go 4k, so I need to prepare first. Cables, HDCP, other stuff. It's not simple and right now there's a lot of snakes in the grass that I can't see. I will wait for 2016.
mc4saints likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1271 of 1286 Old 12-01-2015, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Well considering I paid $429 for mine new, I'd say 2-250. I just got a Denon x-2100 which is last year's model refurbed from accessories4less for $299 shipped. It's pretty much the equivalent of the 867 but with Audyssey instead of ypao, bt, 4k pass through and wireless.

Nothing wrong with the 867, it will just move to another room.
mc4saints likes this.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1272 of 1286 Old 12-25-2015, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My new (used) 867 seems flaky?

Seller said it worked prefectly. It was in pristine shape.

I'm hoping maybe it's me- this is a pretty complex receiver, but here's what I see:

Problem 1: Select HDMI 1, plug in DVD player, all I see is the default screen. Same with HDMI 2. BUT, plug the same DVD into HDMI 3 or 4, select the corresponding input, and it plays fine. Does this mean HDMI 1 and 2 are inoperative? I have more devices to plug in, but it appears I'm limited to 3 right now. I selected a Yamaha OVER an Onkyo for that specific reason- users said the Onkyo HDMI boards were prone to failure.

Problem 2: I'd hoped to use true 5.2 with 2 subs. I get no output from sub pre out #1 . I do get a good signal from subwoofer pre out #2 . I went through the microphone setup and it did detect a (single) sub? I'm not sure if this means I have a defective pre-out #1 , or if the system thinks I only have 1 sub, and it uses #2 only? I swapped the subs to be sure and they both are fine. Its the pre out that isn't working.

Other than those 2 (pretty serious) issues, the receiver works pretty well. I did the network firmware update no problem there.

Advice is appreciated- both on what else to check for these issues, and if necessary where to get good service?

I hope these might just be settings. and Merry Christmas!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yam546.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	227.0 KB
ID:	1140946  

Yamaha RX-V867
spydox is offline  
post #1273 of 1286 Old 12-25-2015, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Most of the reviews are from 2011, but I would check out some of them and download the menu: http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...67/?mode=model

I'm using all but the front HDMI input. I've never tried two subs.

Hardest part to learn is, when in Setup submenus, use the up key to see the options.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1274 of 1286 Old 12-25-2015, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Most of the reviews are from 2011, but I would check out some of them and download the menu:

I'm using all but the front HDMI input. I've never tried two subs.

Hardest part to learn is, when in Setup submenus, use the up key to see the options.
I pretty much went through every menu and advanced menus too. I re-initted the video in advanced. No joy. I'm hoping someone knows a trick I'm missing!


Yamaha RX-V867
spydox is offline  
post #1275 of 1286 Old 12-25-2015, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Try resetting receiver to factory

LN55C630
PN64F8500
Definitive SSA-50
GE Supercinema 3D Array X
Yamaha RX-V479 (evaluating whether to keep)
SVS SB-1000 (evaluating whether to keep)
hpp8140 is online now  
post #1276 of 1286 Old 12-26-2015, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
THanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
Try resetting receiver to factory
I thought about that and I guess I'll try it. The microphone speaker set up was such a pain I was trying to not have to do that again! It kept erroring, or else it would say there was no sub. I'll give it a go today

TY


Yamaha RX-V867
spydox is offline  
post #1277 of 1286 Old 12-26-2015, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by spydox View Post
I thought about that and I guess I'll try it. The microphone speaker set up was such a pain I was trying to not have to do that again! It kept erroring, or else it would say there was no sub. I'll give it a go today

TY

Did the factory reset. No joy! Service suggestions?

Yamaha RX-V867

Last edited by spydox; 12-26-2015 at 01:44 PM.
spydox is offline  
post #1278 of 1286 Old 12-26-2015, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 76
The second sub output isn't that important, just split the other.

You mention dvd, did you mean bd? I would not worry about the hdmi not working unless you run out. Have you tried a different cable?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1279 of 1286 Old 12-26-2015, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
The second sub output isn't that important, just split the other.

You mention dvd, did you mean bd? I would not worry about the hdmi not working unless you run out. Have you tried a different cable?
Yes its a bluray player. I did try 2 cables. I'll try spitting the sub pre out that's a good idea. I wasn't sure if in 7.2 the sub out was identical?

Thanks!

Yamaha RX-V867
spydox is offline  
post #1280 of 1286 Old 12-26-2015, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 309
^ Yes, the two sub outputs are identical, so using an external splitter is fine.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #1281 of 1286 Old 12-27-2015, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
spydox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I might just live with not having HDMI 1 and 2, but is the HDMI board easily replaced? And inexpensive?

Yamaha RX-V867
spydox is offline  
post #1282 of 1286 Old 12-27-2015, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by spydox View Post
I might just live with not having HDMI 1 and 2, but is the HDMI board easily replaced? And inexpensive?
I don't recall anyone having that problem before, so it's a pretty uncommon thing...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1283 of 1286 Old 01-02-2016, 11:34 AM
Member
 
mechtheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickster79 View Post
I don't think I used the correct terminology. The small red LED next to the power button is on when the receiver is plugged in, but the LCD display will not come on, nor will the receiver function when I press the power button or try to turn on the receiver with the remote.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by Nickster79 
 I don't think I used the correct terminology. The small red LED next to the power button is on when the receiver is plugged in, but the LCD display will not come on, nor will the receiver function when I press the power button or try to turn on the receiver with the remote.



Sorry, I checked the manual. There are three conditions that will cause the LED next to the MAIN button to come on. I have never done any of the three conditions, hence I didn't know it existed.
I have the same issue, my 867 worked for 2-3 years, but bought a better one and it sat unused for a while, when I hooked it up for another room, nothing but the light came on. This is a follow up, Nickster79, did you ever find out what was wrong? There are two EEVblog videos, a great resource for electronic hobbyists, the guy finds a RX-V557 in a dumpster and tries to troubleshoot. First go can't find anything, then gets 3 or 4 people telling him it's the xxx capacitor in the power supply section, seems that capacitor is a common failure mode for Yamahas, and they were right. If interested,
I'm getting ready to check out on mine, but if I remember when I looked at it before, mine is exhibiting a different symptom than the EEVblog unit.

JoeKustra, I roped you in on this post because in the manual, the troubleshooting guide on page 127 there is this: [see pic, I can't believe Yamaha is so worried about what i don't know the security settings won't let me just copy the text]. It sounds like the self-protection circuitry will brick the unit, and only 'qualified' service people can unbrick it. Do you know anything about this? I'm worried even if I manged to find and repair the problem, it still might not power up, maybe there is something that needs to be reset?

Thanks for any info/aid.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	octo-2016-01-02 12_23_43-Yamaha---RX-V867_manual (Secured) - PDF-XChange Editor.png
Views:	21
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	1156994  
mechtheist is offline  
post #1284 of 1286 Old 01-02-2016, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,848
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 257
I'm still using my V867 every day, 12 to 16 hour/day since I bought it new. But even though I've read every post for the past 4.5 years I can't recall the fix to a dead unit caused by repeated failures. I can recall people have shorted their speaker wires and had the unit die. I wish I could be more helpful. Maybe Google or Bing?

Later this year I will probably upgrade. I want to go 4k, but there are too many problems with it for me. Also, I have two TiVo boxes feeding the V867 and they seem to have some HDMI issues. Luckily mine are running perfectly.
mechtheist likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1285 of 1286 Old 01-02-2016, 04:33 PM
Member
 
mechtheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I'm still using my V867 every day, 12 to 16 hour/day since I bought it new. But even though I've read every post for the past 4.5 years I can't recall the fix to a dead unit caused by repeated failures. I can recall people have shorted their speaker wires and had the unit die. I wish I could be more helpful. Maybe Google or Bing?

Later this year I will probably upgrade. I want to go 4k, but there are too many problems with it for me. Also, I have two TiVo boxes feeding the V867 and they seem to have some HDMI issues. Luckily mine are running perfectly.
Thanks for the quick response. Maybe the shorted speaker wire death was this protection circuit 3-time thing kicking in? Shorted speaker wires should not hurt a receiver, not these days, really basic protection like that should be normal, assumed present in quality equipment, at least that's my possibly over-optimistic opinion. I used this one, and using the A830 I upgraded to as integrated amps for the most part, with an external amp. I was looking at newer models, you have to go higher and higher up the line to find just pre-out jacks, never mind real pre-out/main-in, which seem just about dead in receivers I'm afraid.

The 4k stuff, I have a PC monitor that works just fine, haven't attempted to run it through the Yamaha. From what I've heard, cables become much more important in the 4k regime. I think DP is likely to have less problems than HDMI, but that isn't based on any serious research. DP to/from HDMI adapters, that's a fun subject! Don't worry, the 5k's and above will be out fairly broadly soon and we'll have even more compatibility issues to deal with.
mechtheist is offline  
post #1286 of 1286 Old 01-06-2016, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechtheist View Post
I have the same issue, my 867 worked for 2-3 years, but bought a better one and it sat unused for a while, when I hooked it up for another room, nothing but the light came on. This is a follow up, Nickster79, did you ever find out what was wrong? There are two EEVblog videos, a great resource for electronic hobbyists, the guy finds a RX-V557 in a dumpster and tries to troubleshoot. First go can't find anything, then gets 3 or 4 people telling him it's the xxx capacitor in the power supply section, seems that capacitor is a common failure mode for Yamahas, and they were right.
Thanks for the youtube video link. I watched it with great interest. However, 41 minutes later the video ends and he doesn't find a fix. My bad... I reread your post and saw you mentioned there were "two" videos. For anyone who wants to cut to the chase, here's the second followup video where he performs the actual fix. He points out the faulty capacitor at 25 seconds in... followed by the actual fix.

This is the video that shows the capacitor fix!


Like Joe I've also been using my 867 every day for many years now... no problems yet... but having this kind of information in my arsenal won't hurt if it ever decides to quit on me.

Last edited by Elton Noway; 01-07-2016 at 08:33 AM.
Elton Noway is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V867 Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off