The Official Yamaha RX-V867 Owners Thread - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The Official Yamaha RX-V867 Owners Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Geo05's Avatar Geo05
07:52 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 1207
06-09-2011 | Posts: 194
Joined: Aug 2005
Here' sthe link to the Thoughts on the Yamaha RXV867 thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post19533997

Link to MichaelJHuman review, above thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post20393235

Yamaha website:
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...ps/rx/rx-v867/
detroit_fan's Avatar detroit_fan
08:03 PM Liked: 12
post #2 of 1207
06-09-2011 | Posts: 219
Joined: Mar 2008
Cool, got our own thread!
Geo05's Avatar Geo05
08:07 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 1207
06-09-2011 | Posts: 194
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
And the correct name of the Yamaha AVR model in the thread title is...?
OOOOOOPPS!
Defeats the purpose, doesn't it?

Ok, fixed it. Apologies.
[For those wondering, had a typo on the model number- now fixed]
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
09:14 PM Liked: 125
post #4 of 1207
06-09-2011 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
What a great review, heh Ouch, that hurt trying to pat myself on the back.
Geo05's Avatar Geo05
08:02 AM Liked: 10
post #5 of 1207
06-10-2011 | Posts: 194
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

What a great review, heh Ouch, that hurt trying to pat myself on the back.

Nevertheless, thanks, Michael...

If the UPS tracker is right, mine arrives today, and your review is helpful to get started...
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
09:01 AM Liked: 24
post #6 of 1207
06-10-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
Has anyone set up height speakers? I have them set up on my current system (Pioneer). I just got the 867 yesterday and will probably set it up tomorrow.

Thanks, Greg
mmasala's Avatar mmasala
04:38 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 1207
06-10-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2006
Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?
Geo05's Avatar Geo05
07:40 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 1207
06-10-2011 | Posts: 194
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?

The specs show DLNA Version 1.5 (DMP & DMR support).
Not sure if that answers your querry...
farkem's Avatar farkem
03:19 AM Liked: 13
post #9 of 1207
06-11-2011 | Posts: 226
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?

No. No current receivers of any brand can stream video via network at this time.
wrathchild_67's Avatar wrathchild_67
09:44 AM Liked: 10
post #10 of 1207
06-11-2011 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2011
Is it possible to control a non-CEC TV and Motorola cable box (U-Verse) simultaneously with the 867 remote? I noticed that the TV control section on the 867 remote has its own power button which is separate from the power button other external devices the remote is programmed to control but that may just be for CEC supported TVs. I need to be able to shut off the TV and change channels on the U-Verse box with the 867 remote.

[edit]Looks like the answer is in the footnote on page 116 of the manual. I would have seen it on my first read-through if I didn't have to zoom the PDF...
mmasala's Avatar mmasala
04:16 PM Liked: 10
post #11 of 1207
06-11-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2006
Thanks farkem and Geo05.
mmasala's Avatar mmasala
07:15 AM Liked: 10
post #12 of 1207
06-14-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2006
Can someone suggest good 7.1 home theater speakers for this receiver. I don't know about the speakers and subs.
d12d's Avatar d12d
04:25 PM Liked: 11
post #13 of 1207
06-14-2011 | Posts: 106
Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can someone suggest good 7.1 home theater speakers for this receiver. I don't know about the speakers and subs.

You are likely better off asking in the speakers and subwoofers sections. What is your budget, room size, main uses(ht, music)?
MattGT35R's Avatar MattGT35R
09:45 PM Liked: 10
post #14 of 1207
06-14-2011 | Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2011
I wish so very badly this was on sale at newegg again.
comixguru's Avatar comixguru
09:56 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 1207
06-14-2011 | Posts: 216
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by farkem View Post

No. No current receivers of any brand can stream video via network at this time.

The Samsung Receiver/BR Player does video playback over the network... essentially it's a function of the built-in BR player.

SAMSUNG HW-D7000 7.2-Channel AV Receiver with Built-in Blu-ray Disc Player
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882676212

I think it makes a lot of sense to have audio network streaming in a receiver, but I'm not certain about video playback features. Not when you can use something like a BR player, at a modest ~$100-150, to provide extensive video file support.
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
07:49 AM Liked: 24
post #16 of 1207
06-15-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
Has anyone gotten the play-to from windows to work? My pc sees the receiver, but gets an error when I try to send to it. Does it need to be on a specific input?

The other nuisance is the web page for the 867. Does it serve any purpose than renaming the receiver? On my Pioneer, it allowed me to edit web radio urls.

Do you really need that yradio account to add stations that you can't find?

Thanks,

Greg
d12d's Avatar d12d
11:51 AM Liked: 11
post #17 of 1207
06-15-2011 | Posts: 106
Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattGT35R View Post

I wish so very badly this was on sale at newegg again.

It is, use promo code YAMAHA6X3 and it shows $100 off in your cart. I believe it is on sale until 6/16 so you may want to hurry.
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
12:15 PM Liked: 125
post #18 of 1207
06-15-2011 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
Cant beleive there are any left at that price.
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
08:36 PM Liked: 24
post #19 of 1207
06-15-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
That's why I have one. Lots of competition and it's last year's model drives the price down.

I needed the dual hdmi out, most people won't care about that...
robi1138's Avatar robi1138
04:23 PM Liked: 10
post #20 of 1207
06-16-2011 | Posts: 709
Joined: Nov 2004
Hi,

I'm considering replacing my Yamaha HTR-5960 with the RX-V867 My main reason for this is the lack of HDMI on the 5960 and, hence inability to do bass management on HD audio sources (because I use the analog inputs).

I'm a bit of a purist and hate to run video through the receiver but am not against it if the "pass-through" feature really doesn't affect the picture. I have a couple of concerns though:

1) Has anyone noticed any deterioration of HD signals passing through the V867? Even though receivers claim to pass-through video signals, they often clip them.

2) I often watch TV while listening to my CD player...is this going to be a problem since my cable box-to-receiver connection will be HDMI (and will be carrying the audio and video signal) and I may want the audio to be for the CD sometimes? In other words, can I have different audio and video sources simultaneously.



Thanks!
afrogt's Avatar afrogt
05:05 PM Liked: 444
post #21 of 1207
06-16-2011 | Posts: 23,648
Joined: Jul 2003
One way that will work for sure is to connect component video cables directly to the TV for when you want watch TV and to listen to something else. Then you can use any source you want on the receiver for audio.

You can run HDMI and component video simulatenously on most cable/sat receivers.

If you want to do it thru the receiver then connect component video to the receiver as well as HDMI. Just assign the component video to whatever input the CD is using.

The first way is much easier and you dont have to worry about assigning inputs etc.
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
05:57 PM Liked: 125
post #22 of 1207
06-16-2011 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
Never had an issue running ANY video through any Yamaha receiver. Why complicate your life? Try running it through the receiver first, than honestly evaluate the results. If you dislike it, and are being honest about it (as opposed to have some bias against it which makes you see stuff that's not there,) then do it harder way(s) as outlined above so well by afro.
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
06:28 PM Liked: 24
post #23 of 1207
06-16-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
One thing I liked about the Sony amps I had was they just passed the video through on whatever you were watching last when you selected an audio only input. So you'd set it to tv, then to radio, cd whatever and it continued to display the video on the tv. I did that a lot for sports.

The Yamaha 65 line did not have the video reassignment at the beginning, they added it mid stream via a firmware update (pre-net via audio file). I prefer the sony method to having to assign the display to the audio input. I've yet to figure it out on the 67 line.

I would very much like to do this with net radio, but I suspect it is not possible.
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
07:18 PM Liked: 24
post #24 of 1207
06-16-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Has anyone gotten the play-to from windows to work? My pc sees the receiver, but gets an error when I try to send to it. Does it need to be on a specific input?

If you are on the net input accessing your pc, you can play to the receiver from w7 media player, just mp3s as far as I can tell.
ruuaad's Avatar ruuaad
05:34 AM Liked: 10
post #25 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2011
Hello I just bought this receiver as an upgrade from a HTR-3063. The HTR-3063 had no problems with any of my HDMI devices. The RX-V867 doesn't gets no video from my laptop or Xbox 360, just sound. It has no problems with my PS3. All of this goes to an Optoma HD20 projector. I doubt that would cause a problem though. Does anybody have any idea what the issue might be, or has had a similar problem? I am still awaiting a response from Yamaha on this.
gregoryperkins's Avatar gregoryperkins
07:46 AM Liked: 24
post #26 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 1,087
Joined: Dec 2001
Have you tried changing the inputs on the ps3 and xbox?
mikey3times's Avatar mikey3times
11:48 AM Liked: 10
post #27 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2011
I am trying to get my PC to connect to my Yamaha 867. I think I am having handshake issues...not sure about whether I should try EDID overrides.

From my video card (tried both a GeForce 210 and a Radeon 5450) HDMI out, I use a monoprice cable into the HDMI #3 port (also tried all the other HDMI ports) on the 867. From the HDMI out of the 867, I use a monoprice cable to the Sony LCD. Direct from CPU to Sony LCD via HDMI cable works fine.

Once I switch to HDMI #3 on the 867 I get a flashing HDMI logo on the front display of the 867. If I go into onscreen menu, info, video...I get signal info that flashes between nothing and 460p, 60hz. If I unplug the cables the 867 says 460p, 60hz (I guess this is the default for no signal). Eventually, the 867 will report an "unrecognizable signal" error on the TV.

When the video card is plugged into the 867, it won't even recognize the AVR or the TV - meaning I don't have the option of altering the display preferences in the driver software because it doesn't show up. If I plug the video card direct into the TV, it recognizes the TV and I can setup the video to display on the TV.

On the few occasions that I got it to work, the video card will recognize the Sony TV. The video card never sees the AVR as a display option.

I've tried different HDMI ports on all three components, different video cards, different cables, and all kinds of BIOS and AVR settings. I am stumped, but I think I have it narrowed to an issue with the AVR not being able to read the signal from the PC.

The one last thing I have to try is swapping out the HDMI cable that goes from the AVR to the TV. However, this is an HDMI 1.3 cable, so it should work.

Does anyone have any thoughts?
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
12:14 PM Liked: 125
post #28 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 18,999
Joined: Nov 2006
You might try the HTPC forum as well for this problem. I don't know anything about PCs connecting to receivers with HDMI. Not sure if it's HDCP, cabling, EDID or some other issue.
robi1138's Avatar robi1138
02:37 PM Liked: 10
post #29 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 709
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Never had an issue running ANY video through any Yamaha receiver. Why complicate your life? Try running it through the receiver first, than honestly evaluate the results. If you dislike it, and are being honest about it (as opposed to have some bias against it which makes you see stuff that's not there,) then do it harder way(s) as outlined above so well by afro.


I only have a bias against the video signal passing through the receiver because almost every thorough test I read on receivers shows there is some signal degradation in "pass-through" mode. If this is not visible, then that is fine but i don't know if it is or isn't on the Yamahas...hence my question.

The component video route is an interesting idea but, again, most reports indicate softer signals through the component outputs on Blu-ray players than the HDMI.




Anyone else notice any video signal degradation when passing 1080p/24Hz signals through the v867?


Thanks
ruuaad's Avatar ruuaad
05:10 PM Liked: 10
post #30 of 1207
06-17-2011 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2011
Ok I saw another thread with somebody that had a similar problem. He fixed it by setting his refresh rate to 50hz. That fixed it for me too but of course the video is choppy now and I can't change the refresh rate on my 360. I tried using the HDMI cable that my PS3 uses and still nothing for the 360.
Tags: Yamaha Rx V867 Receiver

Gear in this thread - V867 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3