The Official Yamaha RX-V867 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1193 Old 06-09-2011, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Geo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here' sthe link to the Thoughts on the Yamaha RXV867 thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post19533997

Link to MichaelJHuman review, above thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post20393235

Yamaha website:
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...ps/rx/rx-v867/
Geo05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1193 Old 06-09-2011, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cool, got our own thread!
detroit_fan is offline  
post #3 of 1193 Old 06-09-2011, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Geo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post
And the correct name of the Yamaha AVR model in the thread title is...?
OOOOOOPPS!
Defeats the purpose, doesn't it?

Ok, fixed it. Apologies.
[For those wondering, had a typo on the model number- now fixed]
Geo05 is offline  
post #4 of 1193 Old 06-09-2011, 08:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
What a great review, heh Ouch, that hurt trying to pat myself on the back.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #5 of 1193 Old 06-10-2011, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Geo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

What a great review, heh Ouch, that hurt trying to pat myself on the back.

Nevertheless, thanks, Michael...

If the UPS tracker is right, mine arrives today, and your review is helpful to get started...
Geo05 is offline  
post #6 of 1193 Old 06-10-2011, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has anyone set up height speakers? I have them set up on my current system (Pioneer). I just got the 867 yesterday and will probably set it up tomorrow.

Thanks, Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #7 of 1193 Old 06-10-2011, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
mmasala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?
mmasala is offline  
post #8 of 1193 Old 06-10-2011, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Geo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?

The specs show DLNA Version 1.5 (DMP & DMR support).
Not sure if that answers your querry...
Geo05 is offline  
post #9 of 1193 Old 06-11-2011, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
farkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can we streaming video using DLNA feature on this receiver ?

No. No current receivers of any brand can stream video via network at this time.
farkem is offline  
post #10 of 1193 Old 06-11-2011, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
wrathchild_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to control a non-CEC TV and Motorola cable box (U-Verse) simultaneously with the 867 remote? I noticed that the TV control section on the 867 remote has its own power button which is separate from the power button other external devices the remote is programmed to control but that may just be for CEC supported TVs. I need to be able to shut off the TV and change channels on the U-Verse box with the 867 remote.

[edit]Looks like the answer is in the footnote on page 116 of the manual. I would have seen it on my first read-through if I didn't have to zoom the PDF...
wrathchild_67 is offline  
post #11 of 1193 Old 06-11-2011, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
mmasala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks farkem and Geo05.
mmasala is offline  
post #12 of 1193 Old 06-14-2011, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
mmasala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone suggest good 7.1 home theater speakers for this receiver. I don't know about the speakers and subs.
mmasala is offline  
post #13 of 1193 Old 06-14-2011, 03:25 PM
Member
 
d12d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmasala View Post

Can someone suggest good 7.1 home theater speakers for this receiver. I don't know about the speakers and subs.

You are likely better off asking in the speakers and subwoofers sections. What is your budget, room size, main uses(ht, music)?
d12d is online now  
post #14 of 1193 Old 06-14-2011, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
MattGT35R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish so very badly this was on sale at newegg again.
MattGT35R is offline  
post #15 of 1193 Old 06-14-2011, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
comixguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland Oregon Metro area
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by farkem View Post

No. No current receivers of any brand can stream video via network at this time.

The Samsung Receiver/BR Player does video playback over the network... essentially it's a function of the built-in BR player.

SAMSUNG HW-D7000 7.2-Channel AV Receiver with Built-in Blu-ray Disc Player
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882676212

I think it makes a lot of sense to have audio network streaming in a receiver, but I'm not certain about video playback features. Not when you can use something like a BR player, at a modest ~$100-150, to provide extensive video file support.
comixguru is offline  
post #16 of 1193 Old 06-15-2011, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Has anyone gotten the play-to from windows to work? My pc sees the receiver, but gets an error when I try to send to it. Does it need to be on a specific input?

The other nuisance is the web page for the 867. Does it serve any purpose than renaming the receiver? On my Pioneer, it allowed me to edit web radio urls.

Do you really need that yradio account to add stations that you can't find?

Thanks,

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #17 of 1193 Old 06-15-2011, 10:51 AM
Member
 
d12d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattGT35R View Post

I wish so very badly this was on sale at newegg again.

It is, use promo code YAMAHA6X3 and it shows $100 off in your cart. I believe it is on sale until 6/16 so you may want to hurry.
d12d is online now  
post #18 of 1193 Old 06-15-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Cant beleive there are any left at that price.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #19 of 1193 Old 06-15-2011, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That's why I have one. Lots of competition and it's last year's model drives the price down.

I needed the dual hdmi out, most people won't care about that...
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #20 of 1193 Old 06-16-2011, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
robi1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm considering replacing my Yamaha HTR-5960 with the RX-V867 My main reason for this is the lack of HDMI on the 5960 and, hence inability to do bass management on HD audio sources (because I use the analog inputs).

I'm a bit of a purist and hate to run video through the receiver but am not against it if the "pass-through" feature really doesn't affect the picture. I have a couple of concerns though:

1) Has anyone noticed any deterioration of HD signals passing through the V867? Even though receivers claim to pass-through video signals, they often clip them.

2) I often watch TV while listening to my CD player...is this going to be a problem since my cable box-to-receiver connection will be HDMI (and will be carrying the audio and video signal) and I may want the audio to be for the CD sometimes? In other words, can I have different audio and video sources simultaneously.



Thanks!

LCD is the MP3 of the TV world
robi1138 is offline  
post #21 of 1193 Old 06-16-2011, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 400
One way that will work for sure is to connect component video cables directly to the TV for when you want watch TV and to listen to something else. Then you can use any source you want on the receiver for audio.

You can run HDMI and component video simulatenously on most cable/sat receivers.

If you want to do it thru the receiver then connect component video to the receiver as well as HDMI. Just assign the component video to whatever input the CD is using.

The first way is much easier and you dont have to worry about assigning inputs etc.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #22 of 1193 Old 06-16-2011, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Never had an issue running ANY video through any Yamaha receiver. Why complicate your life? Try running it through the receiver first, than honestly evaluate the results. If you dislike it, and are being honest about it (as opposed to have some bias against it which makes you see stuff that's not there,) then do it harder way(s) as outlined above so well by afro.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #23 of 1193 Old 06-16-2011, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
One thing I liked about the Sony amps I had was they just passed the video through on whatever you were watching last when you selected an audio only input. So you'd set it to tv, then to radio, cd whatever and it continued to display the video on the tv. I did that a lot for sports.

The Yamaha 65 line did not have the video reassignment at the beginning, they added it mid stream via a firmware update (pre-net via audio file). I prefer the sony method to having to assign the display to the audio input. I've yet to figure it out on the 67 line.

I would very much like to do this with net radio, but I suspect it is not possible.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #24 of 1193 Old 06-16-2011, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

Has anyone gotten the play-to from windows to work? My pc sees the receiver, but gets an error when I try to send to it. Does it need to be on a specific input?

If you are on the net input accessing your pc, you can play to the receiver from w7 media player, just mp3s as far as I can tell.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #25 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
ruuaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello I just bought this receiver as an upgrade from a HTR-3063. The HTR-3063 had no problems with any of my HDMI devices. The RX-V867 doesn't gets no video from my laptop or Xbox 360, just sound. It has no problems with my PS3. All of this goes to an Optoma HD20 projector. I doubt that would cause a problem though. Does anybody have any idea what the issue might be, or has had a similar problem? I am still awaiting a response from Yamaha on this.
ruuaad is offline  
post #26 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Have you tried changing the inputs on the ps3 and xbox?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #27 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
mikey3times's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to get my PC to connect to my Yamaha 867. I think I am having handshake issues...not sure about whether I should try EDID overrides.

From my video card (tried both a GeForce 210 and a Radeon 5450) HDMI out, I use a monoprice cable into the HDMI #3 port (also tried all the other HDMI ports) on the 867. From the HDMI out of the 867, I use a monoprice cable to the Sony LCD. Direct from CPU to Sony LCD via HDMI cable works fine.

Once I switch to HDMI #3 on the 867 I get a flashing HDMI logo on the front display of the 867. If I go into onscreen menu, info, video...I get signal info that flashes between nothing and 460p, 60hz. If I unplug the cables the 867 says 460p, 60hz (I guess this is the default for no signal). Eventually, the 867 will report an "unrecognizable signal" error on the TV.

When the video card is plugged into the 867, it won't even recognize the AVR or the TV - meaning I don't have the option of altering the display preferences in the driver software because it doesn't show up. If I plug the video card direct into the TV, it recognizes the TV and I can setup the video to display on the TV.

On the few occasions that I got it to work, the video card will recognize the Sony TV. The video card never sees the AVR as a display option.

I've tried different HDMI ports on all three components, different video cards, different cables, and all kinds of BIOS and AVR settings. I am stumped, but I think I have it narrowed to an issue with the AVR not being able to read the signal from the PC.

The one last thing I have to try is swapping out the HDMI cable that goes from the AVR to the TV. However, this is an HDMI 1.3 cable, so it should work.

Does anyone have any thoughts?
mikey3times is offline  
post #28 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
You might try the HTPC forum as well for this problem. I don't know anything about PCs connecting to receivers with HDMI. Not sure if it's HDCP, cabling, EDID or some other issue.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #29 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
robi1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Never had an issue running ANY video through any Yamaha receiver. Why complicate your life? Try running it through the receiver first, than honestly evaluate the results. If you dislike it, and are being honest about it (as opposed to have some bias against it which makes you see stuff that's not there,) then do it harder way(s) as outlined above so well by afro.


I only have a bias against the video signal passing through the receiver because almost every thorough test I read on receivers shows there is some signal degradation in "pass-through" mode. If this is not visible, then that is fine but i don't know if it is or isn't on the Yamahas...hence my question.

The component video route is an interesting idea but, again, most reports indicate softer signals through the component outputs on Blu-ray players than the HDMI.




Anyone else notice any video signal degradation when passing 1080p/24Hz signals through the v867?


Thanks

LCD is the MP3 of the TV world
robi1138 is offline  
post #30 of 1193 Old 06-17-2011, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
ruuaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I saw another thread with somebody that had a similar problem. He fixed it by setting his refresh rate to 50hz. That fixed it for me too but of course the video is choppy now and I can't change the refresh rate on my 360. I tried using the HDMI cable that my PS3 uses and still nothing for the 360.
ruuaad is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V867 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V867 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off