Onkyo TX NR709 Owners' Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2436 Old 08-05-2011, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Decepticon07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaavenger View Post

What speakers do you have if you don't mind me asking. I'm considering the Onkyo 709 myself.

My 709 is powering KEF IQ 90's, IQ 60, and IQ 30's. It's just a 5.1 setup. My sub is a Velodyne Optimum 12. I went KEF because to me I loved their sound with music compared to JBL and Klipsch. I will leave it at that, not trying to start a flame war. But if anyone has any questions on the 709, hit me up.

If someone is wondering if you can use a wifi adapter instead of hard wiring, you can. I just bought one and it works great. I still think it's ridiculous that wifi isn't standard on most electronics these days. I consolidated posts, I don't want anyone thinking I am trying to catch up to their 15000+ posts here. Just trying to post helpful info.

Bears... Beets... Battlestar Galactica.
Decepticon07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2436 Old 08-06-2011, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to home theater sound and don't have a lot to spend. Would the Mirage NANOSAT 5.1 5.1CH Home Theater System be a good match for this receiver? I've heard Mirage in Best Buy a few years ago and was really impressed and Newegg has a pretty good sale right now.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlaavenger is offline  
post #93 of 2436 Old 08-07-2011, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sepen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Will the 709 work with two subs and calibrate each one separately? Thanks...
Sepen is offline  
post #94 of 2436 Old 08-07-2011, 03:09 PM
Member
 
silbeR32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does navigating to network music files via DLNA on a PC/server require the tv to be on, or can it be done via the receiver's display? Or even using a iPhone/Android phone application?

Thanks.
silbeR32 is offline  
post #95 of 2436 Old 08-09-2011, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have been trying to tweak my 709 to get the best Dolby Digital Sound (5.1) setting possible.

Which is it??

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #96 of 2436 Old 08-09-2011, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The reason I am asking the above question is I do not believe I am getting Dolby Digital. I am hoping it just a setting somewhere. It shows "THX Cinema". Is this Dolby Digital?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #97 of 2436 Old 08-09-2011, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgathright View Post

The reason I am asking the above question is I do not believe I am getting Dolby Digital. I am hoping it just a setting somewhere. It shows "THX Cinema". Is this Dolby Digital?

Hi rgathright, what does it display under info?
JChin is offline  
post #98 of 2436 Old 08-09-2011, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And what is your source that you're playing back.

It can display THX Cinema even when it's getting a true DD signal. If you want it back to plain DD hit the Movie Tv button thats near bottom of remote on the left just above the numbers. That should pop it back into plain DD.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #99 of 2436 Old 08-10-2011, 01:38 AM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A few questions any heat problem with 709? Is it louder? Will i gain anything usefull? Like to replace my 608

Hope no heat issues,I am limited posted a picture my old onkyo reciever in wall cabinet wide open area in back walk in closet nice setup.
LL

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #100 of 2436 Old 08-10-2011, 04:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It had "THX Cinema" in the info spot on the front of the receiver. I was watchng movies on Directv which are in in DD.

This morning when I turned it on it now has Dolby Digital in the info spot. Yesterday it did also, but somehow changed to THX Cinema. I noticed the difference when my sub was not booming as usual.

Is plain Dolby Digital the best sound I can get using Directv as the source? Also when I play a Blu-ray will it change to the best sound possible? In other words is there an automatic setting in the presets to get the best sound for whatever source is being used?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #101 of 2436 Old 08-10-2011, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 83
rgathright, my fellow Saints fan. The recover will default to whatever listening mode you selected last for that particular audio source everytime it detects it. Ex: With direct tv, go to a HD channel that has a Dolby digital encoding. Now hit movie on the remote until Dolby digital shows up. Now go to a SD channel that has 2 channel PCM(or Dolby) and select a different setting for it. Let's say Dolby digital PLLx. Now switch back to the HD channel & now check to see if the receiver is outputting Dolby digital.(info on the remote) It should be. Now switch to the SD channel it should now be outputting DDPLLx. This is how it will work for every input you are using(Direct, Blu ray, etc.)

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #102 of 2436 Old 08-10-2011, 09:43 PM
Member
 
porges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by silbeR32 View Post
Does navigating to network music files via DLNA on a PC/server require the tv to be on, or can it be done via the receiver's display? Or even using a iPhone/Android phone application?

Thanks.
The receiver front display is enough, although you'd want to try it out with the TV on at first to get used to what level of menu it's at as you work through them.
porges is offline  
post #103 of 2436 Old 08-11-2011, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 83
If anyone was wondering how the 709 performs, here is a review of the 609, I would assume that the 709 & the 370 would perform a margine better, due to the increased amp power. Quite impressed with the video scaling test. I was wondering how it paired.
http://www.hometheater.com/content/o...09-av-receiver

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #104 of 2436 Old 08-12-2011, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I did recieve the 709 today.
It is not much different then my previos 608
don't get me wromg there is a different design, audessey, network , features,
it is just not much louder still have to crank it to -10 -+0 to hear it pretty much loud where my 608 was at -25 -15 also it is way cold to the touch compare to my 608

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #105 of 2436 Old 08-13-2011, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Decepticon07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know if when you are running/listening to the internet radio apps if there is any sort of screensaver option?

Bears... Beets... Battlestar Galactica.
Decepticon07 is offline  
post #106 of 2436 Old 08-13-2011, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decepticon07 View Post

Anyone know if when you are running/listening to the internet radio apps if there is any sort of screensaver option?

not at moment , I spoke with Onkyo about this the day I received mine they said it will be rolled out very soon in the newer firmware next month
should I believe it???

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #107 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After some research I found out my Polk speakers are 8 ohms. The setup of the 709 has only 4 and 6 ohms, but not 8 ohms.

Which one do I use?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #108 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgathright View Post

After some research I found out my Polk speakers are 8 ohms. The setup of the 709 has only 4 and 6 ohms, but not 8 ohms.

Which one do I use?

Hi rgathright, select 6 Ohms if the impedances of all speakers are between 6 and 16 ohms (page 46 in OM).
JChin is offline  
post #109 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks - I was to tired from driving for 11 hours to look in the manual.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #110 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Daniel THB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, new owner of a 709 here, just hoping to get some quick confirmation that I am getting HD audio out of my current configuration. I've got an older PS3 connected via HDMI into the Onkyo, with the PS3 setting set to linear PCM and the Onkyo set to multichannel. During playback on a DTS-HD blu-ray movie, the PS3 shows DTS-HD on the information when I click display. But the receiver just shows "multich" - is there something more I need to do or is that just the way it's set up. Just for kicks I switched the PS3 setting to bitstream and the same information bar during the movie read DTS, so at least on the PS3 end, I think I can safely say that I am able to get DTS-HD out with the correct settings. It'd be nice to get some confirmation of that from the Onkyo though.
Daniel THB is offline  
post #111 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,530
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel THB View Post

Hi all, new owner of a 709 here, just hoping to get some quick confirmation that I am getting HD audio out of my current configuration. I've got an older PS3 connected via HDMI into the Onkyo, with the PS3 setting set to linear PCM and the Onkyo set to multichannel. During playback on a DTS-HD blu-ray movie, the PS3 shows DTS-HD on the information when I click display. But the receiver just shows "multich" - is there something more I need to do or is that just the way it's set up. Just for kicks I switched the PS3 setting to bitstream and the same information bar during the movie read DTS, so at least on the PS3 end, I think I can safely say that I am able to get DTS-HD out with the correct settings. It'd be nice to get some confirmation of that from the Onkyo though.

Hi Daniel THB, yes you are correct and your receiver is displaying correctly.
JChin is offline  
post #112 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Daniel THB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback JChin.
Daniel THB is offline  
post #113 of 2436 Old 08-15-2011, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
btw the way not sure if i can say if theres any price talk.
last week i recieved my 709 $649.00 from newegg ,now there $599.00
newegg was glad to hand me a $50.00 giftcard

also I was cranking this 709 last night it got hot , I put my palm of hand on top and could not hold it there more then a second, wonder if my fan is working

also whats up with everything I play bluray ,music , etc all output 48hz thought this was 96hz

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #114 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 01:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlaavenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North of Houston
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EaglePC View Post

btw the way not sure if i can say if theres any price talk.
last week i recieved my 709 $649.00 from newegg ,now there $599.00 newegg was glad to hand me a $50.00 giftcard

also I was cranking this 709 last night it got hot , I put my palm of hand on top and could not hold it there more then a second, wonder if my fan is working

also whats up with everything I play bluray ,music , etc all output 48hz thought this was 96hz

Great price! If I order it should I get the Newegg Warranty? For how long? 1 year or 2?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlaavenger is offline  
post #115 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Daniel THB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EaglePC View Post

also whats up with everything I play bluray ,music , etc all output 48hz thought this was 96hz

I'm curious about this too, having same thing happen.
Daniel THB is offline  
post #116 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel THB View Post
I'm curious about this too, having same thing happen.
yes correction meant 96khz ,I t hink i will call onkyo now ,concerning all my questions .I will post soon as a find out something.

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #117 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
not much help for onkyo ,they told me to update the firmware which was just released a few days ago ,we will see, just don't want to do it now severe thunder storms and upgrade takes atleast a hour .

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #118 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 08:55 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
updated firmware now it is worst yack

not do to firmware upgrade this was before ,anyone touch the top of unit burn there hand? u all think my fan inside is bad was looking inside of top unit with flashlight and fan never is on ?
also not being a moron my few post back with photo ,you think not enough room to vent?

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #119 of 2436 Old 08-16-2011, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
EaglePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaavenger View Post

Great price! If I order it should I get the Newegg Warranty? For how long? 1 year or 2?

think you shall pass on this avr all together this is one of the worst Onkyo's models I ever experienced

might just try to get another one
glad i paid through PayPal ,now newegg would have to ship me a new unit 1st then pay to return this one

RF61ii's
RC42ii
WS24's
RW-10D subwoofer
ONKYO AVR TX NR818
Oppo BDP-103
Cyber Power PFC 1500VA UPS
LG 55in 240hz LED 55LM7600 TV
EaglePC is offline  
post #120 of 2436 Old 08-17-2011, 12:53 AM
Senior Member
 
extrafuzzyllama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all i am the owner of a new Onkyo NR709 and i am setting up my first pricey but not to pricey HT setup.

i have a question about the NR709
i just got the Senheisser HD650 headphones and am wondering if the headphone port on the NR709 is enough to drive these headphones? or will i need some sort of amp and any suggestions on a amp that is not too expensive maybe under $200?

thx in advance
extrafuzzyllama is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr709
Gear in this thread - Nr709 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off