Onkyo TX NR709 Owners' Thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It was repaired 2 weeks ago. I just picked up the Hafler dh-220 amp yesterday. So before that I never had a need to use the pre-outs on the Onkyo.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 12:56 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see just got mine back on tuesday but got my new receiver friday so anyway how is the new amplifier working other than the issue and is the issue with any input?
azz7686 is offline  
post #2433 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I have not really had a chance to run it yet. I need to run Audyssey again so it can adjust the levels to the amp. So with the left channel not working it won't even run through the setup. I tested it at the sellers place and it sounded pretty good to me. It is in excellent original condition with barely a scratch on it.
splatee is offline  
post #2434 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Update time......

It is fixed. Took the pre-amp board out and it had a weak solder point on the "left" output. Resolder it and it is working. On e problem though I popped a tweeter on one of the Polks. I guess yesterday when I was swapping RCA cables there was a loud pop sound. That will be another fix..

But the sound is amazing. A lot more depth to it. I still need to run Audyssey again.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #2435 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 06:35 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sounds good is the output board the one on the bottom that the speaker lugs go to? Ive had mine apart also before I sent it in trying the youtube fix with desoldering caps and the oven trick I am surprised they even fixed it lol.
azz7686 is offline  
post #2436 of 2459 Old 09-20-2014, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The output board is right above the speaker terminals. Pretty easy to get to, just remove HDMI board, then take back panel off the make it easier to take out the other boards.

Oh and I fixed the issue with the speaker. Turned out I didn't have the terminals on the speaker tightened down so the jumpers did not make a connection with the top. So it is all good now.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #2437 of 2459 Old 10-01-2014, 07:34 PM
Member
 
03rkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hdmi-cec

I used the HDMI-CEC settings for the first time and it works really well. It communicates with the cable box, Samsung TV, DVD player, PS3 and 4. I'm not sure why that feature isn't explained better and promoted more by all component manufacturers that enable it. It was the new Samsung TV that made me understand it at all and try it.
Just one more feature that this TX-NR709 has that got by me for a while.
03rkc is offline  
post #2438 of 2459 Old 10-02-2014, 10:23 AM
Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
audyssey dsx & the 709

Can the 709 run the Front High and Front Wide at the same time? Seems like from the manual you have to choose one or the other.

I have an extra pair of sat surrounds that I'd throw up on the wall and also have a spare pair of bookshelfs that I'd throw out wide if the 709 can run both.

Do you hook up both and then the material dictates whether it gets a high or wide signal? or you just have to set it and forget it?

Any thoughts? Experiments? Likes/dislikes on the audyssey dsx or Dolby PLIIz?

Media Room: Onkyo NR-709 / OPPO-103
Paradigm Mini Monitors v2 / Atoms (rears) / CC-370
Den: Samsung 59D6500 Plasma & Monoprice in-walls
Server: WHS2011, i5 2500k CPU
HTPC1(LR):Win8 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
HTPC2(BR):Win8 Pro 64-bit, i3 2105, Radeon 6770

Last edited by ckronengold; 10-02-2014 at 10:34 AM.
ckronengold is offline  
post #2439 of 2459 Old 10-04-2014, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Invader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think I may have finally been hit by the "bad Onkyo" bug. Had my 709 for about a year with zero problems. Now it suddenly won't output video to my TV, regardless of the source. I was about to fire up a Blu-ray on my ps3. When I played the Blu-ray, the picture suddenly cut out.

Audio still plays back fine. Hdmi connections to everything. Anything I can try, or is a call to Onkyo in order?
Invader3 is offline  
post #2440 of 2459 Old 10-05-2014, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No Audio!!!!

My receiver worked great last night, but I cannot get any sound from any sources this morning. I did a hard reboot, but it did not solve the problem. The video work fine.

Any suggestions? I will start reading also.

Edit: I found the audio/network repair link and I am eligible for a repair. It is a good thing I had a soundbar to use in place of it until it gets repaired.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS

Last edited by rgathright; 10-05-2014 at 05:39 AM.
rgathright is offline  
post #2441 of 2459 Old 10-05-2014, 02:33 PM
Member
 
03rkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Can the 709 run the Front High and Front Wide at the same time? Seems like from the manual you have to choose one or the other.

I have an extra pair of sat surrounds that I'd throw up on the wall and also have a spare pair of bookshelfs that I'd throw out wide if the 709 can run both.

Do you hook up both and then the material dictates whether it gets a high or wide signal? or you just have to set it and forget it?

Any thoughts? Experiments? Likes/dislikes on the audyssey dsx or Dolby PLIIz?
I would hook it up and let Audyssey try to set it up. I was thinking of trying that myself.
03rkc is offline  
post #2442 of 2459 Old 10-08-2014, 06:13 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I stream video via my network?

If I'm streaming a film from an internet site (not a download), can I watch via my Network, as opposed to connecting via the HDMI Front input? Would be easier than carrying the laptop into the home theater room...

And if so, how? What are the setup details?

My network is Wi-Fi for the laptop, wired to the Onkyo.

Thanks
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2443 of 2459 Old 10-08-2014, 06:27 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No you can not it only does audio!
azz7686 is offline  
post #2444 of 2459 Old 10-08-2014, 07:05 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Streaming video over the Network

Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
No you can not it only does audio!
That's what I thought. Oh well!
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2445 of 2459 Old 10-13-2014, 06:59 PM
avp
Member
 
avp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invader3 View Post
I think I may have finally been hit by the "bad Onkyo" bug. Had my 709 for about a year with zero problems. Now it suddenly won't output video to my TV, regardless of the source. I was about to fire up a Blu-ray on my ps3. When I played the Blu-ray, the picture suddenly cut out.

Audio still plays back fine. Hdmi connections to everything. Anything I can try, or is a call to Onkyo in order?
Have you tried unplugging receiver? Wait few minutes plug back in when you turn on you should see onkyo screen.
Just happened to me.
avp is offline  
post #2446 of 2459 Old 10-15-2014, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Invader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by avp View Post
Have you tried unplugging receiver? Wait few minutes plug back in when you turn on you should see onkyo screen.
Just happened to me.
I reset it using the power + vcr button trick, and that fixed it.
Invader3 is offline  
post #2447 of 2459 Old 10-19-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I shipped off my receiver last week. Will a signature be required for Fedex when they ship it back?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #2448 of 2459 Old 10-20-2014, 03:51 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes!!
azz7686 is offline  
post #2449 of 2459 Old 10-21-2014, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
C*** - I am leaving next week and will be gone for a month. I had setup my neighbor to put the receiver in the house when they got home from work. There are no neighbors that are home when the deliveries are being made.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #2450 of 2459 Old 10-21-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
mcarring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using the NR-709 with DirecTV AVR. While fast forwarding commercials, the 709 "clicks" like it is no longer receiving signal. Is there a way to have a longer delay on this to avoid that annoying click?
mcarring is offline  
post #2451 of 2459 Old 10-25-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was shocked when my receiver was delivered back already. Now the fun starts of hooking everything back up and trying to remember exactly how I had it setup.

I have a 7.1 speaker setup and I am using the High speaker connections. Would it sound better if I used the surround connections instead?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #2452 of 2459 Old 10-25-2014, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thumbs down HDMI board dying again

I had by HDMI board replaced a year ago. Onkyo was great about handling the out-of-warranty-repair for free, Norman's Electronics here in Atlanta did the repair. They were a little slow and didn't call me when it was done. But 11 months later I'm losing HDMI video output again and have to powercycle to get it back.
Jon Lusky is offline  
post #2453 of 2459 Old 10-27-2014, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
butch666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have had my 709 for 3+ years now and never had an issue... I have however always followed this advice from another thread without even knowing it:


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Onkyo/Integra has been a good AVR brand for our install biz..
Since we use all of the major brands we can compare each for reliability, features..
Though we sell/install fewer Denon AVRs than Onkyo/Integra we had more failures with Denon..
Our experience with Onkyo/Integra has been excellent, provided U pay attention to a couple of key points..
1. Do not use the Monster HDMI cables, as their molded connector was out-of-spec and put extreme pressure on the AVR's PCB HDMI jacks
2. Be sure to provide at least 4-6" of free air clearance for the L/R sides and top
3. Do not stack any component on top

Just my $0.02..
ten8yp likes this.
butch666 is offline  
post #2454 of 2459 Old 10-27-2014, 05:17 PM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I could not get feedback from the RS232 port. I am able to control it via the RS232. I am using eventghost. Any one have any ideas?
mpg732 is offline  
post #2455 of 2459 Old 10-29-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
nosnowinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, like the 707 model that failed, the 709 has the no audio bug. Onkyo is sending box and shipping label. Better service then when the 707 failed, I guess because they admit this flaw. always happens in football season and before holidays...


I guess I have to decide if now is time to upgrade and use the 709 in another room. wonder if the 727 at $499 is worth it. not sure I need atmos since I am not cutting holes in family room ceiling due to skylights.
nosnowinny is offline  
post #2456 of 2459 Old 11-05-2014, 05:49 AM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had no problems with my 709. Maybe you guys have cooling issues?

Anyway.

I am planning on buying a 4k TV.
I see that the 709 supports "HDMI Video Upscaling to 4K with Qdeo™ Technology by Marvell".
Is this good enough?

I have disabled video processing on my 709. Will 4k content from my media player passthrough and get to the TV untouched? Or do I need to have HDMI 2.0?

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2457 of 2459 Old 11-10-2014, 09:13 PM
Member
 
nosnowinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unbelievable. Shipped off for repair on Saturday, 9 days later it is back at the front door via FEDEX. Thanks Onkyo for the quality service. Sounds awesome again watching MNF!
nosnowinny is offline  
post #2458 of 2459 Old 11-13-2014, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
srange98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fell victim to the "no speaker indicators/no sound" issue. I utilized the extended warranty support, and was very impressed. They shipped the box on the 4th and I had the receiver back by the 11th.

I hooked up all the speakers and all the video sources, only to discover that now I have HDMI problems. When I power the unit on I get a "HDMI starting up" message that I previously did not have, and I only get video/audio about 1 out of every 10 times I turn the receiver on or switch inputs. I do see the ONKYO logo when it powers up, but once it starts to handshake it blacks out the screen. Is this a common issue that can be fixed with changing a setting? Or do I have to see if Onkyo will do another repair? I've already tried the unplug for 5 minutes reset, as well as the VCR+Power button reset as well.
srange98 is offline  
post #2459 of 2459 Old 11-21-2014, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
srange98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by srange98 View Post
I fell victim to the "no speaker indicators/no sound" issue. I utilized the extended warranty support, and was very impressed. They shipped the box on the 4th and I had the receiver back by the 11th.

I hooked up all the speakers and all the video sources, only to discover that now I have HDMI problems. When I power the unit on I get a "HDMI starting up" message that I previously did not have, and I only get video/audio about 1 out of every 10 times I turn the receiver on or switch inputs. I do see the ONKYO logo when it powers up, but once it starts to handshake it blacks out the screen. Is this a common issue that can be fixed with changing a setting? Or do I have to see if Onkyo will do another repair? I've already tried the unplug for 5 minutes reset, as well as the VCR+Power button reset as well.
Onkyo stepped up again. I let them know of the issue and they promptly emailed me a new shipping label. I shipped it out on Friday, and had it on my doorstep on Tuesday.

Turns out, however, it was all for naught. The issue remained. The Onkyo repair folks included a checklist showing they had tested every output, and all had passed. Yet here I was with the same HDMI issues. I started troubleshooting everything I could think of. New cables, old cables, factory reset, eliminate inputs one by one to see if one device was causing the problem, etc., but to no avail. I racked my brain, trying to figure out what else it could be. I figured I had done everything to isolate the issue. Suddenly it dawned on me, "what if it's the TV?" I swapped from HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 and BOOM goes the dynamite! Problem solved.

TL; DR - Onkyo support exceeded my expectations and quickly addressed both a real and fictional problem
srange98 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr709
Gear in this thread - Nr709 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off