Onkyo TX NR709 Owners' Thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It was repaired 2 weeks ago. I just picked up the Hafler dh-220 amp yesterday. So before that I never had a need to use the pre-outs on the Onkyo.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see just got mine back on tuesday but got my new receiver friday so anyway how is the new amplifier working other than the issue and is the issue with any input?
azz7686 is offline  
post #2433 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I have not really had a chance to run it yet. I need to run Audyssey again so it can adjust the levels to the amp. So with the left channel not working it won't even run through the setup. I tested it at the sellers place and it sounded pretty good to me. It is in excellent original condition with barely a scratch on it.
splatee is offline  
post #2434 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Update time......

It is fixed. Took the pre-amp board out and it had a weak solder point on the "left" output. Resolder it and it is working. On e problem though I popped a tweeter on one of the Polks. I guess yesterday when I was swapping RCA cables there was a loud pop sound. That will be another fix..

But the sound is amazing. A lot more depth to it. I still need to run Audyssey again.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #2435 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 05:35 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good is the output board the one on the bottom that the speaker lugs go to? Ive had mine apart also before I sent it in trying the youtube fix with desoldering caps and the oven trick I am surprised they even fixed it lol.
azz7686 is offline  
post #2436 of 2448 Old 09-20-2014, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The output board is right above the speaker terminals. Pretty easy to get to, just remove HDMI board, then take back panel off the make it easier to take out the other boards.

Oh and I fixed the issue with the speaker. Turned out I didn't have the terminals on the speaker tightened down so the jumpers did not make a connection with the top. So it is all good now.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #2437 of 2448 Old 10-01-2014, 06:34 PM
Member
 
03rkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hdmi-cec

I used the HDMI-CEC settings for the first time and it works really well. It communicates with the cable box, Samsung TV, DVD player, PS3 and 4. I'm not sure why that feature isn't explained better and promoted more by all component manufacturers that enable it. It was the new Samsung TV that made me understand it at all and try it.
Just one more feature that this TX-NR709 has that got by me for a while.
03rkc is offline  
post #2438 of 2448 Old 10-02-2014, 09:23 AM
Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
audyssey dsx & the 709

Can the 709 run the Front High and Front Wide at the same time? Seems like from the manual you have to choose one or the other.

I have an extra pair of sat surrounds that I'd throw up on the wall and also have a spare pair of bookshelfs that I'd throw out wide if the 709 can run both.

Do you hook up both and then the material dictates whether it gets a high or wide signal? or you just have to set it and forget it?

Any thoughts? Experiments? Likes/dislikes on the audyssey dsx or Dolby PLIIz?

Media Room: Onkyo NR-709 / OPPO-103
Paradigm Mini Monitors v2 / Atoms (rears) / CC-370
Den: Samsung 59D6500 Plasma & Monoprice in-walls
Server: WHS2011, i5 2500k CPU
HTPC1(LR):Win8 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
HTPC2(BR):Win8 Pro 64-bit, i3 2105, Radeon 6770

Last edited by ckronengold; 10-02-2014 at 09:34 AM.
ckronengold is offline  
post #2439 of 2448 Old 10-04-2014, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Invader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think I may have finally been hit by the "bad Onkyo" bug. Had my 709 for about a year with zero problems. Now it suddenly won't output video to my TV, regardless of the source. I was about to fire up a Blu-ray on my ps3. When I played the Blu-ray, the picture suddenly cut out.

Audio still plays back fine. Hdmi connections to everything. Anything I can try, or is a call to Onkyo in order?
Invader3 is online now  
post #2440 of 2448 Old 10-05-2014, 04:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No Audio!!!!

My receiver worked great last night, but I cannot get any sound from any sources this morning. I did a hard reboot, but it did not solve the problem. The video work fine.

Any suggestions? I will start reading also.

Edit: I found the audio/network repair link and I am eligible for a repair. It is a good thing I had a soundbar to use in place of it until it gets repaired.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS

Last edited by rgathright; 10-05-2014 at 04:39 AM.
rgathright is offline  
post #2441 of 2448 Old 10-05-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
03rkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Can the 709 run the Front High and Front Wide at the same time? Seems like from the manual you have to choose one or the other.

I have an extra pair of sat surrounds that I'd throw up on the wall and also have a spare pair of bookshelfs that I'd throw out wide if the 709 can run both.

Do you hook up both and then the material dictates whether it gets a high or wide signal? or you just have to set it and forget it?

Any thoughts? Experiments? Likes/dislikes on the audyssey dsx or Dolby PLIIz?
I would hook it up and let Audyssey try to set it up. I was thinking of trying that myself.
03rkc is offline  
post #2442 of 2448 Old 10-08-2014, 05:13 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I stream video via my network?

If I'm streaming a film from an internet site (not a download), can I watch via my Network, as opposed to connecting via the HDMI Front input? Would be easier than carrying the laptop into the home theater room...

And if so, how? What are the setup details?

My network is Wi-Fi for the laptop, wired to the Onkyo.

Thanks
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2443 of 2448 Old 10-08-2014, 05:27 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No you can not it only does audio!
azz7686 is offline  
post #2444 of 2448 Old 10-08-2014, 06:05 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Streaming video over the Network

Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
No you can not it only does audio!
That's what I thought. Oh well!
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2445 of 2448 Old 10-13-2014, 05:59 PM
avp
Member
 
avp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invader3 View Post
I think I may have finally been hit by the "bad Onkyo" bug. Had my 709 for about a year with zero problems. Now it suddenly won't output video to my TV, regardless of the source. I was about to fire up a Blu-ray on my ps3. When I played the Blu-ray, the picture suddenly cut out.

Audio still plays back fine. Hdmi connections to everything. Anything I can try, or is a call to Onkyo in order?
Have you tried unplugging receiver? Wait few minutes plug back in when you turn on you should see onkyo screen.
Just happened to me.
avp is offline  
post #2446 of 2448 Old 10-15-2014, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Invader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by avp View Post
Have you tried unplugging receiver? Wait few minutes plug back in when you turn on you should see onkyo screen.
Just happened to me.
I reset it using the power + vcr button trick, and that fixed it.
Invader3 is online now  
post #2447 of 2448 Old Yesterday, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I shipped off my receiver last week. Will a signature be required for Fedex when they ship it back?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #2448 of 2448 Old Today, 02:51 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes!!
azz7686 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr709
Gear in this thread - Nr709 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off