Onkyo TX NR709 Owners' Thread - Page 83 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2461 of 2486 Old 12-11-2014, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
thedegasbulbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Passthrough

Hello,

I have my Apple TV connected to the TX-NR709 where I get the passthrough so that I don't need to have the receiver on all the time when I watch it. I'd like to get a Blu-Ray player, which I often use to play CDs. If I connect the player to the receiver, can that be set to passthrough as well so that if I'm watching a movie, I don't need to have the receiver on and watch through the tv, or does this receiver only handle one passthrough?
thedegasbulbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2462 of 2486 Old 12-12-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
howardru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedegasbulbo View Post
Hello,

I have my Apple TV connected to the TX-NR709 where I get the passthrough so that I don't need to have the receiver on all the time when I watch it. I'd like to get a Blu-Ray player, which I often use to play CDs. If I connect the player to the receiver, can that be set to passthrough as well so that if I'm watching a movie, I don't need to have the receiver on and watch through the tv, or does this receiver only handle one passthrough?
As your question to Duane on the Onkyo USA Facebook page.... he's very responsive.
howardru is offline  
post #2463 of 2486 Old 12-12-2014, 04:47 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedegasbulbo View Post
Hello,

I have my Apple TV connected to the TX-NR709 where I get the passthrough so that I don't need to have the receiver on all the time when I watch it. I'd like to get a Blu-Ray player, which I often use to play CDs. If I connect the player to the receiver, can that be set to passthrough as well so that if I'm watching a movie, I don't need to have the receiver on and watch through the tv, or does this receiver only handle one passthrough?
Yes, I'm pretty sure it can, but I would think you need to change the setting as to what input is auto-selected when turned off. That might be a problem.
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2464 of 2486 Old 12-27-2014, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
Munga7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Default Input Selection

I have not been on this thread in some time so I apologize in advance if this issue has been previously addressed. When I power the unit on the default input is VCR/DVR IHDMI 2) and I would like it to be CAB/SAT (HDMI 3) since I usually watch cable TV with the unit on. How can I fix this so the default input is CAB/SAT when I power the unit on. Thanks, For some reason the unit defaults to HDMI 2. In fact I literally switched the cable box to HDMI 2 (and the VCR/DVR to HDMI 3) so the cable will be the default but this doesn't seem the correct fix.

Last edited by Munga7; 12-27-2014 at 07:40 PM.
Munga7 is offline  
post #2465 of 2486 Old 01-05-2015, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
thedegasbulbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Optical Out Line Level Lower

Hello- I have just tried connecting my macbook pro to one of the optical inputs (TV/CD). I've noticed that the volume is lower than when I wirelessly stream audio via the macbook (Apple TV is using the VCR/DVR input. Any ideas as to why? Thanks!
thedegasbulbo is offline  
post #2466 of 2486 Old 01-16-2015, 04:42 PM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello and I'm sure this has been asked but I don't have time to read through all 80 some pages of posts. Has any one come up with a permanent fix for the HDMI board issue? I have tried the oven trick twice now and it works for a few weeks and then fails again.

Thanks
Mike
mpg732 is online now  
post #2467 of 2486 Old 01-16-2015, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpg732 View Post
Hello and I'm sure this has been asked but I don't have time to read through all 80 some pages of posts. Has any one come up with a permanent fix for the HDMI board issue? I have tried the oven trick twice now and it works for a few weeks and then fails again.

Thanks
Mike

Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018


You DID see this didn't you??? It's right at the top of the page here.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #2468 of 2486 Old 01-16-2015, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018


You DID see this didn't you??? It's right at the top of the page here.


Ed

His has been in the oven....not sure if Onkyo will touch it now.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #2469 of 2486 Old 01-16-2015, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
His has been in the oven....not sure if Onkyo will touch it now.

I wouldn't think they could tell----unless it smells like pizza or something.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #2470 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 12:07 AM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not to the original owner, plus its been serviced before under warenty. So I don't know if they will fix it.
mpg732 is online now  
post #2471 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpg732 View Post
I'm not to the original owner, plus its been serviced before under warenty. So I don't know if they will fix it.
You don't have to be the original owner, you don't need a receipt and I've seen several posts where one had been repaired previously. Try it. Whatta ya have to lose?


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #2472 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 02:42 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
They should mine was a refurb and I got it on CL for 300$ a year and a half ago and also changed out the cap's and tried the oven thing but didn't help me at all!!lol
old corps likes this.
azz7686 is online now  
post #2473 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 02:44 PM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 709 better than the 737? Only difference 4k and hdmi 2.0?

Why doesn't 737 support Audyssey DSX, Audyssey Dynamic Volume, Dynamic EQ and Additional Volume Management like Dolby?

http://www.se.onkyo.com/en/product-c...95,26797,26265

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2474 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 05:41 PM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
They should mine was a refurb and I got it on CL for 300$ a year and a half ago and also changed out the cap's and tried the oven thing but didn't help me at all!!lol
My understanding that the 709 doesn't suffer from the caps, only the THX chip underscoring it self from heat issues. When it fails, you also lose network connection. How long did you cook it and at what temp?
mpg732 is online now  
post #2475 of 2486 Old 01-17-2015, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by B|G1 View Post
Is the 709 better than the 737? Only difference 4k and hdmi 2.0?

Why doesn't 737 support Audyssey DSX, Audyssey Dynamic Volume, Dynamic EQ and Additional Volume Management like Dolby?

http://www.se.onkyo.com/en/product-c...95,26797,26265

Onkyo has removed Audyssey from all the receivers.They are now using their own room calibration software.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #2476 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 12:26 AM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aha.

Anyone with experience of Onkyos own?

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2477 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by B|G1 View Post
Aha.

Anyone with experience of Onkyos own?

Well no where near Audyssey...maybe in time they will catch up.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #2478 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 12:51 AM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
Well no where near Audyssey...maybe in time they will catch up.
Hehe, to bad... too expensive to keep Audyssey?

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2479 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 12:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by B|G1 View Post
Hehe, to bad... too expensive to keep Audyssey?

I guess trying to cut corners to keep up with the turning economy.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #2480 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 01:03 AM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
I guess trying to cut corners to keep up with the turning economy.
AccuEQ Vs Audyssey

Wellwell... Maybe I will hold on to my Onkyo 709... I hope that 709 can passthrough 4k. I have disabled video processing..

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2481 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 09:31 AM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes network was out also, I could do the on/off thing like 6-8 times get it to come on or have the top off and use a heat gun to heat up that chip for 10-15 seconds that usually did the trick but who wants to do that every time I even saw posts where people mounted halogen lights in their case with a switch to heat them up(this is where I got the idea). I don't quite remember the temp but it was a you tube post you wrap the board with aluminum foil and expose the chip some where around 450F and 20 minutes or something like that! After replacing the caps the heat gun trick no longer worked so it sat in my garage for a few weeks until I stumbled across this forum and tried it and luckily I got the board replaced, even tho its used in the garage now cause I ordered a new receiver when I thought I was out a receiver. I'm happier with new AVR and like having v-tuner in garage cause I get my favorite channel out there now since they added it to v-tuner and I live just a few miles to far to receive it on regular tuner!!
azz7686 is online now  
post #2482 of 2486 Old 01-18-2015, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Prognathous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd like to connect a projector to the first HDMI and use it with my 5.1 speaker setup, and connect the TV (mounted on another wall) to the second HDMI and use it with its built-in speakers. Is this possible with the 709? Any recommended settings?

Thanks!
Prognathous is online now  
post #2483 of 2486 Old 01-20-2015, 12:13 PM
Member
 
B|G1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Subwoofer isn't enabled when playing music from "Net - vTuner"
Tried to enable "Stereo" mode but subwoofer ain't playing... bug? All other music modes sounds crap, Stereo mode is best.

Cerwin-Vega, Onkyo & NAD 5.1 home cinema:
http://avforum.no/myhometheater/Mikaelft

B|G1 is offline  
post #2484 of 2486 Old 01-21-2015, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
darkleafar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No subwoofer sound

I would like to note that my nr709 has already been out for repair once, but ever since it has been working awesomely. currently all the speakers and subwoofer I have connected to the nr709 are onkyo branded and are the ones that came with an old Onkyo HTIB 7.1 system I had bought long ago. If i remember correctly, it was called ht 6100.

As of recently, the subwoofer will not come on. The onkyo subwoofer has a red light at the front that changes to blue when it detects a bass signal, red is just confirmation that is receiving power from the outlet. No matter what Audio mode I put, or what source I select, the subwoofer will not come on. I simply get no sound.

Also, this had happened before about a month ago. WHen it happened then, I tried changing the cables and and resetting the receiver and such, and it didnt work, until it suddenly worked on its own again. Now, just as suddenly, it isnt working.

I have had this subwoofer for 5+ years. Is it time to replace it? Or is something wrong with my receiver? Has anybody had similar problems with this particular receiver?

Thank you very much for your time.
darkleafar is offline  
post #2485 of 2486 Unread Yesterday, 02:34 AM
Senior Member
 
darkleafar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So funniest thing, turns out the problem is something is wrong with my surge protector, where the sub woofer will not power up unless I plug it elsewhere. Unfortunately (or fortunately, really) I didn't realize until I went to Frys and pulled the trigger on a klipsch r 12sw for $314 and a pair of klipsch rf42 II's for $100 each. So when I get home and set it all up, I realized the new sub woofer wasn't working either until I switched it to a different outlet..and then realized I didn't really need a new one after all. But hey, it's a huge upgrade from onkyo htib satellites and sub, so what the heck why not lol
darkleafar is offline  
post #2486 of 2486 Unread Today, 11:02 AM
Member
 
mpg732's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkleafar View Post
So funniest thing, turns out the problem is something is wrong with my surge protector, where the sub woofer will not power up unless I plug it elsewhere. Unfortunately (or fortunately, really) I didn't realize until I went to Frys and pulled the trigger on a klipsch r 12sw for $314 and a pair of klipsch rf42 II's for $100 each. So when I get home and set it all up, I realized the new sub woofer wasn't working either until I switched it to a different outlet..and then realized I didn't really need a new one after all. But hey, it's a huge upgrade from onkyo htib satellites and sub, so what the heck why not lol
Well if it makes you feel better I love my Klipsch. The sound great with my Onkyo "least when it worked"...
mpg732 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr709
Gear in this thread - Nr709 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off