Onkyo TX NR709 Owners' Thread - Page 85 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2531 Old 06-04-2015, 12:29 PM
Member
 
diwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Thank you.
diwal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2531 Old 06-14-2015, 05:17 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So after 2 1/2 years of having the 709, I'm just starting to try to use the DLNA function. Most of my music files are on my ASUS PC, on the D: part of the hard drive (and important ones backed up to the Cloud). When I access DLNA, it shows my PC on the network, and then Music, and then Folders, only the C: and Shared Music appear, not the D:, although the Folder I want is on D: and has even been added to my Music Library. How do I get to D: and this Folder. And if I moved it all to an EHD, would it have trouble finding it there, too?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 1.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	776425   Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 2.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	776433   Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 3.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	25.2 KB
ID:	776441   Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 4.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	23.6 KB
ID:	776449   Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 5.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	776457  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 6.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	776465   Click image for larger version

Name:	DLNA 7.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	776473  
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2523 of 2531 Old 06-14-2015, 07:57 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Setup that drive/folder to share in my computer under hdd D: otherwise you can't see it on network

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
post #2524 of 2531 Old 06-15-2015, 10:10 PM
Member
 
barryaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"How do I get to D: and this Folder?"

"Setup that drive/folder to share in my computer under hdd D: otherwise you can't see it on network"

Got it! Had to share both the d: and the Folder itself.

That's what I love about these Forums. Whether I'm getting advice about my cars, computers or A/V or helping someone else out, these are wonderful resources!

Thanks.
barryaz1 is offline  
post #2525 of 2531 Old 06-16-2015, 06:56 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I 2nd that also and GLAD to help cause I've received plenty on here.

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
post #2526 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 05:14 AM
Member
 
Prognathous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone managed to identify why and when the NR709 display "Multich" instead of DTS/Dolby Digital? It clearly decodes the signal correctly and everything sounds fine, but the display is just a generic "Multich".
Prognathous is offline  
post #2527 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 08:55 AM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prognathous View Post
Has anyone managed to identify why and when the NR709 display "Multich" instead of DTS/Dolby Digital? It clearly decodes the signal correctly and everything sounds fine, but the display is just a generic "Multich".

The device or source I assume is connected via Hdmi so change the divide from pcm to bitstream.

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
post #2528 of 2531 Old Yesterday, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Prognathous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's an HTPC connected through HDMI. Using the same players (PowerDVD 14, PotPlayer, Zoom Player Pro and others), the encoding of some files is displayed correctly by the receiver, but for others it just shows "Multich". I configured the players to pass-through the audio to the display. Is this what you mean?
Prognathous is offline  
post #2529 of 2531 Old Today, 02:17 PM
Member
 
MANTI5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having an issue playing netflix through the WiiU, audio shows up as Multichannel with no surround sound. Flipping through the various presets makes no difference until it gets to all channel stereo. It's connected by HDMI and I'm sure there must be a setting I'm missing as I don't remember this problem before sending it in for the recall and it being factory reset. I didn't use the WiiU for netflix much until our bluray player died so maybe I'm wrong and it never decoded to surround.

Last edited by MANTI5; Today at 02:55 PM.
MANTI5 is offline  
post #2530 of 2531 Old Today, 05:54 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prognathous View Post
It's an HTPC connected through HDMI. Using the same players (PowerDVD 14, PotPlayer, Zoom Player Pro and others), the encoding of some files is displayed correctly by the receiver, but for others it just shows "Multich". I configured the players to pass-through the audio to the display. Is this what you mean?
I was thinking more of the lines of you having a ps3-4 usually you see this issue but a pc you will need codecs I believe there is a thread/site to remedy this but I don't remember the site/program will do some hunting!

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
post #2531 of 2531 Old Today, 06:12 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
try this http://www.shark007.net may help if questions go to maximumpc.com and look up htpc.

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr709
Gear in this thread - Nr709 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off