5.1 "decoder" without the "amplifier"??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dutchswan0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am putting together a Dinner Theater at a winery and need some help with a preamp or decoder. I am technically savvy, but have never before encountered a situation in which each of my speakers had their own amplifier. I am trying to figure out how to decode a 5.1 or 7.2 surround system, but without a "decoder" that also is an amplifier. That is to say, I need a receiver that will put the 5.1 signal to each amplifier, while the receiver itself does not have to do any amplification. I am sure I am mixing my terms, but just need to get steered in the right direction.
dutchswan0311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 05:51 PM
Member
 
hodgjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sounds like what you're after is a pre-amplifier-decoder and power amplifier combo. Such kits exist.

The preamplifier will decode the signal and send it off to a power amplifier.

I'm not sure why you insist on separate units, but they do exist. Most people just get an integrated amplifier, which has the pre-amp and power amp in one unit.

Edit: I now understand why you need only the pre-amp; it's because your speakers are powered.

This is the type of unit you are looking for:

http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo...umber=MAAV7005

If you search, you are looking for a surround sound pre-amplifier.
hodgjy is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 05:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,510
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
You can use either a DD 5.1 preamp or AVR with preouts either of which you can connect the powered speakers to play the decoded DD audio.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dutchswan0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't insist; I just want to be sure that I am not overpowering my speakers. For instance, if one of the LCR speakers is a 350w unit, and is being powered by a 350w Amp, I don't want to hook it up to a 5.1 receiver that also amplifies at 100w and have the overall signal transmit at 450w. I am not sure if such a thing is even a danger, but I don't know what I don't know when it comes to using speakers that are amplified independently of the receiver.
dutchswan0311 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 05:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,510
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
There is no cumulative addition of power when connecting to an AVR's preouts, rather the power comes from the speaker's amp only and the signal comes from the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dutchswan0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@jds...that is good to know. Forgive my ignorance, but how do I know if I am connecting to the preouts? Rather, do the "preouts" look different than the other "outs". *rolls eyes at self. I am tech savvy....no really.
dutchswan0311 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-13-2011, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dutchswan0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
after examining the back of a AVR with pre-outs...I see that they are just RCA jacks that are labeled "preouts". duh. No wonder there are some really expensive AVRs that have very little amplification; the target audience is not looking for amplification.
dutchswan0311 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off