"Official" Onkyo TX-NR809 Thread - Page 206 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6151 of 6158 Old 10-19-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivehead1 View Post
Hi guys, I have a question...

I found an old equalizer in my basement, and I would like to hook it up to my NR809. Can I connect it to the "front" RCA outputs, into the EQ, and back into the "front" RCA's? Will this allow me to shape the sound for Pandora?

Thanks a lot for any info on this!
The front RCA on 809 are inputs and not outputs. May be if you could draw a picture as to what your intent is, that would help.
aaranddeeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6152 of 6158 Old 10-19-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
fivehead1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the back of the receiver, there are rca's labeled "front" in the preamp section. I'm sorry for any confusion.
fivehead1 is offline  
post #6153 of 6158 Old 10-20-2014, 05:58 AM
Member
 
dr_gallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't think you can do what you suggest as you would have to use the front panel jacks as an input, eliminating Pandora as a source. However, you could set zone 2 to the Pandora source, take the zone 2 line out into your EQ and send the output into the any of the unused inputs front or back.
dr_gallup is offline  
post #6154 of 6158 Old Yesterday, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
vcrpro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am ready to put a refurb TX-NR809 in to service that i got from AC4LS almost 2 years ago but never used...any tips to protect agaisnt the dreaded HDMI board failure syndrome? I am putting the unit on a stand, not in a cabinet so there will be adequate ventilation around it.
vcrpro3 is offline  
post #6155 of 6158 Old Yesterday, 03:32 PM
Member
 
rfb6435's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_gallup View Post
I don't think you can do what you suggest as you would have to use the front panel jacks as an input, eliminating Pandora as a source. However, you could set zone 2 to the Pandora source, take the zone 2 line out into your EQ and send the output into the any of the unused inputs front or back.
Add a laptop cooling pad on top that has a 180 - 220 mm fan that sucks upward. That drops the temp significantly.
rfb6435 is offline  
post #6156 of 6158 Old Yesterday, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfb6435 View Post
Add a laptop cooling pad on top that has a 180 - 220 mm fan that sucks upward. That drops the temp significantly.
Good info on the fans !! I have had a ANTEC A/V COOLER on my 809 since day one and on low speed 24-7 !!
vcrpro3 likes this.

MY 7.4 SET UP. Not Perfect But Let's Just Say I'm Happy !!
Onkyo TX-NR809, (Klipsch-KF-28 mains),( Center KC-25), (Front wide- Primus P363), (AR-Stature S20 side surrounds).2 each Klipsch RW12D subs. HSU VTF-3 MK3 and HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs.
Mitsubishi 3D DLP MODEL73-738, DarbeeVision DVP-5000.Pioneer BDP-62FD.
Ray77085 is offline  
post #6157 of 6158 Old Today, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help with HDMI ARC problem

I have a Samsung UN75f8000 setup using anynet+ and the Onkyo 809 setup using HDMI control. I use the DirectTV to remote to power on the TV which in turns powers up the 809. It works momentarily but after a few seconds the audio goes out and the receiver shows 'analog' on the screen vs HDMI. To get the audio back on, I have to switch the TV input off the satellite and then back onto the satellite. Then I have audio again. I can reproduce this every single time and I have also found other posts on the internet that seem to describe the same symptoms. I do not know if this applies to all firmwares as my TV and Onkyo are all upgraded to the latest. I did read a post elsewhere where the owner had the same problem but only after upgrading to latest firmware. My receiver did work well before with ARC using a Vizio TV and older Onkyo firmware but when I recently got this new TV I upgraded my Onkyo firmware at the same time. Is there a fix for this? Is this potentially related to that repair recall?
dawg is offline  
post #6158 of 6158 Old Today, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivehead1 View Post
On the back of the receiver, there are rca's labeled "front" in the preamp section. I'm sorry for any confusion.
Oh okay.
IMHO that is not such a good idea just to use that old EQ. Not much you can get apart from the complicating the connections and possibly landing into some ground loop hum..
aaranddeeman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr809 , Component Amplifiers , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr808
Gear in this thread - Nr809 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off