"Official" Onkyo TX-NR809 Thread - Page 220 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6571 of 6585 Old 04-28-2017, 08:52 AM
Member
 
gitarzan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
odd problem

After years of daily use my tx-nr809 had the no sound problem. I learned about the extended warranty and sent it in for repair. Amazingly it was returned to me six days later with a sheet of paper saying 'modification complete' and that it had been reset to factory settings. I hooked it back up and it worked.

The only odd thing is when I go to bed at night I plug my phone (pixel xl, android 7.1.2) into its charger next to my bed. Then the receiver and tv (samsung 75" 8500 series) turns back on in the living room. If I have left my apple tv turned on with my directv now app then the tv is on and sound playing through the receiver. I have to get back up and go turn it off.

I am puzzled why plugging my phone in to power causes this action.

I don't know that this is related to the receiver so I may not be posting this question in the right place. Just that the repair was the last change I made to my system.

I also have a chromecast ultra plugged into the receiver and the google home app on my phone. I have the apple tv and and xbox one plugged into the tv and use ARC to get sound back to the receiver. I use the hdmi cec on my devices so when one turns on the others do and I can control my volume.

I have samsung smartthings devices throughout my house for lights and security. Also a couple of alexa's.

So my question is: why is my tv and receiver turning on when I plug my phone in?

thanks!
gitarzan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6572 of 6585 Old 04-28-2017, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Network On?

Quote:
The only odd thing is when I go to bed at night I plug my phone (pixel xl, android 7.1.2) into its charger next to my bed. Then the receiver and tv (samsung 75" 8500 series) turns back on in the living room. If I have left my apple tv turned on with my directv now app then the tv is on and sound playing through the receiver. I have to get back up and go turn it off.
Check to see if the "network on" option is enabled in the menu. A cheat for this is to feel the top of the AVR for heat when you know it has been off for a while. There is also a very small telltail on the AVR front display.

This model, when in "network Standby" gobbles 60 plus watts just idling, waiting for a signal to fire up a zone or whatever.

I cannot remember if that is a "factory default on" setting but I'd bet that is what yours is doing.

It could also be HDMI related... If you have the receiver set up to turn on the tv when the AVR powers up. Less of a chance of that but the Samsung might be picking up the phones power up and doing much the same thing.

All the best,
Doug k

Imaging Science Foundation Technician ( Retired )
ltd76gold is online now  
post #6573 of 6585 Old 04-28-2017, 12:53 PM
Member
 
gitarzan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltd76gold View Post
Check to see if the "network on" option is enabled in the menu. A cheat for this is to feel the top of the AVR for heat when you know it has been off for a while. There is also a very small telltail on the AVR front display.

This model, when in "network Standby" gobbles 60 plus watts just idling, waiting for a signal to fire up a zone or whatever.

I cannot remember if that is a "factory default on" setting but I'd bet that is what yours is doing.

It could also be HDMI related... If you have the receiver set up to turn on the tv when the AVR powers up. Less of a chance of that but the Samsung might be picking up the phones power up and doing much the same thing.

All the best,
Doug k
I checked the network setting and it is set to disabled. I also have just remembered I have the a smart power strip with the TV plugged into the 'master' port. Which is making me think the TV must be coming on first but it still doesn't make any sense to me.
gitarzan is offline  
 
post #6574 of 6585 Old 04-28-2017, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Hmmnn,
Check that the rihd is off... Page 60.

No dice there... Plug the avr into the wall directly. Check if that helps.

Something is triggering the power. Do you have a whole house setup in play? Thermostat, lights, security?

Frankly, I'm at a loss with this one.

Doug k
ltd76gold is online now  
post #6575 of 6585 Old 05-22-2017, 01:14 PM
Member
 
04ctd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From Onkyo Tech, when asking about independent inputs & outputs for HDMI 1 & 2:


"
I do not believe the older Onkyo can do this, but the newer
Integras can do the sub as zone 2
and the settings are required in
the Initial setup.
example DRX-4 integra
"


so...I have a very nice TX-NR809 for sale if anyone is interested...
04ctd is offline  
post #6576 of 6585 Old 05-28-2017, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Sinistar83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the "HDMI OUT MAIN" output audio at all?

Quick question as I was not able to find the answer by searching this thread or google search but does the HDMI OUT MAIN for the TX-NR809 receiver output audio and video or just video?

The reason why is I'm using an Elgato Game Capture HD external capture card to record video from my PS3, and also using an HDMI splitter before it goes into the HDMI in on the Elgato: PS3 > ViewHD HDMI Mini Splitter > [Output 1] to HDMI Input on Onkyo TX-NR809 reciver & [Output 2] to Elgato HD & PC USB.

Everything worked fine and dandy that way, but I wanted to be able to capture anything with the Elgato going to the receiver because I have PS3, PS4, Steam Link, and RetroPie hooked up to the receiver's various inputs.

I know the Onkyo has the HDCP, so I unhooked the PS3 only setup and now have it set like this:
Onkyo TX-NR809 receiver HDMI OUT MAIN > Input on ViewHD HDMI Mini Splitter > [Output 1] to HDMI Input on LG TV & [Output 2] to Elgato HD & PC USB

So everything works great in 1080P with the video, but I get no audio at all. I suspect it's because the Onkyo is not outputting any audio at all over the HDMI. Is this by design or is there a receiver setting I am missing somewhere on this? I don't believe it's a setting on the Elgato as it worked fine before I had the splitter and the elgato on the HDMI in. Or does anyone have any suggestions for any workarounds?

Thanks in advance

This is the HDMI splitter I am using: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004F9LVXC/
Sinistar83 is offline  
post #6577 of 6585 Old 06-17-2017, 10:31 AM
Member
 
chesster51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had network issues with their 809? Mine is suddenly no longer recognized in network devices on my computer and of course I cannot access Pandora or my play list. Is there anyway I can check the cable or the port on the unit to identify where the failure lies?
chesster51 is offline  
post #6578 of 6585 Old 06-17-2017, 10:57 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by chesster51 View Post
Has anyone had network issues with their 809? Mine is suddenly no longer recognized in network devices on my computer and of course I cannot access Pandora or my play list. Is there anyway I can check the cable or the port on the unit to identify where the failure lies?


Try the Main Menu > Hardware> Network area....that should help you to see if it has an IP address correct from your router. Depending on what you know about networks, I'd start by rebooting Onkyo and the router and re-check.

P62 of your manual is attached.


Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is online now  
post #6579 of 6585 Old 06-17-2017, 12:30 PM
Member
 
chesster51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
Try the Main Menu > Hardware> Network area....that should help you to see if it has an IP address correct from your router. Depending on what you know about networks, I'd start by rebooting Onkyo and the router and re-check.

P62 of your manual is attached.

Thanks for the response. I do have DHCP set to enable. I believe this may have started after a brief power surge/outage due to lightning yesterday. TV, lights and everything else lost power for about two seconds. All components are on surge protector. The 809 is listed in my network devices but says not connected. That's why I'm leaning towards a bad Ethernet cable or the Ethernet port on the unit. I ordered a tester of Amazon, so I'll see what that produces. If the port is bad, is this something that Onkyo would cover under their warranty they extended to 2018?
chesster51 is offline  
post #6580 of 6585 Old 06-17-2017, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
One other possible fix.

Just unplug the 809. Wait 10 seconds. Plug back in and see if it connects.

This has reset mine several times with regards to the network.

All the best
Doug k
ltd76gold is online now  
post #6581 of 6585 Old 06-17-2017, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
WSZsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chesster51 View Post
Thanks for the response. I do have DHCP set to enable. I believe this may have started after a brief power surge/outage due to lightning yesterday. TV, lights and everything else lost power for about two seconds. All components are on surge protector. The 809 is listed in my network devices but says not connected. That's why I'm leaning towards a bad Ethernet cable or the Ethernet port on the unit. I ordered a tester of Amazon, so I'll see what that produces. If the port is bad, is this something that Onkyo would cover under their warranty they extended to 2018?

This happens to me almost every time I have a power outage. Usually unplugging the receiver for a minute brings it back.

Onkyo TX-NR809
Polk Audio RTI A3 Bookshelf Speakers
Polk Audio RTI A1 Bookshelf Speakers
Boston Acoustic VR10 Center
Energy ESW-310 Subwoofer
WSZsr is offline  
post #6582 of 6585 Old 06-18-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
chesster51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSZsr View Post
This happens to me almost every time I have a power outage. Usually unplugging the receiver for a minute brings it back.
Thanks for the help, the unplugging worked to get it back on the network. Still couldn't access my play list, but that was due to a setting in windows media player that evidently changed after an update. Anyway, all is good now.
chesster51 is offline  
post #6583 of 6585 Old Today, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrain28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Land O' Lakes, FL
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Howdy Folks!

I just bought myself an LG OLED 65 E7 and a Sony UDP-800X UHD Player and of course I am now looking to upgrade my receiver. Its hard when this happens, because the 809 still works perfectly fine for normal use...but... Not having HDCP 2.2 or Dolby Atmos is really contrary to the set up I'd like to have...

So the question is, for those of you in similar situations, what has your research lead you to buy, or want to replace your 809 with?
bigbrain28 is offline  
post #6584 of 6585 Old Today, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ltd76gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Zigzag Oregon / South Padre Island Texas
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
A perfectly viable workaround...

Use the hdmi out from the 800 player DIRECTLY to the LG.

Run from the 800 coax out to the 809 avr.

Set up the input source on the 809 to receive the audio stream from the 800 player.

You are in business save for atmos and unless for some reason you can't live without that whistle, you will still have all the bells you really need.

Atmos is cool... But even a well set up and dialed in 5.2...yeah...2 subs well placed, will give you all of the surround you might ever need. The 809 allow for 7.1 or 7.2 with a splitter and a damn fine Audessey audio calibration system.

Some of the NEW avr's with atmos pale in comparison to actual power output and room measurements systems.

Of course, your call.

All the best,
Doug k
ltd76gold is online now  
post #6585 of 6585 Old Today, 09:28 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbrain28 View Post
Howdy Folks!



I just bought myself an LG OLED 65 E7 and a Sony UDP-800X UHD Player and of course I am now looking to upgrade my receiver. Its hard when this happens, because the 809 still works perfectly fine for normal use...but... Not having HDCP 2.2 or Dolby Atmos is really contrary to the set up I'd like to have...



So the question is, for those of you in similar situations, what has your research lead you to buy, or want to replace your 809 with?

Why do you need hdcp 2.2? Your uhd player has separate HDMI for video (straight to your display) and an Audio HDMI (to maintain HD Audio to your 809).

There are currently no AVRs that can handle Dolby Vision either, so the above configuration applies for loads of people with much newer AVRs (even Atmos).

When you install your Atmos/DTS:X speaker config will be the time to budget for a new AVR.

I went for a Denon X7200WA for a dedicated setup, which has had a long run as the flagship. It is due to be replaced later this year, so would be a good outgoing model to pick up. There are cheaper options down the model line up too, some with fancy Audyssey Apps.

If I was buying now, I would be looking at Dirac type room EQ solutions....but a very expensive solution.

My 809 is still going strong - just normal Lounge/TV duties these days.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr809 , Component Amplifiers , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo Tx Nr808

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off