"official" Denon AVR-3312CI owners thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #151 of 169 Old 09-10-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
^^
Check with Denon as they may still repair it under warranty, otherwise check with your credit card issuer as many will add a 4th year of warranty for free.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 169 Old 09-10-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
BurningMustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Check with Denon as they may still repair it under warranty, otherwise check with your credit card issuer as many will add a 4th year of warranty for free.
Thanks jdsmoothie. I did a quick chat with Denon and they seemed helpful and open to discussing. I didn't have all my receipts with me at the time so will continue that.

Also, I purchased with AMEX, and it appears they offer a 4th year. so that is another route I will pursue.
BurningMustard is offline  
post #153 of 169 Old 09-10-2014, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 507
That's good news; hopefully, your repairs will by covered, one way or t'other.
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #154 of 169 Old 09-11-2014, 12:17 PM
Member
 
BurningMustard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurningMustard View Post
Thanks jdsmoothie. I did a quick chat with Denon and they seemed helpful and open to discussing. I didn't have all my receipts with me at the time so will continue that.

Also, I purchased with AMEX, and it appears they offer a 4th year. so that is another route I will pursue.
Looks like Denon can offer a one time service repair at no charge.

The catch is that with this being the HDMI board it has to got to NY to fix, I am in KC. (user pays shipping)

The Denon rep is working having me take the unit to a local service center where they can remove the HDMI board and only ship that saving freight costs.

The main downside appears to be time without the unit. But overall, so far so good. Thanks!
BurningMustard is offline  
post #155 of 169 Old 09-12-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 213
I did the firmware update denon offered a few weeks ago and my receiver has been messed up ever since. Any volume above -10 dB the audio starts cutting out really badly and stuttering in movies, whenever there is a loud scene. I am very close to the speakers, they're set at -10.5, -11, -4, -4.5, and -6, so they can all easily play reference level. I used to watch -5 to -6 all the time before. Has anyone else has this problem?

The other possibility is that my video card has messed up. Sometimes the drivers crash and the screen goes black after the audio cuts out. But that doesn't make sense because the audio is bit streamed so the computer doesn't even know the playback level.
Bassment is offline  
post #156 of 169 Old 09-13-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Ok, never mind, I tried it with a different receiver with an optical input, and it still did it, it must be my video card. Maybe it's being shook from the bass. I still don't understand how the video card messes up with loud dynamics, when it is bitstreaming the audio.
Bassment is offline  
post #157 of 169 Old 09-27-2014, 06:53 AM
Member
 
benalexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I am considering selling my AVR 3312CI receiver wondering what I can get for it? Where can I sell it?
benalexe is offline  
post #158 of 169 Old 09-27-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
^^
Maybe $500 - $600. Try the Classified section of this forum (link below) or Audiogon or even your local Craigslist.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-audio-gear/

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #159 of 169 Old 10-16-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Update on my 3312 dropping center/surround channel issue.
I started having the problem more frequently so I brought it to local service center. They said HDMI board (I don’t know what it is) is bad. They tried to order the part but it was not in stock. So I’m getting replacement. They don’t have any info regarding the replacement yet. They will let me know with further info in a couple of days.
I’m wondering if the replacement unit will be 3312 (refurbished?) or newer model (3313 or 4000?). Has anyone gotten the replacement unit recently?

- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Denon 3313, Panny BD35 Bluray, HTPC (XBMC), Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x Micro Marty Subwoofer
- Samsung 63" Plasma, Xbox 360, WiiU, Wii, PS2, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0 + LFM-EX
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163
m9610172 is offline  
post #160 of 169 Old 10-16-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
^^
Yes, most likely a refurb 3312CI as they are still available.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #161 of 169 Old 10-16-2014, 03:11 PM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yes, most likely a refurb 3312CI as they are still available.
Well, I was expecting too much, then. It’s okay. Anyway I hope the refurbished one doesn’t have overheating problem that I also had. Thanks jdsmoothie

- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Denon 3313, Panny BD35 Bluray, HTPC (XBMC), Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x Micro Marty Subwoofer
- Samsung 63" Plasma, Xbox 360, WiiU, Wii, PS2, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0 + LFM-EX
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163
m9610172 is offline  
post #162 of 169 Old 11-15-2014, 04:53 AM
Member
 
shogun94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 3312CI starting acting uprecently. I use a PS3 Slim andHDMI between the PS3 and 3312CI for the sound and video. The problem may have started with afterthe firmware update but some times the sound from the PS3 would not work and Iwould have to go into the setup on the 3312CI and change a setting on HDMI andchange it back and the sound would work again for a while (days). The setting I changed and changed back wasnot wrong, it just needs to be changed and changed back. The other day, we lost power because we camehome and everything was flashing. Weweren’t home so the 3312CI was not on. When I went to use the 3312CI, I could not get the sound to work fromthe PS3. I know there is sound coming fromthe PS3 since I can get the sound on the TV through HDMI. I have tried everything but a full reset toget the sound working again with no success. I did add optical between the PS3 and the 3312CI and that works fine butthat does not support the DTS-HD modes.
I may have to a full system resetbut I would like to avoid that to not have to manually set up all the radiostations, preferences calibrations etc again.
Any ideas on settings tocheck?
shogun94 is offline  
post #163 of 169 Old 11-15-2014, 05:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
^^
First try simply unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. If no joy, us the Web Control feature (p. 80 OM) to save the config file to a PC and do a full microprocessor reset. Also, IIRC, the radio station settings are not erased with a micro reset, rather only when written over with a new station setting.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #164 of 169 Old 11-15-2014, 08:36 AM
Member
 
shogun94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
First try simply unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. If no joy, us the Web Control feature (p. 80 OM) to save the config file to a PC and do a full microprocessor reset. Also, IIRC, the radio station settings are not erased with a micro reset, rather only when written over with a new station setting.
The first try using the unplug did not work but method of save / reset / restore using the PC did. Thanks for the advice.
shogun94 is offline  
post #165 of 169 Old 05-24-2015, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
sullyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

My AVR-3312CI continues to challenge my notions of the obvious. I have a 5.1 zone 1 config with a sub. I use the zone 2 preamp outs to drive a FM transmitter for "yardcasting" various sources. I would like use the remaining two power amps for zone 3 and stereo speakers in the kitchen. I can't get this to work! Any advice? I'd like to continue to have zone 2 feed the preamp outs for my xmitter.

Thanks

Sully
sullyk is offline  
post #166 of 169 Old 05-24-2015, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
^^
The AMP ASSIGN setting factory defaults to Zone 2, so change it to Zone 3 noting that HDMI sources cannot pass to Zones 2 or 3.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #167 of 169 Old 06-06-2015, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
kcmusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
no display on net/usb (pandora)

I used to get a nice display on song artist and other info, no more, what happened?
kcmusa is offline  
post #168 of 169 Unread Today, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR-3313CI HDMI is shot No replacement available

My 3 year old unit is out of warranty and the authorized repair shot just told me that HDMI board is shot and that Denon no longer makes it and there are not any available. Any advice on what next steps to take? A web search for a board turned up nothing. I really love this unit. Do I just trash it?

Thanks for your help!

Regards

Jay
Jay Groundwater is online now  
post #169 of 169 Unread Today, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,369
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5107 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Groundwater View Post
My 3 year old unit is out of warranty and the authorized repair shot just told me that HDMI board is shot and that Denon no longer makes it and there are not any available. Any advice on what next steps to take? A web search for a board turned up nothing. I really love this unit. Do I just trash it?

Thanks for your help!

Regards

Jay
Wrong thread, but if you purchased the unit with a credit card, the issuer may extend the warranty a 4th year so check with them to see if they'll cover replacing it.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off