Budget receiver—what should I do? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 06-28-2011, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, been lurking on these forums for the past few weeks in hopes of finding my first audio receiver. Let me first say that I have very little knowledge about audio video equipment, but I hope to learn as I start to build a set up of my own.

I've scoured all the threads looking at budget receivers (aka I'm a student in college)I'm looking for something with the bare minimums HDMI input and something that won't be outdated in a few years/futureproof. From what I've read from people on this forum, an automatic EQ (Yamaha's or Audyssey) is very nice to have, and I would like Wifi capabilities if both of these are not overpriced. The overall main requirement must be that this receiver will pack A LOT of power since it will be used half the time for parties. At one time I thought about getting some DJ PAs/amp but figured that would be a bad investment in the long run. I have a few nice speakers (Paradigm Atoms) that I would be using for the majority of the time (TV, movies, video games) and a random smattering of free Craigslist speakers that I figured I could use for making it loud. Tell me if I'm wrong: can you make the surround channels into the L/R stereo channels to increase the sound output? Pre-outs might be nice in case I can happen upon an amplifier.

From what I've noticed, I can pay $200-$300 for a refurb/new decent receiver...
Onkyo TX-8555 $200
Denon AVR-1611 $271
Denon AVR-591 $279

Or you can pay $300-500 for a discounted mid-range model:
Denon AVR-1911 $400
Marantz SR5003 $300
Yamaha RX-V867 $429 (until tomorrow!)
Onkyo RC-180 $350