The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1) - Page 187 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5581 of 5602 Old 07-17-2014, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ganymed4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thank you AustinJerry, very kind of you! Yep, I also enjoyed watching the games. In my understanding it is really amazing to see all the teams from around the world competing in fair sports.
Great stuff and I watched much more games than I had to. Was really worth it.

It is great, that Germany won the world cup after 24 years again. These guys and their coach did a lot and I am also happy that the 'Mannschaft' committed the fewest fouls of all.

Thank you again and in four years a new team will win. May be the US boys, they have great potential and it starts to show...
Ganymed4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5582 of 5602 Old 07-17-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
The kit has always cost $550, and the licenses have always cost $150. Sounds like he doesn't know what he is talking about.
I periodically put them on sale for $500. Plus Paypal fees if that method of payment is used, plus shipping. So, worst case ~$530 on sale (now) depending on where it has to ship to..
Cheers,
Scott scott@techht.com
GetGray is online now  
post #5583 of 5602 Old 07-21-2014, 05:28 AM
Member
 
mgrobins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi .


I have been looking through the thread to find the "dual sub" issue that is mentioned a few times at the end here and can't locate what is of concern. I'm about to purchase an AV8801 and use it in a 5.2 or 7.2 setup. One of the main selling points for me was the sub HT and XT32 options. Does the system properly calibrate 2 subs that are located different distances from the 1st listening position?
mgrobins is offline  
post #5584 of 5602 Old 07-21-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,812
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrobins View Post
Hi .


I have been looking through the thread to find the "dual sub" issue that is mentioned a few times at the end here and can't locate what is of concern. I'm about to purchase an AV8801 and use it in a 5.2 or 7.2 setup. One of the main selling points for me was the sub HT and XT32 options. Does the system properly calibrate 2 subs that are located different distances from the 1st listening position?
Yes it does a proper calibration, so there should be no concerns.

The dual sub bug is this: When you run a Pro calibration, you are given the option to save your measurements for future use. You can then re-load measurements, skip to the crossover settings page, and either adjust crossovers or launch the curve editor. this allows you to adjust the results of the calibration without re-running the measurements step (which is the most time-consuming part). Before the introduction of Sub-Eq HT and dual subs, you could also add additional measurement points to the original calibration. That is no longer possible, because if you add more measurements, Pro will not remember the sub distance settings from the original measurement set, resulting in wrong distance settings (and potentially a flawed calibration).

Audyssey has acknowledged this flaw, and attributes it to the limited processor resources the AVR manufacturers are willing to allocate to Audyssey. In other words, do not expect this bug to be fixed. However, adding additional measurement points is something that is done rarely, so there is no reason for this flaw to deter you from using the Pro kit effectively.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5585 of 5602 Old 07-21-2014, 09:05 PM
Member
 
mgrobins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for explaining that for me .


I have been using the included mic and onboard EQ with my PR-SC5508 and am interested to know if the pro kit provides an audible improvement. I don't see myself having a series of room curves for different audiences and so on. I'm simply trying to gauge if there is $500 (or is it $640 since I need a licence for me pre as well as the kit?) value in the purchase.
mgrobins is offline  
post #5586 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 05:47 AM
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5587 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 06:33 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrobins View Post
Thanks for explaining that for me .


I have been using the included mic and onboard EQ with my PR-SC5508 and am interested to know if the pro kit provides an audible improvement. I don't see myself having a series of room curves for different audiences and so on. I'm simply trying to gauge if there is $500 (or is it $640 since I need a licence for me pre as well as the kit?) value in the purchase.
Of course it provides an audible improvement with just it's basic function. I had it for a couple of years before using the curve editor.

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5588 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 06:33 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Re-subbing.
Eh?
pepar is online now  
post #5589 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 06:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrobins View Post
Thanks for explaining that for me .


I have been using the included mic and onboard EQ with my PR-SC5508 and am interested to know if the pro kit provides an audible improvement. I don't see myself having a series of room curves for different audiences and so on. I'm simply trying to gauge if there is $500 (or is it $640 since I need a licence for me pre as well as the kit?) value in the purchase.
In my purely personal opinion as someone who has used Audyssey and the Pro Kit extensively for some years, the Pro Kit does not represent good value for money if you already have XT32. XT32 is just so good. The Pro kit brings benefits - principally for me, the ability to save and reload different calibrations. The mic is also better in the Pro Kit and the Pro Kit has a 'target curve editor' but it is very crude and not easy to use. I would not buy the Pro kit again if I had my time over. I should add that I have a heavily treated room.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5590 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Eh?
I unsubbed a while back. But I have to edit the Pro FAQ now following the upgrade/changeover to vBulletin so I thought I might as well re-sub and see what you guys have all been discussing while I was away
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5591 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 01:30 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131


Pretty much the SOS, Keith.

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5592 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post


Pretty much the SOS, Keith.

Jeff
Yeah - not many newcomers. I wonder if Pro is fading away? Audyssey seem to have lost interest, although presumably (hopefully) they will be updating the software for the new crop of Pro-ready units this fall.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5593 of 5602 Old 07-22-2014, 05:31 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Yeah - not many newcomers. I wonder if Pro is fading away? Audyssey seem to have lost interest, although presumably (hopefully) they will be updating the software for the new crop of Pro-ready units this fall.
I suppose an update will be the tell on whether or not they continue to be interested.

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5594 of 5602 Old Yesterday, 05:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I suppose an update will be the tell on whether or not they continue to be interested.

Jeff
Well they can hardly not update the software if manufacturers (eg Denon) are advertising new 2015 models as 'Pro ready'. But adding capability for an additional AVR or two isn't by any means 'development' of Pro, which seems to have halted a few years ago now. Great shame IMO.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5595 of 5602 Old Yesterday, 06:57 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
True. All true, sir.

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5596 of 5602 Old Yesterday, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
True. All true, sir.

Jeff
XT32 is still King IMO. And Pro certainly does no harm of course, but at $700 it doesn't seem all that good value to me. Mine cost me close on $1,000 with carriage to the UK and import taxes and, on reflection, I think I could have spent that money more wisely, and achieved more audibly too.

Onkyo have shot themselves in the foot head by dropping XT32 IMO.

Take a look at how their replacement, AccuEQ, compares with XT32 in the images below. No need to say which is which! If you let the thumbs load up you can switch between them, back and forth, to see a great comparison...

Originals here: https://translate.google.co.uk/trans...tml&edit-text=

Thumbs just show centre and sub - all speakers shown on the site linked.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg overplot838dtscenteraltneu_450493.jpg (39.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg dts51c_450540.jpg (34.4 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg overplot838dtslfealtneu_450496.jpg (34.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg dts51lfe_450544.jpg (32.2 KB, 19 views)
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5597 of 5602 Old Yesterday, 10:51 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 131
The "puck" looks like it is sitting on top of an espresso machine.

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #5598 of 5602 Old Yesterday, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5599 of 5602 Old Today, 07:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
PRO FAQ UPDATE!

The Pro FAQ is gradually getting updated after the devastation wreaked upon it by the changeover to vBulletin.

  • All the internal links are now re-made and have been verified.
  • Some of the external links still need to be fixed.
  • Answers to one or two questions have disappeared altogether and will need to be written again.
  • Images have also gone missing and will need reinstating.

As a general issue, the FAQ will need updating when new AVRs and AVPs become available this Fall, and which are Pro ready. If anyone has info on which new units will be Pro capable, please PM me that info.

Thanks for your patience.
pepar, GetGray and iNetRunner like this.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5600 of 5602 Old Today, 08:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Thanks Keith. In case you hadn't noticed yet, your signature link to Audyssey FAQ, takes you to the right place, but this link:
3. Click Here For The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit FAQ.
Does not go to the Pro FAQ.

Nor does this one in post #1 of that thread:
For the Audyssey Pro FAQ click here.

Should be:
The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1)

I think

Thanks for the work to fix it all. Much appreciated.


GetGray is online now  
post #5601 of 5602 Old Today, 10:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,509
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post
Thanks Keith. In case you hadn't noticed yet, your signature link to Audyssey FAQ, takes you to the right place, but this link:
3. Click Here For The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit FAQ.
Does not go to the Pro FAQ.
That's odd - they both work for me, here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post
Nor does this one in post #1 of that thread:
For the Audyssey Pro FAQ click here.

Should be:
The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1)


I can't change that one - needs a Mod to do it. Anyone reading?

I think

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post
Thanks for the work to fix it all. Much appreciated.

You’re very welcome. It should be all fixed by next week.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #5602 of 5602 Old Today, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 46
This one:
3. Click Here For The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit FAQ.
is
www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1346723-audyssey-pro-installer-kit-thread-faq-post-1-a-102.html#post22429521

It takes me to the top of page 102 which with my setting is at post #4041
If I check the direct link for that post it says:
www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1346723-audyssey-pro-installer-kit-thread-faq-post-1-a-102.html#post23098931,

This is the post for the Pro FAQ is #3048 . Checking it's direct message link I see it matches what I just typed above (ends in 29521). But if I click on your link I go to the wrong spot. Must be a bug in the forum software. If I click on my link (same link when I choose copy link location) I go to the right palce. WTF?

AHHH, wait... I see the difference. Look at these 2 links. The post # is right, but the page # is wrong. Or the page # varies by your settings of how many posts per page. That's a bug IMO they should fix.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-faq-post-1-a-102.html#post22429521
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-faq-post-1-a-77.html#post22429521

These come from righ clicking on the specific post's permalink and choosing "copy link location" (Firefox). The permalink should get one to the post regardless of their posts per page setting. This could screw up all your (re)work.

When you view that link, are you actually on page 102?

Last edited by GetGray; Today at 10:56 AM.
GetGray is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Audyssey
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off