The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1) - Page 188 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 5619 Old 07-24-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,376
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1525
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post
Excellent! How did oyu figure out what the non-page-associated link would be?

I noticed this format from my notification emails. Editing the post number to get this post:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/26010674-post.html



It's not original work. I had some great help from a fellow member when I was amending the other FAQs.

The difference between the two types of links is this:

The one that is dependent on ppp, and which you get if you copy and paste the Permalink url:

Code:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1346723-audyssey-pro-installer-kit-thread-faq-post-1-a-102.html
#post22429521

And my modified one using a unique ID:

Code:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1346723-audyssey-pro-installer-kit-thread-faq-post-3048-a-post22429521.html?highlight=#post22429521
Scroll them to the right to see the difference.
kbarnes701 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 5619 Old 07-24-2014, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,376
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1525
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Sooo, we need an FAQ FAQ?
Haha. Yes, it seems so. Until AVS get vBulletin all fixed anyway.

It';s not quite as bad as it seems - IIRC only links that reference posts made before the changeover are FUBARed. Links made after the changeover work as intended. Of course, the FAQs are waaaaay before, hence the problem, now fixed.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #5613 of 5619 Old 07-26-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Bonjour,

How to position the mic when taking measures with Audyssey MultEQ "simple" & Pro.

See here.

Hugo
Hugo S is offline  
post #5614 of 5619 Old 07-26-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 17,376
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo S View Post
Bonjour,

How to position the mic when taking measures with Audyssey MultEQ "simple" & Pro.

See here.

Hugo
Thanks Hugo. I will add this to the Pro and the regular FAQs when I update them to include Atmos information. Thanks for getting that answered "aux petits oignons"
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #5615 of 5619 Old 08-26-2014, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Just wondering..........................

With the new Atmos ready Denon - Marantz AVRs being released, how long will it take Audyssey to produce an update to Aud Pro software for those devices that are compatible?

How will current Pro users feel about having to use the standard microphone (they will probably be pleased by the speed increase, as Pro is really slow)

Will Audyssey include any other improvements? Or maybe some bug fixes? I don't think I'll hold my breath............................................ ...........turning blue already.

Regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
post #5616 of 5619 Old 08-26-2014, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Just wondering..........................

With the new Atmos ready Denon - Marantz AVRs being released, how long will it take Audyssey to produce an update to Aud Pro software for those devices that are compatible?

How will current Pro users feel about having to use the standard microphone (they will probably be pleased by the speed increase, as Pro is really slow)

Will Audyssey include any other improvements? Or maybe some bug fixes? I don't think I'll hold my breath............................................ ...........turning blue already.

Regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
post #5617 of 5619 Old 08-26-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,124
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_mike View Post
Just wondering..........................

With the new Atmos ready Denon - Marantz AVRs being released, how long will it take Audyssey to produce an update to Aud Pro software for those devices that are compatible?

How will current Pro users feel about having to use the standard microphone (they will probably be pleased by the speed increase, as Pro is really slow)

Will Audyssey include any other improvements? Or maybe some bug fixes? I don't think I'll hold my breath............................................ ...........turning blue already.

Regards, Mike.
Gee, thanks, Mike. We were all trying to take a nap in here...

There has been a general statement from Audyssey that they will support the new AVR's with the new Atmos speaker configurations. To me, if Audyssey supports a standard calibration on the new hardware, and update to support a Pro calibration won't be far behind. As to how long we will need to wait, I don't think any of us know at this time. And whether there will be other bug fixes/enhancements, your guess is as good as mine. While we are waiting, I don't think any current Pro user will balk at performing a consumer calibration using the generic mic for some period of time. Certainly better than no calibration, IMO.
kbarnes701 likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #5618 of 5619 Old 08-26-2014, 11:48 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 151
pepar is offline  
post #5619 of 5619 Old Yesterday, 10:33 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
In my purely personal opinion as someone who has used Audyssey and the Pro Kit extensively for some years, the Pro Kit does not represent good value for money if you already have XT32. XT32 is just so good. The Pro kit brings benefits - principally for me, the ability to save and reload different calibrations. The mic is also better in the Pro Kit and the Pro Kit has a 'target curve editor' but it is very crude and not easy to use. I would not buy the Pro kit again if I had my time over. I should add that I have a heavily treated room.
Thats very interesting, I decided to use the mic that came with the marantz 8802 xt32 and wanted to do a comparison to my pro kit, like you I have a heavily treated room and I got just about got the same results in Ch Levels on my speakers using my Audyssey. The centre and fronts were spot on just the surround were off at .5db.

Last edited by Franin; Yesterday at 11:45 PM.
Franin is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Audyssey
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off