The Audyssey Pro Installer Kit Thread (FAQ in post #1) - Page 210 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 88Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6271 of 6288 Old 08-15-2016, 09:32 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddhamus View Post
Thanks Pepar!.... Well I tried accessing the Web pages of the integra..... And so I thought I might try and load the multi eq software again and Walla!!!! It's now working and I'm in the middle of a calibration as we speak.... Let's hope this cal will not bork up things like the last one did..... Lol

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
Odd, but ...

"Veni, vidi, vino!"
(I came, I saw, I drank wine!)
pepar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6272 of 6288 Old 08-20-2016, 12:54 PM
Member
 
hllbll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hllbll View Post
Little update.

Now there are already three, who thinks that the issue is in Onkyo Today I got response from Onkyo, they told me to send the AVR to local service and parts and labour are paid by Onkyo.

There might still be some light in the end of the tunnel. I'm personally quite curious, what is causing this issue. Personally I hope, that it has something to do with power supply, maybe there's some interference in the voltages. Maybe some capacitors have come to an end. If not, then it might be quite difficult to find the problem.

But, better this way. If Onkyo hadn't taken responsibility, I should have tried to fix it myself.
And about six months later I got an ending for this issue. Now I have Onkyo TX-NR5010 as replacement unit and Audyssey Pro calibration works as well as it should.

First replacement unit was TX-NR3030, which didn't have Audyssey at all and as you might guess, I wasn't very happy with that. But with that unit I got an opportunity to test how "well" AccuEQ works. It didn't. So I sent it back and got that 5010 instead.

Problem solved. For now, at least. And luckily Audyssey was willing to transfer my license to this new unit, because the repair was under warranty.
hllbll is offline  
post #6273 of 6288 Old 09-30-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,661
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2626 Post(s)
Liked: 2263
If buying a pro kit used are there concerns I should know? Are there different revisions? Updates?


I have a Denon X7200WA, and always have it in the back of my mind it'd be fun to play with a pro kit. Not necessary, just fun. Used a decent option? I see they are selling for $300ish or less used in the classified on occasion.


I've heard the new Denon and Marantz models are moving away from using the pro kit to an Audyssey app - so that's one consideration. (limited future life)
Archaea is online now  
post #6274 of 6288 Old 10-05-2016, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
VoodooDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There have been updates to the software that you can download from Audyssey and, if you are running Windows 10, you will need a new USB->RS232 Serial cable as the chipset in the one originally provided is not supported.
VoodooDoctor is offline  
post #6275 of 6288 Old 10-06-2016, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
If buying a pro kit used are there concerns I should know? Are there different revisions? Updates?


I have a Denon X7200WA, and always have it in the back of my mind it'd be fun to play with a pro kit. Not necessary, just fun. Used a decent option? I see they are selling for $300ish or less used in the classified on occasion.


I've heard the new Denon and Marantz models are moving away from using the pro kit to an Audyssey app - so that's one consideration. (limited future life)


I certainly think it's $450 (don't forget license) worth of fun and you get a little bit better sounding system to boot!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Stevetd is online now  
post #6276 of 6288 Old 11-13-2016, 05:44 PM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone running pro with a surface pro 3? I'm having an issue with the USB to serial connecting. Thanks in advance.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
post #6277 of 6288 Old 11-13-2016, 06:11 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,948
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Most of the problems I ever had, and most I've read about here, have been with getting a USB to serial adapter working. It was always drivers. And IIRC, checking with the chip makers site for drivers usually worked when the adapter mfg's drivers didn't work.

"Veni, vidi, vino!"
(I came, I saw, I drank wine!)
pepar is online now  
post #6278 of 6288 Old 11-13-2016, 06:13 PM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Most of the problems I ever had, and most I've read about here, have been with getting a USB to serial adapter working. It was always drivers. And IIRC, checking with the chip makers site for drivers usually worked when the adapter mfg's drivers didn't work.


I read something about the cable itself. Apparently there is a cable with a supported chipset. I'm searching amazon now.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
post #6279 of 6288 Old 11-14-2016, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
VoodooDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cable that came with the kit stopped working with Windows 10 due to driver issues. I bought a Ugreen USB to RS232 cable and it works perfectly.
VoodooDoctor is offline  
post #6280 of 6288 Old 11-14-2016, 06:15 AM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooDoctor View Post
The cable that came with the kit stopped working with Windows 10 due to driver issues. I bought a Ugreen USB to RS232 cable and it works perfectly.


Thanks. I ordered something on amazon that should work with Win 10.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
post #6281 of 6288 Old 11-15-2016, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,661
Mentioned: 377 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2626 Post(s)
Liked: 2263
Does Audyssey pro allow for setting preferred crossover points for each subwoofer Bank?

I use one bank of subwoofers at the front of my room and bank 2 signals the subs I have behind my seat.

I'd most prefer a 90hz crossover point to the sub bank 1 and a day a 40hz crossover to sub bank 2. The mains could all crossover at 90hz ideally.

I have the same sealed subs all around but I find higher frequencies annoy me when the drivers are directly behind me and cranked up, but I really dig the low wobble effect of the nearfield sub with the lowest frequencies.

----------------------------------------
February 2017 - Kansas City Home Theater Crawl
Archaea is online now  
post #6282 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Just wanted to drop this link which allowed me to get the usb to serial adapter working in Windows10. It also explains why the latest Prolific supplied driver doesn't work with older adapters.

http://www.ifamilysoftware.com/news37.html
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #6283 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 04:28 PM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Just wanted to drop this link which allowed me to get the usb to serial adapter working in Windows10. It also explains why the latest Prolific supplied driver doesn't work with older adapters.

http://www.ifamilysoftware.com/news37.html


Thanks. I just received a new cable from amazon. Hope it works. Only issue is its way short.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
post #6284 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,928
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2425 Post(s)
Liked: 1647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Does Audyssey pro allow for setting preferred crossover points for each subwoofer Bank?

I use one bank of subwoofers at the front of my room and bank 2 signals the subs I have behind my seat.

I'd most prefer a 90hz crossover point to the sub bank 1 and a day a 40hz crossover to sub bank 2. The mains could all crossover at 90hz ideally.

I have the same sealed subs all around but I find higher frequencies annoy me when the drivers are directly behind me and cranked up, but I really dig the low wobble effect of the nearfield sub with the lowest frequencies.
Just like regular Audyssey, Pro doesn't do any bass management. That is handled by the AVR or prepro. So whatever bass management is available in your AVR/pre is what will be available to you with Pro.

So the short answer is No .
Gooddoc is online now  
post #6285 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by danthony1 View Post
Thanks. I just received a new cable from amazon. Hope it works. Only issue is its way short.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yep, get a M - F 9-pin serial cable extension to increase reach.

The link above should help you get the serial adapter that came with the kit working. You may not need the new one from Amazon… or you may.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #6286 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 05:18 PM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Yep, get a M - F 9-pin serial cable extension to increase reach.

The link above should help you get the serial adapter that came with the kit working. You may not need the new one from Amazon… or you may.


Thanks again. I'm set either way.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
post #6287 of 6288 Old 11-18-2016, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6,848
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Just wanted to drop this link which allowed me to get the usb to serial adapter working in Windows10. It also explains why the latest Prolific supplied driver doesn't work with older adapters.

http://www.ifamilysoftware.com/news37.html
I'm getting the usual serial port communication errors right after 1st set of measurements.

I went ahead and ordered the Ugreen adapter from Amazon.

USB to DB9, Ugreen USB 2.0 to RS232 DB9 Serial Cable Male A Converter Adapter with PL2303 Chipset for Win8.1/8, Compatible with 8/7/Vista/XP//2000 and Mac OS X 10.6 and Above (10ft) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QUZY4R4/
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #6288 of 6288 Old Today, 05:32 PM
Member
 
danthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
I'm getting the usual serial port communication errors right after 1st set of measurements.

I went ahead and ordered the Ugreen adapter from Amazon.

USB to DB9, Ugreen USB 2.0 to RS232 DB9 Serial Cable Male A Converter Adapter with PL2303 Chipset for Win8.1/8, Compatible with 8/7/Vista/XP//2000 and Mac OS X 10.6 and Above (10ft) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QUZY4R4/


The best buy cable works fine as well. Its short so i used a usb extension cable and so far so good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
danthony1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Audyssey
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off